Fridges

Am after a second fridge. Have an engle fridge and freezer. Now want to put in a small (under 30 litre) fridge or freezer only as a second unit. Will run it to either keep meat etc frozen or drinks cold. The engle can't quickly freeze fish etc nor can it cope with very hot days. Freezer will still freeze but only just. Nothing wrong with it just the fact that on very hot days thermodynamicaly it can't keep up. Now I'm not sure if any will so will be directed by those that have another unit that can do what I want.

Can't remember the Aluminum units that look very robust, very think insulation. Can you give me the name??

Any ideas on other brands that are reliable, work as good freezers and don't cost the earth?

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 17:40

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 17:40
If you are thinking of getting a "small" second fridge you can kiss good bye to the idea of getting one of the one "trail blazer etc" that have the think insulation, they are huge.
Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 336585

Follow Up By: Markymark - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 19:11

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 19:11
I was looking at a 25L Trailblazer at the Melb. 4x4 show and at a guess it looks about the same externally as a 40L Engel!

Mark.
FollowupID: 604273

Reply By: Member - 1/2A - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 17:59

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 17:59
I have two Bushman Fridges run one as a freezer (-15 deg c) and the other as fridge (0 deg C) both work fine. I have an Engle in my other camper and it really struggles on hot days. I found the Bushman runs about half as much as the Engle and can hold the temp at -15 were the Engel runs at +5 deg C on very hot days.
AnswerID: 336588

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 19:37

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 19:37
We also have a Bushman fridge - don't know the technicalities, but works like a dream for us in all temperatures - tropics to freezing - versatile with the double lid , and also now a new collar available to even extend it further. Can actually set temp you want it to be. (all I know my dolcetto is cold!!!)
jules
FollowupID: 604418

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 19:45

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 19:45
Aus,

Any small capacity fridge is still externally quite large. The compresor and workings take up the same space on an 18L fridge as a 40L.

It's not like a 26L Esky is half the size of a 45L one.

Anyway, FWIW I reckon the Fridgemate fridges are great value for money. Robust and superb insulation. Smallest is 50L I think. Won't break the bank.

AnswerID: 336609

Reply By: Ron173 - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 09:06

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 09:06
interesting to hear of struggling engels...... are you giving it enough air?

Mine never struggles on hot days, granted it chews a bit more juice but it does its job. (40ltr with thermal cover)

I had a requirement for some more space, so I gave waeco the opportunity to show me they work and bought the CF18.

Wifey wondered if they would fight..lol

The small waeco was exy for its size but being a fair dinkum compressor fridge, works great.

A typical trip sees me with Engel as freezer, run waeco during day as drinks fridge, switch off at night, when it remains a good esky.

Half way thru once freezer gets empty enough, I swap their roles over, that way i'm not running a 40ltr freezer half empty.

Ron
AnswerID: 336662

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 09:29

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 09:29
Hi Ron,

I find at night it will pull down to approx -18 to -20 deg C. However by mid afternoon it's struggling to maintain -5 deg C. That's with ambient temps of approx high 30's with min breeze.

I'm told that max drop that can be achieved with most freezers is around delta 40 deg C. So on face value this appears to be what mine is doing.

Would be interested to know if in the same conditions yours is maintaining negative double digits.
FollowupID: 604342

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 09:58

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 09:58

yes mine does hold about -10deg on a stinkin hot day.

however heres my setup / method of use

My engel sits in back of dual cab with canopy, on a transit slide, with the thermal cover on it. When away from vehicle, fishing etc, I used to lock up back for security, locked up it gets hotter and fridge adds to that and it struggled then.

What I now do is open up tailgate / slide windows to allow air to circulate, it will still run a longer duty cycle in heat but if not opened up will hold -10.

Obviously any assistance is good like park in shade if poss, but main improvement I found was to allow the air in.

The basis of refridgeration is removal of heat, the more you can assist this, ie allowing greater ventilation, the better your fridge will run. I'm sure the fridge techies will agree this principal for any make of fridge.

hope this helps

Ron
FollowupID: 604350

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 16:51

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 16:51
We have a 40ltr engel and it has a hard time on very hot days too. Our travel is all in the north.
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 604391

Reply By: chisel - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 17:03

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 17:03
I don't own one but Waeco have some smaller fridges that could be used as a dedicated freezer. I've considered getting one myself.
Engel also have smaller ones but they are very expensive, relative to the Waeco.
I've not seen small ones in the other brands.
AnswerID: 336726