CITY WEST 4WD Club Great people

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 22:44
ThreadID: 63247 Views:3323 Replies:2 FollowUps:3
Well JohnR and I are back from the final recce day in the Pyrenees and we again had the good fortune to meet up with the members of City West 4WD Club at Glenpatrick Reserve. I reckon that these people are a great advertisement for how good natured and helpful the 4WD fraternity can be!

We have read on here of some aggressive and embarrassing conflagration regarding 4WD club behaviour so its opportune to mention a club that shows the true value of the handshake of a 4WD person. They couldnt have been more friendly, helpful or congenial and had I lived closer I would be knicking on their door to join.

These fellas and ladies sure have their act together.Well done!

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 22:54

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 22:54
Thats the club that Milton Oliver started a few years ago out Melton way.

Milton is a pretty good bloke and I'm sure the ethics of the club will be a reflection of the man.

AnswerID: 333687

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 23:54

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 23:54
Yes, indeedie Bonz, they seem nice folks and we have met them before, well some of them doing their own recce for this last weekend.

We heard though that the weekend has had mixed fortunes as one fellow tackled a track we had thought pretty damaged and found his own car damaged as a result. On the Old Buff Track, there is a section that is now bypassed by other tracks. There were two cars that tackled the rough section. One better set up than the other and the lesser set up car did diff damage to the extent of breaking off the trailing arms for the rear axle and breaking the pinion housing of the rear differential.

Those who go to Glenpatrick next weekend will be pleased that the whole camping area has been mown and that the clearing of dead trees, though not complete, is well under way. Moneys we gave then last year have been put to good use and some fireplaces are being set up though, more are planned.

No doubt with the likes of the City West 4WD Club and EO members visiting in the future the recreation area will enjoy further development.

It is noticeable that one or two of the locals love to mix with the visitors too. Col, a local we met last year seems to love the fraternity, so enjoy the association there too.

One thing we have to be aware of though is that water is precious. Moses, our (now farm ute) will take an 800 litre tank of water to Glenpatrick as the main tank is empty. He won't be there til Friday afternoon though.

Thanks for chauffering around the tracks Bonz, the company was excellent for the whole day. I think Maccas in Ararat must be in profit from your visit though.
AnswerID: 333695

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:21

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:21
Hi John

Can you confirm co-ords of where Glenpatrick reserve is.

On a parks map you once sent is an area called Glenpatrick Picnic on a road from Glenpatrick to Mt Avoca.
I presume thats it and this is a couple of Km NE of Glenpatrick at about 54H 708355E 588781N (any units are ok )
FollowupID: 601682

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:51

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:51
Robin the maps are at the Member Files area still from last year.

We are actually going to the Glenpatrick Reserve. There are flush toilets as long as we provide water and a shelter and fireplace with log seats. We are asked NOT to have a fire mid-cricket oval now near where we had one last year and buried it. There have been others using it and it spoils the annual match.

Oze on my maps is 37 08.350 S 143 19.550 E. It is before the Glenpatrick village as the picnic ground is beyond the village. There is a small camping area beyond, just before the climb up the North Glenpatrick Track that we will do in varying forms, up and down to Mt Avoca. It is a bit more rutted than last year.

Look forward to seeing you there Robin. I won't get there til near midnight Friday, but Heather will be there with Willem and Judith about the same time.
FollowupID: 601691

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:32

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:32
Thanks John , probably won't be there much earlier C U there

Thats 54H 0706584 5887149 for others that use UTM
FollowupID: 601702