Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 12, 2008 at 23:53
Wheaters
has anyone any info on accessories for a VW Touareg TDI 3Ltr.
I cant find anyone who manufactures any thing for them,
Thanks John
Reply By: donk - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 00:09
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 00:09
What are you looking for in the way of accessories
Regards Don
Reply By: Member - Brett C (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 01:25
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 01:25
Any electrical bits...be careful.
I have recently had an electric brake controller fitted and its causing problems with the rear
parking sensors....back to the sparky.
Had a Bluetooth Car Kit fitted, but the guys that fitted it have fitted these on the European Vehicles before and had to complete a 2 week course on understanding the voltage sensor electonics.
A few US websites fit them out with rear wheel carriers (if you don't have the factory one), Bull Bars, Snorkels, Duel Batteries....try
http://www.clubtouareg.com/forums/
This has an Australian link for some further ideas.
Sensational motor and gearbox....3 tonne behind seems a simple job with amaxing fuel economy.
Wish to Japanese would start using European developed Diesel Motors.
Brett.....
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 04:16
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 04:16
Off the track a little, but isn't that what Nissan are doing with their 4 cylinder Patrol and Navara motors. They are I believe, a Renult motor.
Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 07:25
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 07:25
Brett may have meant German diesels - not so much European as in French. BMW, Audi (and Mercedes to a lesser extent) are world leaders in Commonrail diesel technology. It was the Audi V10 I think that won the 24hr race for the last few years.
GPM
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 08:53
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 08:53
Just remember to read the manual
well before doing any 4wd work.
Friend almost got stuck in the surf when he took a new one for a test drive up at Fraser Is. After being bogged, he managed to work out how to set the traction control for sand as the waves were lapping the tyres.
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 09:13
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 09:13
I bet his pooper valve was working
well that day. These would be about the only "softer" (and I say that loosely as I know they are not true soft roader but still not hard core either) 4wd I would contemplate owning. Tow the van like it is not even there and cope with dirt track touring without a fuss.
Cheers, Trevor.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 12:39
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 12:39
Hi Plodder
Dam mate where do I
sign up for a test drive of a Touareg on somewhere like Fraser, I would love to do a test drive of say the Simpson next April...
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:23
Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:23
Become a leading motor journo, or start your own magazine. :o)
And chase the car company PR departments for a test.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 11:27
Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 11:27
I print our Club Newsletter mate, reckon I have a shot LOL
Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 01:04
Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 01:04
Not a big demand for supplying aftermarket products for this vehicle. If you wanted aftermarket accessories on your 4wd you should have bought a different car.