Intercooling supercharged GU diesel

First post in a while. Just wondered about intercooling my supercharged 4.2 GU.

I just wanted to know, is there any disadvantage to intercooling prior to the supercharger instead of after? It's just that I've got more room with a water to air running from the snorkel to the aircleaner than I do elsewhere. It also reduces the pipe work that I need to run. I'm just not sure whether there would be any loss of cooling etc.

Any advice would be great.

Chris.

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 18:24

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 18:24
Advantage I can see in mounting the intercooler after the super charger is a higher heat transfer rate.

Basic thermodynamics says the greater the temperature differential between the air and the substance to be cooled, the faster the heat transfer.

I would assume the air before the super charger is about normal air temp, while after the supercharger has been heated due to the compression.

Other things do come into account, such as transfer surface area, but I think you get the drift. :o)
AnswerID: 334106

Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 18:26

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 18:26
Supercharging does not produce the heat that turbo charging does where the exhaust gas temperature becomes critical but and added benefit should be gained from intercooling as the cooler the intake of air the better a vehicle should go.
AnswerID: 334107

Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 18:28

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 18:28
Chris I dont see that you would get any significant drop in air to warrant the install pre superchager. The bad thing about forced induction in the rise in induction temp, so the benefit is to cool that boosted air before it passes into the combustion chamber.

I cant see that the relative difference in temp between the 'pre-cooler' and the air you are trying to cool would reduce the temp at all.

Hence I feel it would be just money down the drain.

After-cooler yes yes yes...would make considerable difference but obviously you are limited for room.

Hope you find a way!!!

AnswerID: 334109

Reply By: ob - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 18:47

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 18:47
Vicar

You may find that if you use a charge cooler(intercooler) before your super/turbocharger and it is using the vehicle cooling system you may be actually raising the air temperature above ambient. The purpose of an intercooler is to remove the extra heat generated in the intake air as a result of turbo or supercharging.

Cheers ob
AnswerID: 334113

Reply By: kiwicol - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 20:08

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 20:08
Hi Vicar, i also have a supercharged 4.2 diesal GQ, just wondering what system you run as the unit i run gives no room to intercool after the S/C. Also dont know what your after but for normal driving with camper trailer, on black top, and dirt have never felt i needed more as the charger gives me more low down tourge in low revs which i feel real casual 4x4ing is about, but if your into high reving compitition, then i feel you sjhould have stayed with a turbo. I have a pyro guage fitted, which i use with the rev counter to con trol temp variations and fuel consumption. I can get the pyro up to 700 degs on uphill long flogs fully loaded with camper, but have used guages and gears to control temp. Vehicle has done 370,00ks fitted with S/C for 200,000ks and have had no problems, and no oil consumption whatso ever. I also have to say thye supercharger has given me more than a turbo can ever hope to offer for my needs for casual 4x4ing. Col
AnswerID: 334125

Follow Up By: Vicar - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:13

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:13
Hey mate,

Yeah, had a custom setup done using a supercharger out of a Toyta Crown 2L. Goes well. Just always looking for better torque without the high revs.

Been ultra reliable, want to look at the 4.8 GU next, reckon they are an untapped beast!

Cheers for your info mate.

Vicar.
FollowupID: 602007

Reply By: awill4x4 - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:36

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:36
Intercooling does not work pre turbo/supercharger only after the air has been compressed and heated by that act of compression.
The temp of the incoming air pre turbo/supercharger is ambient and no intercooler will cool below ambient unless it uses some kind of refrigerant/ice slurry system so it's a complete waste of time.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 334140