Looking for ideas on anthill remover

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 17:19
ThreadID: 63786 Views:3977 Replies:9 FollowUps:17
Ye olde Nissan can take a battering sometimes when going in search of fabled places and some of the steering gear had to be straightened out after this last bush trek we did.

In the end I fitted the Chain Mail as pictured below. Now I want something more flexible and wider.

Does anyone have a bright idea?

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 17:27

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 17:27
Fit one of these

AnswerID: 336861

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 17:32

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 17:32
Never thought of that!!! LOL Excellent idea. Wonder how those tyres will go in the mulga. This might out a new spin on cresting a dune.........
FollowupID: 604555

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 17:33

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 17:33
plus its faster than Darkie to boot :)
FollowupID: 604556

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 10:25

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 10:25
One would probably have to use the front blade toremove the anthills.

I have been pushed sideways many times by anthills when grading bush roads. It seems incredible that a small anthill can move a 20 ton machine sideways, but there you have it..

Stu
FollowupID: 604653

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 10:28

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 10:28
Oh the possibilities!!! make your onw roads, clear your personal camping spot when everyone else has huddled in one spot.. i like it! Michael
FollowupID: 604654

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 10:44

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 10:44
Imagine the size of the trailer to match the Grader hahaha

FollowupID: 604659

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 15:33

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 15:33
I hope that ASIO or the Army don't read this.

About 30 odd years ago in a past life, I happened to be involved in a very late night in a certain Sgt.. Mess. The talk was about how easy it was to drive different forms of plant / transport. It was pointed out that there were a whole heap of plant only a few 100 mt down the road. Well one thing let to another and a bet was on about how easy it would be to start and drive a grader with out keys of course.
It turned out that it was easy, but someone had informed the local MP's about out little trip around the plant park so my mate who was driving at the time made the decision to head bush as the MP's were in a ford ute and would not keep up with us.

But, in out mental state (caused by lack of sleep only and nothing to do with being in the Mess all night) my mate had failed to retract the blade fully and we were making a smooth track through the scrub that anyone could follow at all of about 10 mph. in the end we bailed out as we were going through a patch of very thick scrub & hot footed it back to Bed.
No one ever did as us about the trip.

Vince
FollowupID: 604683

Reply By: MintabiePete (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:01

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:01
G'day Willem ,

We tried a lot of different ways to do what you are trying to do in the bullcatching camps in the NT trying to keep catchers mobile , but in the end the best way we found , was burning the scrub so we could see where we were going . Probably a bit of a no no nowdays , but in the late 70's & early 80's everyone done it :)

Good luck :)
AnswerID: 336867

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:48

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:48
G'day Pete

How are things at the hill?

Yerr... didn't have burning in mind...something more mechanica may bel...LOL

FollowupID: 604575

Reply By: cheetah - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:05

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:05
Willem,

Does the chain actually work??. Good idea if it does. Would have thought by looking at it, that it would just ride over everything with no effect??
AnswerID: 336868

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:39

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:39
It has some effect. The idea is that when contact is unavoidable the chan would either grab at the top of the mound and break it off or tip the mound over. It was made in haste out bush as the countryside had zillions of smaller anthills and the steering gear was being bashed about........
FollowupID: 604571

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:13

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:13
G'Day Willem.
The chain seems a good idea for the spinifex but for the anthills ?
I guess that's one reason that Len had his trusty Dozer close.
Perhaps some smaller version of the blade that could be manually raised and left up or down ?
Not sure about flexibility , some of those ant hills are pretty solid.
AnswerID: 336869

Follow Up By: cheetah - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:33

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 18:33
Could weld a section of an old cutting edge off a grader blade onto a couple of dropdown stabilisers off an old van. Mount them onto the bullbar at your desired angle. wind up out of way when not using (unbolt from bar when not needed at all) and wind down to desired height when in use. Would need a bit of crass support but could work
FollowupID: 604569

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:04

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:04
But what would Scrubby say ???
FollowupID: 604594

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 21:12

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 21:12
This " Scrubby" is sayin nuffin. LOL
Kiwi Kia, I reckon you must be refering to Mr Scruby ( Scrooby)

I`ve had the "Scrubby" handle since 1959, so I`m keeping it. LOL

HaHaHa

Scrubby
FollowupID: 604610

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 06:31

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 06:31
Ooops, Sorry about that Scrubby.

Yes, you are right I did mean Mr Scuby :-))
FollowupID: 604640

Reply By: Zukscooter - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 19:33

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 19:33
G'day Willem, not trying to be funny here but you get Judith to throw some p bombs or handgrenades in front to decipertate the said problems.Errrr not .Lol
Cheers Bob.
AnswerID: 336886

Reply By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:40

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:40
Put a stay down from bull bar to centre of chain??. Or trade the olde nissan in on a MONSTER TRUCK!!, But don't do a Grant Denyer..LOL.

Cheers Axle
AnswerID: 336898

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 12:16

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 12:16
Yerrrrrr. I was also thinking of fitting 900x16 tyres. That would put me above the spinifex and anthills......LOL

FollowupID: 604669

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:41

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2008 at 20:41
Willem, go round em mate...ya can't go tearin' round the bush knocking down anthills and flattenin sandhills untill they resemble a beach volley ball court...geez mate...what's the green brigade gonna make of this...fair dinkum old fella..use the road :-)))
Unless ya gonna be the next Len Beadle...and then Kev's idea comes into play. LOL

Fred
AnswerID: 336899

Reply By: Member - Corio - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 10:36

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 10:36
Willem

We had a similar set up on Landrovers for mustering.Suggest welding a couple of heavy lugs each end of the bullbar and use a much heavier chain attached to lugs with a couple of "D" shackles so you can remove when back on the highway.You still need the flexability so the chain is the only way to go.
The only problem may be the strength of the bullbar where you want to anchor it or that if you hit something really solid it could do damage however as I dont imagine your roaring through the spinifex at 80kmh this shouldnt occur.

AnswerID: 336948

Follow Up By: Member - Corio - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 10:42

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 10:42
Willem,

You could also use heavy wire rope as in those ready made.Lifting Slings that have the re enforced loop each end.

FollowupID: 604658

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 12:07

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 12:07
Corio

Thanks. I have been thinking along those lines.

I was thinking of attaching a bit of flat iron to the ARB bullbar shackled to the existing holes and then attaching heavier chain in a square pattern, making sure that it cannot get snared in the wheels or steering gear

Speed through the bush I am talking about rarely goes over 10kmh and is mostly Low Range driving.

FollowupID: 604668

Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 15:55

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 15:55
Hey Willem,

Pretty sure that almost every aftermarket 4x4 frontbar came with an anthill remover back in the 80s - It was also there to protect the steering gear.

Surprised that the bar design has changed to suit competition vehicles requiring lots of clearance rather than common driving conditions.

Ohhh wait .... our mate Harold ...... LOLOLOL
AnswerID: 336977

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 20:39

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 20:39
OzTroopy

You mean something like this wraparound bullbar and dozer blade for anthills?

What a wonderful old bus. Picked it up for $1900 in 1991 and got $1000 back for it in 1998. Did 255,000 with it. Had to modify the BB somewhat after smacking a steer at night just outside the Alice.
FollowupID: 604715

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 21:03

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 21:03
LOL ......

Thats the gear ... perfect protection from pedestrians and antnests.
FollowupID: 604718