No loss of pionts for up to 15km over NSW

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 10:28
ThreadID: 63537 Views:3844 Replies:14 FollowUps:49
I heard yesterday that in NSW there will be no points for speeding up to 15km's over the limit. But there will be no reduction in the fine. That way you keep speeding and keep filling up the state's coffers.
This is real hypocrisy at it's best. It's not about safety is it?
I'm thinking that it really is about revenue not safety.
Hmm

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 10:39

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 10:39
JON

NSW.....................The Revenue State

hhmmm......perfect number plate surround !
AnswerID: 335347

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 10:46

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 10:46
Jon,

How cynical of you. Give yourself an uppercut LOL

AnswerID: 335349

Reply By: Philip A - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 10:46

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 10:46
This is in response to many people losing their licences for 2 instances of speeding maybe 5 over during double demerit weekends.
3 points now x2 for double demerit x2.
There is a great groundswell of resentment.
Also even if the conviction is quashed in court , the points stand.

BTW I read a couple of days ago that he new premier does not have a licence. Shades of Carr.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 335350

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 11:05

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 11:05
Philip,
Maybe it's an admission that their fixed speed cameras are so inaccurate.
FollowupID: 603047

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 11:22

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 11:22
Hairs and Fysh.

That and the plain fact that if too many drivers lose their license for minor infringements - there will not be enough drivers out there to fine - i.e. lost revenue.

Up to 10kph would be my choice tho, as speeds of over that are normally, driver induced.
FollowupID: 603050

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 12:37

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 12:37
oztroopy

.........as i said........

REVENUE !!!

as jon said........nothing to do with safety.same as fines for spelling mistakes in a heavy vehicle log book,nothing to do with safety just REVENUE.
FollowupID: 603057

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 12:39

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 12:39
That's what I was thinking OzTroopy, that given enough time there would not be enough people with licenses to milk revenue from.
Up to 10kph is fair enough, I agree.
That would cover, Tyre size differences, Inaccurate camera calibration. momentary Loss of concentration.

FollowupID: 603058

Follow Up By: Kiwi & Grenade - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:59

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:59
my mum is one of these ones.....never lost a point in all her yrs of driving except for the last 18 mths....each time she got caught doing a small amount over limit was on a dbl demerit point time and now only has 2 points left to last her until her next licence renewal....!
FollowupID: 603124

Reply By: garrycol - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 11:19

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 11:19
Didn't NSW lower the fines and increase the points some time back as a saftey measure - up to 15km over the limit is currently $81 and it was much more than that 2 years ago.

Garry
AnswerID: 335354

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 11:46

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 11:46
yes, in response to the argument that they were revenue raising, so they halved the fine and tripled the points. Use to be 1 point for up to 15 over.
FollowupID: 603054

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 12:48

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 12:48
Garry,
I would not have a clue how much a speeding fine is.
I haven't been Booked/Caught for speeding for over 15 years now.
Your right $81 up to 15k's over. So the web site says. RTA Speeding Fines.
FollowupID: 603062

Reply By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 12:11

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 12:11
Oh!!!!!!! for the return of the days when I had 3 licences. Qld Nsw and Vic. I think they woke up to all of us.

Damn national licence

AnswerID: 335361

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 12:41

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 12:41
Hey Rock Ape,

'Damn national license',
Where each state treats you differently.
FollowupID: 603059

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 12:44

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 12:44
JON

like the NATIONAL HEAVY VEHICLE LOG BOOK..........

.....different rules for each state?
FollowupID: 603060

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 13:32

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 13:32
Yep! different strokes for different latitudes, wish once in this country, the world or any other big place people could come to a consences and not push their own barrow.

Well that won't happen so we must put up with all the idiosyncrasies of the fragmented STATE systems.

Have a good one and keep the points down
FollowupID: 603064

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 13:41

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 13:41
ROCK APE

by the sounds of it you could be a HV driver so you know that even these NEW laws on fatigue only complicate things so they (rta down here ) have more opportunity to rake more money out of you.

FollowupID: 603065

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 17:12

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 17:12
Just a tip people. If you hold a license for Australia wide (truck) and if your driving other then in your home state, say your other half was driving (providing she only has a normal license) and you only have to pay the $$$. You would have to be a bit careful if the picture was taken front on as now when they are doing the fines the picture of the vehicle comes up automatically on there computer with the offence, but they are probably doing that many they don't have time to sit there and check them all out ?? WHG
FollowupID: 603091

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:13

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:13
Gi-day Mark G,
Gave wheeling big ones around a good few years ago, now I am kept in the dark underground (to the delight of many)

Have a good one mate
FollowupID: 603101

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 00:47

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 00:47
ROCK APE

nothings changed mate.
FollowupID: 603172

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:32

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 18:32
The new caption on the bottom of the new NSW number plates is going to be THE STATE OF DISREPAIR......

Michael
AnswerID: 335400

Reply By: Brian Purdue - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:44

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:44
Codswallop! You speed, you pay. I had thirteen speeding convictions by the time I was 21 years old. I have had ONE in the past 56 years. You know, or should do, that as soon as you pass another vehicle you are exceeding the speed limit.
It matters not if you are driving a four wheel drive or a Jaguar. Speeding is speeding and if you want to break the speed limit you should be prepared to pay the fine and loose the points.
AnswerID: 335431

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:54

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:54
Brian, There is a big difference between speeding and exceeding the speed limit. Michael
FollowupID: 603149

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:10

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:10
I'm with you Brian .....

I much prefer to sit in the oncoming lane for 4 or 5 times longer than I want to ... or feel safe doing ... just in case a revenue raising speed camera catches me safely overtaking another vehicle which is travelling at less than the posted limit.
FollowupID: 603151

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 08:31

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 08:31
Michael, as a certain Queensland politician used to say "Please explain". Exceeding the speed limit IS speeding. You obviously have not recieved the joke about the cop and the lawyer and the stop sign.
You want to speed/exceed the speed limit - go ahead but be prepared to pay the fine and loose the points or even be involved in a "fatal". The choice is yours.
FollowupID: 603177

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 08:37

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 08:37
Brian Purdue,,""You know, or should do, that as soon as you pass another vehicle you are exceeding the speed limit. Where do you work that out from. So if Im in a 60 zone the other car is doing 40 I pass him at 60 Im speeding ???? WHG
FollowupID: 603178

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 08:56

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 08:56
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 603179

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 09:33

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 09:33
Brian,

"you speed, you pay"

That is absurd. Speeding is warranted and safe at times.

If I'm stuck behind a caravan being towed along 85, I'll grab third and bury the clog to the firewall and get around as fast as I can to spend as little time on the wrong side of the road as possible. If that means I happen to hit 120, so be it.

Technically hitting 120 is speeding, but it would be a mongrel copper who would book you for that. It is simply not possible to argue that it's safer to overtake at 100 than 120.

FollowupID: 603182

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 10:13

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 10:13
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 603187

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 10:25

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 10:25
Brian your insult to Truckies is unwarranted and unfair.

Note: I am not, and never have been, a Truckie. But I have done extensive country road driving and can count on one hand the issues I have had with poor driving practices by them.

FollowupID: 603189

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 10:26

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 10:26

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 603190

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 10:34

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 10:34
JIM

thank you for your support mate...much appreciated.

how would he feel if we all jumped on him & what he does ( did) for a living??
FollowupID: 603192

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:03

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:03
Hey Brian,

How is it that someone of your stated age and expected wisdom could make such a statement about "speeding"

Have you really succumbed to the govt and media hype on the topic ?????

In reality ... " speeding " is just a cash cow.

Some drivers choice of a speed in a given situation and those drivers actions at that speed is the problem.

60kph .... everybody was speeding ... Countrywide campaign and the majority of drivers adhered the limit.

Sudden realisation .... no revenue .... everybody is doing the right thing .... oooops .... lets drop it to fifty and make everybody criminals again. A massive taxpayer funded advertising campaign will con everybody on the idea .... pfffft.

Truckies .... Haa ... In 30 odd yrs of driving have only ever come across two that required police attention ... compared to innumerable idiots in cars / cars & caravans or boats / bicyclists and pedestrians.
FollowupID: 603193

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:11

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:11
Totally agree with Mark & Jim, Im just over 40 and only had 3 fines in all that time (driving since 16) including driving semi's and drive daily to and from work. Do I speed ??? If you class been a couple of klms over the limit then yes I suppose I do. So Brian are you one of these clowns that sit behind a vehicle that is say doing 70 in a 100 zone then the next one of you come along and sit behind you and so untill the lets say 5th driver comes up behind you and now has to over take the lot of you to do the posted speed limit, or do you just drop out into the over taking lane and block it untill the last second then drop in front of the first slow driver and no one behind you got a chance to get passed the lot of you or at least a few untill the next overtaking lane ??? See this all the time. So yes Im with Jim on this one, if its safe to do so I will boot it to get passed what ever Im overtaking if that means going over the posted speed limit for a few seconds till I get passed and back over out of the way then yes Im guilty of being a person who speeds as you put it. While I'm a fairly patient driver people who block the fast lane p i s s me off, and people who sit on 80 in 100 zone fair enough choice is there's BUT THEN SPEED UP WHEN it comes the overtaking lanes. They deserve a bullbar sitting on their clakker !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And your biggest mistake is bagging some ones lively hood and how they make there $$$. WHG
FollowupID: 603195

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:19

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:19
JIM, OZTROPPY &WHG

your support is humbling to say the least.
in my 22 odd years of driving HV's i have never been convicted of speeding,no demerit points,no traffic infringments of any sort so i have plenty of cash for my labotamy operation eh?

FollowupID: 603198

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:19

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:19
Oh and by the way !!!!!! I have a fantastic life !!!!!! I think you should be worrying about your self, bagging other peoples ways of live. WHG
FollowupID: 603199

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 17:28

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 17:28
I note that some of my posts have been deleted by the moderators.
I have re-read my posts and do not consider any have been directed specifically at any particular person.
I have noted, in the past that when certain motor vehicles with blue lights on the top are conspicuous that all keep within the rles. Unmarked cars surprise people when they are pulled over. The excuses are many and varied. It is not the pollies as some call them that make the comments about speeding. It is thinking people who are faced with the job of pulling mutilated people (cadavers/dead persons) from wrecks and those who are faced with the results of speed. Telling a young mother or children that daddy will not be coming home again is not a pleasant job.
The truckies are like every other trade. Some good, some bad. Like every situation it is the bad ones who give the good ones a bad reputation.
To those who feel slighted by my posts, if my comments do not apply to them I apologise for any unintended slur.
For those who feel that I am arousing guilt feelings for their misdemeanours they may take some time off to take stock.
I like to visit this site to find out about this wonderful country of ours and the people in it. I rarely post but read it EVERY day.
Speeding gives me the $hit$ and I ofen find that those who race by me are alongside me at the next set of lights and have gained nothing.
I hold every licence to HC and use them. In my car I show every consideration particularly to truckies, speeding up until I find a place to pull off to let them pass.
I think. I do not speed. Have a Merry Christmas and I hope you are all still with us next year and the year after.
FollowupID: 603239

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 20:18

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 20:18
Brian,

You are trotting out Govt propaganda.

Please come clean and tell us your motivation. I can only assume you are a "Toggie" or Politician.

FollowupID: 603270

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 20:51

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 20:51
"A toggie"? New word to me. And no I am certainly not a politician.
To be totally honest I am now well and truely retired. I still drive extensively and am now forced through ill-health to stay in motels rather than camp out as was my way of life until early this year.
As I posted earlier I started looking at "Exploroz" to find interesting places to go and see. It is a wonderful forum and intructional for the less informed. There is more bull$hit than in a cowpaddock as a general rule but at times I have followed the words of the wise and visited placed before unknown.
Be assured, most people, I believe visit this site to be informed or to pass on what they know.
The business of speeding and getting away with it has nothing to do with exploring the best country in the world. I love this country with a passion.
I think that ar$holes who denigrate it are the dregs of the earth.
I see no benefit to anyone to applaud fools who break the law because they are clever.
My grand-daughter was cleaned- up on Friday by a drunk driver who was SPEEDING.
Maybe you now understand why I have come back here despite my comment that I would not.
Hear me now?
Note: I put my name here for all to see, not some sobriquet to hide behind!
FollowupID: 603274

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 21:14

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 21:14
Toggie, Traffic Operations Group Police Officer that is held in low regard by the majority of real Coppers.

Real Wallopers want to get crooks off the streets, not collect taxes.

I must have missed something, but where did people denigating Australia have anything to do with speeding?

Sad about your Grand Daughter, I trust she is well, and I would never condone drink driving, it is a reprehensible act.

Note: My name is James Kenneth Best, I own and operate Best Off Road, full details of which are openly available, including my address and phone number. I hide from no-one.

FollowupID: 603281

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 21:22

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 21:22
Jim,
I have been guilty of driving home after a few. But I do not speed. It is not so much as being drunk that causes accidents but not being incapable of contrilloing your vehicle. Speed is the essential factor.
Thank you for your comments about my grand-daughter. I will tell her of your concern.
FollowupID: 603283

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 21:49

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 21:49
So Brian what was your earlier reply to me that has been removed Ill remind you """Wherehegon, your post reveals you mentality. The subject is exceeding the speed limit. By your post you would interpret my comments as "If you pass a parked car you are speeding".
Get a life"""" So you think driving after having a few is ok because you dont speed ??? The way you have put it is ""I have been guilty of driving home after a few""" which to me means if guilty you knew you were over the limit, but thats ok cause you dont speed !!!!!!!!!!!!! And you have the nerve to have a go at people who may speed even a few klms over the limit. You are kidding me write ?????????????????????????????

Have a Merry Christmas and I hope you are all still with us next year and the year after.
FollowupID: 603289

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 21:57

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 21:57
Brian,

You've completely lost me now.

You think driving whilst drunk is OK as long as you don't speed????

Wake up, a two tonne vehicle travelling at 60 km/h has the propensity to destroy life and property in immense proportions. In the hands of a drunk it is a disaster waiting to happen.

Your double standards don't wash with me.

FollowupID: 603294

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 22:00

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 22:00
Brian, you stated in the reply above as follows """My grand-daughter was cleaned- up on Friday by a drunk driver who was SPEEDING.
Maybe you now understand why I have come back here despite my comment that I would not.

Now while I hope your grand daughter is ok and not hurt in any way and has made a full recovery if she did get injured (I hope she wasnt) You then say you have been guilty of driving after having a few !!! but you only high lighted the speeding part not the fact that the bloke was half tanked. Dont you think having alcohol in his system was probably the main reason he unfortunately hit your grand daughters car, had he been sober chances are it would not have happened.. Im not sure I can work you out ??? Anyway enough said by me on this subject. I hope your words on been guilty was just meaning you have had a few BUT have driven under the limit and I have mis understood how you have posted it.God help anyone that ever injures my wife or anyone in my family through drink driving. Again hope your grand daughter is all ok... WHG
FollowupID: 603295

Follow Up By: Member - John - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 22:31

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 22:31
"My grand-daughter was cleaned- up on Friday by a drunk driver who was SPEEDING" why the emphasis on Speeding, surely the problem here is drunk driving!!!!! Sorry about your grand daughter, but get a life, it ain't speeding that is the problem

FollowupID: 603303

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 22:31

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 22:31
I did not say it t was a "he""
I did not say I was inebriated.
The skid marks were 130 metres - now that is fast!!! particularly in 50 zone. Even for a 4wd with a bullbar!
What you read and what you see are two different things.
Men that need three different driving licences so that they intend to speed and reduce the chance of getting suspended are ??????
I rest my case.
FollowupID: 603304

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 22:43

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 22:43
Who gives rats a r s e wether it was a he or a she ??? Does it Matter ???? You cant get 3 different licences or one for each state like the old days. Heavy vehicle licences are Australia wide which was bought in years ago to stop people from being able to have 12 points per state. If they got pulled up in say NSW and showed their QLD licence they would just have to pay the fine and wouldnt lose any points, not any more. I got pinged in QLD years ago by a speed camera but I lost the points as I have a HC licence, had I said my wife was driving (normal car licence) I would have just had to pay the fine no loss of points. WHG
FollowupID: 603307

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:48

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 21:48
Jon,

I personally think it's about time. Some of us making a living out on the road have 10 and 15 times the chance of dropping a few k's over the limit (compared to an average suburban driver) and whammo points accumulated and your sitting on the bench collecting welfare for a few months. I know bad things can happen to someone doing 1kph over the limit but cutting an hour out of your trip times each day also adds a safety margin in your favour too. It is a doubled edged sword out there and it comes down to putting other road users safety in the forefront of your mind before you wonder over the limit.

This has for a long time been my stance on demerit points for drivers: "the more k's you do (determined by a log book matched to rta cameras) the more demerits permitted to you before loss of licence"

example in point: granny May drives to church every Sunday and the local woollies every Thursday totalling 40km/week.....why the hell should she get the same amount of points as the interstater doing 5 or 6 thousand k's per week passing 1500 more speed cameras and mobile units each month than granny May? The odds are against the interstater to keep his/her licence when compared to average Joe or granny May.

My two bobs worth.
Regards Trevor.
AnswerID: 335434

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:50

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 22:50
Couldnt agree more.. was one reason I got off the road (list of about 10 in all)....

but you will get no support round here.

I'm waiting for all the leopards to come out with the "dont speed and have nothing to worry about" drivel as usual....

as you say, doing few kms a week is different to doing even just 6 tarcutta change overs.
FollowupID: 603163

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 23:54

Saturday, Nov 15, 2008 at 23:54
TREVOR R

im with you 100%.im an interstater doing in excess of 2500 klm's a week,needs to be some sort of change to our points system.

TRUCKSTER

again agreed,some old bloke once said to me that he'd been driving for 40 years.........when i asked him how many k's that would be a month he said about 100k's. not much chance of doing wrong there !!
FollowupID: 603168

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 09:03

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 09:03
G'Day Trev,
I agree I used to do two Syd-Melb & one Syd-Bris a week about 5000Ks,I said exactly what you said to a copper one day & his answer was you are supposed to be a professional driver and should no better than mr & mrs average.So I don't think anything will change for long distance drivers.Funny how a car & truck can exceed the speed limit by the same amount loose same points but truck driver pays bigger fine,Hows that work??
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 603180

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:10

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:10
Because truckies are a cash cow for the govt too Dave.

Shut down the rail ... more dependance on road transport ... less trains - more trucks ... more revenue ( regos, fines etc ) and no rail costs.

Simple economics for money wasting / figure juggling govt finance officers.
FollowupID: 603194

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:13

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:13
oztroopy

glad you see the big picture that us HV drivers have been faced with for years.cheers mate ta.
FollowupID: 603196

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:39

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:39
Hey Mark G

Theres more to the "big picture" ....

Whats get my goat is the fact that in rural NSW, truck and trailer combinations have increased to such an extent, because of rail shutdowns, that road travel is becoming dangerous ... i.e. traffic size and volume ... not driver attitudes.

The picture I regularly see is school buses and B-doubles ( soon to be triples ) competing for space on One and a Half lanes of country road bitumen.

Apparently cutting funding for school buses should ease that situation .... I cant wait ..... pfffft.
FollowupID: 603201

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:09

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:09
oztroopt

here here mate.
sounds like your switched on to whats happening,cheers.
FollowupID: 603205

Reply By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:59

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:59
The point that was raised earlier by someone about the drivers that drive less than 100k's a month compared to 2500k's a week is a very valid point, some drivers are on the road for a living, not just to get from the shops to home again or Bingo.The licensing system should reflect this. Why penalize someone for the amount of time spent on the road behind a wheel?
I know the transport industry has been pushing for this for many years all to no avail.
Unless the Politicians can get the Bureaucrats to change the rules,(I doubt they can) it is something we just have to live with.

AnswerID: 335498

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:25

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 12:25
Brian.. Speed is not the problem Speed does not kill!! Its that everyone is able to have a licence, thats the problem. I know a guy that had twelve, 1 hour driving lessons and 24, half hour lessons. he went for his licence 9 times before he finally got.. You thing even though he has a licence now, he is a competent driver.. There is plenty like him i can tell you.. I posted some months back that i drove about 7000ks in Europe last year on the freeways in a few countries, and boy, they speed way past the limits set and we didnt see an accident in 3 weeks. In Germany, learner drivers have to drive to the limit of the learner vehicle on the Autobahn as part of their "training" to prepare them for high speed and they have no speed restriction as soon as they get their licence.. We just have many brainless people with poor driving skills.. Sorry you are wrong!! Michael
AnswerID: 335504

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 17:48

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 17:48
Michael,
You are spot on!!! We have too many people with poor or even no-existant driving skills. Again you are right. In Europe people do drive fast. I recall looking in my rear vision mirror and was stunned to see a Bedford truck catching up to me. I was doing EIGHTY MILES an hour (130 KPH).

But then when there is a smash it is a lulu!!!!! miles of autobahn blocked and wrecks everywhere.

But you are right. Australians in general are poor drivers with no perception or judgement of speed, cannot mesh into traffic. Again in Oxford I counted 35 vehicles a minute merging into a 5 road roundabout. Skill, not speed, combined with consideration.
FollowupID: 603245

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 18:23

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 18:23
There is a case to be made against mindless speeding but most of us are getting done for a few seconds loss of concentration in areas where the speed limit changes half a dozen times with a few ks. It's alright some old bugger going on about sticking to the limit when all he's ever done all his life is travel along the same route every day to work - (if you don't know the limits by now.......) I have to travel around Sydney suburbs in areas I just don't know at all. It' difficult enough trying to focus on the traffic and find an address without constant speed changes to deal with, that are there purely to catch people out. We all know of genuine blackspots that the RTA totally ignore but they're happy to put cameras at the bottom of a hill where there's a speed limit change.

Most accidents aren't caused by speeding but total lack of awareness of other road users or total lack of consideration of other road users. When I came back to Australia after years in the UK and Europe, I couldn't believe slowness and lack of concentration in drivers. Whether it's being so slow off the mark when lights change to green that only 3 or 4 cars get through or changing lanes without the slightest notion of what is in the other lane, and then they indicate when their manouvre is nearly complete because so many morons would close the space down if you let them know you wanted to change lanes.

As other have said, you don't find Germans crashing into each other all over the place because they actually watch where they are going and what others are doing. They also, like most European countries, hammer the messages home on govt funded ads on TV about safe lane changing, motorcyle awareness, headlight adjustment etc etc.....all we get here is this obsession with speed, yet our traffic moves far slower than most over there (congestion apart) The govt aren't remotely interested in safer roads, just the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

rant over ;-))

AnswerID: 335557

Reply By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 19:38

Sunday, Nov 16, 2008 at 19:38
It's not just truck drivers that can clock up the Miles, although not many come close to the miles that they do each week.
Eg; Your touring the country. You can travel many, many miles in unfamiliar territory. The Pacific H/way and the New England both have over 22 odd cameras each. Most are in a position where you lest expect it. Just as an earlier post pointed out in the city with changing speed zones. Cause your going to get caught out.
After all they are called a 'Speed Trap'.

With the Silly season just about upon us again, each night we will see the the National road toll climb.

Can I just say,
Be smart, think twice and watch out for and consider other road users.

AnswerID: 335575

Reply By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 19:18

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 19:18
Aah ah.
The penny drops yet again.
More Red Light Cameras for NSW.
Red light cameras across NSW plunder revenue

Not it's not about revenue at all.
AnswerID: 335746

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 20:43

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 20:43
And who says public servants can't count .... lolol

32 cameras replaced by 200 ?????

Nearly Christmas .... increased demerits, fuel and cameras .... and motorists aren't the govts cash cow ..... pfffft
FollowupID: 603439

Reply By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 09:45

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 09:45
Hey Hairs and Fysh,

Might have found where some of that revenue goes .... Interesting comment I found here ..... Site Link

"We should question both his motives and the appropriateness of the [PCA's] funding from the NRMA, NSW Motor Accident Commission and RTA of NSW. It is almost like the government is happy to cop some of his more outrageous outbursts as long as he leads the cheer squad for speed cameras and other draconian enforcement methods."

Makes you wonder huh ??? Was in 03 - but still happening ?????

I thought this was rather humourous too ... albiet hypocritical, considering the anti vehicle propaganda spewed from the man and his so called "council ".

" In 1986, Scruby allegedly drove his Mercedes into a jogger. He was acquitted of a charge of wanton driving after the magistrate blamed the jogger. "
AnswerID: 335850

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:06

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:06
OzTroopy,
It's worth the read,
Cheers, good find
FollowupID: 603525