Murray River Camping and Wind.
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:57
Best Off Road
We've camped along The Murray in Sept 2006 and again Sept 2008.
Both times Boomanoomana
State Forest, just out of Mulwala/Yarrawonga. It is a simply beautiful spot, lots of open
camping, not crowded, grassy campsites jus 50 yards from sandy beaches.
BUT, the bloody wind picks up on far too regular a basis. And it is an howling breeze, not a mere flutter. It can make life miserable for 48 hours straight.
It seems the wind gets channelled along the along the route of the river and builds intensity. A brief drive away from the River and it is not nearly so severe.
Anyone else expereinced this? Maybe September is a bad time to
camp there? Or is it just the way along The Murray?
Reply By: Pradobob - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:15
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:15
I was at
Mannum (SA) today. The wind was howling straight up the river! Usually comes up early afternoon, but this was 11am.
Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:40
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:40
just depends on which way and how strong the wind is blowing i reckon....hehehe.....
seriously could it be similar to those conditions which results in an afternoon sea breeze?
Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:26
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:26
We have a
shack at Punyelroo, south of Sawn Reach. The wind is pretty predictable, picking up from the south, blowing up river at around 5pm. Puts an early stop to skiing on lots of occasions.
September is a bad time of year for wind anyway, isn't it? Something to do with the ground warming up is what I've been told.
Still, when we get up in the morningImage Could Not Be Found
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:32
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:32
We were in the Murray Kulkyne for three days at almost the same time Jim. No wind at all. Fairly high banks though. Actually we could see the wind whipping through the trees on the NSW side on a few occassions but we must have been in the sweet spot on the Vic side.
Mind you, the howling south easterlies that you get in the
Pilbara in June/July were amazing. Usually dropped off at sunset for about 5 or 6 hours tho.
Mick
Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:04
Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:04
Murray River January....
maybe it is the time of year?
Great place - would go there more often if it wasn't 3 states away!
MM
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 07:17
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 07:17
what an poor excuse to not go there more often
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 07:38
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 07:38
Dave,
Those photos are about exactly what we experienced.
Cobram is about 20 km west of the Boomanoomana.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 14:46
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 14:46
Yes Member 1 it is a poor excuse. I admit to being driven by the need to work unfortunately. What a sorry life eh! LOL
MM
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 14:57
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 14:57
me too...she has expensive tastes.....and so do the kids
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 00:12
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 00:12
When I was living in
Broken Hill you knew it was time for the Silver City Show when the wind started to blow, you guessed it September.
As predictable as sunrise.
Mate from work, wanting to go for a ride out to the
Hill on his motorbike asked me what the weather would be like in Sept/Oct I said windy. He got back the other day, I asked him how the weather was, he said windy.
It's windy out that way in September.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 07:40
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 07:40
Thanks Dunc,
That confirms my suspicions.
Reply By: aka - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 08:02
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 08:02
You want to try lawn bowls at the mulwala golf wind blows them of the green nearly
Reply By: Pickles - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 10:11
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 10:11
G'day Mate
I am a Boomanoomanarian and grew up
camping and fishing every little nook and cranny along the section your talking about. Yeah there are times when the wind is a bugger this time of year always brings it.
It is a great spot just pick your beaches right and your set there are some good secluded beaches or depressions you can get into that gets you out of the wind and can make it much more enjoyable
You should try Cray fishing in winter whe that wind comes up BRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR bloody cold
cheers nick
Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 00:15
Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 00:15
Useless fact for the day.
My mother-in-law was born in Boomahnoomoonah.
Nige.
Reply By: Cram - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:47
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:47
We followed the
Darling River down to the Murray and then went to Euchuca in September/October this year and the wind was blowing regularly.
Wind, however, in September is fairly typical on the East Coast so maybe its just a seasonal thing.