Submitted: Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:02
whatsup
Hello, just joined and hopeing I could get a bit of advice.We moved to the
pilbara about 3 years ago and bought a old Nissan patrol to do some bush bashing.Now this girl just keeps going and has never let us down.But she is slowly starting to fall apart, lost door handles , back doors wont open, seats are getting a bit uncomfortable after 4 hours of rough roads, etc.
I have been researching on the net for a while now and every single one of them either hate a Nissan or love them visa versa with Toyota.
I have been looking at the Toyota Prado's 2005 but are a bit concerned about the clearance as we do a bit of rocking climbing here (bloody big rocks in the
pilbara.)
Has anyone else had this problem with the Prado?.
Due to work we dont get to go out 4x4 as much as we would like to but would like a car that can handle anything we throw at her.
Any helpful tips on what to look for would be great
Reply By: V64Runner - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:39
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:39
WOW ! This will open a can of worms on this
forum. First of all, its a matter of personal taste. Each have their good and bad points. If there is a perfect 4x4 let me know and I`ll be the first to buy it. I would get somethng with a live front axle ( coils springs all round ) a reasonable amount of
suspension lift and articulation and perhaps a two inch body lift kit. There are all sorts of combinations one can play around with, but as you are going to be driving it you need to work out whats going to work best for you. I doubt that the Prado will give you what you are loking for due to its limitations in getting
suspension lift because of the IFS set up. Thats about as far as I`m going to go on this subject before WW111 breaks out here. Best of luck
Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:55
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:55
If looking for reliability I would look at a 4.2 diesel either Patrol or Cruiser and as said live axle
Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 20:57
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 20:57
Third for live axle, but I actually prefer leafs rear and coils front – IMHO coils way to soft for rear with decent load. Unfortunately waist majority has all leafs or all coils and among this two choices I would rather get all coils and live with soft but. As for 4.2 diesel (either Toyota or Nissan) – only two thumbs up.
Serg
Reply By: OzTroopy - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:46
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:46
Yep ... great topic for " discussion " .... LOLOLOL
..... Something designed for the task perhaps ...... ( insert smiley icon here )
http://images.off-roadweb.com/events/0309_05z+Jeep_Cherokee+Driver_Side_View_White_Car_Climbing_Mountain.jpg
http://images.fourwheeler.com/eventcoverage/129_0703_06_z+1991_jeep_cherokee+passenger_side_view.jpg
http://images.fourwheeler.com/eventcoverage/129_0703_01_z+1995_jeep_cherokee+passenger_side_view.jpg
For your description of use ... regardless of brand or body style ... some essentials:
1/. Live axle drivetrain ... for articulation and traction,
2/. Good factory original clearance angles and heights,
3/. Swaybar disconnects ( for offroad use ) Allows better articulation and makes a std vehicle much more capable. I use these and similiar vehicles with difflocks and no disconnects are only marginally better in dry, lumpy landscapes,
4/. Independant Front
Suspension is extremely limiting to performance COMPARED to a Live Axle System.
5/. A proven use in competitions similiar to your environment. Only two brands are "common" in this category.
My thoughts on what vehicle for you ???? ... Continue your happy relationship with nissan and upgrade to a later model.
Reply By: joff1 - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:52
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 13:52
"but would like a car that can handle anything we throw at her."
Stick to what you got. But if you want more comfort with every bit as much ability then get an 80 series. Won't fall to bits coz it is simply built better.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 21:19
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 21:19
4.2 Patrol Diesel or 4.8 Patrol Petrol Ditto, but able to buy much younger models than the toyo, 80s are getting long in tooth now, very few low km ones to be had.
Reply By: Rock Ape - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 14:15
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 14:15
Mate you haven't said what you are looking at in the way of size,
Pathfinder/Navara/Patrol versus 79 series ute or Troopcarrier/100/200series/Prado. New or used.
If you narrow that down it might make it easier.
4.2l Patrols Great- 3l patrols
well thats all been said before with the engines. 100 series with the naturally aspirated 1HZ motors are painfully slow . Do you want beam front axle or IFS, will the vehicle be used for the odd 4wd trip or heaps of them, is comfort important.
As for a vehicle that can handle anything as long as you have a big cheque book.
Our underground Toyota utes handle bulk abuse but they break diffs/wear out Cvs/ rot through the ali gearboxes and transfer cases (corrosive
water) break front drive shafts (rusted out)
But not one has had an engine problem despite being flogged and putting up with bulk dust.
Both brands are good and they all have their problems.
Have a good one.
Reply By: hotfishez - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 15:06
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 15:06
I am in
Tom Price and know exactly what you mean as far as the terrain goes. With what we do and where we go I cant go past the 80 series cruiser.
Mine is a 94 turbo and it takes us to hell and back and looks great doing it. The GXL 80 has the basic creature comforts but maintains its strenght and durability as an off road vehicle. Around here it WILL get scratched with the odd ding, not something you want on a new or near new vehicle.
Mine has treversed 1.8mtr +
deep creek crossings (with the pics to prove) along with some pretty hairy
hill climbs my missus would rather forget.
At the end of the day you want a reliable vehicle that wont cost too much to spec up for its intended use, that you wont loose too much money on when you sell it, still has the comfy bits and parts are readily available.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 21:23
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 21:23
hotfishez
Show us the pix please, 1.8mtr deep crossings, that I would like to see. Send pic to rencol at bigpond dot net dot au and I will post them here for us all to see.
Cheers Colin.
Follow Up By: hotfishez - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 19:22
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 19:22
sent this arvo, sorry about the poor quality, it was taken on a camera phone.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 19:51
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 19:51
Hotfishez
replied to my post with this pic.
"I only have the one, at this point it was about 1.6 mtrs, it dipped down for about five metres past where the vehicle is. You can see the front end going down. Sorry about the poor quality, it was taken on a camera phone. Cheers, hotfishez"
Reply By: deserter - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 15:25
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 15:25
I know I will never buy a Nissan simply because of their horrendous track record in not addressing the problems of the 3L motor. The have let their customers down woefully.
Reply By: whatsup - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 16:40
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 16:40
thanks to everyone that has replied,some really good advice and thanks for the little tips like the
suspension issue.
Got another question for you all.
has anyone bought a ex government car 4x4, through the auctions.They seem to be really cheap, too cheap.Also because I am up north and the auctions are down in
Perth does anyone know of a company that you can pay to do a mechanical check on the cars at the action.
I found a car I really liked and had a mate that was down there check it out, the auction guy told me the car was in perfect condition.
me old mate checked it out ( mechanic) and told me the car had been in a accident as the whole front end has been removed and replaced, and the welding of the two parts was shocking.
the auction site does have a small condition report on each car but nothing I would trust wasting my money on .
Someone said a company called racv does condition report on cars but cant seem to find them on the web.
Follow Up By: Bap - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 12:14
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 12:14
Whatsup,
we have bought 2 cars from the auctions in
Perth. My father also has bought all his 4wd's from the ex-government auctions and has never had a problem. Our current car, a Nissan Patrol, comes from the auction and is ex-government. The auction usually has a full mechanical report on it but, from memory, that was on the car and you had to see it in person not on the website.
Not sure how many auction
places in
perth there are, but the one we use is manheimfowles (formerly Pickles). You can view the cars in upcoming auctions on line.
They are definitly cheaper that car yards!
Michelle
Reply By: hotfishez - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 17:06
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 17:06
Pending on where you are, dont be afraid to buy locally. If you are near the coast there are issues with the salt
water, if you are inland you are pretty safe. Realistically, if a vehicle has had significant damaged or has been in a accident in the northern region, chances are it has been written off hence there is less chance of buying a previously significantly damaged vehicle. Also being in smaller communities, people know the vehicle or someone you know may know some of the history of the vehicle. Auctions are great for getting a good deal but who really will check the vehicle out and look at what you are really concerned with. Auctioneers want the sale, insurance company inspections are just a check list, unless you know someone personally, go look at it yourself. It is a significant purchase and you dont want to be stuck with a vehicle you are not happy with. Ive lived in the northern half of WA since 1992 and bargains come up on a regular basis. Most will have at the least bullbar and spotlights and
suspension has been done at some stage.
Dont be in too much of a rush.
For example there is an 80 series comming up for sale in the next month or so, the people are moving on.
dts turbo 3"
suspension, dual long range tanks (350 ltrs), dual batteries, twin wheel carrier, big boots, console fridge, hid spots arb bar, sports seats and loads more ( no lockers though) this thing has everything, and has only travelled around 275000k.
He will asking around $23,000, I dont beleive you could spec up the same for that amount. Everything is negotiable!
Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 18:42
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 18:42
A Prado can be easily modified to handle most things being particually good touring on high speed dirt & the long commutes you'd have out west. If you seriously go rock crawling then a Patrol or full sized Cruiser would be far more suitable to start with.
Cheers Craig............
Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:05
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 19:05
As others have said, beam axle with coils up front would be best. I've just moved to the
Kimberley from Pt Hedland and know the sort of terrain that's in the
Pilbara.
Look at what the locals drive, hardly a IFS amongst them. Whether you choose a patrol or cruiser it doesn't really matter, which ever one takes your fancy. If you do choose a patrol then the 4.2 diesel would be the best option.
Barnesy