What do people carry??

Size??

Type??

Locations??

Quantity??

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 14:41

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 14:41
KEV

i bought 1 of those $20 jobs from super cheap.
u use them once & throw them away
it has some thing like a couple of hundred KPA in them
tucks into a duel cab just nicely
AnswerID: 333017

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 14:51

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 14:51
Is that the 0.9KG one or larger. I was thinking about 2.0kg+ one on the floor in front of the drivers seat and a couple of larger ones on the tray

FollowupID: 600868

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:25

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:25
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 600874

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:32

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:32
Does it come with a mounting bracket??

FollowupID: 600875

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:43

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:43
kev
yes is does plus 2 self taping screws.
FollowupID: 600878

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:44

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:44
Got ones of those too....use to be strapped onto the cargo barrier in the 80...now its just stashed in the rear of the grenade.....so its hard to get to.LOL...
FollowupID: 600895

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 14:50

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 14:50
Hi Kev

We keep 1 in the Van near the Stove and 1 in the 4b in the rear,
*Powder Type,
*Just the Normal Vehicle Size,

Question, are you going to do a bit of Arson at the next Gathering
lol..lol.

Daza

AnswerID: 333018

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 14:54

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 14:54
I am currently designing the slide on canopy and trying to determine if I am going to overkill the number of extinguishers I want.

I want at least one of the 5L garden sprayers with water for the possible underbody fire as well

FollowupID: 600869

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:03

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:03
Kev

Some time back I saw a 4b with a section of 100mm P V C Sewer
Pipe mounted on the Chassis which was Pressureized with a Quick
Action Ball Valve Tap and Bayonet Hose Connection, he used it
for sme thing similar.

Daza
AnswerID: 333019

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:05

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:05
correction, *something similar.*
FollowupID: 600870

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:17

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:17
A certain member on here who will remain Anonomous tried to use PVC pipe as an air cylinder and near killed himself when it exploded.

Although the Sewer pipe won't be used as a high pressure storage vessel it may be another option as a H2O extinguisher as I have a bit of space under the tray.

FollowupID: 600872

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 18:25

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 18:25
Kev

This one I mentioned had the Water in the PVC pipe, and it was
connected to his Compressed Air Tank under his truck, he had a
Pressure Limiter on the inlet side of the PVC pipe, which enabled him
to control the pressure going in, he got a fairly good flow from the hose, if it's done right its all safe, and more Volume than a Garden Sprayer.

Daza
FollowupID: 600903

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:10

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:10
Kev,

One on the drivers side and one on the passenger side next to the front seats.

I have seen fire extinguishers mounted on the cargo barrier. It does show that there is a fire extinguisher on board.
Mounted on the cargo barrier it would mean that a driver would have to exit the vehicle, move around and open the back of the vehicle, reach through to the cargo barrier and unclip the extinguisher.
If the back of the vehicle is pack for camping forget about getting the extinguisher out before the fire takes hold.

Most fires in a vehicle start under the dash or under the bonnet and the sooner the flame is extinguished the better.

Having a extinguisher or two close to the driver has to be better than one in the back of the vehicle.

AnswerID: 333020

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:19

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:19
Wayne,

The one in the pic is probably where I was going to mount one. The ones for the tray would be for when we are in camp etc.

FollowupID: 600873

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:27

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:27
Not happy with the cargo barrier mount either ... takes way too long to get to and is worse when the back is loaded with gear.

Be an all right spot for a backup ext tho, I guess.
FollowupID: 600883

Reply By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:42

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:42
This theory has been sworn by, by a lot of old time bushies.

Keep a few warm cans handy. Open the ring pull just a "smidge", slam the base of the can on the ground and aim the froth at the fire. Warmies froth much better than coldies.

Can't vouch for it personally, but it does seem feasible.

AnswerID: 333022

Reply By: ats11279 - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:47

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:47
I carry a 1kg extinguisher in from of the drivers seat, and a second on mounted inside the tray, but would prefer a couple more or larger ones but room doesn't permit. The 1kg extinguishers last about 10 secs, but a 2kg will last something like 30 secs, so my advice would be to fit the largest one your vehicle will accomodate.
AnswerID: 333023

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:02

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:02
If you go for the larger size, get one with a flexible hose, which is designed to get to confined areas, such as under the dashboard.

Fred.
FollowupID: 600881

Reply By: Farko - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:00

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:00
The most versatile and practical is normally a dry chemical as others have said.
There are different types of powders that have different ratings marked on the body.
All dry chem extinguishers will have a B(E) rating with a number before it - eg 10B(E). The B means that it is suitable for B class fires - flamable liquids. The (E) means that it is suitable for fires involving electricity. This will be the limit for the cheap extiguishers.
An A rating - eg 1A10B(E) - means that it is also sutable for fires involving ordinary combustibles - wood, paper, clothing, plastics, etc. Anything with an A rating will cost more but it is worthwhile.
The numbers - the bigger the better.
I would not buy anything under a 1A10B(E).

In any dry chem extinguisher the powder will settle and cake, particularly in vehicles, making it useless when needed if it is not maintained. Standards have them serviced annually and inspected six monthly. Regardless of the service interval, get it out regularly and give it a thump with a rubber mallet or similar to keep the powder loose. check the pressure gauge while you are at it.

I have one mounted under my knees, in front of the drivers seat - out of the way but close in the event of an accident that I might be trapped in.
AnswerID: 333024

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:29

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:29
And please familiarise youselves and family with the operating procedure of your extinguishers, because when it hits the fan, panic usually hinders clear thinking, and with any a fire, time is not on your side.
FollowupID: 600884

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:41

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:41
If the extinguisher is mounted horizontally, the powder will continuously move as you drive, keeping it loose.

If the extinguisher is mounted vertically, the powder will just keep on compacting down.
FollowupID: 600892

Reply By: stevesub - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:08

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:08
We have a 2.5kg dry powder mounted behind the passenger seat in the Troopy.

We only carry a .9kg in the Rangie and it is hard to get at - must do something about it one day when I get around to it - bigger and more accessabile

In NZ, you HAVE to have a serviced in, last 12 months dry powder of min 2kg before you can do a club trip with most clubs.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 333025

Reply By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:35

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:35
Hey Sir Kev,

Size?? ......... 1kg

Type?? ........ Dry powder as the most effective BCF type is no longer available. Quell brand as I am not completely confident with powder types and at least that is a respected brand. Just bought a new one ... was on special at Bunnings - $28

Locations?? ... Made a bkt and fitted low and in front of pass seat. Moves with seat.

Quantity?? .... Just the one untill new rear storage system is finalised and a place allocated for a second.
AnswerID: 333028

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:40

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 16:40
Do you have any pics of the seat bracket??

FollowupID: 600885

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:25

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:25
Sorry Sir Kev .... and it probably wouldnt help if I did ... Its in an XJ Jeep Cherokee ... lolol

Basically though, I undid the seat from the sliders, drilled and fitted 2 lengths of 25x3 mm flat as spacers and put it all back together.

The flat extends into the footwell and is angled down. Another piece of 50x3 joins the two (welded) and provides a mount for the supplied plastic bkt for the ext.

Looks a bit chunky but was a lot cheaper than getting someone to laser cut and shape a piece of flat sheet for me.

Legroom is ok as the extinguisher moves with the seat. You can feel it on the back of your leg if sitting upright.

Was just lucky with floor shape, seat height and slide adjuster handle. It vibrates a bit and a 5mm thickness may have been better for the seat spacer / arm but after reading the other comments ... the slight vibrating may prevent the powder from going solid ... a bonus perhaps ??? .. lol

On 40series I have had ... the extinguishers went between seats and door.

Hope that helps.

FollowupID: 600888

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:31

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:31
and continuing on ......

Dont like the floor mount idea anymore. These powder ones have too many bits hanging off them and are a lot easier to accidently trigger than the bcf ones were.
FollowupID: 600889

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:33

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:33

I will check out how much room is available with the Stratos seat to see if I can fabricate something similar to allow the extinguisher to slide with the seat.

FollowupID: 600890

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:49

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:49
Hi Kev,
I have 2 set up on the back of the ute also 2 water bottles to put any spinifex fires out if I have one. Fire extingushers don't like being used on there sides or upside down.

AnswerID: 333034

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:57

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 17:57
If you look around you may find that some extinguishers have two quick release bands holding it onto it's cradle. Or, you can make and use a Velcro strap for additional security. A lot of us have a cargo barrier and then put a 1 kg missile in a rather fragile mount somewhere in the main cabin.

I always remove my extinguisher and give it a good shake at every oil change.

In NZ several of the forest owners require all vehicles to have 2kg (or 2 x 1kg) extinguishers or no access permit.
AnswerID: 333036

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 19:43

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 19:43
I carry 2

One at the rear in one of the side pockets and one on the other side of the barrier strapped to the top for easy access

AnswerID: 333050

Reply By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 22:19

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 22:19
G`day Kev,

Mate take a bit of advice from an old Firey (spell) from way back.
Dry Chemical is the way to go, I have 8 of them.
Don`t buy a cheapy. Suggest, Chubb, Quell, Wormald etc...
Buy one with a metal head (top) not plastic, the plastic headed ones lose pressure quicker than the metal ones.
I have 6 of the 1 kg size three of which have plastic heads , they are the only ones that I ever have to get recharged. I also have a 2.5 kg that goes on any trip I do as an extra and a large 9 kg that hangs around the shed.

If you want a cheap but effective bracket for the 1 kg size get a piece of PVC pipe 75mm inside diameter and the length of the extinguisher body. On its end measure and mark 75 mm around the diameter then draw these marks along the length,it should be about a third of the circumference, cut it lengthwise along the lines and dress the edges.
You can push the extinguisher through the gap into the pipe, tekscrew or bolt it where you want it , horizontal is easy, vertical will require a stop of some kind for the extinguisher to sit on.

Geeez it`s hard to explain these things on here.

I will see you at the gathering next week.

I will try and send you a MM shortly.

Scrubby.
AnswerID: 333069

Reply By: Mogul - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 22:45

Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 22:45
Where do I start?

1. Those cheap aerosols are a waste of money.
2. 1kg's aren't much better. Minimun size should be a 2kg fitted with a hose.
3. Must be powder type either BE or ABE (ABE's should be the same price as BE's).
4. Make sure it's Australian Standards approved, brand doesn't matter so long as it's approved.
5. Mount where easily accesable while still in drivers seat with seat belt on.
6. QTY's, at least one per vehicle, 2 for remote areas and 1 for camper / caravan.

AnswerID: 333071

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:51

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:51
MOGUL

1. these are ok.......seen them used!

2. where are you gunna fit a 2kg + size in the front of a dual cab?
FollowupID: 601015

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 09:10

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 09:10
Hi Kev,

We have a 2kg extinguisher with the hose... it sits under the passengers seat and is reasonably accessible. Sitting next to it is a rather large pair of bolt cutters..... they're there to be used to chop through battery cables in a hurry if there's an electrical fire in the truck. We carry spare fuses and things in the drawer at the back, also some cable connectors if the cutters have to be used.

AnswerID: 333108

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:12

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 10:12
Brian,

I have a set of Universal keys in the vehicle as well LOL

FollowupID: 600987

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:19

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:19
"Universal keys"

ROTFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 601074

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:31

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:31
Brian,

There is no other way to explain them ;)

FollowupID: 601077

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:51

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:51
I have a 2.5kg job attached to the front of the drivers seat under my legs. Had to use a 1kg job once and found it ineffective on a fire that was well alight.

Saw a 2.5kg job work quite effectively on a gas bottle leak that had set a few things on fire. This was after the gas had been turned off though.
AnswerID: 333230