Large or medium van

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 14:50
ThreadID: 63226 Views:3648 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Hi travelers, just wondering if there are other families traveling around Australia with young children and have you decided on a compact style of van or a large one for comfort and space. We have 3 children under 9 as we plan on traveling for 12 months we think it is best to go with a larger van so they have their own beds. Is this best or go with a smaller van so we can go more "Off Road"?
I would welcome your comments.

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 15:00

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 15:00
Mr / Mrs Hooter,

What are your finances like? You can still get large "off-road" vans that will take a hammering on dirt roads and get you into a lot of spots that would destroy normal vans - but they are not cheap.

Phoenix Phase 3 , Bushtracker and Trackmaster all have big models and are all as tough as nails.

It would be good if you could modify one so that you could install a triple bunk to save space.

Motherhen on this site has a large Bushtracker and she will probably read this site. Also you could go to the Bushtracker owners site athttp://www.bushtrackerownersgroup.asn.au

I do not think you would be sane at the end of a year with three kids in a small van.

Willie
AnswerID: 333610

Follow Up By: hooter - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 15:40

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 15:40
Thanks Willie,
I think you are right with "Going Mad/Insane" with a small van. We will probably go for a larger van, just not sure if we will go for an Off Road one.
FollowupID: 601417

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 15:16

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 15:16
Hi Hooter

We don't travel with children - waited until we could leave 'em all behind before taking holidays (otherwise it would have been torture with our mob). However we meet others travelling with little ones and having a ball - in anything from canvas fold out campers to big caravans or motor homes.Young children usually love camping, and if they get used to sharing space, will enjoy what ever you choose. If you get a small caravan, they could sleep on camp beds in the annex. More of an issue would be enough space to store clothes, toys, school work (and space to do it), bikes and whatever luggage you need for your brood. A camper trailer can have plenty of living space, but not so much for storage when travelling.

We have an 18' Bushtracker, and can get into most places we want to - although turning circle can be an issue now we have an F250. Previously we towed with a Patrol, and turning where the track just stopped involved a multi-point turn which was achievable. In some areas you aren't permitted to take a caravan no matter what size (eg Purnululu), so alternative camping such as tent is needed. Camper trailers are allowed into Purnululu - just one of their funny little rules.

Really i think you need to 'try before you buy' or you could be living a nightmare. Hire (or buy cheaply and then re-sell) different types of campers/vans and go bush for a week with the brood. Bear in mind that you will be packing clothes for all seasons for a 12 month tour.

AnswerID: 333612

Follow Up By: hooter - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 15:38

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 15:38
Thanks Motherhen,
Some good points to take on board. How does the F250 go getting around?
FollowupID: 601416

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 16:15

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 16:15
Hi Brian

Powerful! With 7.3 litre td after the Patrol with 3 litre td, we have power to spare. However we use more diesel (average roughly 4 kms per litre towing compared to 5 with the Patrol). We don't have a chip, and some who do say this helps by holding it without dropping gears so soon.

No fun to park in a suburban shopping centre car park either. Many tourist towns we meet when travelling have larger parking spaces to accommodate motor homes and big rigs. Being wider, we got some scratches last year on tracks (such as Holland Track) around the WA Goldfields when we went camping in the F250.

We purchased it because we could not load up the caravan for a long trip and be legal due to the 2.5 tonne limitations of the auto gear box on the Patrol (our caravan is 2.2 t tare - just by filling up the water tanks we would be over the 2.5).

On our recent four plus months on tour, we didn't miss much due to our size. The only place we bypassed was one of the gorges along the Gibb River Road, but we went to the rest of them. Others with bigger Bushtrackers than ours did go in to that one, but it was a small car park to turn around in. Sometimes we based ourselves at one park for a few days to do day trips to places where the caravan couldn't go.

FollowupID: 601422

Reply By: balko - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 18:40

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 18:40
I would go bigger about 21-22ft have seen a Jayco outback with expanda front double bed and 3 bunks at the back inside the van.He paid $42000 brand new with warranty. It was a great set up and they followed us up the gulf track with no probs at all. We have a small van (Supreme getaway)that has gone near every where any van will go but it is small with a child. just my thoughts go bigger and carry a chain saw. Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 333635

Follow Up By: Goona - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 22:48

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 22:48
Hi Balko,

I spoke to Jayco re their warrenty on their Outback campers and vans and their response was if you take it off road then you void your warrenty. Not reall good if you intend to do some bush travel.

Goona
FollowupID: 601475

Follow Up By: hooter - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 08:48

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 08:48
Thanks Balko,
We are looking at Retreat daydream 3 bunker van, although not an off road van, it will (should) take the dirt roads ok? I have heard a lot about the Jayco's with parts coming loose after a while on the road and they don't seem to have the good resale like other brands.
Thanks again and good traveling.

FollowupID: 601515

Follow Up By: balko - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 16:35

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 16:35
I heard the same thing about Jaycos but after seeing where that one went i have now changed my mind. True there not as robust as the big offroad brands but for value for money you cant go past them. He swore to me that they are covered off road but im only going off what he told me. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 601562

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 20:55

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 20:55
The question is

What are you going to tow it with as it may limit your choice by the weight of the van.
Dont believe the salesman when he says " Dont worry just dont fill the water tanks"
Wrong !!!!!!!
You are legally limited by the manufacturers recommended towing limit.
EG a 3.0 Patrol auto is limited to 2.5 tonne ATM as is a Prado and a Pajero and most Utes except a Navara.
For a big van over that weight you really need a 4.2 Pootrol or a Croozer later than 95????
Something to think about when you are looking as I made an error and had to upgrade the tow vehicle.
A $23,000 mistake.
AnswerID: 333657

Follow Up By: Goona - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 23:07

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 23:07
Graham,

I have noticed in a couple of your posts that you keep spelling Patrol Wrong. Should try the spell check feature as it works a treat.

Best regards and keep on trucking
FollowupID: 601482

Follow Up By: hooter - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 08:51

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 08:51
Hi Granham,
Thanks for the info, but we should be ok as we have a F250 dual cab 4x4 with a 7.3ltr turbo diesel. Although it may use a little more fuel, we will have the power to get us along will ease.
Thanks and travel safe.
FollowupID: 601517

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 08:45

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 08:45
Do u own one by any chance.
I also sometimes spell Cruiser the humerous way but you dont critisise that.

Lots of others call vehicles by different names

EG Kiwis Grenade, does that upset you as well

Spelling on here leaves a lot to be desired at times.

EG Sight for site
Duel for Dual
Effect for affect or vice versa.

So far a little banter or humour has not been prohibited yet and as I have owned both vehicles I am not biased either way.

Trolling however has been.

I do use the spell checker and its a pity more didnt.

AnswerID: 333716

Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 15:55

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 15:55
Hi Hooter,
We are travelling with a 5+7 yr old, been on the road 22 months now, in a camper trailer. Actually has more room than most caravans. Main tent 8 ft x 8 ft, Annexe 12ft x 8ft, kids room 7 ftx 5 ft. Main tent is 5 mins to set up from pull up to bed. whole thing 19 mins. We have heaps of room and can go where ever we like not restricted by towing. This life style is not for everyone, just most people shy away from trailers cause there is no room in them. This is not always the case. Not sure how off road you want to go but we have seen some amazing stuff by being able to do this. Just food for thought.

Kidsandall
Josh
AnswerID: 333760

Follow Up By: hooter - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:08

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:08
Thanks Josh, You make some really good points. We have a camper tailer now, but I think we would rather take a van for the big trip around the island. Just to give the kids and us some space to live in and to have storage for all the stuff we need.

If you don't mind what would your average for travel costs per week, with food, fuel, sightseeing, spending money, repairs etc. Don't answer if you don't want, I am budgeting around $1200.00 per week with 3 kids.

FollowupID: 601664

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 23:08

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 23:08
Hi Hooter,
Many times we have looked at vans and gone mmmm.. nice. But then when we get somewhere remote by ourselves we remember why we have the trailer. Not for all though.
Before I got my current job our costs were minimal. In tassie accom.. averaged $3.20 a night for 3 months. From Bermagui in N.S.W. to Adelaide was free camping all the way. We travelled slowly so fuel took a while to add up. Now with my job as a sales rep while travelling we stay in caravan parks more for convenience which costs from $120 a week to over $400 a week for a powered site depending on time of year.
Your estimation is in the ball park. Coming down from Darwin in 1 week we used over $800 in fuel. This week in S.A. $300, Last week $150. 3weeks ago paying $1.80-$1.98, now pay $1.45. Makes a big difference especially with big distances to cover.
Things that add up quickly, take away(even chips aren't cheap these days), cappuccino's, entrance fees and car repairs. We try to see a lot as we figure the chance to do this again is unlikely.
Car costs are more than we expected but then again most people have some sort of problem when they go away, it's just that we are away every single day. Hope this helps and most all hope you all enjoy the trip.

Kidsandall
Josh
FollowupID: 601801

Reply By:- Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:36

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:36
Hi Hooter
you don't need a large van or even a medium sized van. We know because we did it. in July 2005 we packed up 4 kids (aged 5 to 10) into a dual cab Hilux and a 1979 Jayco Swan and spent 7 months on the road.

it was the best thing we ever did. the kids loved it. we loved it. so do it. even if you dont have much money that should not stop you. you dont need a big F250 and massive Bushtracker. small simple and cheep is the way to go.

as far as going off road with our camper - it will go most places. otherwise you take a tent as we did on Fraser Island or do it in day trips. othe families on the road had big buses (cant get off the beaten track much) and others had tent type camper trailers. our camper traveled into Gregory National Park (on a no trailers road) and on the southern track into Litchfield NP - not an easy road and through water.

there are lots of free camping spots around the country. look at the book "Camping in Australia" or "Camps Australia".

we did schooling but i dont recomend it as it is hard work. what the kids learn on the road is more than they will learn at school.

so do it. go for it. it will be great.

Ronald and Jacky
AnswerID: 334413