Marysville Vic police booking four wheel drivers

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 13:52
ThreadID: 63654 Views:6158 Replies:18 FollowUps:19
G'day everyone, I just thought I should let you know if it matters, I live in Marysville north east of Melbourne, a popular area for four wheel drivers and the local police have been cracking down lately on four wheel drives with illegal modifications, lights on the roof, too much lift, tyres too big, no mud flaps, tyres outside the wheel arches etc, such as a friend who lives nearby has got an 80 series with 35 inch super swampers and three lights on the front and only uses it in the area on weekends had the local cops force him to make it roadworthy on lift and have speed rated tyres and only have two lights on the front and then take it to Vic Roads. A local wanted burglar hiding in the bush (since been caught) attempted to break into my car not long ago and the local police took a look at the car and got fingerprints and while they were at it, they checked out my tyre size and suspension lift, luckily mines within the limits and roadworthy so I could stick my finger up at him (not that I really would). A local guy spun out on the road and rolled and the cops gave him a hard time about having too much lift and the insurance knocked back his claim after that. It's not just on the road, they patrol the local bush and plantation on weekends mainly getting unregistered unlicensed and underage trail bikers and illegal hunters I think but they keep an eye on the four wheel drivers and that's how they got my mate with the 80 series. I've heard of people getting booked for mud on their number plates and lights but I think that's from the highway patrol cops patrolling the roads on some weekends who've got nothing to do with the Marysville police. So if you're four wheel driving in Narbethong, Marysville, Buxton, Toolangi, Big River area and your car's technically unroadworthy be careful, if I see them in the bush for trail bikers I scan my UHF and let any in the area know about it and where they are and if I pass a convoy I let them know.

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:14

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:14
BUCKY00

just another way of fleecing REVENUE off you.
AnswerID: 336037

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:23

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:23
Funny isn't it, we complain if the police do nothing, but then whinge if they target 4x4s to make the roads safer.
FollowupID: 603711

Reply By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:32

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:32
The mud on lights & number plates may be going a bit too far, but I have nothing against them enforcing the rules that we all have to live by. As for underaged / unlicensed or unregisted drivers / riders. Why should they get away with anything ?

Vince
AnswerID: 336041

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:51

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:51
Hi Vince

I think that some of them should get away with it.

I took the risk because i think thats a better way to bring up the kids, for the reasons I tried to explain in post 63620.

FollowupID: 603750

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 17:17

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 17:17
Hi Robin

I have read the post you refered to and can see where you are comming from, BUT.

I should exolain that I have also ridden bikes (30 years ago) that were unregistered in state forests but have also been on the other end of the situation where we were hit, while changing a tyre, by an unregistered rider. In this case it was a case of taking civil action against the rider without much hope of getting any mony or pay the excess & loose the no claim .

As I said I can see where you are comming from. We need to have areas where kids can push the limits & learn in safety, but again it is a case of walking that fine line.

Vince
FollowupID: 603757

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 18:51

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 18:51
A friend of mines son has just broken his back, now a paraplegic & still may lose his arm, riding unlicensed, on an unregistered trail bike.
FollowupID: 603782

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 19:43

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 19:43
A friend of mines son has just broken his back, now a paraplegic & still may lose his arm, riding unlicensed, on an unregistered trail bike.
FollowupID: 603793

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:22

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:22
Hi Guys

Actually I don't support as such unregistered bikes or unlicensed riders except in so far as there is no alternative to being same.

I.E. All of our bikes are now registered , because they can be - some years ago they weren't because the type of bike that kids needed simply couldn't be.

Same as for licences, our state governments do stupid things and one of those has been to raise the age at which you can get a bike learners permit to 18.
Against this there has been a huge swell of teenagers under 18 wishing to ride bikes in our forrests- hence by default , they have no options but to ride unlicensed.

If there was some form of junior license that allowed then to ride them in real areas then I would support that and I am sure the public would be on the side of the regulators.

I have seen recently that all that is happening as the result of counterproductive efforts by the police like this post refers to is to create a huge disrespect for the police , a lack of co-operation with them when its needed and the development of them/us attitudes amongst young adults.

FollowupID: 603798

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 21:09

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 21:09
Sorry, but kids don't need bikes they want bikes, & teenagers do have another option.
FollowupID: 603817

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 08:36

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 08:36
Hi Shaker

I note your reference to a friends serious injury.
In that post I did, it sounds all exciting but at the end of the day
4 people ended up with broken bones, so you might reasonably ask if its all worth it.

Their is no question that the kids teenagers any many adults think it is for a whole variety of reasons.
The depth of this move in recent years is hard to appreciate unless you go to somewhere like Glenburn roadhouse on a saturday morning, grab a coffee and just count the huge number of trailbikes passing by.
The statistics show this as one of the fastest growing sport areas, and I'm sure part of this is due to over bureaucratic interference in other areas which are seeing a reduction of activity.

I believe and I think our psychologists agree that something with a challenge, a little bit on the edge, and with an element of danger and excitment is fundamental to good childhood development.

In my day we didn't have bikes or drugs so much but we had guns instead.

These days teenagers have a lot more effective freedom and have a wide range of choices and channeling that energy into riding bikes seems to be a reasonable outlet and if done
right keeps kids and parents to-gether with a common interest.

The trick we have tried to do is to accompany that desire and energy with insisting on and providing good safety skills and riding practise.

It would help a lot if authorities worked with us to create signicant riding areas with one way tracks etc, however no point in day dreaming , we just work with what we have got.
FollowupID: 603858

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:29

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:29
Hey Robin,

The problem with your realistic attitude in regards to underage use of vehicles and its benefits .... is that the population levels are now too high, residential areas have encroached on suitable play areas and society's current litigation mad mentality. The same things I have to keep reminding myself of ..........

Was a time, you could go surfing at Palm Beach on the Gold Coast and after lunch, push your bike 3 blocks in the opposite direction to the pine forest and go trail riding all afternoon. Not any more ... all houses now and probably owned by people whinging about kids on bikes - riding the streets .... pfffft

A new aspect is the change in society in regard to extreme sports. Obviously its youth looking for challenges, as they always have, but now it is media sensationalised, advertised and marketed. This causes many who would not have an interest, nor an ability in the activity to become involved. IMHO and apart from a few cases, it is these that we see headlined in the news, as statistics of an extreme sport activity.

Like you , I had my young bloke behind the wheel at an age when he could safely reach all the controls. Not public highways obviously ... but mining tracks, state forests and where suitable, and with gained experience - on back country roads.

Oh the shock and horror from the 'legal beagles' and the 'what if' society. Too bad ... suck it up ... As far as I was concerned it was a safety factor ............ As we were regularly away camping, pigging, fossicking etc, the chance of an injury, snake bite etc was always a possibility ... If needed, I knew he would be able to make an unaccompanied journey for assistance without mishap. By comparison ... a nephew who was not allowed near vehicle controls untill of the legal age, died at seventeen and a half ... as a result of a lack of practical experience and knowledge of gravitational effects on a vehicle, when cornering and using the brakes. The damaged speedo showed speed was not an issue, so the brainwashed, anti-speed brigade need not reply. The " cause " of the accident was wandering stock.

Today, easily accessible play areas are diminishing, back country roads are now as busy as country town main streets used to be - and yet kids still need outlets for challenges. Challenges that are training for later life.

At thirty, the now not so young, Young Bloke has yet to have a vehicle accident .... just lucky ???? or did the 5 or 6 year head start, in controlled circumstances, provide a safety factor ???? .....
FollowupID: 603875

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 11:39

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 11:39
There are plenty of places where it's legal to ride unlicenced or unregistered - any private property.

You need to be licenced and registered on any public land - crown land or state forests.
FollowupID: 604225

Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:35

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:35
Fair enough. Noboby is above the law.
AnswerID: 336042

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:39

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 14:39
If you break the law you must be prepared to face the music…….who needs to get around on 35 inch swampers it’s purely for looks…I was there once and realized that it’s not worth it taking the risk with your insurance and other people’s life’s. Stick to the rules or build a 4x4 and trailer it to a private property and play there
AnswerID: 336043

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:34

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:34
My 35" are not for looks - they are standard size for the truck - FC landie.
FollowupID: 603744

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 18:14

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 18:14
My 37" are standard too !
FollowupID: 603768

Reply By: Robnicko - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:13

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:13
Bucky,
Sounds harsh but the Police are only enforcing the law.
With my other car, being modified, I went through the 'hassle' of getting it engineered for all the modifications which include turbocharging, EFI, 9" diff and so on. Once engineered and approved by Vicroads it was acknowledged by the Police when i got pulled up and never a problem.

The main reason I engineered it was for insurance purposes.

All of the 4x4's out there with a tyre greater than 2" bigger than standard are unroadworthy.

I too, ride a trailbike in that area and am glad to see the Police trailbikers out there as there are too many unlicensed and unregistered bikes out there. I pay full reg on my bike for that reason.

Bottom line is get the vehicle engineered and they wont have a problem.

Rob
AnswerID: 336060

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:43

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 16:43
I think QLD is only 12mm bigger. I went 23mm as they did not make the light truck tyre in the brand I decided on for my cars standard size. So what do you do? Stay with the standard useless tyres? Or go another useless brand that may make them, like BFGs :-) Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 603747

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 17:51

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 17:51
Tony,
It's a sensitive topic but I guess with the financial meltdown affecting Govt revenue this is an easy way to get extra money out of everyone!

Rob
FollowupID: 603761

Reply By: mechpete - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 17:48

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 17:48
if you choose to own a 4wd and then modify it outside the roadworthy regs . what are you complaining about ? the regs on modifications are clear so don,t whinge .
mechpete.
AnswerID: 336082

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 18:25

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 18:25
mechpete. How about different States - Different Regs - That needs to be addressed and in a previous post it just may be. Also some of the regs are a bit harsh - dont you think. Especially when 4x4 are made as street cars and not for off road and that is what a lot of us want them for. Gee we have to have somthing to complain about, dont we? :-) Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 603772

Follow Up By: Splits - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:33

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:33
Tony

No street car could ever go where I have taken my standard 4b. If I wanted to go into anything rougher, I would build whatever was necessary and trailer it to closed areas.

Plenty of people modify 2wd cars for weekend fun on a variety of closed circuits. They don't expect to be allowed to drive them on the streets.

FollowupID: 603801

Reply By: mechpete - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 17:53

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 17:53
a suspension lift that is more than one third of the original bump stop clearance is also unroadworthy.
mechpete.
AnswerID: 336084

Reply By: Ianw - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:19

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:19
Strange how the people who live and work in the outback have "normal" tyres and suspension and get everywhere they have to go. It's only the city slickers and the like that insist on the wide tyres and 5 inch lifts. It's really only for the looks and perhaps to compensate for their inabilities as a driver that these mods are popular. Dont complain when the authorities insist on a proven safety issue! Mostly they have our interests at heart.

lets go!
AnswerID: 336118

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:38

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 20:38
LOL onya Ianw. That should stir up the show ponies hahahaha

FollowupID: 603803

Reply By: Markymark - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 21:25

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 21:25
This is getting off the original topic but I also live on the area and I'm no fan of huge lifts and tyres either. A year or so ago I was out with some mates 4wdriving and came across a track that had ruts so deep it was impossible for us in our basically standard rigs to get through (2 inch lift and BFG A/T on mine, standard height and muddies on another). It seems to me that the 'trend' is to fit bigger and bigger tyres and where's it gonna end? You'll have to drive a tractor soon to get through some of these tracks that are cut to buggery.
On another occasion we saw some young blokes in a jacked up SWB GQ trying to get up a super steep hill that wasn't even a track. Plenty of V8 grunt and Super Swampers had him moving up and crap fling everywhere.
No I am a bit of a greenie in that I think it's beautiful country up here and it gives me the sh_ts seeing people rip it up on the weekend and then drive back down the highway to Melbourne...A generalisation I know but you get my point. A pity there's no designated areas where people can test their vehicles like this - similar to hoons racing on proper tracks instead of the street.
The cops mentioned above is one thing but the increasing rate of track closures due to people flouting the law and destroying the tracks is something we all have to wear.

Cheers!

Mark.
AnswerID: 336131

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 22:05

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 22:05
There's no legal requirement for having mud flaps. In fact, a lot of cars still have them as an option. And if there was everyone would have to fit them retrospectively.

Anyway, you think thats harsh treatment? Try driving a 50's style custom on the street. Tail dragging, no interior mirror, chopped top, etc. etc. They don't like any of that and it makes them mad as hell because the cars' all legal and certified and there ain't a damn thing they can do about it.

Maybe that's why they are picking on 4WD'ers.
AnswerID: 336136

Follow Up By: Middle Jeff - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 20:40

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 20:40
Hi Louie, anything over 300mm in most states need mud flaps, as most cars are less than this they do not have them.

Have fun

Craig
FollowupID: 604049

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 22:33

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2008 at 22:33
Have always lightly modified my vehicles to make them more capable, sometimes slightly out of spec & difficult to tell at 1st glance but when many drivers start slaping 1/2 a dozen lights accross the roof, jack the suspension up 6 inches with a huge set of rubber then proceed to chop up the bush, well it's only a matter of time before the attention of the police is directed towards us all.
Anyway I gave up driving the tracks around there long ago, about the same time my 33" tyres wouldn't reach the bottom of the ruts :-)
Cheers Craig................
AnswerID: 336140

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:35

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 10:35
That pretty much sums it all up .....
FollowupID: 603876

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 04:33

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 04:33
bucky00

from 1 buck, to another !

Maybe the coppers are just trying to get the 4X4 "hoons" off the street too.

I 4 wheel drive, I go up the Vic high country, I get left alone, yet I drive it like a truck, because frankly, it is a truck.
I have a lifted, HD suspension patrol, and it's been done properly, and is roadworthy. Everything else is standard.

I get it covered with mud, but I do make sure that the lights, and indicators are clean, and I can see out the windows, as soon as I get back on road.

AnswerID: 336154

Reply By:- Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 09:02

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 09:02
Yep, good to hear that the police are doing checks. Too many going bush merely to play and think they can do as they please.
AnswerID: 336174

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 13:56

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 13:56
Well I might as well offer my 20cents worth. Like so many things it is a difficult argument if one wants to debate the right and wrongs - mainly because it is against the law (so no argument there). Now if we want to argu if it makes sense or not it becomes a little easier but still the best argument I feel is the argument if this is a good way for the police to spend their time - I don't think so! Now if there is so little real crime in Vic to keep the police occupied I'd be surprised so maybe aiming for the Mr Big might be a better use of this resource.

Don't know about others but there is never a cop around when you need one and this has happened a couple of times to me so I'm a little less sympathetic to them being too busy enforcing minor breaches.

AnswerID: 336199

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 15:18

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 15:18
Bucky00, will be in your little town in December. Will have to fix our mud flap first.
AnswerID: 336221

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 18:35

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 18:35
Hiya Guys

I believe the Police are doing them a favor.

Right down to my MTZ's,The guys new i did not want any issues with insurance.They do this to there vehicles thinking she'll be right !

They are paying insurance for nothing (well there own piece of mind anyway)..

AnswerID: 336362

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:46

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:46
"ive heard of people getting booked for mud on their number plates and lights " ,,,,, to right they should be booked ,the law states in every state and territory in Australia that the number plate must be legible at a minimum distance and angle ,, how else can the cameras recognise a particular vehicle ,,,
AnswerID: 336418

Reply By: Rowie - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 11:36

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 11:36
Based on a discussion I've had today on this light issue with Victoria Police, I'm confident in my understanding of the requirements.

Lights on a roof bar/rollbar aren't specifically an issue, providing;
1. they are wired via the high beam dip switch
2. they have their own separate on/off switch to deactivate them when normal high beam headlights lights are in use.
3. a maximum of 6 high beam lights are fitted INCLUDING ORIGINAL HEADLIGHTS
4. they are mounted in pairs (ie. 2 or 4 additional lights are ok, but have an extra 1 or 3 and you are in trouble)
5. are mounted so that when the lights are in operation, there is no reflection off any surface to distract the driver. (ie. if you have an aluminium bullbar, ensure the surface facing the driver is painted/powdercoated matt black)
6. additional lights must NOT be mounted in a position which is wider than the plane of the vehicle headlight. ie. the outer most edge of the additional light cannot be any wider than the outer edge of the headlight.

There is no longer a height restriction on mounting extra lights.

Re your mate; If he has tyres outside the wheel arches he's fair game as this is an unroadworthy item.

BTW. He didn't have to only have 2 lights to make the vehicle roadworthy, he could have had 2 or 4, just not an odd number.

Re the bloke whose insurance was denied- it is a requirement on policies covering road registered vehicles that the vehicle is maintained in a roadworthy state, so I don't see the problem. Why should any of us pay extra premiums to cover unroadworthy vehicles that should be excluded?

Patrolling the State Forests is part of the Police's job and if anyone goes in there unreg/unlicenced, they are asking for trouble.

If you fail to clean your numberplates after a stint off road before you hit the tar and get knocked off, yes it is pretty harsh, but how hard is to stop for 30 secs and wipe over the plates with a rag?

AnswerID: 337661