Interesting news for users of cheap power tools and generators:

GMC appoints Receivers

Muddy

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 05:34

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 05:34
Another Australian success story . . . . almost.

"Global Machinery Group has 45 workers and is based in Tullamarine, Victoria.

Its brands include GMC, Triton and Redeye.

Ms Chesser said the group's turnover had dropped in recent times but was still around $100 million a year.

It also holds a number of valuable patents and trademarks, she said.

The group was established in 1997 and has markets in the US, Britain, Italy, Germany, France, Canada and New Zealand.

The company recently cut its involvement with the recent Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix by withdrawing as naming right sponsor.

GMC was founded by ex-Black and Decker employees Peter Hosking and Tony D'Antonio. BRW magazine recently valued their combined wealth at $270 million.

AAP "
AnswerID: 337824

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 06:00

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 06:00
Its certainly no surprise to me,They throw there products at people no end..I heard time after time Tradesman buying there products and putting them through the wringer for a day only to take it back to Bunnings for a no questions asked replacement...(firstly they are only really made for the handyman)...Like black and decker (maybe a little better)

I'm sure Makita and all the others will be happy about it..

AnswerID: 337825

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 06:58

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 06:58
some of the stuff they sold was good for the price

Ozito next.....?
lets hope not it will keep the makita's, dewalt's etc etc honest.....its all i buy

AnswerID: 337826

Reply By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 07:12

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 07:12
Sad, but hardly surprising, they sold reasonable quality gear way too cheap with warranties which were way too good, so like said above tradies surviving on their gear very cheaply, n gettin a new one when they break it.

Ron
AnswerID: 337829

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:00

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:00
Yes, their warranties were incredible and they honoured them. When my drop saw broke, they delivered a new one to my door and picked up the old one, with no argument or problems.
FollowupID: 605369

Reply By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:28

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 08:28
They just started selling inverter gennies too, at about half what a Honda cost and looked pretty much identical except for the colour ;-))
AnswerID: 337835

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:59

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:59
Don''t be fooled by the looks identical, they weren't..!
FollowupID: 605408

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 13:37

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 13:37
I realise that but for the price they worked well.
My little $98 2 stroke jobbie has never missed a beat despite many hours use and abuse.
FollowupID: 605415

Reply By: itsdave - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 09:20

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 09:20
I'm not surprised that they have gone down as Bunnings who were probably their biggest retailer of the GME brand discontinued selling then a couple of months ago. Considering the number of Bunning stores it would have been a huge loss for GME

Cheers Dave
AnswerID: 337837

Reply By: Member - Daryl C (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:20

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:20
The loss of GMC tools won't worry me as I don't have any but the Triton range is excellent & will be missed. I have a Triton Superjaws vice & its the handiest tool in my shed. I'm just deciding if I can load it in the van or ute when I head off.
AnswerID: 337856

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 13:28

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 13:28
I'm the same Daryl,I only bought the GME Handheld Biscuit Joiner because i did not want to pay about $700 for the Makita to only use it twice in 2 years,My triton has the biscuit joiner with the router table...The Superjaws are great...I also have the engineers vice...Have you the one that holds the logs,If so any good ????

FollowupID: 605412

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 13:35

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 13:35
I've got the log jaws and they work well.
FollowupID: 605414

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:57

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:57
Remember it's only cheap if it works and yes they were aimed at the handyman. In this case cheap came at a cost. The good news for anyone who owns a GMC product needing warranty or support is that it was probably cheap enough to be a throw away.!
AnswerID: 337859

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 13:18

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 13:18
I don't think many of the so called "cheap" brand tools are necessarily cheap.

For example
4'' Grinder - Well known brand - $200.00 - Lasted 10 years
4" Grinder - Cheap brand - $40 - Lasted - 6 months.
Do the maths?

Both used by the same person in the same conditions.
I don't think weather its a handyman using them or a tradesman is really relevant. Its the amount of hours they last compared to each other for the price.

AnswerID: 337863

Reply By: patrolmann - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 16:21

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 16:21
I have to say i have a GMC grinder and it has had a hard life. My kids use it and abuse it as well and it would have to be 4 years old now and still going strong. I only bought it cause i was building a shed and needed a grinder. Didnt think i would use it again but it has been a handy little tool
patrolman

AnswerID: 337877

Reply By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 16:47

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 16:47
Pity that.

They did make some very good stuff.

Their 18 volt cordless drill was virtually unstoppable. We thrashed the daylights out of one for 12 months at which time it stopped going into reverse and was just used for drilling as opposed to screwing. My conscience wouldn't allow me to return it, so we simply bought another and it was too going strong until the pair of them got pinched.

Quality gear? Our $200 Ozito drop saw carked it after 12 months, again I did not claim warranty as it was used commercially. I rang the tool shop and enquired as to a quality one eg Makita/Hitachi, around $1000 and only a 1 year warranty. Bugger that, I bought a $220 Ryobi.

We flog the bejesus out of tools and unless the manufacturer is prepared to offer me 5 times the warranty, I'm not prepared to pay 5 times the price.

AnswerID: 337878

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:55

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:55
i only use bosch stuff now. i have ozito cordless drill 12v batt pack stuffed. xu1 angle grinder fried the contacts and put new ones in and still stuffed, bought a cig weld goes great, bought and ozito gasless mig, its ok, i have an ozito 9" soft start angle grinder/ buffer and it goes okay. xu1 drill the hammer setting kicks in when leat wanted.

what i have in bosch is a 4" grinder, small orbital sander,12v cordless drill and will be replacing my power tools with bosch as i don't get to play with them much these days!

but different strokes for different folks.

good tools are worth the price you pay. my dad has a bosch drill that lasts like 20 years.

AnswerID: 337921

Follow Up By: Angler - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:36

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:36
I have a little bosch drill, 9.6 volt I think and have used it for some years now and recently lost the charger thing somewhere. Bugger.

Must get a new charger from bunnings one day.

Incidentally anyone buying dewalt stuff check out the US ebay for prices.

Pooley
FollowupID: 605490

Reply By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:03

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:03
And yet I have an unknown brand 4.5 inch angle grinder I bought from supercheap auto about 5 yrs ago for $30, use it for work all the time and lives in a milk crate in the back of the ute. Apart from 2 new sets of brushes and a new power lead the thing goes like stink still and is still showing no signs of dying.
Thats value for money!
AnswerID: 337948

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:21

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:21
Once good but got greedy and produced crap with no back up.
Took 12 months for a waranty claim.

AnswerID: 337979

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 08:29

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 08:29
I was in Bunnings 2 weeks ago and asked abour GMC to Trade air , compario . The told they were not buying GMC anymore due to the massive return rate
AnswerID: 337997