Avan Pop Top
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 09:16
campermans
Hi everybody, I am looking for some recommendations on the Avan Charlotte range as I am in the market for a pop top.
I hear some stories about the workmanship of these vans not being the best.
I can not validate this claim myself and do not hold any view good or bad about Avan as I have only seen pictures from there website but I am looking for some advice from recent owners and there experiences with this model?
Reply By: gezza100 - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 15:14
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 15:14
gday campernans, while i do not have one of these vans personally, my parents recently (07) purchased an a-liner. It is perfect for 2 ans they tow it no worries with an older fairmont. The quality of construction is very good, set up is basic and I have been
camping with them in some ugly weather and never saw a drop of
water anywhere inside the van.
All in all a great van, i reckon you could do a hell of a lot worse.
Reply By: Kirks - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 15:25
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 15:25
hi campermans
the
cook and i purchased an avan it was an erin 16ft it was a lovely van,workmanship was very good.it was lovely to tow, we only used it three times then sold it, as we had two small dogs and wasn't keen to take them away on our travels,as for the van it was wonderfull.
kirks
Reply By: bruce - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:05
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:05
We have a A Van Tayla model..dual axle poptop ...stories are usually just that , while I will not say that the workmanship is excellent it is not to bad , ours had a couple of small faults that were easily and quickly fixed ...one by the dealer the other by myself , we have no real complaints and have had the van for 6 yrs , it has been over some fairly ordinary roads in that time without any damage..no real off road work as it is not designed for that , but we reckon it is a good van...just as a comparison a mate bought a J...O similar size and I know which I would prefer ..we have it...cheers
Reply By: teabags - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:20
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:20
We're on our second Avan poptop. The first, a 2nd hand 2002 Rhys was a very good van but last October was severely hail damaged. Insurance write-off. Didn't even look at other makes of van, bought a 2nd hand 2005 Erin. Very happy with the quality and finish.
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:02
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:02
Hi Campermans
We have had an A'Van Erin Pop-top for 4 years now. Its done over 50,000 km, and we are delighted with it.
Sure, the workmanship was not perfect (caravans are hand made, unlike modern cars), but the dealer did all we asked of him. One funny and rare problem came up and the factory got involved and fixed it to our satisfaction - over three years ago.
It tows
well, is
well balanced and light. Last week we were in some high winds with a big dust storm but absolutely no problems towing even then.
Its a low end van and like other brands in this range has annoying things like inadequate thickness of 12 volt wiring, fridge flue design not to Dometic specs etc, but from observation more expensive brands still have their issues. These things can be fixed fairly easily too. And - it has a lot of beaut features too, and there have been some upgrades since we got ours.
I had a quick peek at the web site, and the Charlotte looks just a little longer than ours but my comments should all apply.
Knowing what I know now, I'd buy the same one again.
Max