BP ultimate diesel troopy

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 10:49
ThreadID: 63421 Views:5403 Replies:11 FollowUps:12
Filled up with 180 litres of BP ultimate diesel . This will be interesting to see if there is any improvement . 1HZ HZJ75 , naturally exasperated .

Reply By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 11:01

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 11:01
Is there a price difference? and do all BP's carry it?
AnswerID: 334616

Follow Up By: troopyman - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 11:08

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 11:08
I bought BP ultimate diesel for $1.44 . I have seen regular diesel for $1.40 at other garages . I dont think its available everywhere .
FollowupID: 602402

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 11:30

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 11:30
Cheers Troopyman,
Yeah, I'm country NSW, and I haven't seen it yet.
Please let us know if it gives better economy/performance.

Might be like the Difference between ULP and Premium.
We've a VL Turbo Dunny door, and it loves the Premium, she runs smoother and gets better fuel economy, wish we could run it on it all the time.
FollowupID: 602409

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 11:50

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 11:50
From Bp's website:

Brisbane Announced as the next market for BP Ultimate Diesel

Release date: 15 October 2008

After a successful trial in WA, BP Australia Pty Ltd (BP) has announced that its new diesel fuel, BP Ultimate Diesel, will be available in Brisbane from 6 October 2008. With ongoing use, the fuel, can improve fuel economy and power while producing fewer harmful emissions, and will be available at 70 sites in and around Brisbane including BP Bowen Bridge.
BP Ultimate Diesel is an advanced performance fuel that contains a powerful cleaning additive formulated to keep new engines clean and remove dirty deposits in older engines, which can accumulate with ongoing use of ordinary diesel fuel. The engine cleaning power of BP Ultimate Diesel can improve combustion and allows the fuel to burn more smoothly and completely.

“Diesel vehicle sales in Australia have increased by 34% since 2003* and there are over 400,000 diesel vehicles on the road in Queensland. The launch of BP Ultimate Diesel reflects BP’s commitment to product innovation and to providing the motoring public with a choice of cleaner and more efficient fuels. BP Ultimate Diesel is our most advanced diesel fuel yet and we are very pleased to be making it available to our diesel customers in Queensland,” said BP Fuels Marketing Manager, Jim Parry.
BP Ultimate Diesel is suitable for use in all diesel vehicle types and independent testing** has shown it can deliver benefits in four key areas.

Greater fuel economy – BP Ultimate Diesel can deliver more kilometres per tank with ongoing use compared to ordinary diesel.

A cleaner engine – with ongoing use, BP Ultimate Diesel is formulated to clean the engine so it runs more smoothly and efficiently. Reduced emissions – in tests conducted on a wide range of vehicles, BP Ultimate Diesel delivered reductions in levels of CO, CO2 and hydrocarbon emissions with ongoing use compared to ordinary diesel.
Improved performance – with ongoing use, BP Ultimate Diesel has been shown to deliver an increase in the power output of a passenger car by up to 8.3 per cent (average 2.8 per cent) compared to ordinary diesel.

BP Ultimate Diesel contains an anti-foaming agent that reduces the foaming and odour that can occur during the fuelling process. Hand wipes will also be available at all BP Ultimate Diesel bowsers. BP Ultimate Diesel is also currently available from 39 sites in Perth.

*ABS Motor Vehicle Census, 2007

**Vehicle testing was conducted by Orbital in Australia and Millbrook in the UK.

================================

FollowupID: 602412

Follow Up By: troopyman - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 12:18

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 12:18
I forgot to add that the first thing i noticed was that while filling up it didnt smell like diesel . No yucky diesel smell at all .
FollowupID: 602415

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 21:42

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 21:42
Not available still in Vic, only Qld n Perth, and only a few outlets according to BP's siite..
FollowupID: 605085

Reply By: Member - Porl - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 11:23

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 11:23
was hoping someone would try this and post it so dead keen for the result post - hilux 3.0D naturally aspirated.
AnswerID: 334619

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 12:10

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 12:10
I wonder if BP add the same additive that we can for less than a cent per litre. I have used Bitron and found improvement in some vehicles.
Neil
AnswerID: 334622

Reply By: Skippype - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 12:38

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 12:38
I have been using Nulon Diesel Injector Cleaner for the last 3,000km in my new V8 LC ute and have noticed quite a change in the fuel consumption figures. I was using 16.5lt/100km now it is down to 14lt/100km. I am more than happy with this.
Skip
AnswerID: 334625

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:33

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:33
Probably the result of the engine running in and loosening up.
Also maybe your right foot is getting lighter as the V8 feeling wears off a bit :-)

Would have happened without the additive.

FollowupID: 602430

Follow Up By: Skippype - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:42

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:42
You could be right on that. I have 30,000km on it now and it is running a lot better now than the first 15k. For the price of the additive I think I will keep using it.
The foot has newer realy been heavy and the truck does not do any real work. I just use it to get around the Oil Field up here in the Cooper Basin.
Skip
FollowupID: 602431

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:36

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:36
troopyman
Might be my imagination but I always get the feeling I go further on a fill of BP than a fill of Woolies..

AnswerID: 334632

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:48

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:48
Oh what a feeling!!!

You know the rest :-)

FollowupID: 602432

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 15:56

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 15:56
It's not your imagination Doug.
I've felt this for a few years now. You'll also find that it is quieter, the Injector.
I've given up on the 4 cent docket thing. What is it? $2.40 on a full tank anyway. And woolies as add the lost on to my shopping basket.
FollowupID: 602448

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 07:29

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 07:29
Yep, I find the same. Always get about 50km more range from BP in a LC80 1HDT. Around 12l/100km versus 13l/100km on other fuels. Not bad for fully loaded with bars, winch, fridge, drawers, muddies, etc.
FollowupID: 602582

Reply By: gjcumming - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:51

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:51
Interesting. Do WA still run Ultimate after the trial? I just towed all over WA and knew nothing of this product, but my Troopy seemed to perform better if I fueled up at BP. Intersting!.
Regards: Grant.
AnswerID: 334638

Reply By: Anthony (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:54

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 13:54
I also thought that BP diesel was a better quality fuel that some of the other brand diesel fuels. My opinion was from what I've read on this forum.

Recently, I was filling withl BP diesel in Melbourne at my local servo when a tanker came in to fill up the suppliers tanks. I mention to the guy driving the tanker that I thought BP was a better diesel fuel.

He said that he can't see why because he fills his BP tanker from the Mobil refinery outlet. He says Mobil and BP are the same diesel !
AnswerID: 334639

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 14:21

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 14:21
Correct the oil majors have always sought supply from local refineries where ever possible regardless of brand.
Saves a lot of transport costs.

Most Melbourne fuel comes out of the Mobil distribution depot in Yarraville and this depot is supplied from the Mobil Refinery in Altona and via tankers berthing in Holden Dock right next door.
The tankers supply fuel from Singapore among other places to make up for shortfalls in local production.

The retail outlet may be a particular brand but the product comes from many different refineries.

FollowupID: 602435

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 17:52

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 17:52
with bp fuel regulary 10cpl or more dearer not including ultimate which is dearer again it can stay in the bowser a far as im concerned
FollowupID: 602483

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 14:41

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 14:41
I've used BP Ultimate in my LC200 since day one. I bought it at about the same time that BP introduced ultimate diesel here in WA.

I can't compare it to any other diesel because I haven't used any other. I just wanted to avoid any issues with lesser quality fuel and the fuel pumps in the 200.

I'm happy to pay the 4 cents per litre premium but I would like to see diesel drop in price compared to petrol.

AnswerID: 334641

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 18:16

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 18:16
Sounds and reads very much like Hitex Diesel which Caltex introduced in 1988. Same claims for cleaning injectors and improving fuel economy. Yes it worked. Can recall some major transport operators reporting quite considerable savings in terms of injector maintenence. The anti foaming was also a big plus when filling big tanks with the fast flow pumps.

There were two problems with the product at that time and one was the price. From memory it was three or four cents a litre dearer and the other was that it did clean the fuel system. Plus the fuel tanks at the service stations and the fuel tanks on the vehicles and the insides of the pumps and guess where the removed crap ended up. That's right it all ended up in the fuel filters and caused a certain amount of stress in the early days. Once everything was clean it was ok.

Hitex was added into the delivery tanker so Caltex could use fuel from another Coy source and still have the product on it's outlets only. They - BP - may have a simalar setup for where they draw supply from another Coy.

Locally BP has been 4 to 6cpl dearer than Caltex Woolies and Shell for diesel for months now and they haven't got Ultimate.

Kevin J

AnswerID: 334697

Reply By: tryonreef - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 20:35

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2008 at 20:35
I have a 2007 NS DID PAJ , I have been using BP deisel from day one since the purchase of my vehicle .Recently we have had BP ultimate and I have used this for the last 3 weeks .I have not observed any change in economy (at the pump), slightly worse if any thing but I have noticed that the Paj has a bit more grunt ,and slighty more responsive.Just my observations ...

p.s I keep avery good eye/record on my fuel consumption.
AnswerID: 334725

Reply By: Holden4th - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 07:45

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 07:45
I put half a tank of BPU in my 06 NP yesterday to see what it would do. Recently my flatmate ran the tank down to nearly empty and since then it's taken twice as long to crank over and I'm assuming that my injectors have picked up some crap. One of my benchmarks for BPU will be if it gets rid of this problem. Even after 50 kms I've already noticed a difference in power, smoothness and acceleration. Not much in noise reduction as BP claim it will do but it's early days yet.

My previous Paj was an NK V6 petrol. When I changed over from ULP to PULP it was like driving a different car after only 3 tanks full. I was getting about 450 kms per tank on the ULP and this went up to 580/600 kms after switching. This is why I'm happy to try BPU. I'll keep everyone posted.

Talking to the guys at the servo they reckon that it's due to come out in NSW soon.

AnswerID: 335165