OK OK WHO'S GOING AWAY FOR THE SILLY SEASON???

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 09:29
ThreadID: 63363 Views:3774 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
Yep Christmas is just around the corner, and I was wondering how
many Brave Souls are prepairing to go away for the Xmass Break,
after years of staying home after our Kids had left home and
Married ect, we decided to go away last Xmass, and we had a Ball,
so we are doing it again this year, we have a Caravan Site booked at
Yamba,
We used to go camping atTeewah Beach, and found it was allways
packed out on Holiday times, so we only go there in the Off Season,
So now we are going to Fishing Haven Caravan Park, so if any body
is in that area, please feel free to call in and have a couple of
Sun Downers with us, that includes you Mark G.

Daza

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 09:38

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 09:38
DAZA

what date are you going to yamba?

its a gr8t place your staying at.its set up well for families for fishing and activities etc.
also its a stones throw from town (yamba) for supplies, liquid & the other stuff.
AnswerID: 334316

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 10:01

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 10:01
19th Dec to 2nd Jan, yes its all good there, does'nt get jammed
pack either, and you can take Dogs, thats why the Cook is taking
me, lol lol.
FollowupID: 602088

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 10:29

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 10:29
Never liked to go away in the silly season mind you this year I am working both xmas and boxing day (BUGGA) but am escaping to Somerset Dam the 2nd week in Dec for 4 days (Fri, Sat, Sun and Monday). Been keen to wet a line for ages so if anyone is interested drop me a line and I will let you know where we will be camped.

Yamba is a very nice area have not been there for years.

AnswerID: 334329

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 11:37

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 11:37
gday all

we are going to Brooms Head for xmas.....will be there from boxing day for 10 days.
great place for the kids to run wild,its has a lagoon for them @ low tide,and bewdiful beaches gr8t for fishing and surfing or just doing nothing @ all

check it out

if anyone is out that way during this time call in & sat gday
we are @ site no.16 down by the lagoon,cheers.
AnswerID: 334335

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 11:44

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 11:44
We are going to Straddie for 2 weeks and then going to the Whitsundays for a week of sailing....

can't wait
AnswerID: 334339

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 11:46

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 11:46
TROLL81

..........very nice mate, have a blast :-)
FollowupID: 602105

Follow Up By: Grunter65 - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:22

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:22
Gday Troll

Been going camping at Adder Rock on to Straddie since 1973 when there was nothing but dirt roads and bore water. Bit different now but still a beautiful getaway isn't it - enjoy!
FollowupID: 602168

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 09:17

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 09:17
Grunter65

I love Straddie been going there for about 9 years now and we always camp on main beach as far away as we can get :)
FollowupID: 602220

Follow Up By: Grunter65 - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 09:59

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 09:59
Gday Troll

Still a chance to catch a feed of Whiting or Dart off the beach at the Pin, getting harder to do so these days after the Pros come along and repeatedly rape the fish stocks. I sit and watch them along Teewah, constantly up and down the beach, amazing anyone can catch a thing there anymore. Anyway, off the soapbox, have a great time!

Grunter the Cranky Fisho
FollowupID: 602232

Reply By: Damo1970 - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:50

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:50
We are going away Boxing Day the only difference being we will not return home for 12 months as it will be the start of our around Australia trip

47 days to go
AnswerID: 334407

Reply By: Grunter65 - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:28

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:28
Gday Dazza

Well, we're off to Teewah for Xmas! Well, we're actually going to the Beachfront camping ground on Teewah for 2 1/2 weeks from Dec 18. One more year of watching idiots fly past at 80km/h through areas where kids are playing on the foreshore, the area between the first and third cuttings on Teewah is to be closed to vehicles from March next year, a great thing I say. Before Dec 24 and after Jan 1 it'll be fine though. Enjoy Yamba, great place to kick back isn't it.

Grunter
AnswerID: 334410

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:10

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:10
QLD to Great Ocean Road, Adelaide with the rellies for Christmas, backtrack to Vic high country, Canberra, Blue Mountains, Do a lap on the Mt for the kids then QLD.
AnswerID: 334422

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:11

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:11
Big Kid too
FollowupID: 602181

Reply By: Sea-Dog - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 10:14

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 10:14
I have always avoided going camping during the silly season ... for obvious reasons.. I got talked into it a couple of years ago and couldn't believe tent city on Teewah beach...

Now the missus wants to go away again this year.... and for the life of us I can't find anywhere around the Brissy (preferably to the north as I am on the Sunshine Coast) to go that won't be jam packed over the break.

I am really not looking forward to it at all. :(
AnswerID: 334466

Reply By: Holden4th - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:46

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:46
Going to Tassie for the 2nd time to really have a good look at parts of it after my exploratory tour two years ago.

Leave the GC on Dec 7 to get on the ferry on the 10th and sail back across on Jan 12. My rough itinerary has me in Stanley, Deloraine, Bruny Island, Southport, Richmond (Xmas), Wayatinah (NYE) and some undecided places but two thirds of it is booked.

I'm happy to catch up with any Taswegian EO people while I'm there (or EOers who are visiting like me). What impressed me most was the sheer hospitality of the locals no matter where I went. I'd wander into a pub and within minutes people were talking to me. The same happened in caravan parks, hotels, clubs, etc.

NYE in Wayatinah was magic. I was invited to join what was a group of five families and sit around their campfire on NYE. (I was camped about 30m away). Apparently they go there every year and I'll be back and hopefully welcome.

Looking forward to it!
AnswerID: 334550