Diesel gas

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 21:57
ThreadID: 63476 Views:3984 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
does any one have any thoughts on diesel gas conversions for late model diesel engines, does it give the extra power and economy as stated !!!!!!!!!!!

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:07

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:07
Would help if you indicated type , age and how many kilometres vehicle you are considering converting has travelled???
AnswerID: 334914

Follow Up By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:27

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:27
Just purchased a new Prado and was considering the conversion but heard you do not get much gain fom new generation engines but would like to hear other opinions.
FollowupID: 602689

Reply By: Member - Paul C (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:51

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 22:51
Gday Brenton
I don't believe that you will gain much in the way of economy (or what little you may gain will be disappointing)
Power will definitely be boosted. The important part is to get the right system. Do plenty of homework on the different suppliers before deciding to hand over your hard earned.

If you have a new Prado you should have oodles of power.
I would suggest looking at putting in a new chip for more power before going down the Diesel Gas path

AnswerID: 334928

Follow Up By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 06:14

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 06:14
Hi Paul

Iam yet to be convinced on the diesel gas conversion, would like to hear from anyone who has had it done. Will see how the Prado pulls the camper through the hills first it maybe ok, thanks for your thoughts.
FollowupID: 602715

Reply By: D200Dug- Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 00:03

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 00:03
I don't understand how you can get more power and the same economy ?

If you have more power and use less of ot to travel at say 100kph then to my way of thinking you would have to use less fuel.

If you use the more power to travel faster then you would use more fuel.

I have been looking at diesel gas and have heard both good and bad about it so I am also in the research phase :-)
AnswerID: 334937

Follow Up By: nickoff - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 12:54

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 12:54
My simplified understanding of Diesel gas systems.

Dieselgas boosts power and improves economy by getting a more complete burn of the available diesel fuel, in the engine.

Current diesel engines only achieve approximately 75% fuel burn, the rest of the fuel exits the engine as soot, unburnt carbon etc.

the addition of small amount of LPG to the combustion chamber promote an almost 99% burn of the diesel fuel, thus you get more power out for less fuel injected.

so you can either go for more power, using the same amount of fuel previously used, or better economy by lifting the foot a little and getting the same power output a previously achieved, and using less fuel.
FollowupID: 602746

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:01

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:01
Dug...diesel fuel does not burn completely that is why there is soot in the exhaust pipe and your engine oil goes black so that adds up to wasted unburned fuel...and you are right to say an increase in power will mean an increase in fuel consumption....however what if you could have a complete burn in the chamber and all the available fuel is burnt and converted to power....then you would use less fuel because all the available fuel is being used...well this is what happens with the introduction of a small addition of auto gas on the combustion process...the gas "lengthens" the burn and all or most of the combustibles are added to the fire and the result is an increase in power but a slight reduction in fuel usage because you don't have to hold the foot down as far for that increase in power you get as a result of a complete burn..the secret is the addition of the gas and the more complete burn....much more efficient burn with the extra power that comes with it.
FollowupID: 602747

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:03

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:03
LOL Nick...we were typing at the same time m8
FollowupID: 602748

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:20

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:20
So improving the fuel air burn mix gives more power for the same fuel or more fuel at the same speed.

It is up to you if you drive for speed or fuel efficiency as usual :-)

Cheers and thanks

Doug
FollowupID: 602751

Follow Up By: nickoff - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:23

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:23
Redbakk,

happens that way sometimes....

D200Dug.

its all to do with the ignition point of the different fuels. LPG as a vapour doesnt ignite until it reaches above about 525 Deg c, thus it can be added it small amounts to the inlet airflow of the diesel engine. All so it is usually added in such small amounts that the "mixture" LPG to O2 ratio is not correct and wont pre ignite.
Diesel on the other hand ignites about 325 deg c, and then starts the LPG burning. The LPG continues to burn and assist the complete combustion of the diesel fuel near the cylinder walls where it is "cooler" and as the piston down stroke continues. This also prevents the engine oil gunking up with soot, or being diluted by diesel fuel "leaking" down the cylinder walls. This then adds to the overall improvements by extending the oil detergant and lubricating life. With proper testing of the oils you may be able to extend your oil and filter service life, and save that way also. Note I said with proper testing though.
FollowupID: 602760

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 08:11

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 08:11
Before you go to gas look at installing a Safari chip.
Or better still a" Safari Ho" chip--IMHO much better than gas!!!
AnswerID: 334951

Reply By: flashwillie - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 10:46

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 10:46
why not go the whole hog exhaust chip gas ,get the exhaust right first then chip,gas,economy is in the right foot.
AnswerID: 334977

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 12:29

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 12:29
The Safari HO kit consists of chip,3" exhaust and larger intercooler --a complete package that is designed to work together!!!
AnswerID: 334992

Reply By: Flywest - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:15

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 13:15

The dyno graph doesnt lie!

Neither do used oil analysis results - the cleaner oil claims are crap!

If youget the $3000 govt rebates (2000 fed & 1000 state) like we do in the west - then at ~$4500 for the conversion - its a no brainer.

The 80 series 1HD-T made it's $1500 out of pocket back inside 12 months in fuel savings.

Not so the F 250, it's too heavey at over 4 tonnes to qualify for any of the rebates, and was coverted for the extra power and range it affords to tow the boat.

The idea of:-

Chips
Bigger Exhausts
Intercoolers
etc

need not preculde the LPG option - you can have them all if you want - the thing is - which one is the best investement return on capital - and with the $3K rebates - anyone who says that LPG isn't worth it probably failed maths at school ;o)

I'll give you the tip - the govts not going to rebate you $3K on any chip or exhaust or intercooler.! ;o)

Cheers & good luck!
AnswerID: 335002

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:04

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:04
Flywest....oil still very dirty as usual or did it clean up a bit.....I don't have gas but my oil gets filthy towing the van with the turbo.

My consumption is lousy too when towing the van.
FollowupID: 602782

Reply By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:56

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 14:56
An amazing difference in driving after the gas fitted to mine... .but sadly it's in the workshop, perhaps with a ring blown out or worse... my mechanic is blaming the lpg.... but still waiting find out.
AnswerID: 335018

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:00

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:00
Royce....keep us posted....very interested in the outcome.
FollowupID: 602780

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 07:25

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 07:25
The potential to play the blame game is large but can happen with some gas systems.
Rod Dun of Rods Country Camping gear is getting his F250 Diesel fitted with Gas at the end of November .
It is to be fitted with the New Sequent 2 system designed by Hunter Gas Tech and fitted by J & J Diesel Services near Taree.
It will be dyno tuned and I look forward to Rods remarks after it is done as he tows a massive trailer and covers a lot of distance servicing the show circuit up and down the east coast.
The Sequent 2 system is the most advanced Diesel Gas System available today and the computer module is far more adavanced in monitoring the performance than any other system.

Some people knock diesel gas as a non event but it all relates to your driving habits and if you drive the extra power to get the power the only benefit you will get with economy is in the price of gas in relation to the price of the diesel you would have used.

If you drive for economy there is a definate advantage in both performance and economy.

FollowupID: 602866

Reply By: Steve - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 08:10

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 08:10
Had mine done nearly a year ago and it has made a big difference in extra grunt - particularly for towing. I can believe the 30% increase that they claim.

I reckon the fuel savings are in conflict with the extra grunt to a degree. If you drive gently, you'll get pretty good fuel saving - maybe 20% better. But then again, if like me you had it fitted for towing/power, it rather defeats the object. Generally though, fuels savings may be around 10%. Still, all in all, well worthwhile.....and we didn't get any assistance from these w@nker$ in NSW State Govt. Just the $2000 from the Fed.
AnswerID: 335167

Reply By: harry5 - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:35

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:35
Paj 3.2 Did auto137000ks had Diesel/Gas fuel system for approx.28months and 50000ks later.
Cost $4060 to install but received $2000 gas rebate.
Power- definite increase if you run out of gas you don't have to look at gauge.The Paj 3.2 diesel has heaps of power standard but with gas i can climb most hills at speed limit'
Economy- I never kept real accurate records before i put gas on but i believe my hip pocket is $30-$40 better off a tank full.I get about 250k extra a tank at the cost of gas.But with all that power i find i dont drive for economy.
AnswerID: 335428