SupaTrupa...... DEAD!

Submitted: Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 10:59
ThreadID: 63757 Views:4090 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
It had to happen.... I have to face up to it...... After travelling around Oz several times on specific around Oz trips and probably another dozen times in bits and pieces my special home away from home has had a very bad heart attack.

It is on engine No. 3.... but like the broom you have had for 20 years [3 head and 4 handles replaced].......it's been with me for nearly a decade of touring.

It's carried kayaks in to the Thomson River and 4wdriven into Wannangatta, across the Tanimi......

Sad......

Now I'll probably move onto something boring like a high roof LWB with a slide in camper module.... boring...!!

and... my daughter reckons It will look like a pedophile van!

Cheers Royce

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:21

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:21
Sorry to read that the old girl has finally carked it mate...... How many klicks had she done?

Maybe a nice 3 litre Nissan for your next rig (TIC).......

AnswerID: 336674

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:28

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:28
Must be around the 500, 000 ks... with three motors of course.
FollowupID: 604358

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:34

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:34
Royce whats actually happened to it for it to die in such a terminally described way?? :-))

AnswerID: 336675

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:48

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:48
I'm not sure of the actual diagnosis of causes... but basically it siezed.... no oil?...... as I pushed her laden up Power's Hill [if you lived near here you would know this hill.... it eats vehicles] bang.... loss of power.... made it home, then on a tilt tray an in to the mechanic.

Okay.... I'm looking at stuff like this: New FFFFFFun Van?
Anyone want to lend me a few tho?
FollowupID: 604362

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 12:19

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 12:19
No good mate.
I was thinking the same as the suggestion in the post below but I also understand the money issues involved.

Not an always easy choice to make but the Transit may be a better vehicle for your use.

FollowupID: 604365

Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:58

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 11:58
That is just so sad :-(
You can't just let a troopy die like that.
And what's worse, cast aside for a F...
sorry I'll try again....cast aside for a F...
once more....cast aside for a F...
Nup, my fingers refuse to even type it.

Stick another donk in it, and forget all about the silly F... idea.

Glenn
AnswerID: 336679

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 12:14

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 12:14
Quote for second hand motor fitted with bits and pieces is $7000 and she is due for suspension upgrade... allow $2000....

I am feeling a bit shakey about it all!
FollowupID: 604364

Follow Up By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 12:23

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 12:23
9 grand sounds a lot better than 23 grand for a F...
Just do it....you know ya want to:-)

Glenn
FollowupID: 604366

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 12:43

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 12:43
A used engine for 7K is a bit rich. They sell fully rebuilt engines with a 2year warranty for under $5K.

I was also curious as to why its need 3 engines in 500000?

Im assuming its a 1HZ and they are good for 350000 usually
FollowupID: 604367

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 12:52

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 12:52
Quote is Second hand motor $4000, then fitting and parts cost on top.
FollowupID: 604369

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 12:55

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 12:55
Ross
Try 729,000 like mine ....touchin' wood.

FollowupID: 604370

Follow Up By: donks1 - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 17:48

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 17:48
G'day Royce

$7000.00 might sound like a lot now, but the same 7 grand for a new injector pump on the Transit WHEN it fails will sound like a lot more, and no way around it.
Just my opinion.

Donks1
FollowupID: 604403

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 20:08

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 20:08
"I was also curious as to why its need 3 engines in 500000?
Im assuming its a 1HZ and they are good for 350000 usually"

Ross,
It may have cracked a piston (aftermarket turbo).
FollowupID: 604422

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:29

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:29
And now you mention it..... it has only had two! In my hightened emotional state I became confused.

I had the 2H replaced by a 1Hz which then did a head and in my befuddled thoughts equalled a new engine.....

Strange what grief can do!
FollowupID: 604440

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 14:35

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 14:35
Royce when my old man was still alive he used to make F.... geez I cant get my finger to type it either, any how he had a saying that I took no notice of and it cost me DEARLY, he used to say "god made lemons and F... put wheels on them" lol, I know theres many who swear by them but sadly all I've done is swear at them had them all and the only one that was OK was the little escort but it took me a long time to the message, now wheres that crash helmet lol.........................
AnswerID: 336699

Follow Up By: troopyman - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 15:07

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 15:07
I will never buy another ford as long as i am alive . They keep building crap with no quality control and expect people to keep buying them . Not me .
FollowupID: 604379

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 17:39

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 17:39
So far....
had a Ford Fairmont Station Wagon in the early '80s.... went all right... bit of a sludgemobile....

Right now a big old F350 4wd which keeps on going...

So I'm not allergic to them.

I just went into town to get some things out of the old Supatrupa... It is really pretty worn out. There is a bit more rust than I realized around the windscreen and she looks tired.

The time has come.

FollowupID: 604401

Reply By: jcd - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:27

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:27
Hi Mate,
Sorry to hear the 1HZ has carked it.
However, and the reason for me getting of my arse and posting is;
I've noticed some interesting numbers thrown around as to the cost of various items.
Reality: price of new (Toyota - out the box) fuel pump - $1,995.
New motor (1HZ) - again (Toyota out of the box - long motor) - $6,000 to $7,000 (depending on how well your dealer loves you!).

I'm always amazed when I hear "$7,000 for a pump" and wonder where these numbers come from.

Oh, and if you doubt my numbers - go and and talk to to your toyota dealer and show/tell him my figures.

Hope this helps...
AnswerID: 336758

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 23:02

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 23:02
Yup... but I think it was supposed to be the Transit van fuel pump that was costing the same as an old Transit van..... :-]]
FollowupID: 604457

Follow Up By: donks1 - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 07:17

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 07:17
yes it was Royce

Donks1
FollowupID: 604466

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 15:09

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 15:09
Might be worth a look on ebay Royce. There are hdt crete motors for 7k and old 1hz's removed for bigger and better things for 1500 up...if you could get a goer, and get things swapped over, id say you would be on the road once more for 3k, with some spares to sell in the shed.
AnswerID: 336845