Member - Rob S (NSW)
Baked Beans the good old stand by meal
I always throw in a few cans when going
camping.
Just in case the fish aren’t biting and or it’s my turn to
cook..
I don’t mind them at all cooked up with bacon or sausages.
Found a good recipe, I have not yet tried and probably have to leave home if i do.
Looks tasty probably power a small country town with the after effects!
Or some serious pay back for those mates you have been waiting to get for a long time.
Country Baked Beans.
4 Cans of Baked beans, drained.
1 340ml Bottle of Chilli sauce.
1 Large Onion chopped.
500g Bacon cooked and diced.
2 Cups packed brown sugar.
1 Tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce.
Combine all ingredients in a baking dish (
camp oven)
Stir until blended
Bake for 55 minutes at 160 c or until heated through.
Dose any one have any more good Baked Bean
recipes?
Rob.
Reply By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 18:18
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 18:18
Rob
Should come with a health warning. Keep people away from naked flames after eating
Vince
Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:15
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:15
I've used that recipe.
Used to take the liners off old brake shoes prior rebonding.
Reply By: Member - Tom L (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 18:20
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 18:20
g'day Rob,
If you put in some kidney beans and black eyed peas with what you've described it's what they call baked beans in the southern states of the USA. It's great with any sort of BBQ,meat baked spud etc.
Enjoy, Tom
Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:31
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:31
Hi Tom
Sounds good those Kidney Beans would Turbo charge it.
Reply By: darrell.QLD - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 18:23
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 18:23
Dose any one have any more good Baked Bean
recipes?
There were a few , around QLD....
But they took of.........literally............thank god !!
Follow Up By: a convict - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 18:41
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 18:41
..handy snack for 'Pre', or 'Apres' baked bean wonderment.
"Bourbon Slurpee"
"Pour 2 cups boiling
water and 4 tea bags into large bowl; steep 5 min. Remove teabags and stir in 2 cups sugar, 7 cups cold
water, 2 cups bourbon, 2 6-oz cans frozen limeade concentrate and 1 6-oz can frozen lemonade concentrate. Pour into one or more plastic containers and freeze. (I'm told it keeps for a long time.)"
"There are two ways to serve this. One: spoon into crystal julep glasses, garnish with a sprig of mint, and serve with a dessert spoon. Two: spoon into a clean mason jar, stick a long straw into it, and slurp your way into oblivion."
( Found, and saved, from internet, sorry no link.)
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:23
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:23
And......
When and how do the baked beans come into it.....lol.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Follow Up By: a convict - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:16
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:16
..sorry Lionel A (WA).
Love the thread, I thought I was the only one who enjoyed 'no-frills' brand bake beans with lashings of 'no-frills' brand 'instant' mash potato, ...into the wee hours.
Must admit, I often embellish above with my three glass limit of unlabeled Shiraz.
..fun thread, just being convivial.
Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 18:39
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 18:39
BAKED BEAN BERRITOS
* Serves: 6
* Prepare time: 40 mins
Ingredients
* Olive or canola oil spray
* 450g can refried beans
* 2 x 425g cans mexe-chilli beans
* 375g enchilada sauce
* Chilli powder (optional)
* 2 cups cooked rice (brown or long-grain is best)
* 10 burrito tortillas
* ½ cup grated low-fat tasty cheese
* ½ iceberg lettuce, shredded
* 3 carrots, cut into thin strips
* 4 tomatoes, quartered
* 2 Lebanese cucumber, cut into thin strips
* Alfalfa sprouts
Ingredients
* Olive or canola oil spray
* 450 g can refried beans
* 850 g can mexe-chilli beans
* 375 g enchilada sauce
* Chilli powder (optional)
* 2 cups cooked rice
* 10 burrito tortillas
* 1/2 cup grated low-fat tasty cheese
* 1/2 shredded iceberg lettuce
* 3 thinly stripped carrots
* 4 quartered tomatoes
* 2 thinly stripped Lebanese cucumbers
* Alfalfa sprouts
Method
Preheat oven to 180 degrees C. Lightly spray a large ovenproof dish with oil. Combine refried beans, mexe-chilli beans and half the enchilada sauce in a large mixing bowl. Add a pinch of chilli powder, if desired. Divide both the bean mixture and rice into ten equal portions.
Place a portion of bean mixture across the centre of tortilla. Place a portion of rice next to the beans, and roll up the tortilla. Place the burrito into prepared dish. Repeat until all tortillas are filled. Pour remaining enchilada sauce over the burritos and sprinkle with cheese.
Bake for 25 minutes, until cheese is melted and golden. Combine remaining ingredients to make a salad. Serve burritos with salad on the side.
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:17
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:17
Geez Mark
Your trip would be over before you finished getting the ingredients
out, sounds like
Gordon Ramsy the F-in Chef, I love Ham & Tomato
Sauce Bake Beans with plenty of Pepper, nothing fancy, anyway
I allways end up like those fellas in Blazing Saddles around the
Camp Fire, FAAAAAAARRTTT, excuse me.
Follow Up By: Cram - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:21
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:21
I often make up chili concarne something similiar to this before we head off on the trip and cryovac it and then we eat on the nights when we have been busy and want quick meal.
Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:27
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:27
Hi Mark
looks good but i don't think the alfalfa sprouts would travel
well in the Engel.
Follow Up By: Cram - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:30
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:30
No true, we don't worry about alfalfa....lol
most of the time is chili concarne with rice or bread and if we are real flash tomotoes and lettuce....lol
Reply By: nomadoz - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:07
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:07
You can substitute beans for Chickpeas’ much more tasty. But please live out the Sugar, as I do not have any time, nor do I like going to funerals
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:22
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:22
This thread is a bit on the nose!
I always throw a few cans in for unplanned emergencies, but then I travel solo. I can't imagine what mixing them with some of the stuff suggested might do to your stomach...and to fellow travellers !
Reply By: Cram - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:23
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:23
Rob, I like the sounds of that recipe.....can see that being made real soon........will probably weight till I am somewhere with amenties so I don't fill the pit
toilets up or have to dig too many holes.... :)
Reply By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:03
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:03
Rob,
Fair Dinkhum, TWO cups of brown sugar???
Sounds awfully sweet to me, and a sweet featuring fart nuts isn't lighting my candles mate.
Am I missing something?
Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 23:18
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 23:18
Jim
You would be best not to use Sweet Chilli sauce if you don't like it to sweet. LOL
Reply By: Garbutt - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:13
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:13
When I was working in the north 30 years ago there was always a tin of
camp pie (tinned dog) and a packet of Vita Weet biscuits behind the
seat for the times you got stuck. And a couple of bottles of
water and beer.
Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:53
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:53
The only baked beans worth eating are the Heinz English Recipe,
sauce is much thicker and tastier than the standard baked beans.
Its the only thing I think the Pommys got right
TRY EM !!!
Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:17
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:17
Baked bean jaffles take a lot of beating for a quick
camp meal at the end of a long day's adventure.
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:17
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:17
I can't see this thread helping in the fuel crisis. A can of BB costs more than LPG .
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:26
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:26
FOOTY
alternative fuels must be looked at though.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:32
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:32
Oh I agree Mark. But ...err....umm...think of the environment LOL
Reply By: Member - Lord Cochrane (SA) - Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 04:50
Monday, Dec 08, 2008 at 04:50
Baked bean recipe?
Isn't that a can opener?