Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 19:24
Red Tail Black (WA)
Hi Guys,
At last we can see some action. 2000 Troopy has gone into Brunswick Diesel for the new Chevy 6.5lt. Putting in new gear box,diff and transfer case as
well . Then off to the gas fitters followed by a complete respray.
Will now have to say I've got a CHEVOTA instead of a TOYOTA.
While this is all happening our new 19ft Elross off-road caravan starts to take shape. This will be completed by the end of January 09. Then we can start to do some test runs.
Thanks to everyone who has answered our questions over the last 12 months this site has been so informative. Have now finished the fit out of the troopy and will post photos in the next couple of weeks.
Cheers Brian and Julie
Reply By: Mark-n-Troods - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 20:36
Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 20:36
Good Luck with Brunswicks :-(
Follow Up By: Red Tail Black (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 20:59
Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 20:59
Hi Mark ,
We have done our research and are quite satisfied what we have been told from people. We also know that sometimes thing don't go right for everyone but they certainly look after you if there is a problem. Did you have a problem with them Mark.
Follow Up By: Mark-n-Troods - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 21:09
Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 21:09
yes mate to true . I to have had heard good things about bruswicks and continue to do so, thats why we chose them for our conversion , but we did have some and still are having trouble with the conversion.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 23:28
Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 23:28
Could you elaborate on what issues you are having please?
Roachie (owner of Brunswick-converted Patrol 6.5 Chev)
Follow Up By: Red Tail Black (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 23:46
Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 23:46
Hi Roachie, Are you happy with yours and what is the fuel consumption like.
Cheers Brian
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 08:01
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 08:01
Yes mate, very happy with
mine. Considering the weight (3500kg), bigger tyres and 4" lift....I'm happy with the consumption of around 17l/100klm. It was better when I had the LPG connected, but after some recent changes on the rear end, I haven't yet decided whether to fit a new/smaller LPG
tank, so Ive been running on straight diesel for a month or so.
Mine was converted in 2000 when the truck was brand new. The motor fitted was also brand new ( a lot of them are re-built motors). I'm the 3rd owner, so haven't been privvy to whether the original bloke had any teething issues.
What seems to be your main issues?
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 08:03
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 08:03
Sorry..... my question "Waht seems to be your main issues?" was meant to be directed to Mark and Trood...........
Follow Up By: Red Tail Black (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:43
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:43
Thanks Roachie for your info sounds like your getting a good economy for the weight of your vehicle. Yes
mine is a brand new drive train also. With the new van I wanted a bit more pulling power, our tare on the van before loading is 2.ton.
Looking forward to getting my truck back in about a week. I'm having the gas put on straight away so like you it will be diesel gas from the start. Taking it your way in March, as we will be heading to
Murray Bridge for the National Steam Engine Preservation Rally being held there. If you're out that way give us a hoy.
Cheers Brian
Reply By: Pebble - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:46
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:46
We had one (6.2L I think?) put in our Troopy back in 2003. Only teething issue was that the power steering pump went, but they sent one out to us straight away.
Had to sell that car & couldn't afford or have time to switch the engine out (yeah big mistake) so some years later after we purchased the 80 series we had a Brunswicks 6.5L installed in it, got it done up in
Townsville but engine was shipped from Brunswicks. When we moved to WA they checked it over and changed a few things (wiring / hoses or something) that hadn't been done the right way or the way they liked.
In both cases hubby had the diff ratios changed too, or whatever mechanical stuff they dot here.
We did have some issue with the 2nd engine - I think from day dot, it was a bit rattly on startup but we thought that was normal, now I'm not into engines but it was something costly and if nothing had been done about it then it would have been detrimental down the track (about $1200 I think). We traded that car in earlier this year.
With the 80 series it was pretty heavy, bordering on overweigh, so the fuel economy was impressive with the chev if taking that into account - from memory it was around 8k's a L
So we're more than happy with Brunswick's service, and Hubby now has a TD Cruiser Ute (not the V8 thing) but I reckon if he had $20k to spare he would jump at the opportunity to put a Chev in it. Nothing beats the power of the Chev, from a wife's perspective though a normal TD engine is much quieter on the noise front. Long trips in the chev 80 (we did cross Aus a few times) would drive me nuts! Mind you I would still listen to some engine noise rather than tire noise like you get in the small cars, that drives me more bannanas!
Follow Up By: Red Tail Black (WA) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 00:03
Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 00:03
Thanks Pebble,
Sounds like you had a good run. Julie will have to turn the Mp3 up louder.LOL
Yes we have been impressed by the service they have given people. Were you towing a heavy van with 8km a lt, as we would be happy with that. Yeah its not cheap but we thought we're spending heaps on the van so the car need to be able to have the power to tow it. Thanks for your feed back.
Follow Up By: Pebble - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 00:45
Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 00:45
Yes our only problem was really the fact that the car was a 91 model, and since it was so decked out it was hard to insure for the value it was really worth.
The ute my husband did have would probably have got the Brunswick treatment if it was worthy (it was an ex environmental ute so a bit of a dud buy in regards to the punishment it had been through) so he ended up getting a schmick looking silver one with a stock turbo in it.
Another thing that came to mind is make sure you don't move to NSW. We had a QLD engineers certificate and had to get another one because NSW didn't recognize it. Here in WA the weight of the vehicle as a whole was pretty borderline, but of course that was due to other accessories and not so much the engine.
We didn't tow a van but we did have a camper trailer of up to 1.5t
I've read some negative impressions of Brunswick or some issues people may have had (overheating), but nothing really definite.
Oh by the way we have a spare (brand new) starter motor that would suit the engine. We had trouble starting the last one and tried everything to find out in the end it was a toyota relay, it happened on our last trip over to WA before we moved here. So yeah I think we tried two different starters and hubby ended up buying a brand new spare to carry! Yes I will be putting up an ad in the trader soon - I just remembered.