Overheating car that mechanics can't fix

Submitted: Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 20:55
ThreadID: 63606 Views:10693 Replies:22 FollowUps:18
I've got a swb gq Nissan Safari (imported patrol) 4.2 diesel non turbo automatic and on warm / hot days it overheats when going up hills. I've spent thousands trying to fix it and all genuine parts. I've had a new clutch fan, new fan, thermostat, radiator, head gasket (it broke with all the overheating), they've checked the water pump and it's fine, I've put a separate transmission cooler system on it to get the pipes out of the radiator to improve the water flow, they said it would work and didn't make a difference, it does it with my driving lights on or off, the gauge has been checked and it's accurate, the water flow has been checked and it's fine, it does it with the air con on or off. Well known Mechanics have run out of ideas and they've done all the work, has anyone got any suggestions?

Reply By: Eric Experience - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:02

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:02
Kingkennas.

Where are you located?. Eric.
AnswerID: 335763

Follow Up By: kingkennas - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:06

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:06
I'm in Narbethong Victoria and have mainly been using Wombat Off Road in Ringwood Melbourne.
FollowupID: 603443

Follow Up By: Eric Experience - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:40

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:40
kingkennas.
I am curious as to the cause of your problem. I am in Officer near Pakenham. If you would like to drop in and show me the vehicle we may be able to nut it out. Eric.
FollowupID: 603452

Follow Up By: kingkennas - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:45

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:45
Send your address and phone number to safetrek00@yahoo.com.au and I'll see what I can do and I'll get back to you, thanks.
FollowupID: 603454

Reply By: docz - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:34

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:34
hi kingkennas had same prob with my patrol td gq. Mechanics tried everything. In the end he replaced engine with reco. Never found the prob, but suggested it could be cracked block.
AnswerID: 335774

Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:54

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 21:54
KingKenas
Have you checked on how many cores are in the radiator, from memory some only had 3 rows of tubes others had 4 rows.
Something to check
AnswerID: 335780

Follow Up By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 20:57

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 20:57
Yes that is what I suggest. The vehicles made for the Japanese market often have 3 core radiators. I had the same problem - just upgraded to a new 4 core radiator and now running as cool as no matter how hard you push it.
GPM
FollowupID: 603631

Reply By: zumzum - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:08

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:08
Had the same problem with my 80 series .... try to change the radiator cup. Found my strong enough to hold the pressure on "normal" conditions but in summer when very hot it was not holding and overheating .... Simple and inexpensive exercise .....
Hope it work for you ....

Luca
AnswerID: 335787

Reply By: awill4x4 - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:10

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:10
Kingkennas, have you had your diesel checked for overfueling? More fuel equals more heat in a diesel.
Fitting an egt (exhaust gas temperature) gauge will show if overfueling is an issue.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 335789

Reply By: Bat30 - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:31

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:31
Had a problem with a 80 series in Darwin ,a 4 core radiator fixed it.,common problem with turbos motor up north.
AnswerID: 335796

Reply By: trainslux - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:34

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:34
Have the shrouds been checked for correct fitting, and some 8mm self adhesive foam, door sealer stuff, fitted so that it pulls all the air thru the rad core??

As others have mentioned, is it overfuelling??, its looking like a cracked block, if everything else has been replaced, and its all doing what it needs too.

I would assume you changed the rad cap early on, but its a very good point that was brought up about checking it.

I had one vehicle that had a perished O ring on one of the metal pipes that fit into the water pump under the inlet manifold.
It was fine under pressure, but leaked under vacum.

fine for a few days/ cycles of hot cold, till all the water was pushed out the rad into the overflow bottle, and it overheated.

Trains
AnswerID: 335797

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 23:00

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 23:00
Is it losing water/coolant?

If so, could be a dodgy seal on the expansion bottle piping.

AnswerID: 335802

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 17:16

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 17:16
Just on that note, try taking the rubber hose out of the expansion tank. Then with the radiator cap firmly in place, try blowing (with your mouth) from the end of the rubber hose that is normally sitting inside the expansion bottle. You should be able to blow in it at all..... If you feel that air is escaping, you must have a air leak somewhere, which will mean the radiator will not be able to suck back the coolant it loses into the expansion tank.
FollowupID: 603592

Follow Up By: kingkennas - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 18:08

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 18:08
Thanks I gave that a try and no air escaped at all.
FollowupID: 603598

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 23:06

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 23:06
Fan hubs in Nissan are known to be "dodgey" from new - probably worth going to a fixed fan and do away with the clutch hub altogether.

Also if the vehicle doesn't already have one - consider adding an aftermarket OIL cooler out front.

A lot of engine temp can be shed via the oil system - not just the water pump - radiator method, In fact if there's insufficient oil volume in the sump - it can act like a heat sink and keep storing the heat the radiator cannot shed, because unlike water, the oil will keep getting hotter way past water boiling temp (220 f under pressure of 12 pounds/inch squared or - a little more if you have a 15 psi radiator cap) in effect defeating the water cooling system once it starts escalating up past that 220f mark.

The extra oil volume of the connecting pipes and after market oil cooler helps to increase sump capacity a couple or 3 liters as well as allowing the oil to do some of the cooling that the water cannot do for whatever reason.

Next consider adding a special water wetting agent for radiator coolant - in effect a surfactant!

What can happen is certain frequencies of vibration within the engine when it fires depending on the ignition timing and combined with the speed of the water circulation combined with restrictions within the water jacket - can set up a "harmonics/low pressure" pockets within the blocks water cooling channels - that forms small air bubbles on the cooling fluid side surface of the cylinder bores, and keeps the coolant from contacting the iron and drawing away the heat as it should!

The surfactant / wetting agent helps to prevent the fluid from forming those bubbles be reducing the surface tension of the fluid.

Next - consider adding a poly water tank somewhere inside the vehicle and connecting it to a 12 volt marine deckwash pump - and plumb a half inch reinforced compressed air line (hookah hose works well) to the front of the vehicle and up in behind the grill.

Block the end of the hose in front of the oil air con and water radiators (and steering pump fluid radiator, and transmission oil cooler radiator if you have them) with a plug & stainless hose clamp and fit a couple common fine garden mister sprays before the plug spac3d equidistant about 1/3 in from the side of the radiator and closer to the top of the radiatir than bottom!

Switch the 12V marine pump via the dash

Install a tap (inside the cab next to the on off switch) so you can shut the sprayers off manually when not needed and stop the tank siphoning empty when not in use!

This way - when you notice the EGT's (exhaust gas temps) and normal engine temps gaugue temps increasing (add a Exhaust Gas temperature probe or pyrometer as it is called in the exhaust pipe below where it exits the manifold and joins the exhaust pipe if you don't already have one) - you can turn on the tap and switch the misters out front on via the pump switch from inside the cab while driving.

The water spraying thru the radiatiors cores will act like an old "coolgardie safe" as it evaporates and draw a LOT more temp OUT of the radiators for the oil and water radiators (and air con and trans fluid etc) and everything will cool way down when under load while your driving.

You will see the engine temp gauge drop also the EGT's and if you have them Trans oil temps, and engine oil temps...they will ALL drop as you apply the water!

Also your air con will blow NOTICEABLY COLDER air for a while!

I only use the water boost pump switch etc when towing heavey loads at speed up hills in the heat 40+C days or into strong headwinds etc.

It works - simple as that and when not in use, the spare water is handy for other purposes. In an extreme stranding situation it might save your life. I have an additional snaplock connection plumbed to the rear bumper and a coil of garden hose with fire nozzel in behind the back seat as an emergency fire fighter should I ever get a tyre fire - I can use the water to hose down a molten rubber tyre fire to a temp below reignition point (after I've knocked it down with the fire extinguisher until I get the water hose plugged in and switched on). I carry a total of 4 fire extinguishers between the two vehicles and boat.

It may not save your vehicle trailer or boat etc but possibly a fellow travellers if you happen on the scene in time.

Lots of ways to skin your hot Nissan cat - I wouldn't be expecting Nissan to come up with any answers soon tho.

Might as well do it yourself!

Works for me!

Cheers!
AnswerID: 335804

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 23:08

Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 23:08
I guess a few obvious causes like dragging brakes, slipping auto trans/torque converter etc should be eliminated first tho!

AnswerID: 335806

Reply By: hotfishez - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 08:46

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 08:46
I had a 75 with the same problem. tried everything bar replace the motor. I suspected a cracked head but it would only over heat under "forced" conditions, eg load, hills , air flow as per the test.I decided to get it hot in the workshop. I slid cardboard in front of the radiator and let it idle with the radiator cap off. Sure enough after a while she got hot and bubbles appeared from the radiator. It was then decided the head would come off, The head was "fractured" which means under general conditions it was fine but as soon as it had to work, it would open up and form the "crack". New head and no worries. I cant say I have ever heard of this other than my own vehicle.
AnswerID: 335834

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 09:31

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 09:31
Very common with the TD42 motor. I have had three and all of them have done this to a certain degree. The n/a 4.2 in my old GQ was the least to suffer from this but my later turbo GU's are quite bad. If it is happening unloaded and regularly then I would suggest there is a "real" problem but if it is only happening under load then I wouldn't waste any more money on it and ease up on the loud pedal in the most extreme situations. Couple of extra minutes to your trip each time but thousands of dollars better off in the long run. Sounds far fetched but the motor is good to the end of the solid line on your factory Nissan temp guage if all is reading correctly. I have run 110c - 120c all day at times (3/4 and above on Nissan gauge) and to date have seen no detrimental side effects.

My GU (hers now) has done this since brand new and has driven me to the funny farm trying to fix it. Now I just keep an eye on temps via a thousand gauges and just keep driving it. I have run serious temps in this thing for long periods and still it hasn't blown and now with nearly 370 000 km I figure if it was going to go, it would have done so by now.

As others have suggested, forget Nissan most of them are useless without any real answers. Western Plains Nissan up in Dubbo were about the only dealership to be "honest" with me and give me good alternatives but told me not to expect too much though. So if you really want to talk to anyone, I would ring these guys but tell them you are well aware of the "common" TD42 overheating issues and not to bull$h!t to you.

Best regards,
Trevor.
AnswerID: 335846

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:34

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:34
Got to say I agree, I tried everything with my Nissan, I think their cooling systems are marginal, when they do get hot & then the load gets eased, they cool down very quickly.
FollowupID: 603543

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 17:13

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 17:13
I reckon you might recall that I went through all that drama with my previous rig too (2000 4.2TD).

The most logical explanation I got was that it was an inherent design limitation with that great lump of a motor.....the water galleries are not large enough to enable the water to "collect" the heat on it's way through the donk and to then dump it (ie: the heat) via the radiator. Fitting a larger radiator was not going to achieve anything.

Like Trevor says, just drive it and maybe slow down a bit when the ambient temp gets above 40oC.

FollowupID: 603590

Follow Up By: kingkennas - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 17:42

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 17:42
If I were going any slower when going up hills where it get's hot I'd get booked for doing dangerously below the speed limit. In my regional area of Victoria there's heaps of hills (fairly alpine area) I'm always pulling over to let 2wd cars past when going up them with my automatic standard diesel patrol with fairly big mud tyres and an overheating problem, trust me I don't do any unnecessary right footing on hills, I'm patient with the car. It's not just the road, on high country trail, long but easy 15 or 20 km/h uphill hauls, it gets hot when the revs aren't that high and I'm probably going slower than everyone else, any slower I'd be holding up the convoy. I can't really be any softer on the right foot going up hills than I already am.
FollowupID: 603595

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 18:10

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 18:10
If you're running tyres bigger than standard (ie: 31"), that could be a contributing factor as well.

The vehicle has to work a LOT harder to turn 33" or 35" tyres. Even the tread pattern makes a difference..... muddies are more "work" than highway tyres or a/ts
FollowupID: 603599

Follow Up By: kingkennas - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 18:24

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 18:24
I'm running 33 inch BFG Muds but I've also got a set of 31 inch Pirelli Scorpion highway tyres and I have the same problem and the first six months I had the car everything was fine and I was using the 33 muds then.
FollowupID: 603602

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 08:51

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 08:51
kingkennas,

If you are going that slow and still having drama's I would think there is something sinister going on. I found by leaving it in a higher gear and trying to keep it there my exhaust temps and engine temps would skyrocket. However if I dropped back a cog and let the engine scream up around the 2900 rpm temps would come back enough to be classified as acceptable. Trying to keep it revving over 3000 would also make temps increase so it is a fine line.

As a curiosty, have you had the pump timing looked into? I remember Nissan retarded mine making things a little better, I seem to recall 7 degrees but don't quote me on that (this is in my turbo GU by the way).

Do you do regular services on it? like changing filters and the like. All these things can make a difference. As most others have eluded there really is little room for error in cooling system of these motors but mark my words, they will take plenty before they give you any dramas that will stop you in your tracks. I truely believe it is only those that "work" their trucks pretty hard that have these issues without any explanation so if you think you work yours hard then I suggest you may not find a cure for it.

Hope these things help.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 603665

Follow Up By: kingkennas - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:09

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:09
I've tried using lower gears and having the revs higher and I find normally it's worse. No I don't think they've looked at the timing of the pump but I'll look into it. I get a four wheel drive specialist mechanic to do a full service and every 5000 km, if I were to do any more than that I'd buy a new one every 5000 km. I don't work the car hard at all normally, I'm known as being the one who tackles obstacles with my hands and tricks not my right foot or my wallet and always picking the perfect pace, any slower I wouldn't get up. On the road I'm no lead foot either. I never do any serious towing either, a Suzuki Sierra would have the towing capacity I'd need. In Narbethong Victoria (just north east of Melbourne) it's hard to say whether the roads are easier than metropolitan or harder, there's lots of 100 km/h highway roads but there's also lots of hills, windy roads, unsealed roads etc and lets just say that I find my fuel mileage is no better here than when I'm driving in Melbourne (about 7.5 km a litre, 13.3 litres per hundred)
FollowupID: 603678

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 09:29

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 09:29
Fuel consumption sounds about normal for a GQ. Offroad I have never even had mine close to being what I call hot, it is only when I tow at or above the speed limit on the open road. Sounds to me under your circumstances it may be worth pursueing further as it really shouldn't be running hot under the circumstances you are describing.

Good luck.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 603863

Reply By: kingkennas - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 09:58

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 09:58
In case you're all wondering, I'm pretty easy on the right foot going up hills, I never let the tacho get over 2500 rpm to look after the engine and annoy the oil companies a little. I've had the head checked when they did the head gasket and it was fine. If it matters the person I bought it off a year and a half ago lived in warm Queensland and the first six months I had it everything was fine, he was the first Australian owner after it got imported and Japan has it's hot days to.
AnswerID: 335851

Follow Up By: trainslux - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:38

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 11:38
Well, basically, when under load, and hot days, and this is the only time you say it overheats, then simply put its not exchanging enough heat from the fluid in the cooling system to keep up with the heat produced.

Well yeah, we all know that...........
but lets look at it from that basic analogy.

Air flow to rad??
Blocked aircon condensor??
spotties in front
bbar etc??

Well sealed fan shrouds, so that all the vacum caused by the fan _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx all the air thru the core of the rad, not the air gaps between the rad and the shroud behind the cores.
Like i said earlier, seal it up with foam strips.

Fan clutch operating correctly?

Correct sized rad core?? 3 or 4 row?? Correct width??

Or is the engine overfueling.

What you describe is an engine that is fine under normal conditions, and dosent cope when pushed with the heat.
This is pretty common symptoms with blocked rad cores or the things ive already mentioned.

Ive been caught with replacement water pumps that didnt pump enough volume due to poor impellor design/ depth on shaft to face of block too.
You say the pump is ok, has it been physically checked when the cooling system was being inspected/ flushed etc.

Let us know.

Trains

FollowupID: 603531

Reply By: kingkennas - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:39

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 12:39
Mechanics say that it's not overfuelling because it's not blowing out black smoke, you hardly see any smoke, it can't be a cracked block because it's not losing one drop of water, I spoke to Natrad in Ringwood Vic who replaced the radiator nine months ago and cleaned it a couple of weeks ago when it turned out to be perfectly clean anyway and he said that it either has two rows like all the genuine ones or three like a heavy duty genuine one and can't remember which one it is, but I'll find out, for memory he put a heavy duty one in, I vaguely remember him saying when he did it. The mechanic checked the water pump by pulling it out and by water flow and said that it's fine, all the belts are new and were checked again when they were pretty new. The air conditioning condenser is clean as anything, it overheats with my driving lights on or off and the engine doesn't have any mods like turbo, supercharger etc. The viscous coupling on the fan is only one week old and the one before that was nine months old and was still 90%, genuine ones.
AnswerID: 335874

Follow Up By: trainslux - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 14:40

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 14:40
Look at your rad, you will be able to see if it has 2 or 3 cores in it.
Whilst your there, How about the fan shrouds??

Are they well sealed, so all the air the fan drags thru HAS to go thu the rad core.

T
FollowupID: 603568

Reply By: kingkennas - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 15:00

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 15:00
I'm 90% sure it's three by looking at it the best I can, but I'll check 100% when I go back or see if someone else can tell, the invoice doesn't say. If you've got any tips on easy ways of telling how many fire away. The shroud is tight as and seals beautifully and I can't think of how many times they would've removed it and put it back on.
AnswerID: 335894

Reply By: patrolmann - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 15:09

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 15:09
HI ,
I have had the same problem with my 2.8lt td gq.
With mine the answer to fixing it seemed to be to run a genuine Nissan viscous hub which you have already done and the other thing that i was told was stick to the original radiators. Changing to a heavy duty 3 bar ( one is aluminium other is a diff kind of metal) and the three bar heavy duty holds heat more and lets the water flow quicker through the radiator not letting it cool down quick enough.
The other thing is to let it climb the hills at its own pace. Dont push that foot down = overfueling.
I spent more than $1500.00 on mine before we seemed to have it under control.
Don't know if i was fed a lot of crap but it does seem to have sorted things out.
AnswerID: 335897

Reply By: feathery - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:53

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:53
your driving lights not restrickting air flow try driving with them removed
AnswerID: 335922

Follow Up By: kingkennas - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 17:07

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 17:07
Like I've said twice it overheats with them on the car or off the car
FollowupID: 603587

Reply By: Goona - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:12

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:12
Hi Kinghennas,

I have a 4.2 Turbo Diesel and it used to over heat until I fitted a 3 inch dump pipe right behind the turbo. I know yours is non turbo so maybe a set of extractors might help.

Goona
AnswerID: 335967

Reply By: 93maverick - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:18

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:18
Have you had the block flushed. There is a drain plug left side of block at the back. Remove the plug and give it a good flush out. Could be mud in this part of the water ways restricting flow . Removing the plug is the only way to clear it.
AnswerID: 335969

Reply By: kiwicol - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:21

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:21
Hi, when you say it overheaats is the needle still in the high end of the working area or does it go into the red. If its not in the red its not overheating but running hot but still in the working range. Have a 92 GQ 4.2 diesal which has done 370,000ks with the same symtoms as yours, have been in the pilarras 45degrees out side towing a heavy camper doing 100ks with a/c on and the needle sits just below the line before the red. I have a pyro guage fitted which helps to not over fuel with the foot. The only thing i have done is fit 2 big electric fans on the front running off a manual switch in the cab, turning it on when coming to hills. Have never done any damage to the motor and have a super charger sitting on top for the last 200,000 ks. When going up hills try changing down manually and keep the revs up at about 2800 in each gear and dont labour the motor in low revs. Col
AnswerID: 335970

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:50

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:50
That
s good advice about keeping the revs up.....seems strange, but the engine runs hotter if you allow it to try and lug itself up a hill.

I would recommend fitting a VDO or Autometer water temp gauge to the top of the radiator (in the top hose is a good spot). This will give you a more accurate idea of what the actual water's temp really is. The factory gauge is designed to sit in one position during the time when the actual water temp is between about 50oC and 105oC. This gives you a false impression that the water temp is never changing....then when you see the factory gauge go from normal (say just below horizontal in most Patrols) to just under the RED zone, you start to panic. In fact, the REAL water temp has probably only gone from 105oC to about 118oC for the factory gauge to change that far.

With a properly-functioning cooling system with good radiator cap, the boiling point should be around 126oC, so 118oC is still okay, but is a warning that you are approaching the point where you need to consider backing off a bit.

One of these days, I'd like to fit another VDO sender unit in the bottom radiator hose....hooked up to the existing VDO gauge I have, but via a SPDT switch. That way, I could toggle between the hot water temp and the "cool" water temp. This would let me know how efficient the radiator is at doing it's job. I have no idea what the water temp should be after the water has been cooled down in the radiator..... it would be interesting to find out.

FollowupID: 603641

Reply By: Dunaruna - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:48

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 21:48
Kingkennas, if you still hit a brick wall after trying all, give Patrol A part a ring in Lilydale, ask for Paul. He lives and breathes patrols.
AnswerID: 335976

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 04:16

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 04:16
kingkennas

If you rev the engine a little more going up hills, it can sometimes help, by allowing the coolant to flow faster, but in one of your posts, I think you said that, but did you consider what revs you change down at.

How is the cowling around the radiator ?

I remember a bloke up Wodonga way that had had huge trouble with his cooling on 40 c days, and in the end, he brought one of those hi flow fans, and threw out the viscous clutch.

From memory, the same bloke actually jacked up the bonnet hinges, at the firewall, and let some of the hot air escape via the windscreen.

Looked a little daggy, but it seemed to work for him.

Roachie had issues with summer heat, as well, but maybe it was the bigger turbo he put in his GU, or he just had a hot running motor .

AnswerID: 336152