Injector Issue with 06 Hilux Turbo Diesel

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:37
ThreadID: 63645 Views:14193 Replies:12 FollowUps:9
My Hilux is in with a Toyota dealer at the moment and I have a dirty or fouled injector (No: 1) The vehicle started running rough at around 71,000k's however I didn't take it in until its 80,000k service, problem here is that when I took the vehicle in it was 6 days outside of warranty. The dealer approached Toyota for an outside warranty claim, however was knocked back. It gets more challenging because apparently the injectors are not serviceable at this point in time by Denso or their agents and a new injector according to the dealer is up around $900. I believe personally the injector needs the nozzles serviced or replaced, not the injector itself.

It seems to me that this is ludicrous to say the least, so I was wondering if anyone else has had to deal with this problem, any suggestions would be appreciated. The dealer has been great and Toyota have been good to me in the past, but this seems silly given the condition of diesel nowdays, injectors need to be serviced.

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 11:08

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 11:08
Hiya Terra

I would not deal with Toyota Full stop,Ring another company in your area and ask them a few questions about it,If you feel your not getting the right answers,email me and i'll ask an injector bloke thats done mine (Holden Berlina not 4by) for some info..

Your right it Ludicrous..

AnswerID: 336019

Reply By: Flywest - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 11:46

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 11:46
Depends.

Those diesels have in line fuel filters - so it is unlikely that at 71,000 or 80,000 km's that a nozzel needs a clean, and it certainly shouldn't be worn out.

More likely is that somethings broken or leaking with regard to that injector.

IF it is one of the newer HEUI (Hydraulic Electronic Unit Injector) then yes they cost upwards of $900 each in just about any brand (via stealership spare parts avenues of supply).

The vehicles warranted 3 years or 100,000 km's whichever comes first....

If the 3 years is up it is up - if you never took in a warrantable condition for repair for 9000km's - and left it until xyz days after warranty expires - then your liable basically UNLESS the dealership & Tojo decide from the goodness of their heart to help you out!

Sounds like they don't want to eat$900 for a new injector to me - and who would when they are as expensive as they are!

Try replacing all 8 of them at $900 each on some of the new HEUI V8 diesels!

Generally speaking the injectors are pretty hardy and reliable - it's MORE likely to be an electrical short in the electronic circuit that fires them, because the injectors inside the rocker cover where the hot lubricating oil runs - ad hot oil and electrical wires don;t go together so well - specially if the wire rubs its insulation off on any of the Ohead cam gear and shorts etc...

These high tech diesels are damn economic and good performers until something goes awry with the electricals that control them these days.

It seems the designers have forgotten that one of the primary reasons many chose diesels in the first place was because of the unreliability of electrical ignition problems on petrol engines in hard service applications like agriculture outback transport and marine applications - the diesels proving far more reliable.

Now however woth electronically controlled diesel injection - we are right back to where we left off with petrol engine reliability - i.e. basically screwed.

Its a shame because the additional cost of diesel was considered a worthwhile trade off for the additional reliability.

Now it seems we have diesels with all of the extra expense but NON of the extra reliability due tio the introduction of electrionic cam position sensors and engine management computers that fire the damn injectors!

Mechanical fuel injecton was at least RELIABLE - the new modern replacement with these common rail, chipped and computer run diesels, just isn't there anymore.

In truth these new diesels aren't fit to travel anywhere outsideof the city where the technicians have the computers diagnostics and electronics experts to fix them.

Welcome to the brave new world of technology!

With reliability issues and costs, etc of the new technology, who can blame Toyota, for running scared from possible warrantable work if they can find an "out clause' in the fine print!

With the state of auto manufacturers finances - I reckon we will probably see a LOT more claims for warranty denied from here on in by many dealers/manufacturers in an effort to stay afloat fiscally thru these hard times.!

Cheers!
AnswerID: 336022

Reply By: tdv - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:14

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:14
How is it out of warranty? 2006 plus 3 = 2009???? and you haven't done 100,000km yet?

I'd get Toyota to do their maths again :-)

AnswerID: 336027

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:25

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:25
My apologies should read 05 Hilux. I tend to agree with Flywest comments with regards mechanical vs computerised common rail. I have a boat wh 2 Cummins diesel engines and you can do a swap back for around $110 an injector. You can also service the injectors easily. I am awaiting to hear what the dealer can do after removing and inspecting all the injectors, apparently they are speaking to other dealers and Denso.? Will keep you informed of the outcome
FollowupID: 603702

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 16:44

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 16:44
My old Perkins 8/510 diesel out of my trawler was $50 each back in the 80s And I could fix it in most cases out at sea. And now the best we can do is make sure the motor (one of these new motors) is still in the boat. How time have changed. what sort of boat do you have Terra?

Cheers Bruce.
FollowupID: 603914

Reply By: Member - Kevin R (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:28

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:28
Quite a few Prado D4D 's have been having injectors replaced under warranty. (see pradopoint.com) Toyota know there is a problem with the injectors so it may pay to read the info on pradopoint and then approach the Toyota again. There have also been hiluxs with the same problem.

Kevin
AnswerID: 336028

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:48

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:48
$900.....sounds cheap to me....last price I got was between $1200 to $1800 each....$900 sounds like a bargain.
AnswerID: 336046

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:59

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:59
$1200 to $1800 sounds like a big difference to me. I wonder how Toyota could expect a 2nd hand market for any vehicle that demanded $1800 for a single injector.! Or $7200 for a set of 4..!

There ar 2 issues here in my opinion for Toyota going forward.

1. If the injector is not serviceable, nozzles etc, that's bad.
2. If the injectors are not serviceable and are going to cost over $1000 that in itself would make the vehicles useless in the used car market.?

Correct me if I am wrong, but servicing injectors is a common occurence.?
FollowupID: 603720

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:55

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:55
It's not just Toyota it's all CRD engines in all makes.

Take the Mitsubishi 3.2 CRD engine in the Triton and Pajero, at the 75,000k service you have to fork out $900.00 plus labour to replace the injector pipes.

Yes there will be a big problem in the used car market relating to CRD engined vehicles.

Have they be serviced by a dealer.
Have the had the right oil used.
Have they had the parts that are required to be replace in a scheduled service replaced.
FollowupID: 603812

Reply By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 18:07

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 18:07
Most of these common rail electronic injectors are not serviceable, everything from F250's down to all these little buzz boxes with little diesels are the same. One tank of dirty fuel, 4, 6 or 8 blocked or partially blocked injectors.
We have a hilux ute at work which everybody and his dog drives, it started acting up, still under wty, back to dealer, prognosis "dirty fuel" needs new injectors!!! Final cost was over $5k with labour!
Our argument with dealer was that as the standard filtration system had let "dirt" through to injection system it wasn't up to a good enough standard for engine fuel system it was their problem. They wouldn't accept any liablility and we had to pay to get it fixed.
I've heard of plenty of others having similar problems regardless of brand and friend with an F250 is on its third set under wty at around 70,000k.
His is the only one I've heard of where the dealer/manufacturer covers the poor filtration under wty. Needless to say he intends to sell it before the extended wty runs out as a set of injectors is over $8k.
AnswerID: 336088

Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 19:54

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 19:54
6 Days out of warranty!!!!!! i would be doing cartwheels in the service dept with lots of yelling until it gets fixed!
AnswerID: 336106

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:48

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:48
Toyota don't use HEUI injection systems, alot of trucks do and so did the 3.2 lt Isuzu motors in the last Jackaroo's.

The pressure is generated by the fuel pump running of the motor at around 20,000 to 30,000 psi.

The injectors are unservicable now and in the future.

You may want to get Toyota to recalibtare the injectors to the ecu, the ecu may of lost the injector calibrations.

For those people who rubbish the new CRD engines, what are you going to do when the introduce 10ppm sulphate diesel next year.

The older diesels need a high sulphate content to lubricate and keep pliable all the rubber hoses and seals.

You can always get the fuel injection system overhauled with viton seals and hoses....$$$$

Or you can just let the diesel leak out!

AnswerID: 336126

Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 23:36

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 23:36
Gidday Big O
.......Or u can just get rid of the old diesel & get a petrol model instead of a new CRD!!!
Seriously - you would have to give this due consideration. esp in the current climate.
I'm not rubbishing the new CRD's, they are crackers in terms of power (have regularly driven an auto lux) but they are not any more reliable in terms of good ole fashioned longevity compared to the petrol engine offered in the same model of car. OVERALL running costs are stuff all different, + fuel cost/economy now evened out etc..

In terms of low sulphur diesel - bit like the old super petrol - use an additive to overcome problem

I've got an old style 2.5td mitsi dcab ute, 14 yr old motor only ever had reg oil & fluids changed - no other mech work done (orig injectors, orig clutch. g'box etc after 251000k). Still in great nick, but pretty agricultural these days
I've been looking at the new utes over the past year or so, and am starting to wonder if petrol is becoming a more viable option. (As said, those CRD pumps are extremely high pressure, and are fickle units in terms of fuel quality.) This time last year, I would not even entertain the idea.
In the meantime, I'll hang on to my 'older diesel' that looses a few hundred each year in depriciation (if that). At least I won't worry about spending big $$'s on it if it goes pear shaped, no signs of that happening, motor sounds the same whether it's hot or cold (read: no crd cold rattle.....) If it does pack it in, worth stuff all, so just phone a wrecker up to collect it - easy

FollowupID: 603838

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 07:45

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 07:45
It will be interesting in the future regarding CRD engines, most vehicles these days are very reliable but you will still get a hand full that gives grief.

Manufactures had to go to new engine designs because of the emission standards placed on then by most governments around the world, the old engines could not deliver the low emission standards needed.

Wait until Euro 5 standards come into play next September but I think the big one will be Euro 6 in 2014.

Don't think you are safe with older engines as it might be more expensive for you to run (Carbon Tax) and you may find you will have to spend BIG money on lowering the current emissions of your old engine (Retrofitting a particle filter and higher maintenance).

The are starting to do Retrofit kits for some of the older diesels and it is compulsory in some countrys around the world.

Look at what is happening here in Australia with heavy road transport, they have a very strict maintenance schedule including tune ups.

We have one customer who has one of his truck running local, it's a late 80's engine but he had worked out if he replaces it with a newer engine post 1996 he will be in front in about 2.5 years just because the costs he is charged for maintenance and tune ups.....he has to show evidence of the work being under taken when it gets registered every year.

Food for thought!

I think people will be caught between a rock and a hard place.

With Euro 5 emission laws; all fault codes that the vehicle logs to the ECU will stay their for the life of the vehicle, it may even logs information regarding servicing, maintenance, type of oil used and problems that the owner ignores..... this information will be handed into the government upon re registering the vehicle and any breaches of emission laws you will receive a expiation notice and a fine.

They are getting very serious and big brother will star watching.

FollowupID: 603853

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 16:53

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 16:53
You only forgot one thing Big O all the vehicle manufactures are going broke (so the Gov tell us thats why our Taxs have to pay to get them out of th !!!) , so we probably still be driving around for ages in our old tanks hahahahaha

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 603918

Reply By: 76 series cruiser - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 21:29

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 21:29
mate of mine has an 06 d4d hilux for a work run around, has 100k on it, has had the guts flogged out of it, has had 100% bio diesel run through it, dirty diesel (black in colour) i wouldn't have even run it in me old 60. but...it is still going strong as ever, still no problems to the day. so this says to me that new common rail electronic diesels are alot more robust and not as soft as there made out to be.
Also went and priced a genuine diesel injector for a 60 sereies with a 2H a couple of years ago(i know they can be serviced but..), $2500 per injector times 6 is $15000! i know they are a bit older but its alot more expensive than $900 per injector.

just thought i'd throw my 2bob in, cheers.
AnswerID: 336132

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 22:30

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 22:30
Thin I'll just keep the old 1HZZZzzzzzzzz going for while longer...............................

AnswerID: 336138

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 15:02

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 15:02
me too me thinks......sigh
FollowupID: 603900

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:19

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:19
Thanks for all your replies guys, dealer just called me ( I did make contact with Toyota also) and advised the car is now fixed. According to the service manager they removed all the injectors, could not find any visible fouling, soaked all the injectors, re-installed them and switched them around, the vehicle went into limp mode (Apparently normal at this stage) and re-programmed or re-set the ECU and now cannot fault the vehicle. I haven't picked up the vehicle yet, so haven't driven it, will keep and eye on it. Certainly there is a story in buying these types of vehicles 2nd hand, scary to think about the people that need to replace all their injectors.!
AnswerID: 336179

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 18:06

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 18:06
Toyota D4D engines in the Prado and Hilux have a known issue with the ecu loosing the individual injector calibrations.

There is a unique code for each injector as they are so precise in there fuel metering there is no way of manufacturing all injectors to the same tolerances.

FollowupID: 603936

Reply By: gdownie - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 13:44

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2008 at 13:44
hi Terra
been there done that.
have 06 hilux diesel.
fuel system is not covered under Toyota warranty im told.
talk to Cooma diesel service the only one of a few who know what there talking about.
they supply water traps and 2 micron filters designed for these hi flow hilux just fitting both now to my hilux after dirty fuel scare.
drain/removed tank.
water in system in these is the big BIG KILLER and at $7-800 per injector which are not interchangeable and have to be scan coded in once installed.
were looking at good GPS unit now as if it stops in the bush your stuffed.
were running lpg and tunit chip big power gain but same fuel economey.cheers
AnswerID: 338930