Flirting with Death
Submitted: Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 08:50
Member - Doug T (NT)
Here's a lesson on what NOT to do when fishing in the Top End, I seen these fools at the
South Alligator River boat ramp the other day, just after the photo was taken the bloke facing the
water turned his back to the
water and was joking along with his mates, what he was looking for was Mud Skippers, not Crocs, at one stage they were all squatting down trying to catch a Skipper.
And here's why you don't have to worry about Sharks, The Crocs have cleaned em out. Crocodile making a meal of a shark down at the
Daly River.
Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:11
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:11
Morning Doug.
Is the dog back in his kennel?? LOL
These guys in the photo were the same ones that I told you about, they were walking across the East Alligator causeway shin deep, there were six 3+ metre crocs hanging around, I yelled out to them telling them they were playing a dangerous game, they just laughed and had another beer.
We were tethered to a tree on the down stream side waiting for the tide to come over Xing, as when the tide come over the xing the bait fish come in and so do the Barra, this is great fishing for both angler and the crocs.
When those
young fellas saw more crocs move in they sat high on the bank, and when the feeding frenzy started they packed up and left, we thought they had learned their lesson, obviously not.
See you soon Steve.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:44
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:44
Yep.... the Dogs back in the Kennel, he's having Internet/ADSL problems so won't be on until next week sometime , then we'll cop it .
check
places for the
lookout and the
Billabong
Doug
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 11:23
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 11:23
I reckon I met their fathers who were fishing on that causeway in knee high
water years ago. I was yelling out about a croc floating towards them, and they were waving G'day back.
They did a quick exit stage left when their mates worked out what all the fuss was about.
Oh to be
young, indestructible and to know it all. Must be wonderful !
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:15
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:15
While we were living in
kununurra, you got used to casting out and then standing back from the waters egde a couple of metres.When we came back to tassie, my mates used to laugh at me when fishing here....for casting out and then standing back a mile from the
water.I even yelled at the kids a couple of times for playing at the waters edge.Hopefully soon I can reverse all this again.
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:27
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:27
I was talking to an Aboriginal lady fishing in NQ one night and she told me a story about some wally's
water skiing on the
Daintree Rv. She said "them there white fella's were trolling for crocs", I cracked up with laughter.
Cheers, Trevor.
Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:38
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 09:38
Doug
I s'pose its a bit like DUI. Some people never learn.
I know that
boat ramp well and launched from there on a weekly basis way back in the late 70's. There were fewer crocs about then but even so you had to keep a wary eye out for the sneaky ones.
One day I was down at Cahills a short time after that fella got taken by a saltie and this mob were standing knee deep in the
water, fishing. I ventured an opinion that they were flirting with it and they said that they knew what they were doing as they were locals....lol
Reply By: blue one - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 10:10
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 10:10
Great photo of the croc with the shark Doug. I was up on the Coburg Peninsula taking a early morning walk.
Dingo tracks about 3 to 4 metres from the waters edge. Croc slide and no more
dingo tracks!!
Moved further up
the beach. LOL
Reply By: Cruiser 2091 - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 11:14
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 11:14
I think the bigger risk would be driving to the
boat ramp.
We drive towards each other at 100 Klms per hour where a simple error or lack of concentration means certain death yet we all do it every day.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 11:26
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 11:26
Totally agree. I have always said that the concept of humans doing that will be considered barbaric in a couple of centuries.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 12:23
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 12:23
Cruiser 2091
I been driving for just on 50 years , for 1000s of days I've sat in a vehicle... all day and never looked like dying, I wonder how I'd go standing there every day, all day for 1 week , I don't think I'd make it half way,
Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 16:30
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 16:30
Thanks fellas a great place to take the whining,nagging wife fishin !
Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 19:35
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 19:35
They look fine to me. Ive done the same thing for 20 years in the gulf and on the cape, fishing on the banks, boatramps, causeways and beaches. Throwing castnets etc. Thousands do each year and I will do it in the future. You are always aware of the risk but in reallity how many people actually get taken? I fished on banks where dogs - wildlife have been taken but no people.
Morgans landing is a good example. There is a risk, but the risk must be low or it would happen every day with the amount of people I have seen fishing in
places even silly than where these blokes are.
As someone said above - yes most are locals and many have fished in the same spot for years. Would anybody go fishing if you worried about the risk all the time. If a crocidile wants you even sitting back off the bank a ways is still suicide - have you seen one of those things take a wallaby - I have and it was a good 10 meters away from the
water. I have also had them run past me pig shooting on the
Flinders River up at
Normanton, somtimes they are a fair way away from the waters edge in the thick tea tree and if you walk along a bank they come a flying past you. Quite frightning but they never went for us? same as fishing off that causeway in the wet as many locals do. You know they are just up there somewhere - but no one taken?
Anyway I agree it is most likely more dangerous driving a car each day statistics wise. So go enjoy a fish as those blokes were. Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 19:43
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 19:43
PS. Sad to say I was fishing at
Morgans landing and in the Endeavor river in
Cooktown the same weekend/day the poor fellow got taken by the croc. The risk is there - but I assume it will come out eventually if that croc is one that may have been handled by humans. Tony
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 21:31
Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 21:31
Tony
We shall mark this post and hope that you don't cry 'foul' when the inevitable happens.
Sure, there are risks everywhere, but the incidence of risk is becoming greater in northern waters as the Crocodile
population increases. Whereas 30 years ago you could do lots of risk activities in northern waters, now it is becoming unthinkable to do the mudane.
Still each to their own. Some of us would rather prolong life than blatantly push the envelope in certain areas of risk.(And I qualify this as 'certain areas of risk' as I pursue risk activities out in the remote deserts).
Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 14:16
Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 14:16
Willem "when the inevitable happens". You missed the point, it may never happen, People have fished all their lives in these situations and died a natural death, its more likely someone may hit me in a car. True I run more risk than those that do not fish like this in these areas, but I do not swim in the surf so I will not be taken by a shark, do you stop swimming because of that risk?Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 15:50
Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 15:50
Tony
I can see from this and other posts that you are argumentative so I shall leave you in peace. Go do what ever you wish
Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 16:02
Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 16:02
Nice one Willem. Just giving another point of view, so in that case we are all guilty as charged. Its not an argument it was fact I was posting. But yes as we all do sometimes you hope others will see that point of view. See you fishing up North someday and we will have a chat. Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 17:32
Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 17:32
Another fact is that the rangers in this district are on the ball as they very
well know their four legged suspects and remove so-called "problem crocs" from the above shown area on a regular basis...probably more effective than arguing the point with fishermen who reckon they're bulletproof.
@ Doug
Not a 100% certain, but I'm pretty sure I had the "pleasure" of coming across these guys last night.
After consuming a respectable amount of booze they were still at each others' throats at 4:00 AM in the morning in Garnamarr
campground...nice language...
Let's hope they'll run out of alcohol soon so they will neither get taken by a Top End croc nor become a statistic in the NT road toll...
Anja
Reply By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 14:50
Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 14:50
The looks on their faces....
Back in the 80s when I was living on my yacht in Fannie Bay (
Darwin) coming a shore in my tender some times you would come across a tourist on
the beach and a lot of them would ask if there were
sharks out there and was it safe to swim, you would say no
sharks and as they were entering the
water you would then say "the crocs ate them all out" Never seen anyone leave the
water so quick in my life hahahahah.
Cheers Bruce
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 09:29
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 09:29
Where was that shark and croc?
I was pulling in a decent catty right at
the junction of the flora/
Katherine and Daley river when a shark bit it in 1/2 so they certainly get a fair way up
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 16:18
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 16:18
G'day Davoe,
You’ll get
sharks in near fresh and brackish
water – they are very adaptable hunters. Seems so are Saltwater crocs.