Submitted: Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 07:56
Member - Tour Boy (Bororen)
It was reported on our local (Bundy) news last night that there was a 3m croc spotted by a wildliffe officer on the western side of Fraser Island yesterday.
Over the last couple of months there have been several other sightings south of
Gladstone.
It doesn't appear that this croc was released here by the government as was with the Magnetic Island croc (relocated from
Bamaga as an experiment) last week.
Please be aware that you have to be vigilant in these once safe waters. As for us we will now only swim in the fenced enclosure at Turkey Beach.
Reply By: briann532 - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 08:44
Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 08:44
It was all a "croc". Pardon the pun..............
see this link
http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/transcripts/s1759138.htm
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 10:54
Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 10:54
Not necessarily Brian....the OP mentions the western side of the island rather than the eastern side where this mediawatch story has mentioned.
They "could" have been sighted down to Fraser Island, not out the realms of being possible.
Whether the 2 stories are related is unsure...i would think that the bundy media would be aware of the fake one (and the embarrasment that went with the "exclusive" story by the paper)
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:29
Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:29
The Media Watch story was in 2006. So I doubt they are related.
I wouldn't be at all surprised if the story is true.
The crocs are certainly heading south.
There are lots of old reports of crocs as far south as
Brisbane early in the 20th Century.
I think you wild find that with the increased numbers these days, the big males are forcing the smaller males out of the more desirable territory up North. One of the by products of protecting them will be, over time, their return to a similar distribution to before they were hunted to near extinction.
Add Global warming and they migt soon be swimming up the Yarra.
Norm C
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:48
Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 18:48
Thanks for that Norm, i assumed that the mediawatch story was recent when Brian posted this link without looking into the date closely.
Reply By: Member - Porl - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 09:29
Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 09:29
I was sharing a house with a PHD student in Zoology a couple decades ago who reliably informed me that a 5m salt
water croc had been found swimming 30km off the North Island of New Zealand. These things get around.
However, if its more of a migration South due to climate change, I'll be looking forward picking up barra in the brissie, perhaps when I retire in a couple more decades.
Follow Up By: Aussie.Nomad - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 11:27
Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 11:27
We were excited about our house, on a
hill 5kms from Curl Curl, becoming beachfront on the new costline. Now you tell me that we'll have crocs in the backyard!!
Bugga!!!
Reply By: Lotzi - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 14:32
Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 14:32
G'day Tour Boy
If you live in the area, you may know Bronco. He will tell you to take a tinny and a spotty and go up to the upper reaches of the
Mary River, watch out for red reflectors....
Have fun
Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy (Bororen) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 19:24
Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 19:24
The news just said that there have been several seperate sightings including today. The Parks and Wildlife are now going to erect warning signs.
As for going after them in the dark in a tinny... maybe a 6m tinny LOL
My boss at my old job (ie 5 weeks ago) told me that he has seen many crocs in the river at calliope but only at night and also inside the
comet weir when he was working there years ago.
They are around.
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 20:27
Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 20:27
G'day tour boy,
There was an article in one the local fishing mags a couple of years ago showing a photo of a very large croc shot in the Logan River in the earl 1900's - so I reckon it is a possibilty.
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 08:52
Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 08:52
A friend of ours lives at River Heads adjacent to Fraser, his mate
has a property on the
Mary River which flows into the Sandy Straits,
any way he was doing repairs to his Boat on the River Bank, and
decided to tie his Dog to the Boat on a lead, for a bit of security
over night, because stuff was getting knocked off, next morning
he went to do more work on his boat, and the Dog was gone,
and the Boat was pulled off the timbers he had it resting on.
he reckons it was a Croc.
Daza