What's your interpretation of "fair dinkum"..

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 10:30
ThreadID: 63830 Views:3898 Replies:16 FollowUps:10
A bit O/T here, but I reckon a lot of ExplorOzs are Aussies!!
Was having a yarn with some mates last night, and there were different opinions of what 'fair dinkum' implies.
For all you good Aussies out there what does it mean to you.

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 10:38

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 10:38
When I see people wishing to put bans on things like summer driving in the Simpson - I think "Fair Dinkum- your not serious are you!".
AnswerID: 337061

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:08

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:08
It all depends on how you say it

Fair Dinkum, don't you know ?

Fair Dinkum she's a good sort

Fair Dinkum I'm annoyed

Is that Fair Dinkum ?

Fair F&^% Dinkum !!

And the list goes on

AnswerID: 337066

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:13

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:13
Well, that saved me some typing ..... and as per Robin Miller.

No single meaning for "fair dinkum" same as our aussie use favourites ..... the ' B ' words .... its all in the context they're used in.
FollowupID: 604778

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 12:18

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 12:18
Yep its all in the context its used in as to how its interpreted.

It could be an angry fair dinkum or taking the pi$$ out of ya fair dinkum and everything in between.

FollowupID: 604787

Reply By: cheetah - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:16

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:16
Fair dinkum = dead set.
AnswerID: 337067

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 07:11

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 07:11
Ha Ha Ha
"Fair Dinkum" can be "Dinki Di " before it can be "dead set" that sounds terminal and I wouldnt give a "Rats a"about being dead anything and its good to be an Aussie in Australia my "Bloody oath"
FollowupID: 604910

Reply By: Time - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:37

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:37
Dinkum

1888, "hard work," Australian slang, of unknown origin, perhaps connected to Lincolnshire dialect. Meaning "honest, genuine" is attested from 1894.
AnswerID: 337073

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:39

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:39

In my mind I think FAIR DINKUM is a way of saying, that's the
Honest Truth, or Genuine, or Real, as in saying He or She is a
Fair Dinkum Aussie, means they are Real Aussies.

Daza
AnswerID: 337074

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:48

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:48
There is another Aussie word that I use a lot,

MATE or MAAAATE.
FollowupID: 604783

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 12:48

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 12:48
Mate and mateship are real ANZAC words - not just Aussie Daza.
FollowupID: 604789

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 20:43

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 20:43
Pommy word originally.

Has a deeper meaning in regard to comradeship / loyalty in Australia.

I read somewhere it was pinched and taken back to NZ by a kiwi tourist. If he was on a cruiseship in the Dardenelles, I guess that makes it OK .... lol

FollowupID: 604857

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 06:43

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 06:43
You are on dangerous ground there ...Mate ! :-))
FollowupID: 604908

Reply By: Member - Roger T (SA) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:41

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:41
are you FAIR DINKUM? BL***Y oath i am.
AnswerID: 337076

Reply By: Member - Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:53

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:53
What's your interpretation of "fair dinkum"..?

Fair Dinkum! What kind question is that Signman? you want to know what fair Dinkum is.?
Hmm
Fair Dinkum you must of fallen of you rocker. Fair Dinkum I kid you not, you've lost the plot.
Pull the other one, you can't be Fair Dinkum asking a question like that here. That's not a Fair Dinkum question.

Sorry I'll crawl back into my hole now. ;-) Fair Dinkum

AnswerID: 337078

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:56

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:56
Fair Dinkum=dead set,righteous,real,legit,the real thing,true,ridgy dij,absolute wazza,genuine article,true blue.
AnswerID: 337079

Follow Up By: cheetah - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 14:58

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 14:58
yep, does not matter what tone or emotion you put to it, this is what it means.
FollowupID: 604806

Reply By: Flywest - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 12:08

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 12:08
Fair Dinkum = Fair suck of the sauce bottle,

Self explanatory really!

AnswerID: 337081

Follow Up By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 18:47

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 18:47
Not quite sure I agree with that.
I often use the saying 'fair suck of the sauce bottle', but to me that has always meant 'a fair go', the same as 'fair crack of the whip' or 'fair suck of the sav'.

To me 'fair dinkum' has always simply meant 'genuine', generally with an Aussie bent.

Glenn
FollowupID: 604838

Reply By: Cruiser .- Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 15:36

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 15:36
Signman.

From the SMH,

What are the origins of the phrase "fair dinkum" and how did it come to mean what it does?

January 22, 2005

According to Melvyn Bragg's The Adventure of English: The Biography of a Language, "dinkum" comes from the English Midlands and meant work. "Fair dinkum" referred to a fair day's work and subsequently fair play.

The word "dinkum" was reputedly coined on the Australian goldfields. It comes from one of the Chinese dialects widely spoken at the diggings: "din" and "kum" loosely translating as "true gold".

Fair Dinkum was a response of the early Chinese goldminers to the question: "Are you finding a fair amount of gold?" because "din-gum" means "good gold". So over time the expression has become a positive response to a good news story.

Cruiser .
AnswerID: 337096

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 15:43

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 15:43
Signman, if you were fair dinkum, you would be dinky di. Simple
AnswerID: 337097

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 18:54

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 18:54
Unbelievable!! Are you guys Fair dinkum??? Michael
AnswerID: 337117

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 20:07

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 20:07
Michael ? Fair dinkum....You're deadset dinkiy di cobber.
FollowupID: 604854

Reply By: Zukscooter - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 20:22

Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 20:22
Fair dinkum mate i thought every True Aussie would know what 'Fiar Dinkum' meant.Lol
In a nutshell True Blue 'Honesty'.
Cheers Bob.
AnswerID: 337140

Reply By: Member - Royce- Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 00:36

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 00:36
My pommy cousin visited a couple of years ago and I visited him in England a couple of years later.

He was taken with how I really did say 'fair dinkum' and 'crikey'.

Ever since he has tried his best to use 'fair dinkum'.... such as "Well Royce... I hope you have a fair dinkum trip home." or "Well that was a fair dinkum lunch.'

It just doesn't work. He can't say if properly, and he can't make it fit into real conversation. Fair dinkum... I give up!

AnswerID: 337202

Reply By: Kiwi & Grenade - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 07:23

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 07:23
its one of those 2 words that changes its meaning depending on the context. Its a bit like $hi7.(you can bs, be in the $%^&, give a $%& or dont give a $%^&.......etc)
synonyms could be
"bull$hi7"
"bloody oath"
"for real"
"you gotta be kidding" etc

or it can cover things like good, honest and truthful.
'ave a crack at this will ya!
AnswerID: 337219

Reply By: Member - John M (NSW) - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 08:04

Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 08:04
You have all forgot to include "Ridgy Didge" - Fair Dinkum Mate!!
Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain!

AnswerID: 337224