Diesel vehicles? Totally unviable at the moment.

Submitted: Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 20:51
ThreadID: 63772 Views:7656 Replies:36 FollowUps:57
Who would buy a diesel under current conditions?

In Melbourne Diesel $1.40 and ULP $1.10.

I'll use the Prado for comparison purposes. The petrol Prado uses about 30% more fuel than the Diesel, but ULP is about 30% cheaper. Hence fuel cost is identical.

BUT, and this is a biggie. The 4L V6 has about 180 kW and 380 Nm of torque, the 3.0 DiD has about 130 kW and 410Nm. Thus for the same fuel cost you can get far better performance from the Petrol engined vehicle.

This of course does not factor in that the Petrol engined vehicle is cheaper to buy and is cheaper to service.

I know, I know, the price of diesel is a rip, but that is the way it is my friends, bugger all we can do about it.

And the way fuel is dropping, ULP at 90, or perhaps 80 cents is not unforeseeable.

Perhaps those previously cheap 4.7 V8 Cruisers in the second hand yards won't be so cheap. Get in quick.

Just my thoughts.

Reply By: toyocrusa - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:07

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:07
Hi Jim. I have owned the V6 petrol for four years now. A very good all round vehicle. Carried up to eight people, towed a 2 tonne boat, done the around town shopping trolley job and toured interstate a few times and it has done the lot effortlessly. As you say, cost effective to service, comfortable and above all, the wife likes driving it. 1500 k fuel range is a plus as well. Thanks for the confirmation. Bob
AnswerID: 336752

Follow Up By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:16

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:16
Hi when it comes to horse power i think the 4 ltr petrol at 180 kw is only shetland ponies compared to the Diesel, it takes a mighty hill to pull back the 3 ltr diesel!!
FollowupID: 604445

Reply By: CJ - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:08

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:08
Jim,

Why I would buy a diesel any day before petrol:

1)because with the diesel I can visit remote places and be guaranteed of fuel
2) In an emergency a farmer will have diesel, not petrol
3) you can cross the central deserts with diesel (no petrol available, lower temp engine with less cause for spinifex to catch fire)
4) more torque for towing
5) longer range between fuel stops
6)less volatile when carrying extra fuel in jerry's or longranger tank
7) more environmentally friendly

I acknowledge it is horses for courses - the above is the course for this horse ;-)

AnswerID: 336753

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:21

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:21
And you will always sell a diesel vehicle quicker and regain the premium you paid in the first place!! I think if the differential between petrol and diesel fuel continues, new petrol sales will not get any better, large petrol 4x4 vehicles are on the nose!!! Michael
FollowupID: 604437

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 00:10

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 00:10
The only thing I agree with is that the Diesel will "maybe" hold it's value better.

No fuel in the bush....come on, you have to be kidding. I have NEVER had a problem.

My petrol powers past diesel cars towing...if I want to.

Yes, horses for courses...just adding my bit. No real criticism :-)
FollowupID: 604463

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 07:07

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 07:07
Dunco, Do you turn the radio up to drown out that 'ssssss' noise of all that petrol being sucked out of the fuel tank when you plant your foot to overtake those slow diseaseills :-))
FollowupID: 604464

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:43

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:43
No mate...all I hear is the grunt of the V8 :-)

FollowupID: 604496

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 12:19

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 12:19
You wouldn't pass my diesel with any petrol 4WD that I know..I have the LC200 TTD and the petrol equivalent won't go anywhere near it for sheer grunt. (Oh and I used to have a petrol LC100 V8)

Don't just look at the figures Dunco, look at the revs at which they are achieved. The TTD 200 develops more power all the way up to 3000rpm than the petrol from memory and torque...no debate. At no point in the rev range does the petrol have the same or more torque (in fact between 1200 & 3000rpm, not even half the torque) than the diesel and when you are towing, thats the big issue....plus all the points raised above by Jim
FollowupID: 604518

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 12:21

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 12:21
Sorry, I mean the points raised above by CJ
FollowupID: 604520

Reply By: Member - Axle - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:24

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:24
For run around vehicles Maybe??, Little Pug diesels still take some beating though!. Can't see truckies swapping their C12 cat diesels,to a petrol what ever to pull 40Ton loads.!!.

AnswerID: 336756

Reply By: Davo_60 - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:27

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:27
Jim,

good points, but diesel is still good in the bush - but not as a run about, or in a car. Really not economical any more. I'm happy to have the diesel cruiser sit in the shed, and call upon it a few times a year. Car is best for town anyway.

AnswerID: 336757

Reply By: chisel - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:30

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:30
You can't just look at the current price difference. Take an average over the last year - probably 10-20% difference. It could well drop back to a similar difference in the near future as diesel price changes tend to lag behind petrol price changes.
AnswerID: 336759

Reply By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:31

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:31
you did this once before Jim, and caused a bit of a cat fight too.

My petrol suits ME at the moment and I am enjoying the price of ULP as well. I don't long range tour so fuel will always be there when I want it.

The next bloke who replies will probably need to run a diesel 4wd for what he wants to do. So in that regard what the frig does price have to do with it??

We will buy the 4wd that does what WE want regardless of the running cost.

Each to their own and just enjoy what you got

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 336760

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:52

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:52
Just trying to generate open minded debate Stefan.

FollowupID: 604442

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 23:13

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 23:13
Recasting used bait. But hey, it got some replies.

If you're happy with unleaded, good for you.

If you're happy with diesel, good for you.

I'm happy.
FollowupID: 604458

Follow Up By: Col_and_Jan - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 23:46

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 23:46
I also wondered why you posted this again. I own a petrol, so I am not debating what you are saying, but isnt it just rehashing your recent discussion.

One could also assume that it could be a way to keep your name (and advertising) fresh in peoples mind. But then again, you wouldnt be that obvious would you?

Col
FollowupID: 604460

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:28

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:28
Col + Jan , fraid it is that obvious , never ever a "new "post or query .
FollowupID: 604475

Follow Up By: Steve - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 14:09

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 14:09
another troll - gets his ad on the site doesn't it?
FollowupID: 604531

Follow Up By: Col_and_Jan - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 16:48

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 16:48
Its not a bad idea is it. Just pick a subject like petrol/diesel; toyota nissan; BFG/Coopers, solar/generator etc, and you are assured that your name will be in lights for quite a while.

Dont they say any publicity is good publicity!
FollowupID: 604546

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 19:58

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 19:58
"Dont they say any publicity is good publicity!"
Yes for people like Paris Hilton it may be but I wouldn't like to rely on threads like this to drum up business in the 4x4 assesory game.
This time it probably has far less to do with maintaining a profile & all to do with being an opportune moment to rekindle an old debate that petrol drivers have lost over & over again at a time when the difference in the price is so great & to be honest at the moment petrols may just have the edge, not that I'll be rushing out to get one with my remote weight & range issues :-)
I just hope now that because my 4x4's run on 2nd rate diesel I don't develop an inferiority complex and write posts trying to justify my purchase ;-))
Cheers Craig.........
FollowupID: 604592

Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:45

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:45
Who would buy one? Me for one, whem i was looking at buying a cruiser in 2003 i wanted an ex demo, plenty of petrols but minimal diesels. when i finally narrowed it down to 2 vehicles, a V8 Sahara with all the bells and whistles( i love all that wanky stuff ) or a Turbo Diesel Auto GXL.

Q1 What did i want this vehicle for?

Q2 Where did i want to go with this vehicle?

Q3 Did i want to keep it for XX amount of time?

Q4 Did i want a good resale value for it when change over time came?

Price was only 3k between them and this was not a factor.

I drove away in the TD because it is by far more suited to touring and off road work over the petrol. Not to say the petrol cant do it because it can but try buying unleaded on the Canning?? Even today i would still buy a diesel over a petrol even if unleaded was half the price of diesel. Now 5.5 years on i have not regretted buying this vehicle one bit. it tows our van,tows the c/t and trailer and anything else i have ever towed with it effortlessly. try averaging 14 to the 100 towing a 2t van on the blacktop using cruise and sitting on or slightly above the limits. cheers from a very happy diesel owner. Paul
AnswerID: 336762

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:19

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:19
Paul, I think your fibbing a little bit.

It appears you narrowed it down to three vehicles.

The V8 Sahara, the TD GLX and the one you finally settled for.....

Da lil' buggy in your Profile Pic.......hehehe.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 604449

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:53

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:53
Its a shame really Jim, but I was thinking the same thing as I noted that in this part of the weekly fuel cycle diesel is genuinely around 30% dearer.

Mate came round other day, and his diesel Patrol actually now costs more per mile in fuel than my alledeged fuel guzzling 4800 Patrol.

Strange world indeed, for all the extra diesel issues he has to live with he at least used to be able to claim low fuel costs per km.

I expect things will return to the way they were in time but what an eye opener this is !

AnswerID: 336765

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:19

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:19
Gday Robin, Unleaded today was 105 cents and diesel was 145cents so you are correct, 11litres per 100ks for the diesel and say 17litres per 100 for the petrol. with cheaper servicing for the petrol , you are way in front.. Interest rates are tipped to bottom out at about 3.5% so i hear today so you may once again, buy unleaded for 80 cents... Michael
FollowupID: 604446

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 12:16

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 12:16
Robin
As long as the Government is subsidising the trucks for around 17% in rebates the fuel companies will hold an inflated diesel price to get the benefit to them so us smaller diesel users that get no rebate will suffer high prices and assist the govt to subsidise the trucks who by the way need the subsidy not the bloody oil companies.
We just have to grin and bear it or snear and bear it.
FollowupID: 604517

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:58

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 21:58
Gday Jim, the way I see it

If you drive your 4wd around the cities then petrol wins.

If you do the long desert trips then diesel wins.

AnswerID: 336767

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:16

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:16
Are you still going on about this Jim?

>>>Who would buy a diesel under current conditions?

You obviously don't leave the city often enough because you would be hard pressed to find ANY petrol 4wds up in the north of Australia.

Just my thoughts.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 336770

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 23:01

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 23:01
Precisely Barnesy.

Some people just need to keep justifying their purchase in their own mind.

FollowupID: 604455

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:20

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:20
Funniest post i have ever read. No petrols in the north of Australia???? You got your brain in the cornflakes packet didn't you???
FollowupID: 604597

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 18:53

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 18:53
Brew, I don't know why I'm responding to this. If you read my post again you will notice the words 'hard pressed' meaning they are rare not 'none'.

Once the tourists go back south and there are only locals left, there would be about 15-20 diesel 4wds to every petrol 4wd. They are certainly not 'totally unviable' up here.
FollowupID: 604708

Reply By: equinox - Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:47

Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 22:47
Last trip out I had 400 litres of diesel with me fully loaded.

It's way to much of a fire risk with petrol. At least I can park the ute near the campfire without having to worry.

AnswerID: 336777

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 07:20

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 07:20
liquid diesal burns almost just as well as petrol...its just the vapours of petrol one needs to be carefull about
FollowupID: 604467

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:37

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:37
Damn it. Then we are all doomed!!!!!

FollowupID: 604477

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 04:33

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 04:33
If you go to the desert diesel is the only way to go. You can't get petrol in some places.

Try pushing through spinifex with a petrol, an under vehicle fire is a likely result.

In short its horses for courses.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 336783

Reply By: Krakka - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 06:29

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 06:29
Hi Jim, just wondering at what revs your petrol develops its maximum torque, 4-6000 rpm. Most diesels 1-3000 rpm. Makes a big consumption difference in sand or heavy going conditions. Towing also is better with a diesel.
Krakka
AnswerID: 336785

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 07:44

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 07:44
very good point.....quoting figures is useless without the revs that it is developed at. one of my petrol vehicles seems ok power wise until you look at where max power is developed: 6800rpm!

Crawling along at 2000rpm, i would like to see the comparisons then. :-)

FollowupID: 604470

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:00

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:00
Hi Guys
In the patrols the petrol significantly out torques both diesel variants everywhere from 800 to 5000 rpm, and its aflatter torque curve, so its more about a given implementation than petrol/diesel as a fuel.
FollowupID: 604472

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:04

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:04
Thanks for that Robin. It seems that there are many variants and factors to consider when comparing any vehicle.

I'm happy with my selection....and that's all that matters :)

FollowupID: 604473

Follow Up By: Krakka - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:42

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:42
That is afair point Robin, but I remember a test in one of the mags about 3yrs ago where the petrol patrol used up to 52lt per 100km in heavy going in sand. Just a point.
Krakka
FollowupID: 604495

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 11:22

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 11:22
Hi Krakka

There was such a test , and last night on top gear they ran the greenies pin up boy , the toyota Prius in a fuel consumption test against an M3 BMW, the BMW used less fuel , why because they ran the Prius flat out and all the BMW had to do was keep up which meant it was loafing along.

So while you could consume 52lt in a petrol patrol with your foot flat to the floor the reality is quite different.

I for example have just driven the Simpson in mine towing a bike trailer , and did the whole trip Birdsville to oodnadatta at 25lt/100km.

Damm cost more for the dessert parks passes than the petrol !
FollowupID: 604508

Follow Up By: Krakka - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 12:21

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 12:21
Howdy Robin, Yeah, I realise they were highlighting what could happen. I crossed the Simpson last in 2003 in a n/a diesel 100s, admittedly not towing but loaded to the gunwhales, and crossed at an average of 15.3 lt/ 100km. Cost $101.00 to fill at B/Ville. Diesel was $1.45 @ Mt. Dare, $1.00 @ B/ville.
Krakka
FollowupID: 604519

Reply By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 06:58

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 06:58
Hi Jim,
Your right about why have a diesel when ULP is so much cheaper.
One point, that hasn't been raised is when crossing creeks and the like.
I know I would rather a diesel cause it does not have all that Fancy Nancy electric crap that needs to be waterproof. A lot has changed since there was just a Coil, Distributor, Points, Condenser, Plugs and Leads. Our commodore doesn't even like having it's engine bay degreased. In a modern petrol vehicle, if it stops where to you begin to have it start again? I'd hate to cross deep water with a petrol if I hadn't been able to take the necessary precautions before hand.
Even though there are some costs that I'm not happy with about owning a diesel ATM, I think Jim I would still buy another.
Just my thoughts.

AnswerID: 336787

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:19

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:19
Gee Jon!! I havent seen a set of points for literally decades!! I just remember they were a pain in the backside!! Michael
FollowupID: 604489

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:31

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:31
Hi Jon....All the new CRD's have all that Fancy Wancy electrics on them now and yes they are also prone to water etc....I know ...working in the mining industry we have to fix these suckers because of mud and water ingress.....also injectors and high pressure pumps and ecm's cost a lot too...new technology...not so sure it's a good thing.
FollowupID: 604492

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 14:21

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 14:21
Hi Michael,
Mate, Been awhile since I played with a set of points. What are they called now? That's right they have Electronic Ignition and Coil Modulators, or something like that.

Hey Redbakk, I'm not sure if it's a good thing either. I'm pretty happy with my old girl and feel that I could fix just about anything on her within reason. How technology has changed transport?

A Bit of useless info, On April 11, 1970, when Apollo 13 launched to go to the moon. The world was amazed at the technology, A Fisher & Paykel washing machine has more computer power behind it than Apollo 13 had.
Just thought I would share that, ;-)
FollowupID: 604532

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 19:18

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 19:18
lol
FollowupID: 604580

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:24

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:24
See if its the same BS in a month or 3 ,, oil price increased overnite , 1st thing to rise will be Unleaded.
AnswerID: 336792

Reply By: Nutta - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:45

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:45
No matter what price unleaded is diesel will always be the same in fuel cost at the end of the day, the gov need to keep it the same so they make exactly the same profit and one doesnt get away from the other (sheesh, did that make any sense).

Give me a diesel any day, after crossing a beach creek on Fraser in a petrol and stalling with the tide coming in quick i never want to do that again! Go the diesel.
AnswerID: 336794

Reply By: Voxson - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:54

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 08:54
Jim,

Agreed if you're vehicle stays close to home and / or you have trips to populated places....
So what if you're trip each year cost $6000 instead of $4000..
Just budget for it..
If you cant afford it get a better education and earn more money..
We do too much whinging,,, if we put our whinging effort into a doing effort we would have nothing to moan about..
AnswerID: 336796

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 09:06

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 09:06
Good stir Jim,

If motoring is expensive for you, diesel or petrol, why run a 4wd around town? You use Melbourne as an example of fuel prices, but there is less difference in the country, so your argument only holds for capital cities.

So I run my 74 beetle around the city at 8.5l/100k, and costs of about 30c per kilometre, including maintenance and depreciation. $3,000.00 for the year.

So if you have to run a petrol 4wd, why aren't you driving a petrol suzuki you bought for $2000.00 around town? What you save in fuel in 12 months would pay for it.

Obviously you have more money than you need and you like burning it on cars. :o)
So why complain about the difference in price when you can do something about it.

Let us know how you resolve your problem. I will be interested in hearing.
AnswerID: 336800

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 09:15

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 09:15
Firstly John, it's not a stir. It's factual information for people to consider. I'll constantly challenge widely held beliefs if I think the information I put forward helps people make a better informed decision.

Secondly, I run my car on LPG which currently costs me about 8 cents per kilometre (fuel only) to run. I really like Suzukis and if they made a suitable sized ute I'd certainly consider one.

FollowupID: 604482

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:39

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:39
I wondered when you would trot out the LPG angle Jim.

Like a previous poster said: never anything new from you.

FollowupID: 604494

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 13:55

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 13:55
Fair enough Jim. I erred.
Got to keep it factual and the logic to the preposition.

I strayed from your comparison of two Prados,, petrol & diesel.

What about outside Melbourne?

I noticed on the fuel guide that the difference between petrol & diesel varies by 8c (Shepparton) to about 20c a litre.

So outside Melbourne is a different story.

So why would you be exclusively running a Prado in Melbourne?
Because one uses it sometimes outside Melbourne doing some 4wding?
Where the difference is less, and other factors come into play.

Now if you used the example of a petrol and diesel car in the Hyundi i30, or VW golf or polo, different story, that would be more Melbourne based in it's use and fuel source, different argument.
FollowupID: 604527

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 17:16

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 17:16
LPG in Warrnambool today 66 cents a litre, Townsville Sunday 89 cents a litre hmmmm

FollowupID: 604554

Reply By: cheetah - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 09:51

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 09:51
"why would you buy diesel under current conditions?"
Current being the key word Jim. Took you about 3 seconds to jump on the opportunity this time.
You continue to quote manufacturers figures. What is your experience/figures, outback on petrol/gas. All your posts suggest you never leave home.
Put a 2.5tonne van on the courier, which will also be fully loaded, and do a lap around the block visiting all the outback places you like. You will be looking for bowsers in between towns and the gas bottle will be a waste of space sitting there empty because there wont be any gas. Come back in 12 months with your fuel figures. Im sure most here would be interested.
AnswerID: 336803

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:47

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:47
cheetah,
good point, when I've travelled (3 times) the Gibb River Road it has no petrol or gas available, only diesel, and yes some may suggest it's only ~700 Klms long, but it's a fair bit longer when you go off road and visit the many and various water holes, waterfalls, gorges etc.
A long way to carry the extra petrol required over corrugated and often quiet rough roads and tracks.

Yes, Jim's posts do suggest he never leaves his home state, as he's very busy building a successful business in Dandenong, in the so-called 'state of excitement' Victoria :-))
I lived and had a business there for 17 years, so am aware how un-exciting it really is when compared to the 'Top End' maybe it should be called the 'bottom' end, after an engine has a 'bottom end' and a 'top end' too!!

The GF had a 4.2 Troopy and has recently replaced it with a Range Rover shr?? v8 auto, petrol, yes it's fantastic in the city with it's acceleration, but take it onto the beach and it's a different vehicle again.
I know because I've driven both on the same beach, would rather drive the troopy in the bush but the rangey on the tar, there's no comparison, as they are designed for very different purposes.

Mainey . . .
FollowupID: 604497

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 11:17

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 11:17
cheetah,

My post didn't have anything to do with LPG and Couriers.

I chose Australia's most popular 4wd Wagon, the Prado for the purpose of the comparison.

Very true, "current" is the key word, that is why is ued it in the topic heading.

FollowupID: 604506

Follow Up By: cheetah - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 15:54

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 15:54
Interesting. You dont own a Prado yet you are qualified to compare figures based on something you read. Its hollow.

FollowupID: 604542

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:00

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:00
You'd be amazed to know I don't own an orchard but I do know apples are $4.50 per kilo.

FollowupID: 604593

Follow Up By: cheetah - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:33

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:33
Not relative. But.... that is for the red deliciuos. they give you partial nourishment, so need to eat many to get through the day, but for a few cents more you can get the pink ladies and one will get you through the whole day.

FollowupID: 604600

Follow Up By: cheetah - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:34

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:34
Not relative. But.... that is for the red deliciuos. they give you partial nourishment, so need to eat many to get through the day, but for a few cents more you can get the pink ladies and one will get you through the whole day.

FollowupID: 604601

Follow Up By: cheetah - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:34

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:34

FollowupID: 604602

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 13:33

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 13:33
Best Off Road posted:
"You'd be amazed to know I don't own an orchard but I do know apples are $4.50 per kilo. "

You can't argue with logic like that.

FollowupID: 604676

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:13

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:13
Longer term I suspect the price of all petroleum products will trend higher; the consideration is to what extent there will be a ‘spread’ between ULP and diesel. I doubt the spread will get much worst from current levels even in the medium term. Equally there will always be a spread because ULP tends to be heavily discounted at times based on volume sold at the retail level, diesel isn’t for the same reason – far less volume sold at the retail level.

Having followed this site for a period of time it is clear that there are many other considerations that go into deciding a choice of vehicle. Fuel choice is only one of these considerations. I think that the other considerations will continue to outweigh short-term influences like the current spread between the two different fuel types.

Good luck out there……..
AnswerID: 336805

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:33

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:33
No one has as yet identified why there is such a big price difference between petrol & diesel. I suspect it is because the northern hemisphere is still building stocks for winter heating. Because the oil price has been fluctuating there has probably been a reluctance to have a large amount of advance oil ($) in storage tanks for winter use.
AnswerID: 336811

Reply By: Foxhound (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:37

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 10:37
G`Day all,,,The information below is taken from a book I still have from my apprenticeship many years back. It shows the thermal efficiency between a petrol and diesel engine. Engine efficiency has improved greatly since this book was printed but I think it is still close to being correct in comparison, with the balance converted to power showing a much better figure.
Petrol Diesel
Heat lost to water jackets. 33 27
Heat loss to exhaust gases 33 29
Heat loss by radiation 7 6
Heat loss to overcome engine friction 5 5
Balance converted to power 22 33
100% 100%
AnswerID: 336813

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 11:09

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 11:09
If a diesel powered vehicle is so good, why do we continue to hear complaints from such owners about the price of fuel and the difference between unleaded and diesel. At least while the price of diesel remains high I (and others) will continue to receive lower priced unleaded. In fact the price has come down so much that I can now afford to run Premium Unleaded, keeps the fuel system cleaner with less polutants.
AnswerID: 336817

Reply By: Damo1970 - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 12:24

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 12:24
For camparison purposes let's look at 2 patrols, one diesel one petrol.

The petrol will use 50% more fuel - 18L/100 compared to 12L/100. The difference is far greater if towing or 4wding, especially in sand.

Diesel is about 30% more expensive $1.40 compared to $1.10 (the actual difference is 23c/L based on Singapore parity pricing) so assuming you travel 30K per year the diesel will cost $5040 & the petrol $5940

Serviving costs are almost identical. Comparing the first 4 services (10k, 20k, 30k, 40k) it costs a total of $30 more to service the diesel.

Initial purchase cost is the same - $52990 so in the first year you are $870 better off in the diesel.

The diesel has a greater touring range, performs better offroad & is better for towing due to peak torque being achieved much lower in the rev range 2000rpm compared to 3600rpm.

Generalising here a bit but any serious offroader or tourer will choose a diesel for reasons mentioned in mine & other posts. Perhaps Jim's 4by is used as a mums taxi & that's why he's happy with the petrol
AnswerID: 336821

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 18:10

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 18:10
Today in metro Adelaide Diesel $1.40. ULP 0.95.9
FollowupID: 604704

Reply By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 12:28

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 12:28
Diesel vehicles? Totally unviable at the moment.
Submitted: Monday, Nov 24, 2008 at 20:51
_Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx

Well ... gotta agree with that. IMHO now that diesels are just as battery and computer dependant as a petrol - why bother.

As for the rest of the post:

A good diesel will always be a better load carrying engine ( unless designed for high speed performance ). It will also last longer under working conditions than a petrol. note: ... a good diesel.

Fuel availability - An 80l tank of dieso and two jerrys used to let me spend 3wks in a favourite fossicking area. Now in a petrol the same amount means I have to drive out for more fuel ( low range 4wd means bugger all fuel economy in a petrol ) ... and that costs me half a tank for the return trip.

Fuel prices ... methinks a better post would be ... how to ensure a realistic price for fuel. My first diesel was using fuel at 0.28 cents per litre ... when petrol was about 0.45 ( qld ). How and why the current disparagy is allowed is probably of more interest.

And I notice we are back on about LPG again ... great for unloaded , nip about town vehicles. Took an LPG courier to Melb from Tamworth last year ... was cheaper than fuel. On the way back, loaded up, only used half a tank of LPG ... coz it was cheaper and and more efficient using unleaded.

In general ... buy what suits your needs. In your case _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx ... As its only spitting distance from your state capital to the borders .... sheesh, an electric hybrid would probably work for you .... lololol

AnswerID: 336822

Reply By: brentos - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 13:35

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 13:35
hey guys
what does your vehicle spend more time doing,touring,towing,remote places,needing emergency fuel from farmers

or, driving around town,taking kids to school,doing the grocery shopping,visiting friends,going to the footy(etc)you get the point.

i know mine spends more time around town and it is a diesel,though next time i buy a 4x4 will definently consider a petrol motor plus they are cheaper to buy service and get parts for as well as unleaded being 30% cheaper

brentos
AnswerID: 336830

Reply By: garbage - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 14:08

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 14:08
How about the current Holden Epica ad with the young girl doing the voice over saying that the diesel Epica is X% more fuel efficient than the Toyota Camry and still "goes like a Holden should" while failing to mention that diesel is 30% more expensive. Are buyers really that ignorant?
AnswerID: 336835

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 05:23

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 05:23
A bit like Holden capping the fuel price on all new cars at 99c a litre for the first 20,000km ... phhht, who cares at the moment ... and what happens when the price of unleaded gets to 90 cents. Do you owe Holden 10c a litre .... hehe
FollowupID: 604638

Reply By: Gossy - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 14:11

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 14:11
double crossing of the Simpson in June 08:

Nissan GQ Patrol TD: 13 litres per 100km
Mits Pajero Petrol: 26 litres per 100km

100% more fuel. Last time I checked Diesel is not 100% more in cost. The more you thrash your vehicle (off roading) the more sense diesel makes.

If you are a city slicker using the car to drive the kids to school then I would agree that Petrol is the way to go.

Bottom line is that there is no correct answer. The best vehicle is the one that suits your specific needs best. It's like looking at the range of hammers at a hardware store. There is not 'correct' hammer. They all do different jobs.
AnswerID: 336837

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 12:43

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 12:43
Hi Gossy

I'd tell your Pajero driver to get his car checked - my GQ petrol crossed using 16lt/100km
FollowupID: 604670

Follow Up By: Gossy - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 15:28

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 15:28
nothing to check. The conditions were horrible with 80mm of rain in Birdsville. All tracks closed. We got bogged, slipped all over the place and generally had to thrash our cars all day to get thru the mud and water.
the petrol chewed it up the harder we pushed.
FollowupID: 604682

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 14:56

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 14:56
Having owned both in an 80, i can safely say the petrol was nicer to drive, had more power and was quieter. However, if anything went wrong with it, you had to be a wiz at electronics to get it going. It used 50% more petrol when towing, not 30%, so the tanks ran out that much faster. Lastly, if you look at the figures you mention, the diesel has more torque, which means it tows better up hills.
AnswerID: 336840

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 16:44

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 16:44
what gets me on this one is the claims that unleaded is not available in the bush.
in 99 there was no unleaded at bamaga ( supply payment issue)but it was available at seisa,
not since we had to put avgas in at giles in 2002 (pre opal or whatever it is) have I ever had a probem getting unleaded fuel
someone mentioned not available on Gibb river road- news to me . could get unleaded at half a dozen places along that road when we were there.
I would also be surprised if about 30 percent or more of the vehicles that go to the cape each year and for that matter ,do the Canning ,arnt petrol driven vehicles.
its easy to get a petrol with 1000Km plus to 1300 km fuel range these days thru use of long range tanks some will do it on std tanks.
Agree benefits in diesel in really remote desert driving ie fuel range and fire safty.
unless I was in a situation where I regularly had to achieve in excess of 1000km between fuel points I would be happy with a petrol.
on the occassion of a once a year CSR or Hay river type trip I am quite happy to carry a few jerries to extend the fuel range.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 336853

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 17:36

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 17:36
Howard,

Sssshhhhhh !!! You're not allowed to dispel these myths LOL

FollowupID: 604558

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 10:44

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 10:44
Yeah but your poor fuel range is because of how heavy your foot is Howard;-))

aka grandad

FollowupID: 604661

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 12:50

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 12:50
Hi Howard

Truth about fuel availability is that diesel is often the harder fuel to get. Many have commented on the rare outback occasions when diesel is easier however coming closer to home (Victoria here) there are a lot less diesel pumps, often queues are long and its easier to be caught out of hours or when a delivery is delayed for various reasons with a temporay unavailablity of diesel.
FollowupID: 604671

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 16:06

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 16:06
Robin , Diesel harder to get ? maybe in Vic ,but no such problem in Qld , inBrisbane its getting easier if any thing ,as the servos get refurbished more diesel pumps ar put in out the front ,, only time diesel was a tad short in supply up this way was when the refinery down your way had its shut down ,, Normal Unleaded is getting harder to get in Brisbane , u pull up to the bowser only to find the sign that unleaded is unavailabe forcing u to fill with Premium unleaded at the higher price , ------ strange that it is always on the so called cheap tuesdays and wednesdays.
FollowupID: 604689

Follow Up By: Goona - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 00:03

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 00:03
Robin,

I know you love your truck and one good thing is it is a Patrol. I put this question to you. Why are alot more cars and look at the European cars going diesel. From last I hear there are more diesel than petrol. Fuel economy would be my guess. Little light reading for you.

http://www.bovinebazaar.bizland.com/deisel.htm

Goona
FollowupID: 604889

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 08:25

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 08:25
Easy question Goona

Diesel is a fundamentally better fuel by about a 1/3rd as per a post above on efficentcy.
(the proviso being the emerging health concerns).

But users like us have to pick between the actual implementations available for purchase.

In cruisers the diesels are the pick of the available engines whereas in Patrols its the petrols (assuming 4wd capability is your criteria, not fuel use).
FollowupID: 604916

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 02:34

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 02:34
I bought mine for the same price as a petrol,but it was owned by a vet,had a few xtra km's and one owner..I only hav the 66 litre tank still in it so fully laden going up and down hills and through a lot of river crossing's i'll pay the extra in fuel anyday and for piece of mind...

When i fix my vr 5.0 litre wagon,that ive had for donkeys year's now.Its on gas but the heater core just crapped out (ouch)The Hilux will only be used for going away and garaged and if you can do that (second car) i believe your on a winner..

AnswerID: 336922

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 02:37

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 02:37
Oh for people that live on the Mornington Peninsula @ langwarrin Caltex diesel today it was $1.70 a litre How they justify this blows me away,never see many people in there either..

FollowupID: 604636

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 12:35

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 12:35
What I don't understand about Diesel prices is that the whole country runs on diesel, the trucks run diesel, Australia is a big country. If anything it should be the other way around, Petrol $1.40 and diesel $1.10. It has to change..
AnswerID: 336963

Follow Up By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 13:13

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 13:13
Agree Terrafirma,
In a post earlier in the year I mention that I contacted the NRMA as a member asking why their don't pursue diesel prices as they do ULP. I was told that Diesel is not a retail fuel. I'm along the same thought as you, more diesel is consumed in this country than ULP. It wasn't that long ago that the likes of the NRMA and the Federal Government were pushing for us to drive diesel powered vehicles, now they wipe their hands of us. On the other hand they are more than happy to be getting higher taxes from us diesel owners.

I understand how most things work with the buying of oil, exchange rates, commodities, Futures and the like, But What I don't get is, If the American economy is such a basket case and our economy is in a lot better shape than most. Why has our dollar fallen so far below the USD?
Which in turn means we pay more for imported goods. Hmm
FollowupID: 604675

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 13:09

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 13:09
Wow!!! Some diesel owners are a tad sensitive, arent they ?
While most of the real plus & minus issues have been covered
some points border on the ridiculous. My main criteria is value
for money...so I drive 2 old Peugeots that cost bugger all, run on
very little petrol & last 300k. Cost per k?? Unbelievably low.
When I go on holiday I get the 2000 V6 Jack out of the shed,
hook up the C/t & go. Cost under $15 k...only uses 15L/100
towing., big, strong & reliable. Would I buy a new diesel???
What the hell for ??. I wouldnt buy a new petrol either. Why
lose half the money you paid in 5 years ?? The petrol/diesel
argument doesnt mean much when your biggest cost per
kilometre is Depreciation. Miserable ?? You betcha. I go on
holidays on the money I save not being perched up in a new
4WD. ....oldbaz..:))).

AnswerID: 336965

Reply By: Gossy - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 15:38

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 15:38
Geez I've seen less responses from "which tyre brand is best" and "which fridge is best" !!

As with this question and the two above the answer is that there is no correct answer! It's what suits your needs best.

Just my 2c worth.
AnswerID: 336975

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 20:24

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 20:24
Personally....I don't care. I have become immune to the cost factor.

I am stuck with a diesel vehicle and fuel up when I have to(even if I wince at the price...lol) and get on with life.

And I do at least one long outback trip each year. Just budget for it and away you go.

AnswerID: 337005

Reply By: Goona - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:54

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 23:54
I love it. Why do you run a 4wd if you never leave the city as others have posted. For my run around car in the city I use a turbo diesel golf which returns 4lt per 100 on the hwy. May I suggest instead of having a big 4wd that never leaves the city. Think of the ozone layer and all. Mmm to run around in a big city and be taller than all the rest. Yes I have a big Patrol. Diesel 4.2 Turbo on gas. Yes I do use this off road and I am currently on a 7 month trip around Aust. Would I go to Petrol. No way. I know the prices have changed recently but look at the prices at the cape in the last 4 months. $2.30 for Diesel at Seisa and $2.15 for Petrol. So much for your 30% difference here. Try 7% difference. The other thing to look at here is in a petrol you would have to fill up at least twice were I would only fill up once to get to a cheaper fuel station so when you take this into account then the costs start to add up quite quickly. Try tackling the crossings on the telegraph track in a petrol. I towed a guy across nolens because he wasn't confident in his petrol. What about when loaded to the gills and towing a camper, I bet your 30% more fuel for the petrol suddenly becomes more like 100%. If you use a 4wd like it is intended out in the bush and away from the cheap fuel of the major cities then diesel is definitely the way to go.

Goona
AnswerID: 337196

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 06:34

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 06:34
Amazing that everyone seems to know what I do or don't do and what my needs are.

I'll clear this up.
1. We go bush regularly and at every possible opportunity.
2. I need a ute to run my business, it happens to be a 4wd ute that doubles as brilliant work and play vehicle.

As for range, I have 150 litres of fuel available to me which far exceeds MY needs. And being a ute, should I ever have a need for greater range, I can easily carry any number of jerries in the back of the ute safely.

Economically a diesel is out of the question for me. Higher purchase price and MUCH higher fuel cost. 95% of my driving is on LPG at 47cents per litre.

FollowupID: 604906