Read the Trip/Gathering Report

Got the date sorted out and hopefully a link

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:36

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:36
So come on Bonz, where's the pictures ????

Sounds like you guys had a wonderful weekend with plenty of activities to keep you all busy.

I would have liked to have been there but alas, l was cleaning out the camper from last weekend. Next time perhaps.

AnswerID: 334397

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:12

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:12
got to download the pics mate

FollowupID: 602182

Reply By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:40

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 19:40
How do i read the report?
where do i click?
There are none of the usual links in the thread

MC
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 334399

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:05

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:05
Looks like some one stole Victoria all the other states are there but Vic
FollowupID: 602151

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:07

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:07
Try this
FollowupID: 602152

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:09

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:09
Yes the date sowing on the report is wrong but thats the one. Well done to get it up so fast, seems you all had a good time. Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 602153

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:14

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:14
Thanks for the link Toni.

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 602154

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:17

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:17
Got it working Nick, and the date hmmm amewrcaanisms 7/11 vs 11/7 AND I originally selected it from a calendar online

FollowupID: 602184

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:20

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:20
Yes Colin it was a great weekend, more room for more people too !

FollowupID: 602187

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 23:32

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 23:32
Yes Colin it was a great weekend, more room for more people too !

Will have to pull my head out and meet a few people who kindly reply to my threads...Glad it was a safe weekend for all involved..

FollowupID: 602199

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 14:50

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 14:50
A couple of pics of Toyotas on the Old Tiger Cat Track
That is me driving.

Then Kev in Darky
FollowupID: 602267

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 19:16

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 19:16
Nice camera tilt on the second photo, gives a reasonable representation of how it looks when you are standing there
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 602307

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 19:26

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 19:26
The tree on the extreme right of the photo is vertical and frames the shot. I know it is fun braking on that last slope.
FollowupID: 602311

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:53

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 20:53
*Nice camera tilt on the second photo, gives a reasonable representation of how it looks when you are standing there*

Yeah the camera mostly lies when picking up the true angle of a track,Ive had at times a person say,usually one that has not done any 4wdriving in past say hang on i think i will sit this one out (going down hill in 4wd or up)..When you usually take a picture and show people the spot they say,what he got out for that little hill...lol

Or how come the vehicle did not make it up ???

Nice Pics John

FollowupID: 602325

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:41

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:41
Warfer, Heather shall accept your compliments thanks. She sat that one out as Kev and I drove up and down. She went down the first time of course. You can see I raised a little dust there and the wheels all look to be in contact.
FollowupID: 602341

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:48

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:48
I have tilted the camera a few times taking photos, got a good one of Dave B last year.
To me it better conveys a feeling of how steep a hill is, I know that track and it appears to be quite tricky but a camera held level doesn't really capture it.
My family refused to come with me when I drove it last year, don't know why, I went up in quite an orderly fashion!!!

MC
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 602343

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 00:15

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 00:15
Gday John,

Did you try the track I sent you map of, Made Tiger Track feel like a highway. Sounds like it was a great weekend, I put of coming to organise a club trip and got no shows, never again LOL
FollowupID: 602370

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 05:55

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 05:55
Blaze we did the Old Bluff Track and did the one you mentioned last week, its been dozed, and is a walk in the park now.

FollowupID: 602373

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 07:44

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 07:44
Blaze, Old Tiger Cat was nice but Slate Quarry as Bonz says, had been bulldozed, Sardine too which was good just a few months ago. Don't forget we have shown at Riverland events before, but we have to know about them.
FollowupID: 602375

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 11:17

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 11:17
Hi Bonz and John,

Glad you had a great time, the track I mentioned is continuation of Spring Track and joins into Dam Track, just left of Cameron Camp Ground. Yes the Slate Quarry was a let down after grading.

John I think you miss read my response or i worded it wrong, I said I stayed away from the Pyrenees Gathering to do Club Trip and no local club members showed. So will not be doing that again.

FollowupID: 602405

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 19:39

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 19:39
Thats the old King Tree Track Blaze, a great drive mate. And yes I reckon JR misread you hahahaha

FollowupID: 602508

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 20:14

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 20:14
Blaze, I was in Melbourne and away from the computer when you sent that. The phone isn't set up for mapping. I can remember going up past the King Tree Track and having friend Lucy say "did you see that track off to the to the right, it went vertical......." there was awe in his voice. It is great and it takes some thought to do it. It even makes Bonz forget were his diff banjoes are.

Ahh Blaze I thought it was a club trip you did with the Lexics a few weeks back. So it was? Pity you stayed away this time as the characteristics changed.

Bonz, I talked to the Glenpatrick Committee secretary this afternoon and to hear he was to receive a cheque was great. Apparently one of the 4by mags went the previous week for a story so we may get some more differential detail.
FollowupID: 602518

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:56

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:56
Yer John Colin told me the guy loved the tracks and the company and didnt want to go home. He trailed an Ultimate over lots of the tracks too as he was trialling it for the mag.

FollowupID: 602538

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:47

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:47
Cool stuff Guys,

Will be ggod exposure, I will not miss the next trip.

FollowupID: 602549

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:50

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 22:50
Hi John,

Must admit, it is pretty vertical. I made SWMBO get out before I did it. It is very rough about half way up near the tree on the right of the track..

Will have to do it again next year
FollowupID: 602552

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:26

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:26
Great report Bonz. last time I was in the Pyrenees we had 30mm in two hours, makes the place very interesting.
AnswerID: 334428

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:34

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 22:34
Bonz, thanks for the organizational effort. I knew I was restricted for a while and you handled that easily. The report too is good but I read above about the pictures. I saw one in Kev's camera of Mr Al with the front wheels off the ground so there are some good ones to look forward to.
AnswerID: 334429

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 00:17

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 00:17
Hi again John,

My rig pic is Tiger Track with wheel lift, of course 3 weeks earlier, but gives people an idea.

FollowupID: 602371

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 16:20

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 16:20
This is that photo John,

FollowupID: 602939

Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 07:25

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 07:25
Hi Bonz

We were not happy about not making it, we were leaving on
Friday around lunch time until a phone call that we had to
work put an end to that!!! Glad that you all had a great time
hopefully there will another weekend that we will be able to
come to, we enjoyed our first EO gathering at the Pyrenees
last year.

Matt & Julie

AnswerID: 334451

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 08:07

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 08:07
We had thought you would be there too. LOL See you another day!
FollowupID: 602213

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 19:26

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 19:26
we missed you

steve and denny
FollowupID: 602312

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 22:31

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 22:31
Next time then eh? Was looking out for you but thought something must've come up. It was a great weekend

FollowupID: 602350

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 08:19

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 08:19

We had hoped to get up at least for Saturday night, but we got the fated email at 7pm Friday night with a contract too big to refuse, so we spent the entire weekend at the factory.

The joys of being self employed LOL, but we wouldn't change it for the world.

AnswerID: 334458

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:35

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:35
Jim, there times when the email should have been checked by phone AFTER you had left home. I didn't leave Melbourne until 9 though, but I did leave. I am largely self employed ..........
FollowupID: 602260

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 22:32

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 22:32
Ahh that was the deal Jim. I thought you had gotten hung up in Ballarat. Business has to take precedence at times

FollowupID: 602352

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 10:51

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 10:51
This gathering was a near perfect event thanks to Bonz, John and no doubt others who helped in little and often un-noted ways.

We managed to avoid the rain and the weather was near perfect for camping and 4wding over the weekend.

This was a new area for us and has more than enough attractions to make one wish to go back.

Some of the 4wd tracks were at the limit of capability of our cars and some good demonstrations of driving up multiple rock ledge sections were given.

After getting up one section in a bit of an ordinary fashion we were able to join the assembled group and watch a particularly good display of wheel placement and traction control shown by John, and then followed up by Willem in his unassited Patrol as they clawed up some nasty pinches.

Good effort guys and I hope someone got some pics.

The only serious mistake of the weekend was made by John who took us to a winery that only sold reds, and there was not a Chardonay in sight.
We will have to go back again so he can make amends.
Fortunately the day was saved when Lucy found some white wine later.

As a side note - at least 2 of the main tracks in the area were not shown on our GPS system running Shonky maps and City navigator.

Again, a wonderful trip and an example of how things should be done.
Thanks to all concerned.

Robin & Anne
AnswerID: 334471

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:36

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:36
What's the problem with only reds? I only bought whites beacuse you have to have them incase someone asks!!!

on the mapping there are a few tracks up there that aren't marked on maps. On the other hand some of the tracks on the map are now blocked as Kev and I found.....

MC
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 602261

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:55

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 13:55
Hi MC

We are very particular with our chardonay and mostly buy casks and mix it with 50% water.

Reds just don't cut it with water added.

Maps - Surprized to see that main tracks like Landsborough hill weren't on Shonky / T4A or CN8
FollowupID: 602266

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 14:59

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 14:59
G'day Robin, glad you enjoyed it. Wheel placement and tyre pressures mean just soo much as you showed in the pic below on the Old King Tree Track - once again not named on some maps.
FollowupID: 602268

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 15:18

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 15:18
Track correction. It is North Glenpatrick Track with Mr Al in the Toyota ahead of you. Nice and steep up further of course in that pinch.
FollowupID: 602269

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:04

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:04
*Maps - Surprized to see that main tracks like Landsborough hill weren't on Shonky / T4A or CN8*

Hiya Robin

Landsborough doesnt come up on Magellan either,but Johns do

FollowupID: 602329

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:58

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:58
Landsborough Ridge heads way out North-west towards, well, Landsborough. It has heaps of hillls, plenty of views, open forest left and right. A trig point on the hill at the end marks the way down and some deeper diggings on one of the last peaks before that.

Warfer, that map you have ther hasn't got the track between Cross Track and the base of the Old Mill Track and the top of the Nowhere Creek track either. It just doesn't appear on maps and it is a lovely, pretty track. That was Willem's comment too.

I see that Old Tiger Cat isn't named either. It is on my Magellan maps, but not the one from Cross Track, it just isn't there.
FollowupID: 602344

Reply By: Navigator 1 (Caringbah,NSW) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 11:45

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 11:45
Hi Bonz, Sounds as though you had a fantastic weekend and we are sorry that we had to miss out this time. Hope to catch up with everyone soon.
We are doing it tough up here in Caloundra house sitting a brand new home with pool etc. We feel as though we are in a resort! It certainly beats the rooftop tent.
Rob
The outback calls

AnswerID: 334480

Reply By: dieselman - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:19

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:19
G'day Bonz and crew,

How did you guys go on the old bluff track on the sunday?? You would have seen the marks of our failed saturday arvo attempt - I will try again next time.

After trying to back down a track without a guide in damp conditions and nearly ending in a rollover it was a lesson well learnt!!

Great to meet you all and hope to catch up on one of your trips one day.

Ben - Pradopoint.
AnswerID: 334557

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:46

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 21:46
Good to see you Ben, we did the middle track on the tri-bit at the bottom but Lucy had tried to draw mud everywhere by the time I got to it. I wondered why all the fuss as Bonz had to talk him through it. We could hear all the instructions and talk of winching. Like Robin Miller, we drove through.

Tyre pressures and wheel placements are the key. Practice often eh ;-)))
FollowupID: 602342

Follow Up By: dieselman - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 22:10

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 22:10
Hello John,

We had problems on the middle track on the saturday and ended up going up the far right track and then had more problems a bit further up near the top - just a bit too wet in the wrong spots.
Both Myles and I had our tyres down to 18psi but wheel placement is another big factor.

How did the two Prados in your group fair compared to all the other vehicles??

Ben
FollowupID: 602347

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 23:09

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 23:09
The Prados went well I think. They were ahead of me, Obie and Onespark.

Onespark came with us last week on Cupday and I dropped his tyres to 17 front 19 rear and he drove up everything he pointed at. I say I did, I did the first side by taking the valve cores out til they looked pretty right then Sam and Jake did the other side. He showed great confidence and loved the day. The boys did too. I had tyres at 15F - 20R on the LC this last weekend
FollowupID: 602365

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 06:00

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 06:00
Hiya Ben,

The Prado's did exceptionally well, both driving the centre track and the top quite easily. Pete commnted that he was impressed with how the Prado's went.

Good to meet you guys too, catch you on the next EO trip eh?

FollowupID: 602374

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al- Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 15:00

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 15:00
The Old Bluff...hmm...only the 2nd time in history I've asked to get out of the car and walk the rest of the way up..LOL..!!! I am much better driver than passenger....!!!!

good fun tho!

Lyn
FollowupID: 602439

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 16:58

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 16:58
Its an age thing Lyn, as we get older we are surposed to get wiser. Looks like it only works on the female gendre though LOL.
FollowupID: 602470

Reply By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 07:48

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 07:48
Thanks for a great weekend Bonz and John. We got back to Bathurst arround 6pm last night, and Kev headed off this morning for St George, what an effort on his part.
Really enjoyed meeting everyone, what a great group, and a special thank you to Steve and Denny, scrubcat and Geoff for spoiling me and Kev.
Must say I was impressed by Willems driving up old Bluff track, with one arm resting on the door. lol Got pics of that.
Thanks guys Pete
AnswerID: 334589

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 09:17

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 09:17
Pete, despite the fishing interest, you guys could certainly polish off a roast of lamb. One sitting! Appetite! pheewww!!!!!!

Great to meet you mate.
FollowupID: 602384

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 12:56

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 12:56
Thanks John,
Had to eat quickly or kev would have eaten the lot lol.I think he has hollow legs.
Kev put my Pic up for me last night and had to think of a quick signature, should have included 4wding lol . In our profile that is me pulling Swmbos Paj out which our son put in their.
My 30 yo son just rang me and asked what we done, I replied it was a 4 day party with a bit of 4wding thrown in, he replied beauty can I come next year.
Great pics by Heather to
What a great bunch of people.
On the last night we combined all our food and had a combined cook in. Judiths curry had me looking for a coldie quick smart, and we finished off with a wonderfull fuit slalad by Judith and Denny.
And I leant heaps about tyre pressures etc, which also seems to stop them jumping arround.
FollowupID: 602421

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 08:44

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 08:44
goodday guys
we also had a great weekend as for looking after kev and pete no problems
scrubby if you read this we will return the kettle to you soon

just a small note
would all visitors please note
Glen patrick reserve is a take your own rubbish home when i went to pick up the stray bottle and can bag i also found the bag half full of personal rubbish!!!!!!!

ps dont want to know about rubbish this is jusat a reminder
AnswerID: 334593

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 09:04

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 09:04
Steve, thanks for placing your rubbish bag there - sorry, recycling bag. It made it easier to keep the site clean for everyone else.

I know we took out quite a bit of rubbish last year, but it meant the site was clean and we are welcome back any time.
FollowupID: 602381

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:32

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:32
Steve, keep the kettle mate ,it might be handy on the gas if you end up at a camping spot where you might get grrrrowled at for having a fire. LOL

Scrubby.
FollowupID: 602532

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 09:12

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 09:12
Bonz and all friends, it was great to enjoy the conviviality over the weekend and the scenery the district has to offer.

Last year we forwarded a cheque to the Glenpatrick Reserve Committee which went to help with water supply and tree clearing and I am sure lifted the enthusiasm with fire places being prepared for camp fires, by the local committee.

This year we are sending them a cheque for $300.00 which is lower than last year but with half the number of people and camps I think is a pretty good effort. I think we should encourage an Honesty Box system for campers there as the facilities build and others can then contribute. It could be along the lines of the National Parks' Honesty Boxes.
AnswerID: 334598

Reply By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:47

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 21:47
Well I loved it.
What a great 4 days, great location, great people and well organised.
Thanks Bonz , John and Willem and everyone else that helped make it so enjoyable.
And I got some Witchetty grubs for bait as well.
Rainfall at home was 27mm.

AnswerID: 334750

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 19:41

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 19:41
Well Folks I have finally made it home ;))

I was going to have a rest day in St George but Sam cracked the whip so I drove home today LOL

I will do a Blog up tomorrow with quite a few pics etc

It was good to catch up with fellow ExplorOzers in Mexico (and still take my Flag home) and I am already planning on doing it again next year when the fuel is even cheaper hahaha

Cheers Sir Kev and Darkie

AnswerID: 334893

Reply By: Onespark - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 16:09

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 16:09
Great weekend was had by all of us. Thanks Geoff and John for the organisational side of things. Jake and Sam had a great time up and down the tracks and enjoyed the friends that they made.
Andrea loved going down the tracks, hands in the air, screaming like she was on a roller coaster. Hence why Sam moved the Bonz's car... Will get the laptop video on here soon. Bit of fun had there too..Thanks again to all that attended. Made lots of new friends and enjoyed tyhe company..Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 335236