generator security
Submitted: Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 01:19
steved58
I have a good quality push bike lock it is made of cable and the lock is integrated into the wire it is then insulated with plastic I was wondering if anyone has used these type of locks to protect their generators Will bolt cutters cut them? Can the lock be smashed with a hammer? They seem like a good quality product but without breaking them it is hard to tell it was bought from a cycle
shop for about $25 any comments would be welcome
Reply By: Krakka - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 05:33
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 05:33
Hi Steve, IMHO if someone really wants it they will take it, if not they may damage it anyway. But it will stop the opportunist thief.
Krakka
Reply By: a convict - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 07:30
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 07:30
..sorry no links, but
Ford in US have a 'new truck' option, aimed at 'tradies, which consists of very strong cable, the treads through tools, etc., plus RFID tags that adhere to items one wants to secure. If the item is removed from the truck it triggers the car alarm.
There is and added benefit with the system, one can perform and audit of what equipment 'should be on board', electronically, once you have set up the computer system mounted in truck dash.
Plus I 'think' there is a similar copy-cat aftermarket system around, again in US.
Reply By: traveller2 - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 08:28
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 08:28
If the cable only cost $25 I'd be getting better quality one as they can be
well over $100 for a very good one.
There are plenty of pushbikes around that cost several times what your gennie cost ie: $4-5K for a good bike, up to $10k for a very good one.
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 08:46
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 08:46
4-5k for a push bike!! and up to 10K!! whats the world comin to?
My 1250 Suzuki bandit was only 12k!!!!
Reply By: Ron173 - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 08:49
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 08:49
Mate if it gets as serious as bolt cutters, they are prepared, and will be equipped to steal regardless, and your prob
camping in the wrong spot.
Any sort of cable stops the grab n run brigade, prob helps your insurance too.
On that note, tell your ins co, make sure its covered, I have up to 4k for unspecified items away from house for very little extra premium.
Wonder how many people havent thought about the insurance side of it?
Follow Up By: unko - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 10:07
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 10:07
Have u looked up U locks good ones cost. The theifs need a jack to crack it lol
U Lock
Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 09:59
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 09:59
Even a security cable will not stop them , if they really want your generator all they do is cut/break away a section of the plastic handle(on top of a Honda genny) and it is then a simple matter to remove security chain/wire. If your going to use a chain or wire make sure it passes through a metal section of genny.
Gary
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 10:42
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 10:42
I dont chain
mine at all, gives my german shepherd a bit more sport!
Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 13:07
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 13:07
I just bought a second hand bike with a lock wrapped around the frame.... no key, so this afternoon, I'm going to remove it... I'll soon be able to tell you how easy it is!!
Reply By: Wizard1 - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 15:43
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 15:43
Perhaps someone can explain why we use the term "push bike" when it is moved by pedalling and not pushing.
Push type bicyles were used in the 17th century.
Reply By: Ozboc - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 16:22
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 16:22
if in doubt -- and you dont mind wasting $20 to save up to $1000 then try to break it yourself ....
try bolt cutters on it, and not the little ones -- Big ones like a criminal may have in the back of his car / ute -- then belt the crap out of the locks with a hammer ...
If you can break it without to much fuss - then you have your answer -- if it takes 15 min of grunt and skin ripping ... then you should be ok ....
Boc
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:57
Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:57
sounds fun but let me know how you go with this as dont think I'll be trying it....lol
Follow Up By: Ozboc - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:04
Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:04
I have not checked , but can you get cordless angle grinders? would imagine one with a 2mm cutting disk would make easy work of most chain and wire ....
Boc
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:11
Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:11
Why worry about cordless AG's....you have a genset sitting there to use. lol
Dewalt etc make cordless kits, so they are available, though i'd reckon stealth would be the first thought for them.
Reply By: steved58 - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:43
Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:43
Hi Guys
Thanks for the replies I had a good look at the lock it is a tioga cable lock the description on the web say's it is their highest security cable lock. I thought I would use it as I already have this lock I thought someone would already have experience with them. When I looked at the cables sold with gen sets they needed a lock and it would need to be a bolt cutter proof one The bicycle ones having the lock incorporated into the cable might be ok