Redarc dual batt controller?

Submitted: Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 08:48
ThreadID: 63582 Views:3828 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
G'day all,
I'm after some info about the Redarc solenoid please. A bloke at work has asked me how he can override the contoller in the case of having a flat MAIN battery (as happened to him once already on his V6 Prado because he was watching the footy all day with the radio on).
The Redarc has a loose wire on marked "Over-ride" (I think....or something like that). I said I assumed that he would need to connect that wire to a know good 12v source (eg: the 2nd battery in his case) and that that would trigger the solenoid.

Was I on the right track?

Reply By: Time - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 08:57

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 08:57
Short answer, yes.

That wire can be run through to a momentary switch, connected to the second battery. Push the button, solenoid "connects" both batteries, turn the ignition key and hopefully you have enough charge in the second battery to start.
AnswerID: 335643

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 09:04

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 09:04
Bill,

Also works by putting a screwdriver (or something metal) across the two contact points on the isolator.

AnswerID: 335645

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 09:10

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 09:10
12v Jumper lead works good.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

FollowupID: 603339

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 11:03

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 11:03
If you do the screw driver trick make sure you have all the electronics disconnected, it can cause a huge spike.

FollowupID: 603352

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 09:06

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 09:06
That's exactly how it works. I have a momentary switch wired to that wire just for that scenario. Have had to use it once and it works great.

Only proviso is that your wiring must be capable of handling start current...
AnswerID: 335646

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 09:07

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 09:07
Hi Roachie
That is it.
Follow the link there is a wiring diagram.
http://www.redarc.com.au/smartstart-techspec.pdf

Rob.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 335647

Reply By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 10:19

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 10:19
I use these 15 Amp jumper leads to connect the Cranking battery to the AGM's @ the Rotronics battery isolator, so Cranker will also be charged direct by the Solar system.
Would require larger capacity clamps, can be stored safely by clamping to something in the vicinity and used for any battery to battery charging.

Mainey . . .
AnswerID: 335654

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 13:05

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 13:05
You can also do as I have an wire a relay in so that when u turn the key it uses both batteries to start the vehicle. As per TD Cruisers. Just I'm lazy and cant be bothered looking for the pusbutton.
AnswerID: 335678

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 13:18

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 13:18
Thanks for all the replies everybody.... I'll pass the info onto my mate at work.....

AnswerID: 335685

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 17:34

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 17:34
Roachie,

I also believe that it does not require a full 12v to activate. therefore would not matter whether main or aux battery, from memory only needs something like 4v
FollowupID: 603402

Reply By: Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 20:30

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 20:30
Hi Roachie

I have a drawing for this which also includes how to fit the remote LED.

Email me for a copy.

Derek.
AnswerID: 335756