OK price or getting ripped???

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 15:22
ThreadID: 63491 Views:4256 Replies:15 FollowUps:15
Hi all, I have been quoted $2330 by TJM for a lft job..TJM shocks in front, Bilsteins to the back, HD springs front, Medium at back with polyairs. Springs are made by kings to TJM specs. Is this a decent price or am I getting touched up? In Brisbane so if anyone knows where I can do better ( with decent brands ) let me know. Thanks
According to modern astronomers, space is finite..a very comforting thought particularly for people who can never remember where they left things

Reply By: Trevor W(Brisbane) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 15:28

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 15:28
Depends what vehicle
Motsons did my Pajero with King Springs and Shocks for $1200 with a 4 wheel alignment
AnswerID: 335027

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 15:33

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 15:33
Why don't you check out a few other places yourself??

ARB springs to mind as one other option and given these are mostly franchises one ARB or TJM store can also quote different to another of the same brand.

TJM can't be the only company doing lifts in Brisbane??

AnswerID: 335029

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:43

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:43
hi John
I might be wrong here but i don't think ARB are franchised.
If i had a choice i would always deal with ARB over TJM, but thats just my experience.
Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 602790

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 18:37

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 18:37
Hi Lyndon
No about half of the stores in Aus are company owned and the rest are franchised.

I have dealt with ARB Northern here in Melb for years and its owned by Andy Miller.

FollowupID: 602799

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:48

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 20:48
Thanks John, I wasn't sure.
Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 602821

Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 15:41

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 15:41
Firstly why would you have a heavy duty spring up front yet a medium on the back?

Seeing as the rear will take most of the weight when carrying stuff or towing, wouldn't the heavier ones be better on the back?

If someone is suggesting that the polyairs will "do the extra" then they are full of !@#$.

Polyairs assist, they don't upgrade. You need the heavier springs other along with the polyairs.

I also agree with the other suggestion. Pick up the phone and ring around.
AnswerID: 335030

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 15:59

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 15:59
That price is OK for Bilstein shocks along with airbags, perhaps a tad on the high side. However, you could save some $$$ if you went a lower spec shock (~$400 saving) - but Bilsteins are worth it if the $$$ are in your budget.

The use of medium springs and airbags for the rear is a well proven way to go. I have used both HD springs and then medium duty with airbags before and IMHO it is a far better option.

I found with HD springs they were great when fully loaded for a big trip, but when empty and driving around the city, they rattled your fillings out!

With medium duty springs and 5 psi in the airbags, they were great for the city. When loaded up for a trip, the air pressure was put up to 20-30 psi and the whole vehicle was nice and level and all performed well.

Basically the airbags allow you to tailor your suspension to the load you have at the time. There is no way any spring on its own can be all things for all loads.

AnswerID: 335033

Follow Up By: takenbyaliens - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 16:43

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 16:43
Hi Captain, thats why I thought I would go that way too. It doesn't get a lot of city driving or any driving for that matter ( 4yrs old and only 28K ) but don't want it to be as hard as hell when it is out and about.
According to modern astronomers, space is finite..a very comforting thought particularly for people who can never remember where they left things

FollowupID: 602774

Reply By: D200Dug- Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 16:04

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 16:04
I just got a ballpark figure from TJM Maroochydore for a lift and redo of suspension for a hzj105 cruiser we are planning on buying. The total came to around $1,800 + another $300 for lift bags if they are required.

I would give them a call and get them to give you a price.

I also checked out Pedders they came up with about $1,800 including lift bags they recommended a newer tougher bag than the polyair I cannot recall the name but it is a thicker black material.

I have blown a polyair bag on my previous ute.Shop round for price quality and service.
AnswerID: 335035

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 18:47

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 18:47
takenbyaliens & D200Dug
I looked at many options and went with Pedders, I have never had any reason to regret my choice, and a local dealer in my case is just 3km away from home. Mine have been on countless club outings + Cape York & Vic High C and covered around 35000km since installation. A routine check up last month showed all is perfect still. (No Bull)
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 602800

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 19:10

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 19:10
Pedders have shops everywhere and will do any warrantee backup service as well.

FollowupID: 602801

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 19:35

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 19:35
Hiya D200Dug

I have a VR 5.o litre Berlina Wagon,Actually had it a few years now,only 2 years old when i bought it (its been a lemon though,just about replaced everything if not once but twice,Only got 100k out of the last reco by HM Engines,was not happy on third engine and never thrash it,never had a speeding ticket etc etc)...I had Pedders lower it but stated it's not to go below i think 100mm as i recall between ground and transmission for insurance purposes..No worries mate we can do,well it settled actually 30mm lower which technically made it unroadworthy and uninsured...They would not stick by there work,made all the excuses under the sun..

So i paid a further $800 to have it fixed by a high performance place in Morrabbin that a mechanic had highly recommended...They shook there head and fixed the issues...

Not a problem with it since

Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 602804

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 19:46

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 19:46
I would have taken it back to Pedders and have them fix the problem.

Unless you complain they think they can get away with sh1t like that.

They would not be happy chappies if they had done that to me.
FollowupID: 602807

Follow Up By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 21:48

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 21:48
D200Dug
I normally don't knock places, but be very weary of that certain outlet you mentioned. I had a problem with their service and especially with bad workmanship. Due to that owners attitude I will never purchase their gear again.
FollowupID: 602838

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 22:39

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 22:39
Pedders Maroochydore ?

or Pedders generally ?

cheers doug
FollowupID: 602852

Follow Up By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 00:42

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 00:42
Doug, sorry, not Pedders but Tjm. I do not have a problem with their gear, just that outlet, try Scott across the road at ARB much better to deal with.
As mentioned futher down in a reply, I think I have managed to get a lot better gear. After a lot of discussion on what my intended purpose was, I ended up with 3" lift for my 80series, with Dobinsons coils all round, Koni 88 series shocks for the rear, Boss adjustable for the front plus castor correction bushes and a steering damper for less than what you say you were quoted, delivered to the door (obviously not including fitting, which I will do myself).

I would like to point out that I have been to Pedders for shocks for the camper and found them very helpfull.
FollowupID: 602859

Reply By: Member - Andrew L (WA) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 16:07

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 16:07
Thats max. $1500 worth of parts and two hours to install.
So they are charging you at least $415/hr to install.
AnswerID: 335037

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 16:12

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 16:12
Give City Suspension at Springwood a call.
AnswerID: 335039

Follow Up By: takenbyaliens - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:04

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:04
Thanks John
have done.he advises hd at back as well and not polyairs. says desert not good for them. and a good price too for kings and bisteins all round 1700 fitted aligned etc.

FollowupID: 602784

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 16:47

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 16:47
I hope it's not going to be case of takenbytjm :-)
Suggest you let your fingers do the walking and ring around for a few quotes. Plenty of suspension places around Brissie. Not saying the TJM prices is a rip-off - probably isn't considering you are including a set of polyairs which aren't exactly cheap. But I'd never go with just one quote.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 335050

Reply By: Wherehegon - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:12

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:12
More info needed as depending on vehicle, lift asked for, can have a big difference with cost. I have OME all round on my prado. Coil all round 2 inch lift, struts up front with shocks in rear. I went medium (glad I did) as when loaded its great, unloaded is boardering on too firm. Full tanks of juice normally its ok, when tanks empty I think bit too hard but hey cant have it everyway. Mine was $1500 supply and fit including wheel alignment. Are they Bilsteins or TJM's brand supposidly with Bilstein specs. OME are just Kings but supposidly set as per OME specs... Who knows ?? Have you tried a price using I think its called EFS suspension, have heard good reports on them and fairly priced. But more info on what sort of vehicle and how higher lift you have asked for will help you find out on here wether the price sounds fair or not. WHG
AnswerID: 335056

Follow Up By: takenbyaliens - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:25

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 17:25
Pajero NP petrol with long range tank, bar, dual battery system, big fridge, water, + 1 wheel on rhino on top, gear, me and the missus. TJM front struts, bilsteins at back, TJM springs made by kings to TJM specs. 2" lift. Car of course not the missus!!

FollowupID: 602787

Reply By: Jeelan - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 19:03

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 19:03
i think that price is on the high side. I've got a NS Pajero and i had bilstein/Lovell combo installed all around and also Polyairs in the rear. Total cost was $2K.

i'm in Perth.

Jeelan
AnswerID: 335073

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 21:16

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 21:16
I'd give the chaps at Ironman a call on 03 9532 1111.

Talk to Adam or Christian, they'll advise their interstate fitters/dealers. They offfer good quality stuff at very fair prices.

No affiliation.......

AnswerID: 335109

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 21:31

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 21:31
Hi mate,
I have a 2006 model Troopy, leaf rear and coil front end.

I was quoted recently $1,942 for coils, leaves and shockies from TJM.

ARB quoted me $1,816 for the same kit.

Those prices are supply only.

I looked at airbags from a couple of places,

TJM, $716

hobzees4wdshop on ebay were $485 + $47.50 freight.

Didn't get a quote from ARB.

Again, supply only.

Hope that helps,

AnswerID: 335116

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 22:05

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 22:05
Hiya Geoff

Could you please supply a link,I could not find it searching Ebay

FollowupID: 602843

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 22:25

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 22:25
Try this URL, hobzees4wdshop

FollowupID: 602850

Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 21:35

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 21:35
takenbyaliens
Have a look at this site, Suspension Stuff They are located in Brisbane.
I was looking around for suspension for an 80series that I just purchased. The owner Shane, was very helpful with what setup would suit me and at a very good price. So it may be worth you giving him a call.

Usual disclaimer, no association just a happy customer.

AnswerID: 335119

Reply By: haveconvertedcruiser - Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 21:53

Thursday, Nov 13, 2008 at 21:53
hey try giving the boys from bob gears truck align and mechanical they should be able to give you a quote and they do wheel alignmets on 4x4 they are at northgate.
AnswerID: 335126

Reply By: takenbyaliens - Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 13:56

Friday, Nov 14, 2008 at 13:56
Thanks to everyone for their advice. I think I have got it sorted!

AnswerID: 335206