qubert
just been to
cape york and back ( from
darwin ).drove accross the koolitah crossing - easy , did the old tele track -easy ,drove accross the
jardine river - easy peasy. and drove down the
creb track from north to south - harder, came back through the gulf track - easy but good. It was all a good drive but i guess we expected more.
how come everyone raves about this trek , we were looking for some 4x4 action and adventure. I could find more 4x4 adventure out the back of
darwin, but maybe thats cause i know the area a bit better i suppose.
Reply By: Tony - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 17:16
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 17:16
The later in the year you go, the easier it gets, Try the same trip late May and see what you think then.
Reply By: Ruffstuff. - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 17:25
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 17:25
As Tony has said above, totally depends on when you go and what the weather has been like beforehand.
I did the trip in mid june one year after a very big wet.
I can assure you- although not impassable, Easy was not a word i would use to describe it.
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 18:06
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 18:06
Your post surprises me.
As a Territorian, you must be aware that almost all tracks can be relatively easy under the right conditions.
CY is no different. People have walked and bicycled up and down the Cape for years. easy peasy. But during the Wet ? I don't think so !
Last year I took a Kiwi who runs 4wd tours in NZ, out to
Birdsville.
I've done that trip a dozen times before under different conditions.
The tracks that had been corrugated the previous year had been graded as smooth as a baby's bottom.
The killer wildlife had disappeared, if it hadn't been for the road kill at the side of the track he wouldn't have believed that there were any roos left in Oz !
It was an absolute doddle.
Yes, I have much tougher tracks in my backyard, also. So has he. But we still had a ball :))
Follow Up By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 18:45
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 18:45
Well said Footy
Cheers..... Dave
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 19:01
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 19:01
How deep was the
Jardine ?
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:02
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:02
Irrelevant Kiwi, the old crossing is closed and overgrown, and all travellers are directed to use the ferry now.
Cheers Colin.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:08
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:08
Hi On Patrol,
This guy says - "drove accross the
jardine river - easy peasy". That's why I would like him to expand a little and give us some of these 'easy peasy' details. Looks like a bit of trolling. :-))
Follow Up By: furph - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:47
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:47
Crossed the
Jardine in Aug. 1959 in our 1954 swb petrol Landrover.
It was NOT easy, walked it first in a terrified sort of way, tarped it
well and across no drama. But there was a lwb Landy on the other side in case we faltered!
Travelled together rest of the trip, there was not a lot of other traffic.
Wife and I are planning to go back next year (only a 50 yr.gap!) but this time it will be "easy peasy".
furph
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:53
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:53
Gday Kiwi, you maybe right mate.
Cheers Colin.
Follow Up By: qubert - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:48
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:48
no all you experts. the
jardine is not overgrown and closed. we drove acceoss it. you just have to find the correct entry and exit points. when you get to the end of the tele road turn right not left and go a fiurther 1 km and there it is the opening . we went accross and it was about 500mm deep until the last 10 meters where it was about 800mm deep and out the other side . thats it. old mate on the barge was shocked so he only charged us half price. smoke that in your poles
Follow Up By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:59
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:59
Recently watched a DVD of the Gall Boys from Kedron Caravans crossing the
Jardine with a van in tow...i wouldn't say they done it easy peasy...but they did do it, just last year....
Cheers.....Dave
Follow Up By: qubert - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:02
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:02
well i can scratch that river off my list anyway ..........
Follow Up By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:15
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:15
G'day qubert
I say good on you for having a go and doing it mate, My sons, a few friends and myself are heading up that way july next year, whilst i wont say im going to do it for sure, im certainly going to have a look at doing it...
Cheers.....Dave
Follow Up By: qubert - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:32
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:32
yep just keep to the right of the tele track , the crossing becomes obvious on the river bank , we walked the river with a small shotgun in hand just to check the depths, but it was crystal clear anyway .....
Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:33
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:33
when we were camped at Punsand in july this year we caught up again with a group we had met earlier on the trip . they had spent several days camped on south bank of
jardine river and witnessed a 75 series TT drive the old crossing. they also recovered a 100 series that drowned same day when the snatch strap he had on his bullbar dislodged and went under the front wheel braking him and causing the rear to bog.( driver stated he had crossed twice before in previous years and reports confirm he was looking good until the strap can loose)
I detoured into the crossing on the way back to have a sqiz and the
water was about 700-750mm - cannot comment on depth of the holes on the north exit but the reports had the 75 series starting to float as he exited- apparently there are 2 holes on exit he got thru the first one but when the front dropped into the second one the back of the truck went light.
If you are brave eneough it can be down under correct conditions
Howard
Follow Up By: qubert - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:52
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:52
hello howard. was it you on the other side
camping. we were there in the three vehicles and asked you all those questions from the other side . you pointed us where to cross the river
Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:57
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:57
qubert, No it was not me
camping there there in October
I was up the cape in July but the xing is as you described about 1 km up to the right after you hit the riverwhen approaching from the south.
water levels had obviously dropped a bit over the last few months
Howard
Follow Up By: qubert - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:53
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:53
sorry mate , just checking
Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:49
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:49
Wow - I 'd like to see utube (or similar) footage of a recent crossing of the
Jardine. Like others, I honestly didn't think people were still having a go. Many stories of yore, regarding locals digging channels, methinks various torrents would change the bottom profile so not sure how true that could be, but I did witness crossings 10 yrs ago or so but don't really see the point (responsible mother and all that now). But good luck to anyone that has done it - unscathed to tell the tale.
Reply By: Voxson - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:19
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:19
We have got several reasons why not to cross the
jardine soon after the wet finishes. May 2007.Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
And it aint easy peasy at the wrong time of year.
Follow Up By: Sea-Dog - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:09
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:09
Geez it doesn't look like you got far at all...
We were at that exact same spot in 2005 doing the "should I, shouldn't I" thing and after walking half way out and seeing how dark and overgrown the OTHER side was we decided to go to the barge after all.. ha ha
Good on you for having a crack all the same.
Follow Up By: donks1 - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 20:35
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 20:35
G'day Voxson
Thats a very keen attempt, particularily in a Nav, at that time of year
A bit too early in the season i think.
at least he got out safe, just a bit wet hey lol
Donks
Follow Up By: Voxson - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 00:12
Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 00:12
Yeah,, No-one died hahahahahaha... Just a bit wet around his groin area lol...
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:23
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:23
May I respectfully suggest that such crossings are not to be encouraged?
Follow Up By: Voxson - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 10:49
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 10:49
LOL.. Definately..
But when someone in the group wants to try it all we can do is be as prepared as possible for a recovery.
We had a hell of a long strap curled up on his roof.
The only thing we wernt sure of was who was going to run it back if he got stuck too far out.
But he wanted to try it and we all experienced something from that day,,,,, Dont drive across fast flowing rivers with muddy bottoms.. hahaha...
Reply By: Tony - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 06:42
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 06:42
In 1976 this crossing was the only way to get to the tip. This was just before the private ferry that was downstream.
A wire cable was available, with a block on the north bank. One vehicle drove south pulling another to the north.
In june of that year we saw only 5 other vehicles on the entire trip from Lakeland Downs and back again. The return trip through Breeza Station and Kalpower.