keep the 80 or get a hilux

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 18:39
ThreadID: 63379 Views:3626 Replies:16 FollowUps:7
g'day everyone i have a question, i have a good 91 gxl diesel it has all the good bits that i want ie winch,kaymar rear bar, lift kit, dual batteries ect. vehicle is in good nick however it has 360,000ks on it im concerned that when it does break down it will be costly . i have the chance to buy a late model hilux dual cab with 90,000ks on it . i need 4 seats and pull a trailer every day for work, what should i do

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 18:57

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 18:57
No one can tell you what to do really, deep down you will know.IMHO If your cruiser has a good service history and is running well now, keep it.Lots around coming up to 500000kms and going strong.Your old rig will be built alot stronger than a newer vehicle, what ever the brand.Plus you already have all the gear you want on it.
AnswerID: 334387

Reply By: Wherehegon - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:11

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:11
Hi There lostinwauchope, check out thread 63188. this was relating to a Sahara 80 series I was hoping to get hold of. It will give you a rough opinion on what people think of the engine and reliability of the diesel. Not sure if yours is turbo or not but the question I asked was relating to the turbo model. If you have serviced it regulary from the answers I received you will get many more klms from the trusty old girl. Hope this might help you on your decision. WHG
AnswerID: 334389

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 10:12

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 10:12
Hi WHG,
just back from the gathering, was impressed with Kevs live axle 100, but the prados went everywhere the big boys went, and did it easier then the ifs 100s. Both had muds on. I take it you are sticking with your currant vehicle.
FollowupID: 602391

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 17:10

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 17:10
Hi Pete, yeah mate didnt hear any thing back from the dealer and I didnt ring him so presume it was sold to the lady. Unless a bargain T/D 80 series comes up between now and next july I will be keeping it. Was thinking of going same model/shape 95 series prado (2000 upwards) but t/d but not sure I can really see the point in it except better fuel economy and klm range then what I have. That was my main purpose of putting gas on to make it easier to sell when the time comes as I dont do big klms around town but do go up the coast a fair bit (just over 700k round trip) but wont be doing any long range trips (as per pm message) in the near future so long range distance at the time being is not an issue. I did have it booked in for a diff lock but canned it for now. Think I will put the $$$ towards the next one. Even if I see a later model GXL 80 series T/D I will put diff lock/s in that instead. That thing of Kevs is a ripper eh ?? WHG
FollowupID: 602473

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 18:04

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 18:04
Awsome off road, and we went up some tough tracks if you check the report photos, but a lot thirster then I expected used about 4l/100 more then the Jack with a similar load. Seemed to be overfueling . Chaps with td Prados I spoke to at the gathering with lifts, bbars and aggresive tyres are only getting 14s, but the engine braking is the biggest plus with a diesel.
FollowupID: 602484

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 18:15

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 18:15
Have to agree with you there Pete in regards to diesel engine braking. The old lux was fantastic for that. when we did VHC a couple of years back the old lux would just crawl down some of them steep hills where as even the T/D prado but in auto were getting away from them and braking most of the time. No real issue as thats what the brakes are for. The petrol prado is no where near as low as the lux or even the t/d prado in auto. There prety good the jacks on fuel, better then the 95 prados LOL. Glad to hear you had a great time. Will check out the pics. WHG
FollowupID: 602489

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:16

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:16
The new breed of diesel engines today are so much more responsive ,powerfull and economical today than the old heavy 6's that we are used to....coupled with auto transmissions they are hard to beat....the Hilux has a towing capacity of 2300kg compared to your 3500kg and the change over price would buy a lot of fuel and repairs........but eventually we will all have to go that way sooner or later.....the Hilux is a pleasure to drive.

Eventually you will make the change.
AnswerID: 334391

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:49

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:49
96 onwards have towing capacity of 3500kg. We have just been on the merry go round. Ours is 92 T/D with 320 on the clock. towing capacity of 2250kg with a pinion tow thingy it will take us up to 2500kg. Have upgraded the shocks and the list goes on. We are upgrading the brakes to the 96 onwards and in turn need to run 16' tyres. Found a engineer to plate the vehicle, he said get it passed through main roads and get an s form, main roads said to get permission from manufacture, they said buy a new car. Since 300,000km we have replaced everything but the engine block it self. If you haven't done that and plan on towing any thing heavier than above change vehicles. We love our car but the last six months have been a damn expensive road down hill. We are off on our big adventure in less than two months and upgrading our van to a family unit has been very difficult. We are trying to fall in legal limits found out last Friday cant even run split rims or muddies legally a lot of people dont know that either.
FollowupID: 602177

Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:17

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:17
Keep the 80.
AnswerID: 334392

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:26

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:26
With the mods on the 80, it sound like you like to get off road a bit. The 80 Series is way better than the Hilux for that sort of work. With it's IFS front and leaf back, wheel articulation is a bit limited.

Lots more leg room in the back of the 80 as well.

If the 80 Series has been regularly serviced and well maintained, I wouldn't be too concerned about the 360,000 KM.

The Hilux is a good vehicle though. I had a 2005 (new model) for 3 years and just upgraded to a new 79 Series as I wanted more load carrying and towing ability. It was very comfortable and served us well on a number of long trips.

Only you can make the choice, but if the 80 Series is a good vehicle, it could well last you many more years.

Norm C
AnswerID: 334395

Reply By: Husky (WA) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:39

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:39
I went from a newer, flash-as-michael jackson, zippier 4wd back to the 80 and I would not get rid of for all the tea in china - it is a very trusty, capable & tough 4wd.

Sure the old straight 6 is gutless, but it's reliable if looked after and they don't make 4wd's like that anymore (IMO). Upcoming cost might be the fuel pump/injectors if not already done.
AnswerID: 334398

Reply By: Mudripper - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:44

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:44
Keep it.

AnswerID: 334400

Reply By: lostinwauchope - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:01

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:01
well guys/girls thankyou all for your advice i think you have convinced me to hang onto the old girl for a while longer yet cheers.Ron
AnswerID: 334401

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:31

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:31
The 80 would be the best option, if you change over to a Hilux it won't hold resale vale like the 80 for a start.

As said the 80 should be good for well over 500.000ks so even if you run it into the ground you will get more from it than what you will get on a trade in.

When the 80 first came out a salesmen told me that the 80 is a pass me down vehicle [Father to Son etc} after a rebuild they will do anther 500.000 plus K's
AnswerID: 334405

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:32

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:32
vale = Value it should be.
FollowupID: 602160

Reply By: NUTS! - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:33

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:33
Comes down to your MASTER PLAN!
How long do you intend on keeping the vehicle?
I've seen 80 diesels to 600,000kms! when they are looked after, so you have much life and capability left in the car you have.
On the other hand, that hilux has low KM's and if your not planning on rock crawling it'll be nearly as good as the 80, and will last maybe another 5-8 years long becuase of its KMs.
Either way, both are Toyota, so you cant really go wrong ;-)

NUTS!
AnswerID: 334412

Reply By: Angler - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:51

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:51
KEEP IT
AnswerID: 334418

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 00:39

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 00:39
I agree. If the only reasonn you are thinking of changing is because of 360 000km then Keep the 80. Even if the engine did blow up after another 150 000 km, get a recon engine for $8-10 000 and you'll probably get another 500 000km out of the 80 series. You are still in front rather than "upgrading" to a newer hilux.

If it's a dual cab you want then convert the 80 to a dual cab.

Barnesy

AnswerID: 334443

Reply By: putrol - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 11:50

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 11:50
keep it! keep it! KEEP IT!!
AnswerID: 334481

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 11:51

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 11:51
Options.

As someone with a 92 Model 1 HD-T with 300,000 km's in a similar position to you - I've been researching the options.

1. IF - you swap to the larger disc rotors brakes, AND to the 2 inch solid barstock draw bar, you should be able to get it engineer re- certified to 3500 tow capacity, these were about the only real changes from the 96 model onwards.

2. Buy a 97 - 99 model 80 series 4.2 TD thats rated to 3500 Kilos, and swap the goodies from your 91 model over to the newer ehicle with less KM's - then flog the 91 model

3. It is possible to shoe horn the later 24 valve 4.2 TDeisel, engine and box from the 96 model onwards 80 series or the subsequent 100 series, into the earlier 80 series.

An advantage being the electronicaly controlled ECM type engine to add a aftermarket chip to the ecm and get either mor epower or better economy etc etc - over the older model 12 valve 1HD-T engine.

Also - if you source and engie and box from a wrecker etc - you can spend the time & $ having it rebuilt to as new standard - ready to just drop in as soon as the old enine does give trouble.

The old engine being the factory turbo model is highly sought after for just such rebuild projects so likely if you swap it before it craps out majorly and does serious damage you might get say $5 K or more back for the tired engine and box to someone looking to do a similar excercise but not interested in the electronic wiring upgrade required to run the more modern engne.

Also - with the newer 24 valve engine and chipped ECM - you COULD add LPG injection to the diesel, gaining you a 30HP increase in power, and the $3000 Govt LPG rebate will get you the extra ponies for only about $1400 out of pocket - which you can get back in fuel savings in less than 12 months

Lastly - you could add a denco type air / water intercooler or the Safari air to air intercooler for another 20-30 HP increase.

The stock 4.2TD puts out about 150 HP roughly

If you add:-

50 HP with a after market ECM chip
30 Hp With the LPG
30 HP wth the Intercooler.

That would bring you up to about 260 HP for little extra weight!

Out of interest - all these bragsters, with their 6.5 liter (397 Cubic Inch) Chev V8 Brunswick diesel conversions - only put out 170 HP stock standard according to the specs at their website!

The standard, 80 seris you already have with LPG puts out the same HP with less weight!

The modded newer model 24 valve engine with LPG and an intercooler wll blow a stock standard Chev 6.5 out of the paddock for power AND fuel economy!

Driven sedately such a modded cruiser will return over 10 KM's/liter highway cycle without towing. (10 liters/100KM's) based on our 92 model 1HD-T with LPG which does this easily.

I reckon withthe intercooler and chip - you'd get even more!

So...

You have a few options - our choice is option 3 because we are already half way there with the LPG conversion in place already and all the goodies already on the vehicle and the body in neat shape,

They don't build them like the 80 series any more.

I reckon you'd regret going to the Lux compared to the 80.

AnswerID: 334482

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:06

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:06
Flywest
Like your option 3 will look into it. Taking off with the van behind is a real slow effort. We went through Brissy at the weekend. got caught at all the lights on the hills around the XXXX factory. Not very nice experience. As mentioned before we have spent too much to just give up and do it all again with a newer car. The old girl use to tow a camper trailer and traverse through the 4x4 parks and QLD Out Back in Rally mode with out too much trouble. Have hit a brick wall since changing our holiday experiences with the van. Have given up getting the tow weight certified, found a van in our limits.
Sharon
FollowupID: 602320

Reply By: trainslux - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 11:56

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 11:56
Keep your 80.

With what you would loose getting a new car regarding costs of onraod etc. put that towards future repairs you may require.

If you have looked after what you currently have then keep it, and look after it, and enjoy it.

80 vs newer model lux.

80 wins hands down.

Trains
AnswerID: 334483

Reply By: cruisergeoff - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 07:55

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 07:55
come on lost in Wauchope keep the 80 it a good truck, your would be made to go the hilux,anyway i know i good mechanic qld if your starting panic about car repairs bills.
AnswerID: 334803