Lightforce lock nuts

Might seem an odd question for some but if i lock nut at number 1 and locktight at number 2 ,How does that sound or two locknuts on both ???...$70 to protect $400 lights incl lenses is not bad in my opinion.

How do idiots usually pinch them,Just undo @ number 1 and forget about number 2 bracket ..

P.S Derek's service (Sidewinder) was outstanding,Thankyou

Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:50

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:50
Thats easy- just buy IPFs and you only have to lock 1 bolt up hahahaha. no seriously i used wheel lock nuts on mine. cheapo set, changed bolts to match thread and pitch and locked up we are.double nut both and locktight,just be quick on the adjust/tighten up! cheers Paul
AnswerID: 334143

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 22:30

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 22:30
WARFER

when i fitted my driving lights i put nylock nuts on all my bolts.......if they ( thieves) are going to flog them ten it'l take a long time to undo them,cheers.
AnswerID: 334151

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 22:49

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 22:49
Hiya Guys

I should have stated more clearly that i already have a set of the lightforce security nuts..What i think i will do is apply the security nuts at number1 and double nut number2 with loctite..

Thanks for your prompt replies...

AnswerID: 334154

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 22:51

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 22:51
WARFER

no worries mate,you have to protect them..........as with all things like that they arnt cheap,cheers.
FollowupID: 601919

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 00:25

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 00:25
That's what insurance is for, that way you always end up with the current model!
AnswerID: 334162

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 03:05

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 03:05
Hiya

The Vehicle is fully insured,I hav never been insurance claim happy,By the time you stuff around with a bit of excess it wouldn't be worth it for lights alone...If they want them they'll get them.I just want them to work for there lowlife thieving ways and hopefully take skin of at least 4 knuckles.

Thanks for all the replies too

FollowupID: 601930

Follow Up By: Krakka - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 12:44

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 12:44
You could always tell ins co they were H.I.D lights, definately worth it then.
Krakka
FollowupID: 601975

Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 00:45

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 00:45
Hi Folks

Beware lock nuts do not necessarily protect your light assests from the light fingered brigade.

I had a set of Roo Lite nicked. These are pretty much identical to the Light Force gear. The cretins cut the wires and rotated the lights while holding the so called security nut with a pair of long nose pliers. Eventually the light turns freely and the nut can be held with fingers to undo.

The solution is to put a screw, pin, rivet or bolt into the light base and through the mounting bar so that the lights can not be swiveled loose. The limitation of this setup is that you want to pretty sure your lights are setup right before doing this as they are now more difficult to adjust.

Solutions to this issue are most welcome....

Brad
AnswerID: 334164

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 05:45

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 05:45
I've had lightforce 240's for a few years, a while living in Pt Hedland. If anything was to be nicked then it would go in Hedland. Never had any probs.

I did get a long bolt as well as the security aftermarket nut. The long bolt simply meant that it took a long time to unscrew the locnut.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 334170

Reply By: Rent-A-Rig - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 06:11

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 06:11
The other trick is you have a welder you can zap the end of the threads with a spot weld. That way no matter what type of nut you have it can not come off the end. You want to make sure the thread is long enough so that when you do want to remove the lights yourself you can either grind the spot weld back or cut short the thread with hacksaw/grinder.
AnswerID: 334171

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 21:04

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 21:04
Thanks mate,might be the way to go,i have a Dremel with the Flex-Shaft Attach to get in there..

FollowupID: 602045

Reply By: Member - Ron O (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 17:41

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 17:41
Wafar what l did was to drill and tap a hole through the nut and into the thread and loctite a 6mm grub screw in works for me.
AnswerID: 334241

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 21:04

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 21:04
Thanks Bud
FollowupID: 602046