Caravan Rego smells a bit!.

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:01
ThreadID: 63293 Views:3325 Replies:9 FollowUps:16
Just got the renewal for the 4by , and the caravan as well. The caravan weighs about 1140kgs, the 4x4 ute about the same. The cost of each was the same down to the cent!!. The difference being the caravan is on the road for about 30days a year, the 4by 365days. The RTA must pick up a lot of revenue on parked up trailers and caravans over time !. Not as though their likeley to change the system in a hurry , not in NSW anyhow...LOL

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:04

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:04
So what was the van rego cost breakdown?? Michael
AnswerID: 333966

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:11

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:11
Mike, the rego fee= $52.00

( so called vehicle Tax) $ 302.00

I have it classed as a site van ( business)

FollowupID: 601772

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:25

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:25
Axle!! Thats heavy HUH??? Thats what we get for living in the "state of disrepair".. Michael

P.S. We should have that on the bottom of our number plates..

Where does all the money go??
FollowupID: 601775

Follow Up By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:45

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:45
Axle, you think that's expensive ?

Victorian registration on the 4 by is Registration Fee $ 178.00
TAC Charge $ 378.00
Insurance Duty $ 37.80

Total Due $ 593.80

Admittedly the camper registration here in Victoria is around $50 a year but the 4 by rego is ridiculous.

Looks like NSW isn't that expensive after all.........lol

FollowupID: 601784

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:57

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:57
G/day mate, Do you have to pay the The compulsory third party insurance on top of that?, or is that in the cost you stated? If so your on par with us, If not I'm staying here!!!....LOL.

FollowupID: 601789

Follow Up By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 22:44

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 22:44
i just paid the van rego $36 all up for 12 months. the cruiser was $520
FollowupID: 601795

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 22:53

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 22:53
Axle

You don't have to pay CTP insurance on a van as it is covered by the towing vehicle

FollowupID: 601796

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 23:10

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 23:10
Hi Dunco, I Know in regards to the van , just interested in Paul Macs reply in regard to 4by rego cost.

FollowupID: 601803

Follow Up By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 08:52

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 08:52
Hi axle,

The Victorian rego is all up including CTP Insurance> Its in the TAC Charge.

Don't know about Paul W (Vic) with the $520 cruiser rego. Perhaps the Victorian rego has recently increased because mine is due in December and I'm looking at the renewal notice right now.

Although here in Victoria if you hold a Health Care Card the renewal is discounted to $504.80 all up. I'm assuming a similar benefit would apply in NSW and other states.

The C/T renewal isn't due until the end of Feb 2009 and I haven't had to pay registration on the camper yet so it looks like that will be around $36 for the year.

FollowupID: 601823

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 13:23

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 13:23
Paid my rego for the Landcruiser last month:

Rego fee: $72.85
Road safety levy: $20.00
Motor tax: $200.00
MAIB Premium: $332.00
Stamp duty: $6.00

All up $630. That's expensive.
FollowupID: 601842

Follow Up By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 14:58

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 14:58
i just dragged mine out 4WD $172.80 Rego fee
$326.00 TAC charge
$32.60 Insurance duty
$531.40 total

caravan rego $35.60 Rego fee
$0.00 TAC charge
$0.00 Insurance duty
$35.60 total
i am pretty sure it varies depending on your post code and how many vehicles in your name,i have 2 vehicles and the van plus a C/T. cheers Paul
FollowupID: 601851

Follow Up By: nickb - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 20:26

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 20:26
My 99 Patrol rego due next month-

(This is for 12months rego in Adelaide)

Registration $193.00
Admin $6.00
Emerg. services levy $24.00
S/duty on Ins Policy $60.00
CTP $376.42
GST on CTP $33.58

TOTAL $693.00

Ouch...
FollowupID: 601884

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 23:55

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 23:55
In WA Camper Trailer (I assume a Caravan would be the same) is only $58.35 for 12 months
AnswerID: 333993

Reply By: disco driver - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 01:13

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 01:13
Axle,
Don't pay the caravan rego without making enquiries about it first.

My guess, and that's all it is, is that some computer operator has stuffed up somewhere along the line and entered the wrong rates against your van.

The fact that it is identical to your 4by (a Defender if I recall correctly) is a pretty good indicator of a stuff up.

I'd be checking it out pretty thoroughly before I pay that sort of money for a caravan rego.

FWIW my 16ft van is only $55.90 for a full year (WA Rego) made up of
Licence Fee $39.80
InsuranceCTP $4.95
GST (Ins) $0.50
Stamp Duty
on Insurance $0.50
Recording Fee $10.15

I hope that you find out that there is an error and sort it out satisfactorily.

Disco.
AnswerID: 333996

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 10:32

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 10:32
It may have something to do with being rego'd as BUSUNESS... Private may be the better option but if you are claiming something against the van for tax reasons, then obviously there may be some advantages that offset the extra cost of paying the business premium.. Mchael
FollowupID: 601831

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 20:24

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 20:24
Disco, i think the prob is in the motor vehicle tax area, $302.00

This is where the defender and the van are stated the same!

Are vans classed as vehicles and taxed accordingly?

I thought vans where in the same catogery as trailers.

Will have a big frown on at the motor registery on monday..

FollowupID: 601883

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 20:31

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 20:31
Mike, your probably right!, I set it up as a site van as it was to be used for accommodation when i was working out of home territory. A few tax benefits but not enought to offset that sort of rego really.

FollowupID: 601885

Follow Up By: bob&loz - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:07

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:07
Axle
change it back to private unless it is regoed in a company name. you can still claim tax on private regoed vehicles.
FollowupID: 601892

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 07:55

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 07:55

Up here in QLD, our total Caravan Rego was $127-30, I'm happy
with that.

Daza
AnswerID: 334004

Reply By: Honky - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 10:06

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 10:06
If you think that stinks, my camper trailer is classed as a carravan asit has elecric brakes.
Cost is around $400.

Honky
AnswerID: 334023

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 10:12

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 10:12
G'day Axle

If you don't want to pay rego on the caravan just drop it around the corner where you got bogged and I'll look after it for you on a permenant basis. LOL

We will be there at xmas.

We are in Lightning Ridge at the moment for three weeks. Great place. I have found a few pieces of opal that are worth taking home.

Our next location will be the Big Rock. We will be there for ten days.

Then home to the hunter valley.

Regards BooBoo

AnswerID: 334028

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 20:36

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 20:36
HI there Boo Boo!, your making me sick!!!, I'm still working and getting BOGGED!....lol.

must catch up at Xmas!, will stick my nose in around that period.

FollowupID: 601887

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 14:57

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 14:57
Just paid for the Croozer Reg here in Paradise CTP 299.00

Registration Fee 335.90

Traffic improvement Fee HA HA HA HA 44.45

Lightened my wallet by a total of 679.35

The van is only about $135 to offset this
AnswerID: 334071

Reply By: DesF - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 16:13

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 16:13
Hi Here in Country SA, the Pajero 6cyl Rego ( with pension discount ) is $398.00 Full yearly cost & the Jayco Eagle is $54.00 full cost. also get $60.00 a year off my second powered vehicle.
So I guess we can't complain.
Cheers Des.
AnswerID: 334079

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 23:00

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 23:00
In WA, i have paid (this includes the 3rd party damage premium)

Caravan $100.30
Camper $50.60
F250 $613.00
Landcruiser $595.85
Nissan $660.65 (always dearer than the Cruiser because it falls due 1 July when cost rises)
as well as sedan licences including $399.25 for a tiny Corolla.

Costs have risen every year.

If you really want to get hit hard - buy a vehicle in WA - the Stamp Duty is horrendous. At least they recently came into line with most other states in eliminating it on trailers (which includes caravans); prior to that it was the same as on vehicles.

AnswerID: 334156