Codan X2 HF radio - any good?

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 09:13
ThreadID: 63902 Views:6037 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
G'day all, just looking to purchase a Codan X2 radio, any help & infomation would be appreciated, thanks, regards, dingo

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 09:24

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 09:24
ad,

Have used a couple of these, and they went alright. Quite compact considering the 100 watt output power, and should fit almost anywhere. Would need a multi-tap aerial to suit your frequencies.

Probably only limitation would be 10 channel capacity, and no LCD panel for channel info. This could be "fixed" by making up a frequency card, for reference.

The channel knob exhibits a different tone once you pass the upper & lower channels........would be good for using it in dark, or when mounted behind a seat etc.

At right price, should be a good buy.

AnswerID: 337496

Follow Up By: aussiedingo - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 09:40

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 09:40
thanks Bob, what would one be worth with tap ariel? dingo
FollowupID: 605126

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 09:28

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 09:28
dingo,

Wouldn't really have a clue about price, Dingo, but reckon you wouldn't want to pay more than $500 for the X2, assuming it was 10 year old or more. I tried to sell a 10 year old remote model, and no one interested unless the price was under a grand.

As for tapped aerial & spring base, I'd spend extra, & buy a new one, with the frequencies you want/need. Might be difficult to estimate the life left in a 2nd hand one, especially if "they" want near new price.

Hope you can get a good deal,

Hooroo,

FollowupID: 605221

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 12:18

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 12:18
Hi Dingo, the other problem with the X2 is that it doesn't have selcall. This means that it's difficult to wake a network base up or to call a mate except by using voice. Selcall is pretty much essential these days.
Apart from that they are a great little radio.
AnswerID: 337519

Reply By: mechpete - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 17:09

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 17:09
I have an X2 myself ,don,t know much about HF radios in general ,
what I have noticed is when close to another vehicle with a more upmarket HF my radio doesn,t pick up the general air traffic like the others . the reason for bying it was more so to listen to the SKEDS and listen to where people are calling from , I have a multi tap antenna ,or should I say had one ,its somewhere on the french line . should I be able to listen to the SKEDS etc
mechpete .
AnswerID: 337556

Reply By: Member - Andy A (WA) - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 23:28

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 23:28
I have been using an X2 for the last 10 years without any problems and did not miss the SelCall feature.

I mostly use small home made antennas for VKS.

AnswerID: 337615