Storms Brisbane

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 21:20
ThreadID: 63692 Views:3289 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
This may have been put up before, so sorry if it has.

Last Sunday a severe storm belted The Gap and some surrounding area and the destruction was on a scale I have not seen before and I have been through 4 cyclones, this was so short and sharp I feel it was a twister unreal with some 90 home uninhabitable / destroyed and some 5000 damaged. The one at the end of the street is destroyed (heart breaking) stuff with the street behind me having at least 5 homes with large trees hitting or embedded iin the house with a number having the same result in my street. A State of Emergency was declared, and the resourses that came were fantastic.

A number of people complained services were slow to get help but personally I felt it was a credit to all services and a thank you to you all. In saying that I was not missing a roof with water pouring in.

Personally we made it out rather well with only minor damage. I cannot say that for many others with not a street or property that has not been effected in some way.

I was at a place the other night that had tree branches embeded in the floor and these were some 75 mm in diameter, scary stuff.

I would like to thank Trevor for the lend of the generators and others that called to ensure we were ok.

If anyone knows of someone in the area that needs a helping hand let me know and I will do what I can.

Last night we had some 250 mm in an hour around 3 am that caused a rather wet moment to sort a few things out.

I feel sorry for the many people that have been hit hard and now the rain.

Reply By: wigger - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 21:33

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 21:33
Violent storm passed through Murwillumbah at 6.50pm tonight , heading north so you might have got another dose by now.
Torrential rain and hail.
Filled the Murwillumbah inner city bypass up with water big time
Life will be hell tomorrow on main steet.
AnswerID: 336281

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 22:09

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 22:09
We got the same Storm at Elanora on the Gold Coast just before
7-00PM, it came down through the Currumbin Valley at a rate of knots, we were lucky to miss the Hail, lots of Heavy Rain and Wind,
The current Weather in South East Queensland is like it use to be
in the late Sixties early Seventies, leading up to the 1974 Flood
the Gold Coast is over due for a Flood and I reckon we will cop one
early next year,a Cyclone and Tidal Surge and look out, we are lucky
we live on high ground.
FollowupID: 603971

Reply By: Member - Surf_Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 23:02

Thursday, Nov 20, 2008 at 23:02
We were only hit by the storm on sunday night. We live in the far northern suburbs of brisbane (burpengary, Morayfield). The damage in these areas was just beyond belief, yet none of this is has been shown on any of the tv stations. I was stuck in the car with my 6 yr old when the storm hit. I have never experienced anything quite like it. Thankfullyour house escaped with minor damage. Several big gums down which only just missed the house, however the neighbours were not so lucky. We had 140ml of rain in 30min last night, so hopefully we dont get any more. My heart really goes out to all those who have really been hit hard by these storms.
AnswerID: 336286

Reply By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 00:11

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 00:11
I shall offer up praise for our own Sir Kev who has been down here all week as a part of the SES crews helping with whatever assistance is required.
I'll be nice to you Kev..
Well done mate.. well done..
AnswerID: 336293

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 06:23

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 06:23
Don't worry about Sir Kev....i'm tasking him with the worst jobs i can find :-)

With the SES Volunteer response alone extending from Cooktown in the North to Wollongong in the south by the weekend, it will be a sustained effort to enable the community to return to some sort of normality in isolated areas.

Out of area assistance is being upscaled due to the widespread nature of this event now with Ipswich being affected by flooding and many areas west to Toowoomba also affected by high rainfall and hailstorms.

FollowupID: 603993

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 09:07

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 09:07
Jo,

Andrew may volunteer to deliver my Passenger seat for me when he drives home ;))

FollowupID: 604005

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy (Bororen) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 08:43

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 08:43
At Bororen yesterday arvo we had golf ball hail and gale force winds, only minor damage to our place though.
This morning it is quite hot and really muggy so i wouldn't be surprised if we all cop another hammering this arvo or tomorrow.

Blackwater got flattened last night with 120 homes damaged.

Best of wishes to those who are affected and volunteering.

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 336312

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 08:54

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 08:54
Not the first time, and not the last.

It amazes me how people can expect instant service from volunteers.
The SES does an amazing job.

We lost our house in late 1973 to a twister. We are 6 miles/8k on the south side of the centre of Brisbane at Moorooka. Same thing, two storms cam from the west and joined around about Oxley. Saw it happen last Sunday.

Looking at those pictures on the news of houses which are just a floor with a bit of furniture and a couple of walls reminded me of our place. It was like that.
Only a few hundred houses damaged that time.

We had 8" x 2" ironbark roof beams lifted with the whole roof and taken about 4 houses up the road. One beam about 5 metres long was punched through a besser block by about 2 metres. Didn't even crack the mortar around the besser block. Local engineer did a calc on a large sign that pushed over and reckon it was about 160 mph winds. Just a freak storm.

Then we had the storms of the mid 80s.

Took us 6 months to rebuild, since the the flood victims of Jan 74 got priority for building materials. Hopefully it will only take a few months for these people to rebuild.

But you will never forget.

Went into the Darwin cyclone Tracey display while I was there, with some friends. Could only last about 10 mins. Brought back too many memories. Had to leave shaking and in tears. My mother was almost killed in 73.

You learn about the mortality of life, the value of family and friends, and the uselessness of possessions. People were still dropping things in like photos 6 months later from up to 20km away. When they found a name and address.

Good to see Brisbane weather back to normal. Amazes me all these people that complain about the unusual weather we are having, most of them have come from down south in the last 10 to 15 years.

Another worry is the number of large gums that people are growing in surburban back yards. Look at pictures of Brisbane in the 50s and 60s and no where as many trees. For a reason, storms.

We used to have a few sheets of roofing wrapped in some trees a little way away that always creaked and banged in a storm. Only taken them 30 years to finally stop. Amazing sound, and a reminder of the storm.

Hopefully these people can move on, you have to, you have no other choice.
AnswerID: 336314

Reply By: troopyman - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 08:56

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 08:56
Golf ball size hail at my place last night .
AnswerID: 336315

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 09:07

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 09:07

Andrew keep those crappy one comming as I am here till Tuesday morning ;)

Brisbane got touched up again last night as well.

I got a call from Sam at home yesterday afternoon to say that Calliope got hail and horizontal rain but no major damage.

Blackwater has been hit with a severe storm and houses up there have been damaged. I could end up there yet LOL

Lomead, Yepoon, Emerald have also been hit with storms.

If people complain about the lack of assistance then think about US "the Volunteers" who are doing this without any form of pay. Some of my crew are here with out pay from the employers.

Shall try and keep in touch over the next few days as to my whereabouts.

Cheers Sir Kev

AnswerID: 336317

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 12:28

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 12:28
If in The Gap area Kev give me a call 0422158378 and may catch up for a chat.

FollowupID: 604016

Follow Up By: Angler - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 16:16

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 16:16
Been through a couple of cyclones myself and would not wish these fierce storms on anyone. The number of cars and homes damaged by large fallen gum trees is just unreal.
There is a lesson there for all who plant them. I love them as well but not in suburbia.

All the best from Townsville
FollowupID: 604025

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 07:48

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 07:48
Brian,

I spent most of my time at the Gap,
I returned back to Calliope Sunday as we have a few issues up here with Blackwater.

FollowupID: 604333

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 22:08

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 22:08
Hi Brian,

Good to see the power back up and running at your place.

Last night was worse than Sunday night here and I thought I may have to get one of the gennies back when my power went out but it was just a bit of water coming through the roof over our back verandah that tripped the safety switch. After it all settled, it was just a matter of flicking the switch and we were back up and running again. Wish it was that easy for so many folk over your way.

Just think of poor ol Ross and Leigh swanning it on a house boat over Sth Straddie way this weekend, that should cheer you up. Especially if it belts down all weekend LOL!!!

Good luck and keep in touch.
Trevor.
AnswerID: 336391

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 23:32

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 23:32
LOL maybe the boat is a rockin in more ways than one :). Being in that sort of storm in a boat would kinda be a emotional monent or two to say the least.

Been in a boat with a very serious electricial storm and it was a wall of lighting and as green a sky as I have every seen, and my mate and I hid under the kingfisher jetty, but the boat (13foot tinnie) was filling so fast we had to beach or sink and this security gaurd was none to impressed about our stay, very much LESS impressed at our response I might add lol

FollowupID: 604070

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 00:41

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 00:41
Hi guys
The trip was a total nightmare and would not suggest it to anyone,
The weather was real bad and sand flies and mozzies were a shocker (TIC )

here are some pics to prove it

See told you we had a bad time.......Apparently

Regards Ross
FollowupID: 604632