cheap bush shower

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 01:59
ThreadID: 6369 Views:4976 Replies:7 FollowUps:3
Living in the SW of WA the sola showers ain't much good in winter. A big search on the net yeilded some pretty prizy gizmos. Heat exchange was not an option on the old (now retired) datsun ute.

Besides I wanted portable. This is not recommended for those non-tinkerers as it could be hazardous (in a big boom sort of way) but the thing works a treat!

Components:
1 old gas HW system from a plummer mate $0
1 Dick Smith 12v camp shower $25
1 old microphone stand from the tip $0
2 garden hose connectors $6
a few worm drive clamps $2
a bit of poly pipe, garden hose and a couple of gutter bolts $2
an old upright compressor trolley and an old 20L plastic drum $0
1 old 12v drill battery $0
1 old ciggy lighter from wreckers $1

Method:
Pull apart the old gas HW system, pull out the pilot light assembly and jam (well) the valve so gas is straight through.

Mount the header tank some 6" from the gas burners and fasten it, pop the hoses and clamps on the in and out copper pipes. Cut the camp shower hose so the pump can use a connector to the in pipe and the shower head to the out pipe. I also use a hose joiner adapter so you can reconnect the camp shower for summer use.

Mount onto an old trolley or WHY, place a 20 l drum in a convenient position with an extra filler and cap cut from another old one if mounted horizontal like mine. This is for filling and the convenience of a tap also on the side as you can just recirculate into the tank for just hot water.

http://www.goodcasinos.com/album/albums/camping/DSC00502.JPG

Basically for power I use an old 12v drill battery (lasts an hour flat out, plenty for a dozen hot 5 min showers).

I use the gas bottle to control the temperature and the water should be turned on first before lighting as it heats in about 10secs. All in all you can cart it anywhere and it works a treat. Very economical on gas as it needs about a 1" flame on the tank to heat the water adequately.

Reply By: UB.1 - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 08:38

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 08:38
Deano that's brilliant but a bit bulky for me to carry.
AnswerID: 26820

Reply By: Member - Raymond - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 10:11

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 10:11
Great system, but where do you carry it if you do not have the old datsan.
Our shower is
1. Large Billy for over fire or gas stove if no wood $10.00
2. 15 litre plastic Bucket $3.00
3. 12 volt shower pump and head $25-30
All the shower equipment soap etc fit in bucket
4. Shower tent $100 (the boss is shy)
Ray

wanderin' in retirement. victor 2010
AnswerID: 26828

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 10:59

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 10:59
Ray,

We have the same set-up but shower bucket is 20L with a lid that doubles as our washing machine too. One large billy of hot water added to full bucket of cold water is perfect and provides showers for 2 adults and 1 child. Perfect!

:o) MelissaPetrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
FollowupID: 18362

Follow Up By: joc45 - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 18:30

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 18:30
Great, isn't it?
Same system as us, but I didn't use the shower tent until last Easter, when some friends brought one along. Modesty aside, it kept the wind out and made all the difference in preventing death by wind-chill.
FollowupID: 18382

Reply By: bruce.h (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 11:08

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 11:08
Gday ray
seems like a lot work for a shower ours is
1 plastic sola shower $0 (raffle prize)
boil the billy & your away packs flat no probs
Regards Bruce
AnswerID: 26830

Follow Up By: Member - Willem- Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 12:49

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 12:49
Yeah Bruce I am with you on that one. Have been using the old plastic shower with 3 litres cold water and 3 litres hot water(2 people) from the billy for many years now although on a recent trip I opted for a bucket wash instead and it worked just as well and used less water.
Cheers, Willem
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 18371

Reply By: Deano - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 12:07

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 12:07
Nah didn't take much work but it did grow in additions as I went along. :)

Now without the datsun am just making a little case and a flu for it so it can be demounted from the trolly when needed to be not so portable and just hung outside the van.
AnswerID: 26834

Reply By: bruce - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 10:11

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 10:11
9 Litres of hot water+cold to suit in a abalone bin...1 6v battery operated shower given to us as a present...stand in bin with pump for as long as you like or till water gets to cold...when finished use water to wash clothes in..cheers
AnswerID: 26915

Reply By: Member - Russell - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 10:58

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 10:58
What I do depends on the situation, but once I got a piece of soft copper and made a coil to hang over the fire. On the ends of the coil (out of the fire!) I put garden hose leading to a 60 litre drum. In the bottom of the drum (full of water of course) I had my little submersible pump connected to one end of the hose. Turn the pump on and circulate the water until it is the right temp, then take the coil off the fire and run the outlet to the shower rose. You get the drift... Was good on the beach when fresh water was easily available. Some of the other ideas sound good when water is less available. I've got a shower room which attaches to the end of the camper trailer - very nice, but haven't used it in anger yet!!Russell S
Prado RV6
AnswerID: 26922

Reply By: joeblogs - Friday, Aug 08, 2003 at 17:24

Friday, Aug 08, 2003 at 17:24
I have purchased a hill billy shower unit which comprises a shower rose with clear tubing connected to an adgustable tent pole.i use a 25lt black drum attach the hose to the bottom hole ,then the lid is attached with a tyre valve in it .then it is a simple matter of connecting a air compressor and you have a shower just like the one at home
AnswerID: 27177