Satellite/GSM Phone?

Submitted: Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 20:39
ThreadID: 63605 Views:4726 Replies:9 FollowUps:23
There's a new Satellite/GSM phone on the market called Thuraya SG - 2520 which Optus have the rights to.

However, I can't find any pricing details.

Anyone got a clue?

Reply By: Member - T N (Qld) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:02

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:02
Jim, the Butler did it in the camper trailer,hope it help's,snigger, snigger.
AnswerID: 335764

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 20:28

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 20:28
Tom,

I've missed the cryptic message.

You can email me privately

jimbest at bestoffroad dot net dot au

FollowupID: 603625

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:06

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:06
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 335766

Reply By: Member - John R (QLD) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:28

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:28
Hi Jim

The AST website here gives the price as $1650 for the 2520. The govt. subsidy available if you qualify. No idea if this is current price. Various plans or prepaid available. Previous posts also list a couple of other suppliers for Thuraya, and the pros/cons.

Cheers, John

AnswerID: 335772

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:46

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:46
Thanks John.

FollowupID: 603455

Reply By: cheetah - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:31

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:31
Are you wanting one Jim??. I dont trust Optus or Telstra. A mate met a serious accident just out of Barrow Creek a while back, no reception on mobile phones so he pulled out his telstra sat phone. NO go mate, nothing. How convenient, luckily no one died waiting for help. I was a day ahead so could not help with my Iridium phone. The iridium does work and well. If contemplating, spend the extra dollars for a phone you know will work. For what they are worth, the $500 or so difference is cheap insurance.
AnswerID: 335795

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 23:17

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 23:17
Ummm Errr??? What Telstra Sat Phone are you referring to when you say "No go mate, nothing"??

Telstra only sell Sat Phones on the Iridium network.

Somehow me thinks your referring to possibly a Global$hit Sat Phone and have your phones and companies a bit mixed up???

FollowupID: 603481

Follow Up By: Zebra400 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 04:01

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 04:01
But aren't you with Globalstar John?
FollowupID: 603492

Follow Up By: cheetah - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 09:36

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 09:36
John, Oops, From what i understand, telstra use land towers and provide a pretty ordinary service. AST, is the better provider, a truly global network. Telstra is only australia wide and yeah, no go mate, nothing. Telsra are not that good!!
FollowupID: 603509

Follow Up By: Rossc0 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 09:46

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 09:46
As John said Telstra sat phone use the Iridium Network.

It's the only one that has complete satellite coverage of all of Australia plus 200nm off the coast.

It is usable worldwide with appropriate account.

Iridium has 8 satellites that cover Australia, Thruya only has one satellite to cover australia same as Globalstar.

Do as search of the forum you will find numerous topics on satphones here.

Iridium is the only reliable one.

Ross

FollowupID: 603511

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 10:00

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 10:00
Hi Laurie No Telstra/Iridium, always have been.
Maybe your thinking of Jumbo's phone as she has Global$hit or the clubs sat phone perhaps??

Cheetah, Telstra uses towers for its terrestrial (land based) phone networks either the 3 G or the Next G networks.
As good as the Next G network is it certainly does not cover 100 percent of the country and Telstra has never claimed it does.

Your comments "A mate met a serious accident just out of Barrow Creek a while back, no reception on mobile phones so he pulled out his Telstra sat phone. NO go mate, nothing. How convenient, luckily no one died waiting for help"
Are suggesting that he did not have reception on his "Telstra Sat Phone"??
This phone would most likely be an Motorola phone on the Iridium Satellite Network as Telstra are a reseller of Iridium services just like AST, no difference between AST Iridium and Telstra Iridium services as they use the same sat system, the "Iridium" satellite network.
(Price maybe a different matter between service providers)

Maybe you should ask your mate exactly what brand of satellite phone he was using as unless it was "broke" the Telstra/AST/whoever reseller of Iridium services is the most reliable satellite service in the country with the best coverage.

FollowupID: 603513

Follow Up By: cheetah - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 13:03

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 13:03
Doesn't AST provide a global service and telstra only Australia wide.??. Do AST rely on land towers as do telstra?. I thought AST had direct link to orbiting satellites and did not require towers?? I was told you will get fade outs with telstra because of the signal having to find and travel through a tower first??. Hence the reason I went AST. Will find out about mates phone. He told me he walked into Telstra with no knowledge and asked for their best sat phone. He was more than annoyed when it did not work. I would assume their best is the one mentioned here, maybe he was had??
FollowupID: 603548

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 18:34

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 18:34
Cheetah a Satellite service works on satellites going around the world.
Mobile phones work on land based towers.

AST and Telstra and a few other companies sell satellite services on the Iridium network that has nothing to do with land based towers.
Same sat service different billing company.

As I said in the beginning your mate needs to find out what he bought and tell you so your all on the same track.
Sounds like he asked for a phone and has a non sat phone, if you have an Iridium phone then you should know what its all about.

FollowupID: 603603

Follow Up By: cheetah - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 19:40

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 19:40
Ill reverse it, been a while since i got mine. AST,i think have access to land based satellites as well as orbiting satellites, Telstra dont. This is the reason for the delay when talking, ringing etc with AST, as will go through a land base first. With these capabilities it gives better coverage than Telstra, canopies etc. Can anyone clarify this.???. Mine will work anywhere in the world, why wont Telstra if they all operate on the same satellites??
FollowupID: 603607

Follow Up By: Rossc0 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 20:23

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 20:23
There's no such thing as a land based satellite.

Iridium phones such as the Motorola 9500, 9505 and 9555 are all satellite phones.

ie they use the orbiting satellites to communicate.

The service provider is Iridium, Telstra AST etc are just resellers. AST and Telstra use exactly the same satellites. See here:

AST Iridium Satellite

and here:

Telstra Satellite

I have a telstra sim with international roaming in my Motorola 9500, I can use it anywhere in the world not just in australia.

So if your mate had problems connecting to the Iridium network then I suggest its a case of user problem.

Is the phone a satphone?
What brand model?
Do they have a satellite contract or just using their 3G/GSM sim card?

If the 3G/GSM sim has international roaming enabled?

As much as I dislike paying for Telstra services (or lack thereof) both the satphone and 3G mobile I have leave everything else I've used for dead.

Ross
FollowupID: 603622

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 20:46

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 20:46
Ross that new 9555 phone looks good first time I have seen the detail on that one.

FollowupID: 603627

Follow Up By: Member - John R (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:29

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:29
"Iridium has 8 satellites that cover Australia, Thruya only has one satellite to cover australia same as Globalstar"

Oh? Iridium was set up with 66 sats in polar orbits, Globalstar (G*) with 48 in more equatorial orbits, and all of these pass over Australia at some time. Iridium has more sats because they cover the entire globe from pole to pole; G* was only set up to cover the majority of the population. There is actually a better chance of having a G* sat overhead in Australia than an Iridium, but as more and more of the G* sats have a cactus transmission antenna, far less chance of communication! With either system, you would only have sight to any one sat for a max of 15 mins.

The Thuraya system uses a geostationary sat, which to us doesn't move, so you either have permanent reception at a given location, or if not, then you need to move to somewhere that does. Easier said than done of course if you're stuck in some sort of hole.

Cheers, John

FollowupID: 603634

Follow Up By: Rossc0 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 23:38

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 23:38
And at anyone time there is at least 8 satellites giving coverage of all of Australia.

That's why everyone recommends Iridium and one of the problems with the Thuraya system. There is no backup when that satellite fails.

Ross
FollowupID: 603649

Follow Up By: Member - John R (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 00:04

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 00:04
If there are only 66 satellites covering the whole planet there won't be 8 over Oz - we just ain't that big. And sure the Thuraya is just one satellite, but it has been designed to be more robust than any one Iridium satellite (their other 2 satellites are still going strong).

Cheers, John
FollowupID: 603650

Follow Up By: Zebra400 - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 05:28

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 05:28
"Hi Laurie No Telstra/Iridium, always have been.
Maybe your thinking of Jumbo's phone as she has Global$hit or the clubs sat phone perhaps??"

John, thought I would let you know that I have been using a SPOT Satellite Personal Tracker for about a month now. It operates on the Globalstar network. It acts as my epirb, but this me great functionality as it allows friends & family to follow our travels via GoogleMaps.

We also use the autotracking facility. Heidi takes it MTBing. When in range with my mobile phone, I can log in and check her progress. The autotracking records her position every 10 minutes. It has the occasional miss but considering the terrain she is riding through, we find the hit rate to be very high.

Of course, you are using your sat phone for voice. so you need a service that can give you a more constant coverage. Personally I have little need for voice comms when out in the bush. It is great in an emergency, but with SPOT I can use the 'epirb' functionality in a real emergency.

We will be away again next week. I will send you a link to follow our travels via email.
FollowupID: 603651

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 11:18

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 11:18
Hi Laurie
Spot would be very handy when riding the bike being so small its easily carried.
No worries send me the link.

FollowupID: 603691

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 10:19

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 10:19
Jim

Send me your email via PM and I will fwd you some information that I got emailed to me from them

AnswerID: 335853

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 10:49

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 10:49
jimbest at bestoffroad dot net dot au

FollowupID: 603521

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 10:57

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 10:57
Jim,

The ExplorOz Directory - Communications system is your friend - Have a look at TC Communications they have a member offer of: LAUNCH OFFER TO ExplorOz members: For the month of November the Thuraya handsets are offered to ExplorOz members at the wholesale price of $935 (inc GST) for the Satellite Only model OR $1540 for the GSM/GPS/Satellite. Featuring an Australian mobile phone number for ease of use and lower call rates.

DM
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 335858

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:03

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:03
Thanks David,

I should have looked there first.

FollowupID: 603523

Reply By: Member - Dick (Int) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 15:26

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 15:26
Jim

If you want a Sat Phone for an emergency, the Iridium system is the only way to go. We have several Motorola handsets that have never failed us in various places in the world. Our aircraft also use them and can always be contacted.

We use a U.S. based provider SatCom Direct, but I do not think this has any bearing on the system working, it is only a billing issue.

Dick

AnswerID: 335900

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 22:28

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 22:28
My 9505a with a Telstra sim in it works quite well without even going outside so dont know why yours wouldnt work.

The Ericsson phones that Globalsat used were dual mode GSM/Satellite phones. However Telstra wouldnt have sold them as they were the opposition (if you could call it that).

Most Telstra shops dont deal with satelliite stuff as I was told by my local shop so dont know what your mate got sold but if he got the Telstra rep I got on Friday he could have ended up with anything.
I was trying to get a sim card to run a USB Sierra 880U aircard.
The guy said they dont exist but are you sure he said cos we have a 880E express card so thats what it must be.
I said they are different and had he ever tried to put an express card in a USB slot.
He said whats the difference By this time after 40mins I was fuming so told him if I shoved then in a certain place he would soon notice the difference. Needless to say i had to ring back again on Moday to get what I wanted. Only took another 54mins.
And Telstra are talking about cutting staff. Jeeeeeez ROFL
FollowupID: 603646

Reply By: Zebra400 - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 05:22

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 05:22
This is not only a Telstra problem. I find that most sales assistants receive little if no training about their products they sell. Somehow they are just expected to learn from their own experiences.

It is extremely frustrating when talking to sales assistants (generally) that on many occasions, you (the customer) have more correct info about the product you are thinking of buying.
AnswerID: 336156

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 17:28

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 17:28
Marlec at Somersby NSW are starting to Lease Thuraya phones.

The contact is Peter Crawford on 1800 045 801 or 0414 250 295.

AnswerID: 336350