Night temperatures in the Red Centre

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 03, 2003 at 13:58
ThreadID: 6334 Views:1552 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
This Thread has been Archived
Planning a short trip to Uluru in mid November. Plan to camp as much as possible, but as a complete novice from the UK, am concerned about nighttime temperatures being far to hot to sleep. Does it cool down much at night given that it's in the desert? Any advice would be much appreciated.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: StephenF - Sunday, Aug 03, 2003 at 15:11

Sunday, Aug 03, 2003 at 15:11
Non,

Go to http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/averages/tables/cw_015527.shtml

November average maximum temp is about 34C and minimum is about 17C, which would indicate that the average temp through the night would be about 20C. Sounds quite pleasant to me, but being a pom you may disagree!

Stephen.
AnswerID: 26657

Reply By: Member - Willem- Sunday, Aug 03, 2003 at 17:19

Sunday, Aug 03, 2003 at 17:19
The locals in Central Australia don't go camping from mid November to mid March as temperatures could be suffocating. Shrugging this advice off we tried it in February and at 2am it was still 32 C. Lesson learned. But you may get away with cooler weather during the latter half of November. Every season is different.

In and around Alice Springs and Uluru(Ayers Rock) the country side is definitely not desert. It may have dry spells from time to time but the vegetation supports a thriving cattle industry. There is the Simpson Desert 300km to the east of Alice and the Gibson Desert about 500km to the west. Of course this part of Australia is not going to look like the rolling green country of England and maybe to you it might seem like a desert.

Enjoy your trek to the Red Centre.

Cheers, Willem
Never a dull moment
AnswerID: 26671

Follow Up By: GOB member vic - Sunday, Aug 03, 2003 at 21:19

Sunday, Aug 03, 2003 at 21:19
gday willem is that photo around robe area

steveits arrived just got to get photo and download