Camper trailer weights

Submitted: Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 11:52
ThreadID: 63698 Views:6133 Replies:13 FollowUps:12
G'day all,

A question for camper trailer owners, what would be a rough weight
of a camper trailer loaded up for an extended trip.

I understand there will be variables such as Soft/Hard top boat and motor, water tanks etc. But would I be wrong to say an average would be around 1 tonne ???

Any feedback on would be appreciated

Ingo

Reply By: wato35 - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 12:14

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 12:14
Hi Ingo

Many many variables here, 1 tonne would be minimum weight (for mine anyway). Trailer = 750 kg, full water tanks 100 kg, fuel cans 60kg, so thats 910 kg without putting anything in it.
Whats the reason you want to know?

Wato
AnswerID: 336331

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 13:54

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 13:54
G'day Wato

Currently in our GU I've always tried to keep added weight down under 600kg when touring which has been achievable.

However now we are in the very early stages of planning for the big lap with wife and kids in 5 years time.

Whilst we love our Southern X tent and I have never been a big fan of CT's, we are now starting to entertain the Idea of owning one for the year round trip.
I know how much my thirsty 4.8 drinks when towing a trailer with a few bikes, fuel and a load of camp gear, so just getting an Idea on the different weights to estimate quite a large fuel bill.

FollowupID: 604023

Reply By: Notso - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 12:50

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 12:50
My O'Briens off road weighed 1.2 tonnes fully loaded.

I know of one other whose trailer weighed in at 1.4 tonnes but it was larger and designed for a family.
AnswerID: 336334

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 13:39

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 13:39
ingo57

1.4 tonne.
See profile.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 336337

Reply By: Member - Redfive - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 14:13

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 14:13
Hi Ingo

I have a home built trailer its weight is about 1200kg fully loaded but it has a full slide out kitchen a mircowave,generator,80lt water tank it has a alum/checker plate roof it does what we need a trailer to do so if it is a little heavy so be it most campers you buy are about 1000kg to 1400kg if there built for the "outback"

Glenn
AnswerID: 336339

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 15:35

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 15:35
We have a generic box trailer based soft top 'off road' camper trailer.

Plate on the draw bar says 528kg empty.
Max load to be 750kg.

Add a few items such as 60 litres of water and some camping gear, such as what we used to carry on the roof rack, reckon we would be on that 750kg. Add a couple of jerries of fuel, might be 800kg.

Yes, I have installed brakes.
AnswerID: 336344

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 15:49

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 15:49
Hi John

Thats a fair bit lighter than the majority, what type of camper do you have?
FollowupID: 604024

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 16:17

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 16:17
Customline.

Customline link

Similar to many such as safari, cavalier etc, based on a 7'x4' box trailer design and heavy duty members. Soft top.

Not the heaviest (robust?) 4wd trailer, but not the lightest. :o)

Simple tail gate kitchen.

We usually travel with one or two empty boxes to fill up the inside to stop things moving around.

Car has the fridge in the back, and extra water if required.

FollowupID: 604026

Reply By: Sea-Dog - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 16:10

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 16:10
Mine is 450kg empty (alloy body soft floor) and when fully loaded I would put it at near a tonne or under.
AnswerID: 336345

Reply By: 4x4shrek - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 17:40

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 17:40
mine is 1300kg loaded when we go away on a long trip. it is rated to 1400kg on the plate.
AnswerID: 336352

Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 18:04

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 18:04
We have an Obriens Offroad Deluxe Family camper with extra kids room. tips the scales just over 1.2 t. loaded. Towed with an 80 series. Done 53,000 kms so far round oz. Average 16-20 lt per 100 km on turbo diesel. If you buy one make sure the wheel track is the same as the car as this reduces towing effort in sand mud ect and less risk of punture offroad. Also make sure the tyres and rims are the same as the car. The ball weight should be no more than 10% of trailer. I can lift the front of my trailer if needed.

Josh
AnswerID: 336357

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 19:34

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 19:34
My 80 series loaded with boat on top towing the campomatic hard floor c/t , our all up weight on our 6 mth trip , fuels , water ect ect was just on 5 ton without us being in the vehicle ,, came to 25kg under the combined gross vehicle mass allowed for insurance ect when we 3 sat in the vehicle.
AnswerID: 336368

Reply By: Member - 1/2A - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 20:56

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 20:56
The Vision weighs 600kgs empty, plus 240 lts of water and all my gear it comes in at about 1100kgs, which is less than a Kimberly empty.
AnswerID: 336380

Reply By: Member - Matthew C - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 21:21

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 21:21
Trak Shak,loaded with water and fuel 1650Kgs. Put the boat and motor on and extra stuff 1870Kg.

GVM 1900Kg's

Matt
AnswerID: 336385

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 07:54

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 07:54
Matt
You got me thinking about our all up weight.
Put the Track shak on the weighbridge at work, 1 month back, and it weighed 1,000 kgs...
6 jerry's full of water,, can add 4 jerry's of fuel, @ 25kg's each, and about 150 kg's food.
Add 120 kg's ball weight, and that would be it.

Total = 1370 and + 100 kg's for extras, gives me a bit lighter all up load.

When we pick up wood, and tie it on the boat rack, we may match up with your all up weight.

Still, they are a great trailer, and we really load her up.

FollowupID: 604196

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 07:56

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 07:56
I forgot to add that the empty weight is 750 kg's.

FollowupID: 604197

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 21:35

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 21:35
Tell me why yours weighs so much less than mine,I have the boat rack on top but that doesnt weigh much.

Is it a new model or older one, what is the GVM.

MAtt
FollowupID: 604300

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 04:49

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 04:49
Matt
Not sure, but we just cart lots of dry food, canned fruit, UHT milk, Canned food, ... you know all the food basics, and nothing real flash.

This is done for the reason if making those Hamburgers, that you get in the middle of bum,F*$$@ taste real good.

Just put the Trak Shak over the weigh bridge at work.

Cheers Mate

FollowupID: 604328

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:18

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:18
Yeah done that,1330Kgs with half the water and fuel that i normally carry and food.

Matt
FollowupID: 604357

Follow Up By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:41

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:41
Good to see there are guys out there who appreciate good camper trailers the Trakies are the only ones to have, 1650 kg no wonder the old rodeo struggled a bit, hope the new Prado will do it in her stride.
FollowupID: 604452

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:55

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:55
Yep

We love em,the ol rodeo would have been doing it hard,what year camper have you got and have you had it wieghed.

MAtt
FollowupID: 604454

Follow Up By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 23:56

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 23:56
Hi Matt

We have a 2007 traky also had a 1998 but sold it to get new one i wanted elecric brakes and the better suspension and fridges got it for a good price and go good money for the old one, there worth getting for the resale value. I have not weighed it yet, but must get around to it, we have just purchased new Prado 3 ltr diesel should have ample power to pul it.
FollowupID: 604461

Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 21:42

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 21:42
Mine is 640 empty, no drawers or tank. with drawers and supplies about 900.
AnswerID: 336388

Reply By: motor_head - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 23:24

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 23:24
gidday ingo. you've had a good variety of answers so i'll just add this.....your planning to live in this camper for a whole year, for that length of time i would not recomment a tent unless its your wifes decision hehe, you will be at times in some very remote places so you will need extra provisions and spare parts, i would guess on top of a dry weight camper you would be looking at about half a tonne at least extra weight including water and fuel.
AnswerID: 336401

Follow Up By: motor_head - Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 23:37

Friday, Nov 21, 2008 at 23:37
That would include what you carry in the vehicle as well and should be bare minimum.
FollowupID: 604071