OPTUS WIRELESS BROADBAND ADVICE NEEDED
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:39
Member - Graham H (QLD)
Has any one used or is using OPTUS wireless internet in WA or even the NT.
If so how do you find it.
Am looking to go onto wireless but definitely dont like the cost of Bigpond.
Optus offers 1 gig for the same price you get 200mb off Bigpond.
I have a Bigpond card I bought with the idea of going on the $34 10 hour plan and now they have withdrawn that.
A friend has Optus and it seems to go OK for what I would be doing whilst travelling.
I realise Optus coverage is not as good as Telstra but they are upgrading and spreading out.
Alos in the NT presumably there will be
places that have internet cafes if I need to communicate from where I cant get Optus.
Also this is a more viable option if we come home before the contract ends as it can be used wherever in towns without having to have a home phone.
Your thoughts and prayers please for this confused member.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 10:17
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 10:17
I'm just waiting too....
Optus Wireless
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:39
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:39
Thanks Doug Any ideas on progress of this.
I rang them yesterday but couldnt get a sensible answer if and when they were actually doing it.
The gits they have on the phone know nothing other that whats written in front of them I reckon.
Said they just use their coverage map for reference.
Told them thats a fat lot of good unless it has a date for latest update..
That was a bit beyond that operator.
Reply By: greybeard - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 10:53
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 10:53
i've got a prepaid virgin plan ( they use optus as their carrier ).
i've only used it in
perth metro so i can't comment on the rest of WA. I've had no major issues with it.
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 12:41
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 12:41
Interesting.............we got a flyer on that in the mail the other day - wasn't interested so tossed it - can't find it now - you are right about Telstra though - soon as I get to the end of my first home BB contract Solly can go jump..... everyone else provides much more download per $.
As for wireless BB - could be worthwhile as a single mode BB combo for home and travel, but speeds are a big issue compared to wired it seems - for my 'low end' requirements though, the speed issue may be insignificant.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:15
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:15
My friends here on Bribie have the Optus Fusion plan of Wireless internet and wireless home phone as
well.
The modem speeds are reasonable but the home phone is rather crappy Sounds like the old international satellite feeds hollow and noisy and gives beeps now and again.
Here on Bribie the internet is a bit slow probaly because the DSlams in the exchange are pretty full.
Is really bad after school and at nights. Is fine at 4 in the morning so must be user driven slowness.
MY son is on iinet at Bulimba and gets lightning fast speeds at 24,000k Can d/load a movie in no time at all.
This is only available where iinet have their own gear in exchanges. Costs him about $60 for 20 gig a month
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:40
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:40
G'day Graham,
Sorry can't comment on the WA and NT experience yet. But decided on Optus and have been trialling here and there and offer the following. Using it at home it is connecting at 7.2kbs (?) and seems very quick. Due to other issues I was unable to try in Dubbo/
Peak hill but on the limited opportunity I had at
Peak Hill it briefly connected at 56 Kb (like the old dial up) on the GSM network there.
So far reasonably happy with its performance but only based on limited travel.
Signed up for 5 Gig for $30/month and haven't come close to using this capacity over the last 2 months.
One observation is that I have to have the USB modem in place before I turn on the lappie otherwise the firewall prevents the connection.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:49
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:49
Had similar startup problems using Zone Alarm as a firewall.
You can however configure a firewall to exclude this and have it work.
Havent tried it on my lappy yet.
Usual way with Zonealarm is turn on laptop.
Turn off Zone alarm attach and connect with modem then turn
ON Zonealarm and it will recognize and remember the modem
from then on.
Reply By: David N. - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 15:36
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 15:36
Yes, Telstra is expensive..... but anything else (including Optus) is USELESS off the beaten track.
"I realise Optus coverage is not as good as Telstra but they are upgrading and spreading out." Major understatement!
Do you want coverage? Perhaps you could contemplate a prepaid plan when your contract expires.
Unfortunately you get what you pay for, and with Telstra that means coverage, not gigabytes.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 15:53
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 15:53
We are not going bush bashing but intend doing the round trip mainly using the blacktop and doing side trips in just the car. for day trips so is not necessary "offroad " as such.
Unfortunately with Testra you DONT get what you pay for.
In reality coverage is of no use when you run out of, in Telstras Case, Megabytes.
We anticipate getting a Gigabyte plan is uneconomic for what it is
Jees $60 for 1 Gig
Optus gives you that for $30. Maybe not everywhere but it may have to do.
Even the home plans
I get 20gig for $59 including a Voip connection on iinet and no over limit charges
Telstra want $89 for 12 gig and they dont know what Voip is.
Reply By: olddigger - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:11
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:11
Yes, Telstra treats its customers with contempt and charges unbelievably high prices, but the sad fact is that Big Pond wireless works
well.
It's all I can get at home, 14km from the centre of
Perth (welcome to Australia, a Third World nation with clean streets).
Online internet discussion boards have little good to say about Virgin or Optus wireless
services anywhere outside cities and big country centres. The new network being developed by "3" may be worth looking into.
In the meantime, it's Telstra, I'm afraid.
Reply By: DesF - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:12
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:12
hi, If you have a Next G. phone, you can connect it to your laptop with the cord or Bluetooth, and get a data package switched on when you want it. it is $39.00 for a gig ( to be used in your account month.) mate has just come back from a trip up thru
bourke to
Longreach Undara over to the coast and back down coast and home thru
Broken Hill. he did not find one place that did not have coverage, ( even at Undara
campsite) Optis and Vodaphone reception was none existent in most
places, he was in contact everyday , sending his GPS track data and photo's and we were using Skype as
well to talk and he only used 3/4 0f his quota.
We use a bluetooth dongle $20.00 and it works great.
I am using the $10.00 pack at home now, it is really fast I get 1400 down and 348 up on this and only 230 down and 58 up on my hoime wireless set up.
Also the is no contract
Just a thought Cheers Des.
Follow Up By: DesF - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:16
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:16
Just a point, we were in the west last august with friends and I had Next G and they had Optus , I had really good coverage even on the Nullabour but their Optus stopped at Pt
Augusta and only worked in the centre of the bigger towns . Esperence
Albany etc nothing aonce you were out of the main street.
Cheers Des.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:02
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:02
Can you point me to where I find that on theTelstra site as the
only browsing packs for a plan phone are $59 for a gig
And prepay is even dearer at $60 for 750mb
$30 gets you 225mb
I have all the gear for the phone and even have a USB modem
but am reluctant to pay Telstras exorbitant prices
On the prepaid page there is no $10 option except when you buy the modem and it says its equiv to 75mb
Follow Up By: Member - 1/2A - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:49
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:49
$29 for 300mb I used this on my last trip and found it quite adequate for emailing and banking, but it is only available on certain handsets, which are listed on the provided link.
Follow Up By: DesF - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:55
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:55
Hi First I must apologise about the $50.00 pack when I looked to see where the packs were I found the $59.00 pack and when I rang him he said he was only generalising when he said $50.
But all tha plans are on the telstra home page , Open the Home page then click "Mobiles " then " Mobile Plans" , then Brousing Packs, the first one has the $5 for 5meg, $10 for 150meg, $29 for 300 meg.
The Modem brousing packs are next $59.00 for 1 gig.
I just rang 125111 and they connect you up and if you want more you can ring and get another pack put on,
Sorry about getting your hopes up, But seems to work a treat.
Cheers Des.
Follow Up By: DesF - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:57
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:57
Hi, I am using a Nokia 6120 , as said lots of other Telstra phones do not have the range of the 6120.
Very happy with
mine. Cheers Des.
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:58
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:58
The Telstra data packs are about the same price as Optus. One is $89 for 5 GB. The big advantage is there is no contract. Switch it on when you want it. Switch it off when you don't. When you switch it off, you even get a pro rata refund for any part of a billing month unused.
So if you travel and use wireless for less than 8 or 9 months per year, it is probably cheaper than Optus (assuming you need a contract with Optus) and you get the benefit of Next G coverage.
Also no modem required.
Worth a thought if you are not travelling full time.
Norm C
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:09
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:09
Thats not cheap I get 20 gig at home for $59
It also says on the pricing page in two
places
Quote:- Unused data expires each month and cannot be used for some
services.
Can you point me to where it says no contract and unused rolls over or turn it on turn it off at will.
Telstra have recently changed a lot of plans and conditions and not for the better either I might say.
Follow Up By: Member - 1/2A - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:24
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:24
Yes it's not cheap, but you don't have a contract so do the sums and you'll find that if you use it for say three months it's a lot cheaper than a two year contract and it works every where you get Next G.
Follow Up By: DesF - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:31
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:31
You can't really compare it with a home service , we get 12gig for $29.50 on Tadaust at home , I think you have to expect to pay a little more for the conveinience of have it mobile, . but its your choice , Cheers Des.
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:33
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:33
Graham, I didn't say it was cheap. I also get 20GB for $59 at home.
I said it might be as cheap as Optus (wireless) if you only use it for 8 months or so per year, compared to an Optus contract.
I also did not say unused amounts form one month roll to the next month. They do not. It is $89 for 5GB per month. Same as pretty much all broadband plans.
You just ring Telstra and say I want a 5GB browsing pack on this phone number. They attach the pack to the number and the $89 appears on your phone bill each month, whether you use the 5GB (or any) or not.
When you don't want it any more, ring the same number and ask for it to be removed.
I last activated this in Feb this year (at that time I only got 3GB for $89, but you now get 5 GB). I cancelled the service in early August. Following month I was not charged the $89 and got about $40 credit on the pro rata part of month I dis not use.
This is our standard way of getting broadband access when travelling. Works very
well for us.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 20:11
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 20:11
Yeah see what you mean now Thought you meant you got a time credit to use later. $89 is a bit rich for me.
The Optus was an altrenative cos if it was on a 12 month contract we would just use it at home if we are back within that time but wouldnt want to use the $89 pack at home.
Will just have to decide between price and coverage I guess.
It not the end of the world if we dont get any I guess
Thanks Guys
Reply By: Member - Mal W (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:18
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:18
Can't comment on WA or NT, but I recently borrowed my brother-in-laws Optus dongle as a trial. He was in the northern rivers area of NSW and while he had coverage the speed was so slow he bought a Telstra one as
well as it was much faster. The Optus worked OK for me up the coast to
Gladstone but certainly ran out of service when we still had service on our Telstra mobile phone. So I guess it comes down to what you want. If you are not desperate to get on line and mostly want to check and send a few emails, Optus would be fine and a lot cheaper as you know. If you want more serious downloads and speed, then pay the extra and go with Telstra. We found that often the Optus was so slow we gave up. In major cities/towns should be fine but not elsewhere.
Mal
Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 20:17
Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 20:17
Hi Graham - we drove from
Brisbane to
Darwin last year.
We had Optus mobiles. Sister had Telstra NextG.
Optus had coverage for about 5% of the entire trip. Telstra had coverage for 98%, with internet.
Outcome - we dropped optus and now have NextG with Telstra.
Since then have done a 6 week trip to
Richmond,
Georgetown and
Croydon. Coverage 98% - with internet - using the datapack.
Love them or hate them - Telstra have the coverage.....Keith.
Optus might be cheap, but it is also useless outside major centres.
(nb - We have Optus cable at home, and it is slow.)
Reply By: Member - Darren M (VIC) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 12:53
Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 12:53
Des,
following up on your comment in regards to Telstra coverage across the NULLABOUR. Is your comment correct that it was available everywhere?
Darren
Reply By: cheetah - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:26
Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:26
Graham, We are travelling at the moment. so far we have been up the centre and down the west coast and currently in the eyre peninsula. We have two mobile phones, one optus and one testra. Optus just does not work in alot of
places and you dont have to be off the black top. Telsra will have full bars and optus no service. Telstra know they have the coverage so charge accordingly. For me it was a no brainer. Telstra bigpond broadband wins everytime. If you go optus my guess is you will be using the internet cafes more than not (and most
places dont have them anyway) thus offsetting the money saved on optus. We pay $89 a month for 3 gig, expensive but it works. You will regret going optus I think. cheers.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:45
Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:45
Thank you for that. Just what I wanted to know but not what I wanted to hear.
I guess I will just connect to the $59 plan for 12 months with the Telstra USB modem I have.
At least it saves me buying an Optus one and probably a new mobile to go with it.
We set off in early Feb so have a little whie to sort it out.