Deflating trailer tyres on sand

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 23:42
ThreadID: 63067 Views:10090 Replies:12 FollowUps:13

I have a Jayco Flamingo Outback camper that's usually packed solid on our trips. I've asked many experienced (or so they tell me!) campers their opinions on whether, when towing a heavy trailer through soft sand, you must let the tyres down on the trailer. BTW, I always let the tyres down to around 25psi on the diesel Paj. For every person that says yes (deflate,) I'll get another that says you don't have to because the trailer does not have "driving" wheels so therefore naturally floats on the sand and doesn't dig in.
Anyone have an experienced opinion on this one?

Thanks in advance,
Grunter

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 23:48

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 23:48
Grunter
I remember seeing a post on it months ago, but 25 on the 4x4 is still to high I reackon, 20 with lockers, 18 without.

AnswerID: 332779

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 09:55

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 09:55
G'day Doug,

I'm intrigued...... what difference does it make whether you have lockers or not , when it comes time to select tyre pressures?

I think I might know the thoughts that could possibly lead up to a statement like that, but I certainly think they are flawed.

The tyre pressures need to be set according to the nature of the sand....nothing to do with lockers.

It's a bit like saying that you don't need to drop your pressures if you have plenty of horsepower under the bonnet....just power-on through.... WRONG .....

FollowupID: 600684

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 10:23

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 10:23
I have been to SD 3 times , the 1st was in a Rocky , no diff lock, and some of the dunes required fast run-ups , even with pressures at 17psi, the last 2 times was in my Troopy with Auto lockers both ends, with pressures at 20psi it was so much easier on the vehicle, just crawl up until near the crest and then a little squirt of power for drift at the top and when on the level ease it right off , steering was a breeze , the Googs Track was like a joke, so easy but on the southern side was all chewed up from some with incorrect pressure . unless a driver has actually experienced Auto Lockers then they have no perception of how good they can be to the 4x4 and the environment, then there's the bloke who thinks with lockers his 4x4 is unstoppable, WRONG . they can get you further out into the crap before you do get stuck, I don't go places because I have lockers , I have lockers to make it easier for my 4x4 where all other normal travellers go on thier adventures. The idea of some who think an LSD is like a locker make me smile, an LSD is just that..."Limited" ,
Of course we could we could debate this subject for hours so I'll let you have final say.

Doug

FollowupID: 600689

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 02:26

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 02:26
Here's what Jol Fleming has to say about it..........

Tyre pressure

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 332785

Reply By: traveller2 - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:26

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:26
Drop them its does make a difference.
The biggest source of drag with the Jayco will be that it has a wider track than the tow vehicle and must cut its own track, its can't follow the vehicle tracks, the drag in any soft terrain will be huge.
BTDT
AnswerID: 332797

Reply By: pmacks - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:29

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:29
Hey Grunter65,

we have a goldstream camper and when ever we tow on sand which is normally about twice a year we deflate the camper tyres to 18 psi the same as the car, we never use to deflate the camper tyres but through trial and error have found it is much easier if we do.

Pmacks
AnswerID: 332800

Follow Up By: Grunter65 - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 15:51

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 15:51
Thanks pmacks, your advice sounds very much like the norm. Good to post queries such as this on a public forum with others that know / have an educated opinion rather than those that think they do (and I've found a stack of those!)
FollowupID: 600723

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:36

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:36
We do a lot of Towing on the Sand, I usually drop the Tyre Pressure
down to 18 to 20 psi, now towing your Jayco you will notice that
the Wheel Axle width is wider than your towing vehicle track, which
means your wheels on the Jayco don't track the same as your tow vehicle, they have to make there own track, so the lower the Tyre
Pressure, the wider the Surface Pressure on the sand,
Trailers with to much Air Pressure tend to be Dragged through the
Sand, rather than Riding on top of the sand.
Some of the other Forum Users might be able to explain it better.

Daza
AnswerID: 332803

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:37

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:37
I drop my trailer tyres on sand.
They do bag out, and they don't 'sink' into the sand as far, so must be less work for the car pulling it through.

Normally run my trailer tyres about the same or a bit less than my Paj front tyres.

Interesting,
On fraser and other places I drop my tyres to 25 on the diesel paj too.
Is a bit high, but when you are doing 70 to 80km/hr on the beach, the tyres don't get too hot.
I drop the tyres to about 20 for the really soft stuff. Thats 20 on warm tyres and will go lower if needed.

What tyres you running on the paj? Mine are 10 ply LT 235/85/16.
(Do more trips out west than on the beach.)
AnswerID: 332804

Follow Up By: Grunter65 - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 15:40

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 15:40
Hi Oldplodder

Good point re the tyre pressures. In SE Qld, going on long beach runs such as Fraser, Teewah, Moreton and Straddie, the tyres as we all know will heat and, at 70-80 km/h, the risk of losing a tyre off a rim or overheating is something not to be forgotten. I am intrigued to see some yahoos doing 100+km/h on these beaches at times, sad but true. I find that 25 in the Paj is fine, lots of grunt when needed but not too much to be an environmental bandit! I'm really only a beach 4wd-er / camper, I've got Maxxis Bravo A/T's 265/65/17's. I'm very happy with them too, good tyre for a good price.

Grunter
FollowupID: 600721

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 16:10

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 16:10
The tyres do seem to run cooler on sand than bitumen.

I sit on 50 on the bitumen until I can get to Rainbow beach to pump them right up again. They are hot from the few k on bitumen doing that. Do have a pump and put some air in them on the barge.

Those fast people worry me too.
Be hard to see the fresh water wash outs at a 100k :o)
Let alone slowing right down. Suppose they fly over them.

Sitting on 70 to 80 also gives me more time on the beach, which is magic. :o)

Got 2 x maxxis 752s at the moment to. Thinking of getting some more. The kumho 78s seem to bag better on sand though.
FollowupID: 600727

Follow Up By: Grunter65 - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 17:19

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 17:19
Here what you say about speed and seeing the washouts. Even doing a moderate speed, they can sneak up on you if you take your eyes off what's ahead for too long. Washouts and also the "woopdy-doos" as my daughter calls them, those gullies that form with the tide, some of them make for a re-arranging of the load in the back! Saw 2 Troopies full of Pommy/German/whatever backpackers on Fraser in September sittng on a dune looking sore and sorry after their obviously highly experienced driver took washouts too leniently. One did the front axle, the other nearly rolled and shook up everything inside. Both had the potential to be much worse than they were.
FollowupID: 600742

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 09:30

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 09:30
Yep - we always lower the pressures on our Campomatic trailer when those on the car go down - makes basic sense to me and agreed re Jol Fleming's vast experience mentioned above - he has done heaps of sand driving with a trailer....... and once those tyre are down, we take it very easy due to those sidewall bulges.
AnswerID: 332816

Reply By: Sea-Dog - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:02

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:02
I always let the tyres down a little on the trailer.. normally down to around the 25psi mark.. unless the sand is really soft then let them down more..

The "proper" way of doing it is to let the tow vehicle tyres down and measure the length of the foot print and then let the tyre down to match (assuming the tyres are the same diameter)

What I usually do is a bit of a compromise as I don't want the camper to be too soft on tyres that are down when I am in it of a night etc.. so I usually just let them down a bit and if the going is tough let them down a bit more..

It really does make a noticeable difference to the towing ability.
AnswerID: 332833

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 12:39

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 12:39
Yep always deflate to about the same as the rear of the 4x4 thats what rule we use and yoy can always let more out to see what happens in the real soft stuff.

AnswerID: 332847

Follow Up By: Grunter65 - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 15:56

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 15:56
Gday Eric,

A query on your kind advice re letting the trailer tyres down "the same as the rear of the 4X4." I was not aware that the front and back were deflated to different pressures, I use Staun tyre deflators with all 4 set to 25psi. Can you tell me please why the front and back are deflated to different pressures and what has more, front or back?

Grunter
FollowupID: 600724

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 17:07

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 17:07
Grunter
Maybe Eric is loaded up rather heavy, which would call for slightly different tyre pressures.

I work off "foot print".

I "buggerised" about in the shed one rainy day, with footprint, load, and different settings, and found that I need up to 3-4 psi lower in the camper, to achieve the same footprint as my tow vehicle. That was in the Navara, but now we have a Patrol, so I will do the exercise again, if it ever rains again.

What ever works the best for you at the time.

FollowupID: 600732

Follow Up By: Grunter65 - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 17:23

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 17:23
Sounds like good advice Bucky. When you're at the cutting onto the beach, with people behind you wanting to get on with their holidays, I need a quick, simple solution for deflation of the camper tyres so I'm not getting abused for taking too long!
FollowupID: 600744

Follow Up By: Cape York Connections - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 09:27

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 09:27
Grunter65

That's a good question I have done it that way for about 30 odd years and always did it that way.

When in the cape for all round of road work and for the whole 20 day trip we air down at lakeland downs.
The biggest discussion always is tyre pressures and as per everything every one has an different opinion.
On my 4x4 a 60 series with 32 x 11.5 x 15 maxxis bighorns on it.
I run the front at 20 psi and the rear at 24 psi. (and no I have never had a stake or puncture touch wood)

On the other 4x4s with me on all types tyres etc I have a look at whats sort of load they have on board and suggest a pressure.
Usually about 28-30 rear and about 24-26 front and if they have a trailer around the 28 mark.
As I tell all our quests this is a starting point you can go lower or higher.
The lower pressures also add to comfort on the corrugations
Please note we dont travell over 80ks per hour.
I also dont air up at these presssures back in cooktown.

On our tripps to the cape I have done about 20 now we have only had a few puntures.

I hope this helps.

FollowupID: 600825

Follow Up By: Goona - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 23:17

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 23:17
Totally agree with Eric 100%

Goona
FollowupID: 601485

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 19:31

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 19:31
The best answer to these questions comes from the tyre manufacturer's data (if you can get it).
I run Michelin 305/70R 19.5 XDE2s on the OKA.
Michelin provide pressure Vs speed Vs load data for these tyres, so there is absolutely no guessing.

What becomes apparet though, when looking at the data, is that the appropriate pressure has a linear relationship (approx) with the load. ie: if the tyre has a max load of 1000kg at 60psi (HIGHWAY speeds), the appropriate pressure for a load of 750kg is 45psi (3/4s of each).
Used according to these tables, every tyre with different loads will have different pressures, but the shape and footprint of all tyres will be the SAME.

At lower speeds, all of the pressures are lower, but the load/pressure relationship remains the same.

Michelin actually quote load/pressure tables for:
1. Highway speeds.
2. Dirt (65kph)
3. Sand (20kph)

If you EXCEED the speeds (or the loads) for the pressures that you are using, the tyre overheats and fails.

I use the same data for trailers as I do for the vehicle.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 332907

Reply By: rumpig - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 20:18

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 20:18
we just took a group of 5 caravans over to fraser island about a month ago, personally i don't let my caravan tyres down cause i have rebuilt my caravan and set it up with the same wheel track as my cruiser. on this trip i had a mate who took his 16ft jayco expander over there and he let his tyres down on the caravan, bloke working on the barge suggested he pump the tyres back up which my mate thought was odd. once we hit the harder sand my mates van tendered to wander due to the lower tyre pressures (which is what the barge worker said would happen), he stopped and pumped them back up and never had another problem. so i think in soft sand low tyre pressures help, but on the harder stuff it is better to have them reinflated.
AnswerID: 332917

Follow Up By: Grunter65 - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 21:07

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 21:07
Like your nickname Rumpig (aren't we all!)

Interesting your comments re the hard and soft sand. As I've mentioned in previous posts, we do only beach camping, which therefore includes soft (off the barge, through cuttings etc) and hard (low tide beach) sand driving. So, potentially, lowering pressures when going onto the beach, then pumping back up for the run up the beach, then lowering to leave the hard stuff up into the dunes to find your campsite, pumping back up to set up camp - a bloke will be knackered if you do it by the book! What's lets say I take a really really big run up and skull drag the van through the soft stuff and not worry about it??!! Just jokes, but it does beckon the question of what really is the ideal pressure for trailer tyres to meet most circumstances?
FollowupID: 600774

Reply By: Ozboc - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 08:40

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 08:40
HI , i also have the Jayco Flamingo Outback - when i go onto Stockton beach i let ALL my tires down --- i have my Stauns set to 15 PSI- have a Nissan patrol and the tire tracking seams to be the same between trailer and tow vehicle

it really does make a difference in the way the van tows in the really dry soft sand.... i see people come straight in of the tar onto the soft sand , full noise and struggling in the soft stuff ( no trailer or anything- not letting tires down ) --- and i just cruise in with very little effort - some even look surprised as they see me coming in as the flamingo isn't exactly small as you would know ....

On a side note -- i had a tire EXPLODE on the jayco last weekend - sounded like a gun shot - followed by a fairly good whip sending me across all the lanes on the freeway ( was doing 100KMH at the time ) a quick look in the mirrors shows all the motorists behind me taking evasive action not to get showered in pieces of rubber .. managed to get it straight and drove it out - then limped to the nearest bay --- spare only had 10 PSI and my air pump has been killed from the week before - and of coarse the only time i didn't have a pump on board was the one time i needed it ( always have one onboard)

anyway - long and short - didn't know the age of the tires -- all pressures were good ( 40 PSI) so i replaced all the tires on monday with brand new coopers - guessing age was the main factor -

Boc

(photo is from my phone - sorry for quality)

P.s these were not recaps
AnswerID: 332971

Follow Up By: Graham & Ann - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:26

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:26
Ozboc wrote:
'i had a tire EXPLODE on the jayco last weekend - sounded like a gun shot - followed by a fairly good whip sending me across all the lanes on the freeway'

To keep the rig stable in times of sudden unexpected conditions above...fit one of these..Sway Control units. We've used on for the last 120,000km odd towing had a couple of blow outs on dirt and bitumen roads, been run off the road etc... these sway control units work a treat, especially in very strong side winds when passing trucks, most vans should be fitted with them.
FollowupID: 601076