NSW South Coast Holiday

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 19:10
ThreadID: 63723 Views:2908 Replies:10 FollowUps:9

I'm just interested in suggestions about where to go and what to do in the area in December.

We intended to mainly be in area between Canberra, Wollongong and Vic border. Looking forward to some fishing, sightseeing, a few walks and relaxing. SWMBO, me and 7/13 y.o. girls. Not really a 4wd trip but a bit of that won’t go astray either.

Thanks in anticipation

Cheers JD

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 19:47

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 19:47
JD

We were around those areas late December and New Year 08.

Bumper to bumper traffic. But if you go inland south of Wollongong you will find some great country and virtually no travellers.

AnswerID: 336476

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 06:33

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 06:33
thanks Willem, I'll head the inland way! In fact we'll be there from early Dec (kids sport) so taking the opportunity to have a look around after that, before the hoards arrive hopefully, and then head home for Xmas. cheers
FollowupID: 604192

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 07:17

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 07:17
think that was meant to be 'hordes' LOL
FollowupID: 604332

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 19:52

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 19:52
I've spent a lot of time in Canberra, Batemans Bay, Cooma and then Yass so know the area reasonably well.

Not sure whether you're looking to do some camping or just the tourist-type stuff. If the latter, then I reckon you're just as well advised to go the various Tourist Info Centres and they'll set you right.

However, if you're looking to do some sight-seeing involving some back roads, then that's a different story.

The Deua NP is worth a look; some good tracks in there.

Closer to Canberra, you could do a nice day trip up into the Brindabellas including Mt Coree.

AnswerID: 336477

Reply By: jdbb - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:09

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:09
Gday JD

I live in Batemans Bay. There are some nice spots around here, and as per previous comments there are some good tracks in the Deua NP and Morton NP. Will give you some more info on this area if you need it.

AnswerID: 336480

Reply By: wendys - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 13:12

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 13:12
Closer to Vic border, the Tathra area is interesting. Tathra itself has a couple of caravan parks, one right on a nice beach. But just north of Tathra is Mimosa Rocks Nat Park, with a couple of pleasant camp areas. Just south is Wallagoot Lake NP, with huge camp area, by lake and sea.
AnswerID: 336556

Reply By: Curry Lamb - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 14:54

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 14:54
Jdwynn,

Just returned yesterday from doing the same sort of trip in that area. Some great spots for the family at Batemans bay, Merimbula, Narooma, Tathra ect. Great caravan park at Batemans bay called the Batemans bay beach resort which is right on the beach and only a few minutes from the town centre. It has some of the best facilities I have seen in a park. Also the snowey mountains Hwy between Cooma and Tumut is worth a drive with some great scenery and overnight camping spots. Tumut caravan park has some of the best scenic sites you will find looking over the Tumut river.

Enjoy your trip
AnswerID: 336562

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 15:14

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 15:14
Hi jdwynn,

Not too far South of Wollongong is Jervis Bay.
A lot of people visit the bay villages and miss out on some top spots.

Give consideration to visiting the northern headland of the bay. Point Perpendicular is quite spectacular, if you google before hand you can get yourselves a tour of the lighthouse, take a drive around the bay and have a look at Huskisson, Greenpatch and Wreck Bay.
AnswerID: 336567

Reply By: Member - Vince M (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 18:54

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 18:54
JD I live in the Jervis bay area but what you have asked is a big area if you could give a bit more detail I may be able to help with a lot more detail as I have Lived, camped, travelled,worked & fished this area a lot.
If you are in the Jervis bay area give us a call (contact thru member message) & we might be able to have a fishing/sightseeing trip on the bay as we our out there most weekends & some week night unless we are a way. my kids 11 & 14 are use to many friends & visitors aboard.
PS Jervis bay area is hard to beat, A great & scenic bay,fishing, great beaches, great walks, mountain bike tracks,Dolphins (seals & whales at the moment but not for much longer seasonal) & it is not over populated even in tourist time & plenty of accommodation
hope this helps
regards Vince
AnswerID: 336601

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 07:07

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 07:07
Thanks for this Vince. I find it hard to give more detail, as I've never been near the area - will take it as it comes, and make everyone's suggestions as our basic itinerary. I'll MM you when we're close - hope to catch up. cheers JD
FollowupID: 604331

Reply By: Kiwi & Grenade - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 20:29

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 20:29
Oi JD...pop in here while your up this way....

Vince is right...JB is pretty good for a visit and it will be very crowded but will be worth it...(just not for us locals who can visit any day of the week!)...

other than JB (Jervis Bay)....go for a camp at Lake Blowering...or tumut....heaps good fishing!!

(there is Tathra (just stay clear of the jetty!) and bendethra....)

further day the coast from JB are places like merry beach and race course beach (but they are caravan parks and can be very packed out)......ah theres heaps to do....Merimbula caravan park is a total rip off (I think we paid $75 a night for unpowered sites 7 yrs ago off peak!)

but then you could always go 25km west down the road from me here at west nowra....yalwal....camp on the dam - go fishing...there is 4wding.....

also another great place is Oallen.....between Braidwood and Nerriga.....fantastic bush camping and its only an hour and your in nowra.....Nathan reckons 100 something km from canberra....or stuarts crossing (which is better)...all bush camping....!

I could keep going!!LOL!!

let me know if you get time to catch up while your up this way....

nandlbarnes@iinet.net.au

Laura
AnswerID: 336615

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 06:54

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 06:54
"$75 a night for unpowered sites 7 yrs ago off peak" - ouch!

thanks for this Laura, wil send email. cheers JD
FollowupID: 604330

Follow Up By: Kiwi & Grenade - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:29

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:29
ok, so Im still getting emails through the old one still.....the new email addy that I wrote before I cannt quite set up yet (although it will be ahppening soon....)

nlkabarnes4@bigpond.com
FollowupID: 604359

Follow Up By: jdbb - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:52

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:52
Hello Laura

Can you give me any info on the Oallen site. Google maps has just shown me where it is, I'm just wondering if it is suitable for a large van (21'6" inside) set up for free camping.

I was thinking about taking it up the Clyde this weekend and staying at the Kings Hwy/Shoalhaven River site but maybe Oallen is better.

I can't find Stuarts Crossing - can you tell me where it is.

FollowupID: 604363

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 18:54

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 18:54
D'ya get my emails yet Laura, sent to both addresses now.
FollowupID: 604411

Follow Up By: Kiwi & Grenade - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 07:09

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 07:09
I hve, Ive replied but dont think it sent...will have to sort out these email addresses I think. But yep got the email......

Laura
FollowupID: 604465

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 07:16

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 07:16
I just wanted to thank everyone for their suggestions and info. I've been gathering info from the net on all of the places that have been suggested. There were even a couple of EO treks covering suggested places to go as well. I am looking forward more to the trip now than before - all sounds great. Cheers JD
AnswerID: 336653

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 13:26

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 13:26
jd,

if you are taking your camper and want a night or two in a caravan park, we found the Council owned park in Eden to be very nice. We were there 18 months ago. It's right on the beach. The local RSL club will pick you up in a courtesy bus for a night out and bring you back. The whaling museum is very interesting, especially if you've seen that ABC doco about Old Tom, the killer whale.

AnswerID: 336826

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 22:25

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 22:25
thanks GB, sounds great, it's on the list. Cheers JD
FollowupID: 604626