Submitted: Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 22:37
Holty
I am looking for suggestions on if it is possible to do some work on a Jayco Swan outback, and if so where would I go to get it done.
I want to take off the rear bumper and add a box between the bumber and the back of the camper. I'd like to add a box the width of the van and 30-50cm long, primarilt to carry an oztent for kids
camping, awning etc. I am thinking of checkerbox type metal construction.
I'm in
Brisbane - any tips on where to get this type of work done is appreciated.
thanks
Reply By: Member - Malcolm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 23:13
Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 23:13
Holty
Only comment I can make is I had setup two 20 litre Jerrycans for fuel and another 20 litres for
water as
well as the two spare
wheels on the back of a 20' Regent. I had that much tail wagging I removed all the jerrycans the second day of the trip.
I also understand load distribution a bit better these days ;-)
Malcolm
Reply By: eerfree - Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 23:39
Monday, Nov 17, 2008 at 23:39
Holty
Caboolture Caravan Repairs will point you in the right direction but I think
Malcolm is on the money, you more than likely will have a weight distribution problem.
Reply By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 09:37
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 09:37
Swans (and other Jayco wind-ups) usually have jerry can holders on the drawbar (next to the gas bottle) but our Goldstream has dual holders on the rear bumper. I'd be investigating an alloy box in the smallest dimensions you can get away with based on what you want to put in it, as steel would be much heavier. Those Oztent's are nifty, but a bugger to carry.
Nige.
Reply By: Anthony (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 10:28
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 10:28
I spotted the very box you describe on the back of a jayco camper last xmas when visiting the Parks Radio Telescope. I was going to have a closer look at it on my way out but they had already moved on.
So, it has been done. Full width in alum checker plate and fitted between the spare wheel post and the rear panel of the camper.
I would try the yellow pages or google custom tool box manufacturers for utes and trucks etc. I know there are some around
Melbourne but a bit far for you.
I'm thinking that in the future I'll do the same and replace the twin 150mm PVC tube I've mounted on the rear of ours.
Reply By: swampy66 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 13:32
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 13:32
Holty,
someone has done a similar job on my Eagle.
ill send some pics and the pro's and cons.
im thinking of having a better one made - in a similar design but lighter.
my last jayco had a similar box mounted on the back also.
email me : roopaw at westnet dot com dot au
and ill send some pics. (ive jst taken photos)
swampy
Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:59
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 16:59
Holty, we had a eagle off road which we bought brand new 7 years ago and had a bar and towball put on. After 2 years we received a letter from Jayco saying that we should bring our eagle back so they could remove the rear bar as there were reports of the chassis' bending due to the flexing of the bar.
We only had 3 kids bikes on the back. We still used the towball until we sold it in 2005. You could ring Jayco and just verify how much weight you can put on the rear bar, if only for piece of mind.
cheers,
Lance
Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 22:13
Tuesday, Nov 18, 2008 at 22:13
Holty
Try DIAMOND T products at 15 Enterprise Way
Browns Plains,
Qld 4118
There phone Number is (07)38068889 and there Web site is
www.diamondtproducts.com
I had one made a couple Mths. ago and picked it up on my way home to Tassie.
Exellent product.i have no affiliation but a very satisfied customer.
Regards Duke
Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 00:43
Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 00:43
Holty have a look in my profile pictures and you will see a large box on the back of our Dove (can send more if you want). It only holds spare tyre (like original bumber did) and foldup chairs, outdoor florring stuff,
water hose and other light items.
Owner before me fitted it and did 1/2 Aus with it and I can't see any signs of cracking . The chassis on the outback range is huge (overkill) and the only thing I reckon people are cracking is what they add on because they have made it too light. Be sensible with weight and you won't go wrong.
Nothing better than pulling up to
camp and not having to spend 10 minutes pulling everything you stored in the camper off the floor.