Whalers Way..Port Lincoln

Submitted: Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 10:58
ThreadID: 63306 Views:8159 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Has anyone paid the $20 to drive this road ?. If so, what did you think?. We would also appreciate any info on nice camp or
caravan parks in the Port Lincoln Area & pleasant things to see & do. Anyone done a tuna tour ? Was planning to camp at Arno Bay & day trip it, but could be convinced to change that. Heading
for Nullabor.. Aug 09.........oldbaz.

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 12:31

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 12:31
We camped at Memory Cove in the Lincoln national park. You have to book through the local tourist bunch and only limited numbers are permitted in so it was nice and quiet.

Walers way was well worth the $20. We took some Canadian friends there after seeing the GOR and they thought it was just as good.

Pete
AnswerID: 334050

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 13:01

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 13:01
Thanks Pete, good to get first hand information.... long live Jacks.
cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 601838

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 04:40

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 04:40
Here are a few photos of Memory Cove camp:

I have put some photos of Waler's Way at the bottom of the thread.

Pete
FollowupID: 602572

Reply By: Krakka - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 12:50

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 12:50
Sure is worth the $20.00
Krakka
AnswerID: 334056

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 13:02

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 13:02
Thanks Krakka, will put it on the must do list.
cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 601839

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 13:10

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 13:10
G'day Oldbaz,

Although it is some time ago now, I found Arno Bay CP to be clean and comfortable. Right on the beach front.

Fairly quiet outside of school holidays and the fishing is very good.

My old mum had an on-site van there for years.

Not sure of any touristy trips but a telephone call to the CP would soon put you right.

Anywhere coastal down that area is good value IMHO.

Michael
AnswerID: 334058

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 13:18

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 13:18
Thank you Michael, Arno Bay seemed about the right distance from our previous stop, & simple to access Pt Lincoln & surrounds.
Appreciate your input. cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 601841

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 15:00

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 15:00
We thoroughly enjoyed Whalers Way. It was a wild windy day when we were down there and we frequently ran back to the car in cold driving rain.

We actually boiled water for cup-a-soup for lunch on top of the storage system in the back of the Patrol with all the doors closed because it was absolutely pouring. Would do it all again in a heartbeat.

We stayed in the CV Park in Pt Lincoln. It is a good location with pretty views but.......the sites were small and it is the only place we have lost gear to the light fingered brigade so be careful. If you do stay there try to get a site away from the boundaries of the park.

AnswerID: 334072

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 17:39

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 17:39
Good on yer Duncs, I'm convinced its worth a visit. Your other advice is also noted...cheers....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 601863

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 15:09

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 15:09
Oldbaz, tis young Baz here (lal), we were in Port Lincoln in late August and stayed at the Port Lincoln Tourist Park at the southern end of town, very clean with grass sites and if lucky you can get a site next to the beach.
Spent a couple of nights at Lipson Cove, approx half way between Arno and P/Lincoln, drop loos and right on the beach.
Pleasant camping at Fitzgerald Bay 10 or so Ks before Whyalla, we loved the eastern side of the Eyre Peninsula but wouldn't give you two bob for the western side.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 334073

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 17:47

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 17:47
Hey, young Baz, checked your profile & I'm not sure you can claim
the young baz title..:)))).. Thanks for the info. What was crook on the western side ?.....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 601865

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 14:33

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 14:33
Another tick for Whalers Way from me. We stayed in Kirton Point CP in Pt Lincoln and can recommend it, it was excellent. Whilst in the area you should make sure you visit Coffin bay NP, some great scenery and fishing to be had.
AnswerID: 334212

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 10:40

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 10:40
G'day Pat, I have added Coffin Bay to the list. How we'll ever get to Perth I dont know...too much to see...:)))...thanks for
the info......oldbaz.
FollowupID: 602097

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 11:37

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 11:37
Oldbaz,

we stayed at Port Lincoln on the way home from the Innaminka Gathering last July. Great place. Very wealthy town. We stayed in the CP on the other side of town. The Port Lincoln Tourist Park. It's right on the water and has great views over the ocean.

Take a drive to the top of a great lookout point just to the west of town. Forget its name but everyone in town will know it. Take your camera.

We also found the Axel Stenross Museum very interesting too.

I have a different view of the west coast of the Eyre Peninsula than that expressed above. I reckon it's better than the east coast. Tumby Bay on the east coast is nice, but just about everywhere on the west coast is excellent. Book a site at Venus Bay CP, you'll love it. Every town has a great bakery (most important). We didn't get to try Whalers Way.

Are you coming all the way to WA?

AnswerID: 334336

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 17:29

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 17:29
Thanks for the info, all noted. Yes, we are going all the way to Perth via the bottom corner. Will be in Freo just before the longweekend, Oct, for a reunion........oldbaz.
FollowupID: 602288

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 11:52

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 11:52
Does anyone have any photos of what's available on this drive?

We drove to the start a couple years ago and didn't go further as we knew nothing about the drive/area and were running a bit late for time.

I'd like to see what we missed out on, as to consider this area for next time we are in the state.

AnswerID: 334340

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 04:35

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 04:35
Herer are some:

Pete