GPS Navigation unit purchase
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:07
arofs1
We have been thinking of purchasing a GPS Navigation Unit for a while, but have put it off because we don't have a great need for it at the moment and the price has been coming down further each year, but the time is probably now, with Christmas specials which would have been bought at the old AU$ price.
I would be interested in any advice on brands, map types and other features that are important. I don't see any point in purchasing a top of the range unit that has heaps of features that I will probably not use.
The only other thing I remember reading somewhere is that it is
advisable to get one with the larger 4x3 screen, as opposed to the smaller units which are difficult to read.
I suspect that the brand of mapping is also important for local use,
town and country, as
well as updates. The one thing I would like which is probably not generally available is altitude readings.
Brian DJ
Reply By: megs4B - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:26
Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:26
Hi, i am doing the same and I have been doing alot of research on the best brands, I am after one for my partner who gets lost in the suburbs close to home. I have found that the TomTom one XL is a good GPS unit.
http://www.tomtom.com/products/product.php?ID=494&Category=0&Lid=8
It has the basic features andis easy to use. I have also looked into the price of new maps TomTom maps are $149.95 for Australia and Navman maps are $179.95.
Follow Up By: Holden4th - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:48
Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:48
Buy the Tomtom One V4 (or the XL) and the Mapshare technology will allow you to update for free from your PC.
Reply By: toyocrusa - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:49
Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:49
Hi. I have the Tom Tom 720 and have found it far superior to the previous Navman I had. I was lucky to buy it with a free map upgrade plus $25 fuel voucher. Non the less it is still a very user freindly unit and fairly simple to program.It displays your actual speed whilst travelling,can set an alarm for over speed limit and also has fixed Red light and Speed cameras in the program.You also get a free map share from the Tom Tom website.Info at the end of thread. Have to give it 8/10.Regards, Bob.
Update your maps instantly with
TomTom Map Share™
TomTom Map Share is a unique technology that enables you to add to, update and personalise your maps instantly*.
Make corrections to your own map and benefit from thousands of corrections made by TomTom users every day – free of charge.
Seven types of map changes available:
(Un)block street
Reverse traffic directions
Edit street names
Change turn restrictions
Change road speed
Add missing POI
Edit POI
Find out more about TomTom Map Share™
* TomTom Map Share™ technology is applicable for the ONE V3, ONE XL, new ONE, XL, GO 720 and GO 930 devices with version v7xx.xx maps and Nav 8.010 software application.
Reply By: garryk - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:56
Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:56
G'day
I suggest you go somewhere where several brands are on display and powered up , then buy one that you can use without reading the handbook , i.e. friendly to use .
For me that was the Garmin first then Tom Tom
others I gave up on
We got the Nuvi250W and are happy with it
and a tip re altitude reading
With the Garmin it can be done but its not in the book
from the start up or menu page hold your finger on the symbol for signal strength in upper left corner for about 3 or 4 seconds then release
the time is important if it dont work just try a bit longer or shorter time
and yes wide screen is good
also pay to check the windscreen mount some are better than others
Garry
Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:57
Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 19:57
Unless you live close to a major city, try to buy one that uses NavTeq mapping, as opposed to Whereis, which is not very good in country & rural areas.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:44
Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:44
Shaker, whereis should be in version 15 shortly and it supposedly is improved for country areas. I think the mapping engine that drives in Toyotas and the like is poor. I like the mapping software from
NavNGo and if you look for iGo 8 which is the latest version.
You can get all the maps and the software for US and Europe if you were there on a 2 gig SD card. It is on my VMS 3000 and I am impressed except it uses the current V14 Whereis. Talking to the supplier in the last couple of days gives me a delivery of the next sis weeks for V15.
Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:49
Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 21:49
Check out the 4.3" units on eBay - they can be adapted to run Oziexplorer. Basically the same as the Hema unit. I use one and have just set one up for the son-in-law.
Reply By: Bekali - Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:36
Thursday, Nov 27, 2008 at 22:36
Hi, Had a TOM TOM and now I have a NAVMAN.
Much prefer the NAVMAN.
I found one fault in particular that was very annoying with the TOM TOM and that was you had to search by SUBURB first (not sure if this is with all tom tom models) and if you didn't know the suburb of your address then your stuck. The NAVMAN searches by address first and then you can scroll through the suburb to find the right one.
Bek
Reply By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 17:13
Friday, Nov 28, 2008 at 17:13
I recently purchased a garmin Nuvi 255W. I did so because with it I am able to add other mapping data such as Oztopo and Shonky maps. This cannot be done with either Navman or Tom Tom. That was important to me.
I really like Tom Tom units and have used them quite a bit finding them a great unit too.
I have no experience with Navman so I can't comment.
Don't expect them to be helpful off the beaten track though. They are mostly suitable for main roads and towns.
Have a look at his site as part of your research. You will probaly find it useful. I did.
http://www.doug-and-dusty.id.au/gps.htm.
Good luck with your choice
Toolman