Would you buy it ???

Submitted: Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:21
ThreadID: 63188 Views:6404 Replies:17 FollowUps:24
93 model landcruiser 80 series sahara, auto turbo diesel with all the usual factory gear, diff locks etc 340k on the clock, one owner, 9 out of 10 for condition, full service history. Now the main question is would you buy a vehicle with that many klms on it. Do you think it will hit the 500k mark without any major issues eg motor going bang ?? Any idea of the life span of these motors 500k plus or am I dreaming for it to last that long. Are they computer controlled or bit like the 4.2TD in the patrols, strong, and last the distance. Now Im not interested in the 4.5 petrol so not even go there with LPG etc not interested. I want T/D or I will keep what I have for now. They want $17k for it. Dont want answers like buy a nissan etc as it needs to be auto which nissan only made a few of in 4.2TD like trucksters. Dont even mention the 3 litre. Its not the later model with the multivalve engine. I know its a bit hard saying wether it will go the distance but just in general are these a good motor. I have read up what I can find on them (very little) and the only issue seemed to be bearings in the earlier 90/91 model ones but had a recall and was never an issue with later models. What do you all think. Thankyou WHG.

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:32

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:32
Whg I would think the auto would go before the motor. What does it drive like?. Your other problem is selling your currant vehicle, currant situation one buyer for every ten for sale. Even the tds are coming down in price. But those 80s are good off road and are holding their value
AnswerID: 333371

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:21

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:21
Hi Pete, yeah that would be the only issue, but personally I think what I have now is worth the same $$$ but in saying that as you said there are heaps for sale so people can take their pick. Im getting a trade in price which I know wont be as much as private sale but if I decide I want the sahara then trading might be the way to go. WHG
FollowupID: 601224

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:39

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:39
Good luck anyway mate, send us a mm to let me know how you went. Is the 80 that much better then your currant rig?
FollowupID: 601235

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:57

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:57
Hi Pete, yeah would eat it off road with that live front end and then the diff locks come into play. I though about diff locks for mine but would cost me around 3g's for that on top of what myn is worth and still have IFS, means I would have spent over 20g's. Waiting for trade in phone call back. Will let you know. WHG
FollowupID: 601242

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:35

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:35
One member on her has a Troopy he bought second hand and has around 700,000 Km's on the clock now and still going strong.
Similar vintage and motor so I would think if its looked after 500 plus would not be unreasonable??

AnswerID: 333372

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:25

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:25
Thanks John, the troopy wouldnt be turbo'd unless aftermarket ?? Presume its a 1hz engine in the troopy ?? If its the 1hz then yes they are known for there reliability, I presume the motor in the sahara would be under a bit more strain due to the turbo but hopefully will last a few more klms yet. Not sure it would make the 700 mark but would be good LOL. Thankyou WHG
FollowupID: 601226

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:45

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:45
No, I wouldnt buy it. Too many bucks for even another 100k of
use. If it dies you are up for another $5 to $7k for a rebuild or
transplant. With a blown donk it would be virtually worthless.
Your choice, of course, but you asked the question. I havent
checked book values, no doubt you will ,if serious about it.
cheers...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 333375

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:30

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:30
Hi Baz, yes very serious about it. I have always loved the 80 series but the TD's were always out of my price range. Obviously older and with higher klms they come down but I love their off road ability. I would have thought it would cost more for a new motor for one of those ??

From red book

* Private Price Guide $13,100 - $15,900

* Trade In Price Guide $10,000 - $12,800

* Average Km 225,000 - 375,000

* Price When New (RRP) $100,508

Thankyou WHG
FollowupID: 601229

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:49

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:49
Mates just bought that very one 93 model in same condition with 200 K's on the clock for 18 grand, I think its a lot of money for a car that old but its a lot of car too , no they dont make them like that anymore, but yes it would be a lot to fix if you needed it done, very hard to answer,
regards,
AnswerID: 333377

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:34

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:34
Hi Dave will be getting it checked over by a few qualified people but some times still doesnt show/tell everything. If the vehicle is rust free (which it is) and shows minimal sign of age then if the motor goes then even with a new motor I supose it means hanging onto it for a while to recover the extra $$$ I would spend. That is the only thing Im thinking about is the klms. The rest of the car looks fantastic, no oil leaks etc, diff locks all working etc. Am waiting for him to ring me back with a trade in value and go from there. If some one dives in before me then not meant to be. Thankyou WHG
FollowupID: 601231

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:53

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:53
WHG,

With 340k on the clock if the motor was going to go it would have done so by now.

With the auto box the vehicle is very strong and providing that all the bells and whistles are working it should be a good buy.

$17k would be top dollar, I would go in with a lower offer and see what happens.

AnswerID: 333378

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:36

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:36
Hi Wayne, as usual they will play with my trade in price I would imagine. As Madfisher has said there are heaps for cars/4wd's for sale its selling myn at this present time which would be the issue. Am waiting for him to ring me back with trade in price and go from there. Thanks WHG
FollowupID: 601232

Reply By: Member - Corio - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:54

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 13:54
Wherehegon,

With full service history etc there shouldnt be any reason that the motor doesnt have a fair bit of life in it yet.
I would suggest getting it checked out by an authorized mechanic
in particular the auto to ensure no problems there however in my experience these motors are good for 500 plus km.

AnswerID: 333379

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:39

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:39
Hi Corio, yes if Im happy with trade in price then I will be getting it checked over by a few friends/ qualified mechanics. Thankyou for the reply WHG
FollowupID: 601233

Reply By: ross - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:06

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:06
Its a toss up. It may look and sound good now but the engine could lose compression anytime.
Only buy it if you can handle a rebuild in the next couple of years.

I would recommend a compression check.

Have considered a low klm model with a 1HZ that could have a turbo added.
They can last a long time if you understand how to drive them
AnswerID: 333383

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:43

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:43
Hi Ross, yes have considered that but the 1HZ in auto in non turbo form are as rare as rocking horse sh#t. Has to be auto I wont go back to manual now. Im prepared to spend a few $$$ on it with suspension lift etc but would like the motor to go a few more klms yet, that is my main concern as such. Even if it made the 500k mark I would be happy with that. Thankyou WHG
FollowupID: 601237

Reply By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:35

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:35
G'day Wherehegon

I actually own a 80 Series 1htd intercooled 1992 Sahara wagon.

All factory everything plus two tons of personal add-ons.

They are quite a nice vehicle even by today's standards, my particular wagon has covered 310,000 kms.

It's original owner,( a friend of mine) had dramas with the engine in it's early days at around 35000ks, sadly it was a major rebuild but at Toyota's warranty expense, apparently there was a problem with the early engine build crankshaft thrust bearings, I'm not 100% sure on this though. I suspect there was more to the initial failure.

I had a brand new 1htd (crate) motor fitted back in February 2007 the motor came directly from Toyota's warehouse in WA.

The reason for fitting the new motor was a persistent high engine running temperature with the original, even after checking and replacing what I thought was suspect, the problem turned out to be a hair line crack in the bore of #5 cylinder and this one particular piston had non standard size piston rings fitted.

The transmission and other running gear is untouched.

I tow an off road trailer, when needed, I also tow a fairly weighty Coromal Off road (sic) caravan when getting away from home.

I've replaced all wheel bearings seals etc..., just this August, some may call this running gear, but I am not going to split hairs.

I've replaced all brake components, only because I wanted a personal start point for my own records.

My cruiser is used daily and mostly off road, and serious 4wding often, so it's service life is genuinely as Toyota designed it for.

In a nutshell, they are top a touring vehicle, when personalized and once you have confidence in it.

I would without hesitation buy another 80 Series Sahara if I could afford one.

Regards : Joe
AnswerID: 333385

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:49

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:49
Hi there Joe, thankyou very much for that info. I presume maybe the issue with your motor was what I read up about with the bearing issue ?? Not sure in what model the issue was rectified. I have read that it is worth replacing the bearings in the bottom of the engine every 100 thou and its not an expensive job to do so and give you peace of mind. Im just wondering where I would find out the info that would tell me what year models were affected by the bearing issue's. Thankyou WHG
FollowupID: 601239

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 17:43

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 17:43
Joe, as you say the big end bearings are a concern and were a continuing problem throughout the 1hdt range and even showed up on some 1hdft multi valves.
So long as the big end bearings are changed at about 100K intervals there appears to be very little else to go wrong, if they haven't been changed recently then use that as a bargaining position to try and reduce the price to cover the added expense.
Main crankshaft bearings never seemed to be a problem it was always the big end bearings that copped a flogging.
Regards Andrew.
FollowupID: 601279

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:37

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:37
Wherehegon,
I wouldn't have a problem forking out $17000 for it. 340k on it is about right for that model. If it's got log books at lest you'll know it's service history. After owning mine now for over four years I'm happy to say I would buy another if I had to.
Another way to look at it is, What else can you get for $17k and give the same value for money? They're a good solid truck.
The Red Book's Private Price Guide $13,100 - $15,900 is fair enough.
I've found their price to be a bit below what they actually sell for. They do command a higher price than most other 4WD's for their age.
Like I said, I'd be happy paying that for one.
AnswerID: 333387

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:54

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 14:54
Hi Jon, yes thats what I am thinking. By the time I bought even a GXL and then added diff locks, winch, bullbar,snorkel,rear draws etc like this one has It would cost me a lot more. Looking at the winch, and under body of vehicle I dont thinkits done any rock hopping or anything as there are no dents, side steps like new, bash plates no damage I think it was just purely for touring. I forgot to look at the original owners book and see if there was a name in there or some thing to see if I can ring the original owner and ask them a few questions. If they get back to me with a trade in price I might take another run over and see if I can get the details and give them a ring and go from there. Thankyou WHG
FollowupID: 601240

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 15:09

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 15:09
Wherehegon,
Some of the recalls had stickers attached.
Just in side the drives door there should some complance stickers. They will have code and dates,
Eg;
16M103 Is the Tow Bar Tongue Recall
250081 Is the Steering joint cover Recall
56M181 Telstra Roof rack system
66M07 Tow bar Pin Recall
6527H Vacuum Pump Recall

This is what Mine has had done.
1; 06 07 92

2; 14 02 97
65227H

Not all models had the same recalls.
Toyota should be able to help with the the codes.
AnswerID: 333400

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 15:25

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 15:25
Thanks Jon, appreciated. Thankyou WHG
FollowupID: 601251

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 15:45

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 15:45
Wherehegon,
TONI would still stomp on it and then have breakfast, LOL,

I feel you are doing the right thing, by getting mechanics to check it out.

The 1hz is non turbo if I'm right so giving the car notice of intent is needed. However the non turbo engine should be a tad more reliable.

Good luck in whatever you decide mate, and if you do the deed then you just gotta come out and play with us.
Colin.
AnswerID: 333409

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 16:09

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 16:09
LOL Colin, He just got back to me with trade in price. $12 to 13 k. Told him dont insult me, then he tells me a lady has come in and she wants it but is waiting on finance. He told her he would keep it for her untill thursday for her to get the $$$. I asked if she left a deposit and he said no it was a word of mouth agreement. Said he will ring me back on thursday if she doesnt come good with the $$$. Told him not to bother if he is offering me the same $$ trade in. He said wait till then and we will talk trade in value. Mate this is what I was doing while you were out playing !!! But I was thinking of you all. Your son sent me a picture of where he is now, lucky buggar LOL

This is what we are using for showering for another 10 days.

WHG
FollowupID: 601267

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 17:17

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 17:17
Mate, we must speak in hushed tones in case "They" hear us.

His and hers shower tents, how romantic!!!!!!
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 601272

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 18:15

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 18:15
WHG

camping @ home..............sorta works !! :-))
FollowupID: 601292

Reply By: age - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 17:46

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 17:46
WHG

I owned an non turbo 80 series for 16 years from new. I don't think it is the motor you should be too concerned about at that age (as demonstrated above with many high km strong motors still going out there). It is everything else that makes it a vehicle and in your example it 15 years old, it all starts to wear, fatigue and needs to be replaced. I got rid of mine in the end (200,000km only) as in the last 3 years of my ownership it just started to cost a fortune to keep reliable as a daily driver. Overhauled power steer box and pump, new brake rotors and caliper piston kits, radiator and mounts, air conditioner condensor and other bits and pieces, brake master cylinder, shiockers, bit of rust getting into it (was used on the beach a fair bit), but you get my drift - if you can see receipts for some of this work, it may not cost you in the short term, but I can see a vehicle of this age and km's heading that way of an endless money pit.

Good luck with your search as I miss the old 80 sometimes, but the V8100 i have now kills it in most respects

A
AnswerID: 333433

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 19:06

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 19:06
Hi A, I have had solid front end, and also IFS with a few different 4b's now and you just cant beat that solid front end for flex and wheel travel. Now while Im not into real hard core stuff I have found that extra wheel trave goes a long way. Hence why the 80 series and early 100 series and Patrols are so good off road. Also my mate runs a 4wd touring company and has just come back from a few outback trips over the last couple of months. The main issues he had with the customers touring with him were with the vehicles with IFS. Im talking brand new navara's both diesel, hilux D4D, couple of prados one 90 series diesel/ one 120 series petrol and landcruisers 100 series one diesel / one 4.5 petrol and 2 diesel patrols. The navara's front shocks were stuffed 1/3 of the way into the trip (aftermarket) a rubber mount or some thing on the prado bleep itself, the hilux shockies were stuffed and floating all over the place by the end of the first couple of days admit they were factory ones and all the rest were ok bar the petrol cruiser drinking it like there was no tomorrow hence why I want diesel. But I see your point very valid, didnt really think of all the other parts that goes with it as a whole. I didnt see any other receipts for additional stuff except for the Toyota servicing. One of the issues I have is I want/need auto so really restricts me in what I can get. Will see what happens on Thursday anyway and go from there. Will take your points with me if he rings me and see if I can get in touch with original owner and see what and what hasnt been done to it. Thankyou for the reply. WHG
FollowupID: 601297

Reply By: Member - Bob W (VIC) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:09

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:09
Hi Wherehegon,the old someone else is intrested trick, but they have not left a deposit. I made an offer to the yard on my cruiser and they accepted,then I left a deposit on the car subject to finance approval and mechanics report. They would not hold the car for me unless I left a deposit. So ask yourself why are they holding the car for some one without a deposit ? Because they are trying to draw in another buyer with scare tactics for want of a better term... As for the 1hz turbo,I have read about them plodding on well into the 700,000km mark when looked after. I currently have a gq patrol for sale and have not had one person come to test drive it in 8 weeks,only had 6 calls. these are testing times..Hope this helps.
AnswerID: 333473

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:41

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:41
Hi Bob, yeah I thought the same thing, why would they risk losing a sale by some one not leaving a deposit and someone else possibly wanting to buy, but must admit he didnt try and talk me into anything else. He just told me if she doesnt come good with the $$ by thursday he will ring me ??. It has also been pulled from the website today. Will wait till thursday and see what happens. Good to hear the engine seems to have a pretty good life span with minimal troubles. thanks for the reply. WHG
FollowupID: 601324

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 23:19

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 23:19
I suggest that when he phones you on thursday (and he will phone you!!!! hahaha), you tell him you've found a similar vehicle at another yard and are currently in negotiations about the trade-in...... it's called playing him at his own game!!!!
FollowupID: 601355

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:10

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:10
WHG,

We've got a '97 model GXL, with 310K on it, and have spent next to nothing on it. I'd buy that sahara if you can get your trade up a bit. Just make sure the centre console fridge works though.....LOL.

Earlier we had a '90 model turbo, and it was a bit of a dog to drive, poor suspension mainly, but went like a train, and had no dramas with it.

With the number of 80 series on the road these days, I reckon there'll be plenty of good parts available for years. Good, regular servicing makes them last too, & a bit of TLC.

Hooroo,

AnswerID: 333476

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:51

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:51
Hi Bob, even the late model with the multivalve engine like yours would be a pearler but even in GXL form in excellent condition they are still pulling good dollars. He said to me he doesnt normally keep high klm vehicles and certainly not 4wd's but said this is one of those ones that is rare due to its condition and been a one owner with full service history and said he was confident of shifting it from his lot. He said everything works 100% which it did, sunroof,diff locks centr fridge etc.If the Sahara doesnt work out on thursday then that will be it and I will wait till next august to update. Was just that I was sticky beaking on the net and come across the sahara and thought why not !! But will wait and see. Seems to be they have a good reliable engine bar some of the earlier ones that had a few bearing issues. Thankyou WHG
FollowupID: 601326

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:38

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 21:38
1992, 80 series GXL 1HD-T @300,000km's.

Have done a lot too it including new radiator, front axel seals, added deisel gas conversion as well as long range taks etc etc.

Can't fault it really, can't see why it won't get a LOT more km's yet.

The idea of buying a replacement engine and having it ready to drop in or buying a second hand one and rebuilding it ready to drop in, when needed, is sound if you have the spare $ IMHO

The 80 series TD's really are great tourers - the Saharas with all the bells and whistles - moreso!

AnswerID: 333484

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:00

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:00
Hi there Fly, I would expect that due to klms, radiator, seals etc to need to be done but my main concern was engine life. Even if it did another 200k and needed replacing I would be ok with that. Will see what happens on thursday. Wife was just happy this had all the gear already on it so she was thinking of the $$$ saved by not having to get it, ARB bar, winch,snorkel,rear draws,duel battts etc. Anyway see what happens. Thankyou for the reply.. WHG
FollowupID: 601330

Reply By: autosparky - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:52

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:52
the early models did have bottom end bearing problems . the fuel pump can lose advance adjustment. mine has done 310 and oil pressure is dropping so is due ahother set of bearings . they were done courtesy of toyota at 125 thru their recall. the miulti valve after 94 is a superior motor . mine still goes great though
AnswerID: 333513

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 06:53

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 06:53
Hi Autosparky,
The drop in oil pressure, Have you had another pressure switch on it to test the pressure?.
The reason I ask is, over the last two oil changes, I noticed that the gauge would not climb any higher than the first mark, Hot or Cold.
So I bought another gauge, it made a bit difference, it now sits on half when cold at idle, and half way between half and one third when hot and sitting on a 100k.
Mine has 292k on the clock now and has had one set of BEB's put in her at 150k under warranty, and She's still pretty tight.
My young fella is six, and he's planning on having it when he gets his license in another ten years. I think I'll have a fight on my hands, LOL
Anyway, I just thought I would mention the switch.

FollowupID: 601370

Follow Up By: autosparky - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 20:01

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 20:01
been there , next stop sump off and replace shells. apparently will only take 8 hrs if i do it
FollowupID: 601440

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 20:14

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 20:14
No worries mate,
Hope it all goes smoooothly for you.
Could you email me with how it went, and the cost in parts please.

Much appreciated.

FollowupID: 601445

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 23:05

Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 23:05
Wherehegone
With any car purchase you cant let emotion take control of your pocket---you have to be prepared to walk away if the deal is not to your complete satisfaction. Another vehicle WILL eventually come up and you will be glad you stuck to your guns regarding the dealers treatment of you. I personally dont believe the story about a lady buyer/finance etc so when he does ring you back--and he will!!---make it tough on him and the deal to suit YOU not him.!!!!
AnswerID: 333519