Cooler Esky"

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 18:38
ThreadID: 63263 Views:3650 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
I sprayed the roof on my house about 6 weeks ago with a product
called ACRATEX , its a roof heat resistant membrane..paint..
Worked a treat,instanty cooler ,anyway i ended up painting
a 80 ltr esky with the same stuff.,,i left it in direct sun for about
3 hrs and felt the top of the lid,,,,,it was cool to touch..
This would work well on caravan roofs in summer or anything
that got HOT from direct sunlight.. No affilation with product..
This stuff will stick to anything if it is PREPARED right....
darrell...........

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 18:54

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 18:54
Giday mate, who stocks the stuff ?

Cheers......Lionel.
AnswerID: 333790

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 19:00

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 19:00
Dulux Lionel,,its not cheep / about 180 bucks for 15 ltrs..
To do a caravan roof u will need about 4 ltrs but u can only buy it in 15ltrs.......
FollowupID: 601576

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 19:22

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 19:22
Acratex ??? There is a wide range of products here but can't find one which has heat resistance/deflection.

Kevin J
AnswerID: 333797

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 19:31

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 19:31
Site Link
FollowupID: 601579

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 19:29

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 19:29
There is a mob in S.A. called Astec. They also make a membrane product for roofs also that sounds very similar and is claimed to work the same way. I don't know about the roofing, but a similar product they sell for external walls works very well indeed. Thet sell a lot of it in SE Asia. We have had it on our house for three years and are very happy with it. Interested in the roof product Darrel, just much do you think it has dropped the internal temp?
AnswerID: 333798

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 19:33

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 19:33
Mfewster( 20degress ..easy
FollowupID: 601580

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:08

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:08
Just type "heat reflecting paint" into Google and you will get heaps of these products. Some may supply smaller quantities. There used to be a couple that advertised in Caravan World but I have not a copy of it in hand. They certainly supply small quantities.

AnswerID: 333839

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:31

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:31
if you have a GOOD insulation barrier between the outerskin and inside skin then dont bother wasting your money
AnswerID: 333897

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 19:17

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 19:17
You are dead right but most eskys havent ,,,,,,,have they!!!!
FollowupID: 601750

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 20:57

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 20:57
my 90l commercially available does
FollowupID: 601769

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:46

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:46
I have the same stuff on my roof (just completed a few weeks ago, cannot say it cooled down by 20 degrees but does seem cooler as air con have not gone on at all so far.

The only issue I have with the stuff is it gets sort of sticky if walking on it in the heat and it holds the dirt when doing that.

Of course I'm renovating the house so have to be on and off the roof, will give it a gentle clean to remove the dirty marks, hopfully it cleans easy.

I would say good insulation is much better but if you cannot do this worth a go.

AnswerID: 333932

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:19

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:19
Air conditioning would struggle to cool a house by 20 degrees!
FollowupID: 601742

Reply By: darrell.QLD - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 19:11

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 19:11
Air conditioning would struggle to cool a house by 20 degrees!

I dont know where u live shaker,,,not NQ i bet !!
Temps get to 38 to 40 here in summer ...
Take 20deg away, leaves about 20deg.....
If an aircon could not take 20deg of the outside temp
what good would it be!!!???AIRCON COULD NOT DO IT????
RUBBISH!!!!!!
AnswerID: 333945

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 19:32

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 19:32
"Properly functioning air conditioning systems have a temperature drop of 14 to 20 degree temperature difference between the supply and return ducts when it is above 75 F degrees outside."

After a quick Google! (note temps in Fahrenheit!)

I still maintain that the average domestic air conditoner would struggle to drop the temperature in a house by 20 degrees, It may cool a room if it was shut up.

FollowupID: 601753

Reply By: darrell.QLD - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 19:39

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 19:39
Shaker,i have walked into pubs and RSL clubs up here and people were whinging about the aircon [TOO COLD } IN SUMMER...
AnswerID: 333948