Motor Trade Association - Says Petrol too Cheap

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 13:02
ThreadID: 63807 Views:3289 Replies:7 FollowUps:3
I noted in a (Fuel Blog) in early November that fuel was being sold cheaper than cost and this was one of the reasons the ‘spread’ between ULP and diesel has blown out in recent times.

Following is a news story not long out that has the Motor Trade Association (MTA) calling on the ACCC to investigate the predatory pricing by the big players (read - Coles and Woolworth’s) and why they are selling fuel below cost on a regular basis in recent times.

The implication is that they will drive out the Independents. Another one of my pet subjects – this is precisely what FuelWatch would have achieved – the demise of the Independents.

Just a new twist on an old story that demonstrates there is a flip side to everything; even cheaper fuel prices. Whilst we all welcome that, it could come at a cost.

News Story

ADELAIDE, Nov 26 AAP - Adelaide's big petrol retailers appear to be selling fuel cheaper than they can buy it, putting independent operators at risk, the Motor Trade Association says.

The MTA has called on the consumer watchdog to undertake an urgent investigation into petrol pricing in the city, where prices this week fell to 99.9 cents per litre.

MTA executive director John Chapman said he was concerned that unleaded prices in Adelaide were below the wholesale or terminal gate price of about $1.05, putting independent retailers at risk.

"We are concerned that our members are being forced into a loss making situation and this may be occurring due to a predatory pricing behaviour by big players in the market," he said.

Mr Chapman said independent operators faced ruin if the situation continued forany length of time.

"One thing we can assure the South Australian motorist is that should the independents drop out and the market is left to big business, we will see the end of the competitive petrol market," he said.

A spokeswoman for the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission said there was no specific information to suggest the discount was inappropriate.

"We understand prices can and will fall below cost price at the bottom of the weekly cycle, but we will be keeping an eye on it," she said.

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 14:43

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 14:43
Yep, that's the strategy, force out the independents.

The dropping of the fuel/crude oil price has also put on hold any alternative fuel ideas that started a while ago when crude was above $100.00 a barrel.

Went and filled up at an independent today. Otherwise we are cutting our own throats for the sake of a couple of dollars. Just as we have done with aussie made goods now being made overseas.
AnswerID: 336971

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 16:32

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 16:32
Will also support the independents where and when I can. The big companies have screwed us long enough a bit of hurt the other way for a change.

I heard the other on the radio the fuel companies where dropping the fuel as people had cut back on using thier cars etc and people have stopped spending as much so the big companies are dropping the price to get people to spend (funny now it suits them to drop the price), not saying there is not a motive in there also to rub out the independents.

AnswerID: 336980

Follow Up By: briann532 - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 17:39

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 17:39
Brian, I fully agree with your comments.
If more people thought this way we could save our childrens future from being an offshore investment.

The small price of supporting locally is long forgotten when the local benefit shines through.
My local IGA supports the community so I shop there.
I buy from a local bottle shop and support all my local businesses.
It is amazing to see just how much they put back in to the community.
Visit a local sporting event, charity or little athletics to see it working. It also give my kids a future.
Don't top up an overseas bank account.
"live local - buy local"

Brian N
FollowupID: 604698

Reply By: cheetah - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 18:09

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 18:09
All big business' are married. My theory... Its christmas shopping time. drop the price of fuel and trick people into believing they have more money to spend elsewhere now they are saving on fuel costs. Be back up on Boxing day when we all drive to our holiday destinations. We are being had from every possible angle.
AnswerID: 336987

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 18:29

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 18:29
If you save the 4c a litre by using the Woolworths fuel vouchers, when filling a standard 80l tank it's a saving of $3.20. Not a lot when you think about it.

Personally I don't go to the supermarket chains to buy fuel for this reason. The aggressive pursuit of market dominance these big chains have been aiming for in recent years have ruined a lot of good businesses. Not just in fuel but also in food suppliers.

They have far too much sway in all retail markets in my opinion.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 336988

Follow Up By: cheetah - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 18:35

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 18:35
Spot on, but how do you wake up the masses.
FollowupID: 604706

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 20:19

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 20:19
Ive seen the line outside a woolworths petrol station,like a bunch of lemmings oblivious to their fate.

Little do they know that when the independants have gone ,they might as well throw those discount vouchers in the bin because it will just be controlled by another layer of monopolisation.

The govt should ban the relation between fuel and supermarkets.
FollowupID: 604711

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 19:36

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 19:36
Remember when the petrol companies argued that they had to raise fuel prices because of a dwindling resource,peak oil, China's and India's growing economy, supply and demand, falling dollar, etc, etc, etc,.........now they want to stimulate the economy?!?!?!

Are they scared...I mean we were not important before.... BUT now they need "our help".....strange that.
AnswerID: 336996

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 20:22

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2008 at 20:22
It's funny how people get passionate about fuel prices.
If you do 20,000 KM per year (average motorist probably does less) and use 10 litres per 100 KM, the saving by shopping at Coles and Woolies is $1.54 per week.

If you drive a small 4 cyl, the saving will be less than $1.00 per week.

Many people drive out of their way to get that saving. Or allow this small saving to drive their buying decisions on other items to get the fuel docket.

This was a master piece of marketing by Wooworths when they first started it. Coles initially didn't believe it would work, so stayed out. After a year or so, sales of groceries etc had fallen as people moved to Woolies to get their 'big' fuel saving.

What suckers we are.

For $1.00 per week in fuel savings, we let the big retailers dictate where we shop for almost everything and put the independant fuel retailers at risk.

The closest servo to me is Woolies. I often drive past it and get fuel elsewhere as the lemmings line often spills onto the road. 500 meters in either direction there are other fuel outlets and I can always drive straight to a bowser. The 5 miutes saved is worth at least a dollar to me.

Norm C
AnswerID: 337003

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 17:34

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 17:34
Hi Landy.
There is an interesting article in The Gold Coast Bulletin(27/11) which states:
"A shortage of independent petrol stations has all but killed off the effectiveness of Queensland's fuel subsidy to drive local fuel prices down, according to watchdog Fueltrack.Gold Coasters were yesterday paying 5c more for a litre of unleaded petrol than South Australia despite our state's 8c a litre fuel subsidy.Queensland motorists were supposed to be reaping the benefits of the Government's 8c subsidy, most of it was being sucked up by the retailers.
The dearth of independent service stations on SE Queensland,compared with Adelaide,meant there waw less compulsion for the major oil companies to match the sharper prices set by the few independents".
Vince

AnswerID: 337106