Fuel economy star.....

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 10:47
ThreadID: 6395 Views:1771 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
I complain when my fuel economy gets worse than about 17 or 18 l/100 km towing a trailer. Imagine this......

The big monster trucks they build in the States get 75 FEET to the gallon - FEET!!

That's about 70.4 gallons to the mile.......

All you Nissan 4.2 petrol drivers (who are on gas because petrol economy's crook) have a new benchmark....Russell S
Prado RV6

Reply By: Luke - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 11:49

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 11:49
After reading 315kms on 90lt of gas for an 80 series 4.5lt cruiser or 450kms on petrol in a recent thread I don't feel so bad anymore...

...it seems TB42's aren't the only ones with crap economy.

:-)
AnswerID: 26926

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 18:33

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 18:33
gday luke.
one thing you have to remember mate is when you have a vehicle thats vertually unstopable go any where fourby and one that does it with ease there has to be a little draw back lol.got over no fraser.
get on with life(more weekend fun)
FollowupID: 18486

Follow Up By: Member - Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 19:56

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 19:56
sure is, when ya back wheel falls off the fuel economy is the last thin gon ya mind.

Stay saneSo many places to go!
So much work to do :0(
FollowupID: 18497

Follow Up By: Member - Willem- Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 22:56

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 22:56
Luke,

I get 15.5lt/100km on a good day with a tail wind..... 20lt/100km on an ordinary day.....and 25lt/100km in 4x4. I have a 110lt tank and carry another 6 jerries which gives me a range of 1100km plus for ordinary driving and 920km for a mixed bag of 4x4.
The car cost virtually nothing and so I can afford to spend the money on travel.
Cheers, Willem
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 18511

Reply By: tim - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 12:54

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 12:54
I used to get 320km from 85 ltrs gas 4.2 maverick now get 850ks 3.0patrol diesel
Much better
AnswerID: 26933

Follow Up By: Andrew(WA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2003 at 02:08

Saturday, Aug 09, 2003 at 02:08
Tim

850k's. ???

You talk'n manual or auto?? main tank or both tanks??

FollowupID: 18703

Follow Up By: tim - Saturday, Aug 09, 2003 at 06:08

Saturday, Aug 09, 2003 at 06:08
Manual
Main tank only
FollowupID: 18704

Reply By: Member - Oskar(Bris) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 13:27

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2003 at 13:27
OTOH ("On the other hand" is that a legal one????), the out of pocket expense, (the bottom line) is: how much have you had to spend every week just to get a slightly better economy? It's really not worth it for that reason is it? But hey... a new car is nice any time.
AnswerID: 26936

Follow Up By: Member - Russell - Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 09:02

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 09:02
I agree. I could have gotten rid of my petrol for a diesel with the associated better economy and off road performance, but the outlay involved would have been huge, and diesel usually costs more anyway, negating a lot of the cost saving. Decided to stick with the petrol - for now....Russell S
Prado RV6
FollowupID: 18539

Reply By: Mick - Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 23:38

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 23:38
I have a Prado TD which gets 11l/100 highway and 12l/100 other times. with 180 litre tanks it will go a long way! Torque is higher than most petrol motors.
Go diesel.
AnswerID: 27114