I measured the jerry can(post 63965) and.......................................

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:59
ThreadID: 63975 Views:3774 Replies:7 FollowUps:21
with a bit of spillage involved, the pump is right. I used a kitchen measuring jug made of glass with permission from SWMBO.

In all my years of working with jerry cans I have never ever seen the need to measure the liquid volume. I suppose only now, with the high fuel prices, has the issue come to my attention. And it is only when filling jerry cans.

I submitted the post to show what the response was from the Dept of Weights and Measures..

To all those detractors in the previous post. Not once have I mentioned the business involved, nor have I mentioned the business name to the Department of Weights and Measures. Nor am I trying to dob someone in. The business owner took over the business about 2 years ago and had told me initially that since he had been there the pumps had not been checked until after my first query in May this year.

I will see the business owner in the morning and tell him of my findings and apologise if I have caused him any stress. I do business there every week and we have a good working relationship.

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:07

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:07
Hey Willem.

I put 138 lts into six 20lt generic red gerry cans last year, then spilt some as I poured it in, I guess has room for lifting and filling. LOL

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 337928

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:56

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:56
Hey Willem,

Sorry about some of the crap you took on your previous post.

I'm an ex servo guy, seven years managing company operated outlets for the Shell Company. I've had any number of similar queries similar to yours from clients over the years.

The positives to come out of your post is that perhaps more people may now be aware of the many variables involved when refuelling whether it be their vehicle tank or containers.

To those who ripped into Willem please note his public acknowledgement and commitment to visit the business owner.

I only wish that the many misinformed customers I had to suffer were as forthright as Willem.

Just as Willem indicates his intention to make peace with his supplier perhaps the contributers to the previous post may be as accommodating.

Ian.
AnswerID: 337944

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:56

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:56
Hi Willem,

The Patrol has a 30 litre sub tank. I usually get 28-29 litres into it, before I slip to the big tank. Have put down to 26 litres in it to fill it and also as high as 34 litres into it. At Ararat on the way to Pyrenees I put 35 litres into it and went to the console operator and told her that the pump was out, by about 14%, which means you are effectively paying over $2.00 a litre....... The faithful console operator said that the "measures" guy had been there yesterday and I asked for his details as I wanted to follow up with him. Hmm "Sorry Sir we cant do that due to our Privacy laws"

I told her that it was daylight robbery and that I was going to report the station to AAAC, wouldnt be surprised if she went out after I left and wound it back to somewhere closer to reality.

Once in WA when I was running Gas I couldnt get more than 30 litres into the tank and it took ages to even get that. Mate tried with his and same deal, bugger all gas into the tank and it took ages, funny thing that gas went for nearly 600km. You win some and lose some I hate getting ripped off

AnswerID: 337945

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:07

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:07
Did you read the previous post?

Have you ever worked in a Service Station?

Please give us an inkling as to how the servo guy can could have "wound it back" to quote yourself.

Did you report you report it to the AAAC?

What were the results?

Do you stil have copies?

Can you post the copies on the forum?

If you put 26 litres into a 30 litre sub tank then you were undercharged by about 13%. Did you report it to the operator and insist on paying for the extra fuel.

FollowupID: 605478

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:16

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:16
Yes Ian I did go back and read your post, you and I posted at the same time, so I wasnt able to see what you had written when I was writing.

I didn't report it to the AAAC, I was trying to angle for a discount. You win some and you lose some.

I have however reported a local station to me that always pumps 33litres and more into my sub tank. The feedback I got is that the tests had been carried out and the pumps had been recalibrated. Seems to me an admission of error although there was no mention of refund, nor did I seek one.

I would ALWAYS hand back incorrect change if I receive it, simply ALWAYS, I am anal about that but fuel comes back to win some and lose some, I guess in the end it averages out at around 30l.

And as to winding it back, that's a tongue in cheek comment, but there must be some calibration adjustments that you'd know about if you ran a servo. I HAVE worked in a servo but I just ran around filling and cleaning windscreens, I didnt get to fiddle with the pumps other than to poke the fillers into cars etc.

FollowupID: 605483

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:36

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:36
Bonz,

Believe me!

There are NO calibration adjustments available to a service station operator. That would circumvent the Appropriate authority. In NSW the "Dept. of Weights and Measures" it was called in my day. Even the weights ands measures guys do not calibrate, they merely measure then issue a result.

Once a pump was "set" that was it, it was locked with spiral wire and crimped with an official lead seal by either Gilbarco or Wayne Pumps in my day.

The servo operator loses far more fuel in leakage, shrinkage and OVER DELIVERIES than he coulld ever dream of recovering in any miniscule short delivery.

FollowupID: 605489

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:40

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:40
Yer I guess its a tough job Ian, maybe like moderation eh? It was tongue in cheek, and I want angling to upset anyone, sorry if I poked a sore spot.

I was very happy with the local outcome, although I only go there now as a last resort, absolutely last resort.

FollowupID: 605491

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:41

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:41
Pardon this dumb question but where does it leak to?

FollowupID: 605492

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:45

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:45
Errrr, aahhh, ummm, ahem!

The Patrol actually has a 40 litre sub tank, and when the GU series was introduced (late '97 from memory), it was advertised as such......

It has been well documented here & elsewhere, the transfer pump on the diesels is set to switch off when there is approx. I repeat, _APPROXIMATELY_ 10 litres remaining in the tank, hence the mistaken belief that the tank only holds 30 litres...

How much actually remains in there could (and does) depend on something as simple as the vehicle orientation (eg facing uphill, downhill, or leaning to one side or the other) at the precise time that the pump actually switches off......

The bottom line is that people need to realise that the claimed 30 litre sub tank capacity (for the diesels) is "nominal" only, and the tank is (sometimes) indeed capable of accepting more than this "nominal" amount..

The petrols, on the other hand, transfer most (if not all) of the 40 litres, and my 4.8 (yes, I now have one of those as well as my trusty 4.2;-)) regularly takes 38-39 litres each fill....

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 605494

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:53

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:53
Mine was sold as a 30l subtank, always thought it was such.

The patrol specs say 30l subtank see here and 95l main tank.

Anyhoo what i was referring to was the difference in how much diesel fits in the tank, and your response actually explains that to a certain extent. I have found that when I dump the sub into the main, it will fully dump on a flat road (as indicated on the gauge) but in the hills it cuts out well before its showing MT on the gauge.

FollowupID: 605499

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:56

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:56
who is the AAAC?
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 605521

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 07:39

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 07:39
Bonz,

Sorry if I came across as having a "go". (Don't you just hate the lack of inflection and body language with the written word).

Having reread my posts I bellieve my wording could have been better put.

Re the query on "leakage" in service stations. It is not at all unknown for delivery lines from the storge tanks to the bowsers to have leaks at pipe joiners, angle joints or at the tank isolation valves. Some old service stations have required some extensive and expensive remediation works to remove contaminated soil.

FollowupID: 605535

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 18:19

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 18:19
Mad Cowz the AAAC, as you know is the Australian Automotive Accreditation Commission. They have federal rights and establish national obligations for all business operators and owners.

They have been very helpful int he past

FollowupID: 605608

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 18:22

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 18:22
Thanx for your comments Ian, I did feel like you were having a chew on me, so appreciate your reply above. I reckon that the leaks would be worth addressing six months ago but in these times of sub $1.00 fuel wouldnt be worried

FollowupID: 605609

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 19:11

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 19:11
Didn't know that Bonz, thought you were having a seniors moment and mixing it up with the ACCC

MC
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 605799

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 19:22

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 19:22
MAYBE I was MC

FollowupID: 605803

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:16

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:16
Willem,

Crikey. These responses are almost as funny as those in the original post.

AnswerID: 337954

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:44

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:44
That they are!

The one positive out of it all is the possum's will sleep well tonight for they've had a darn fine run!

FollowupID: 605493

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:47

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:47
LOL and the possum master has struck again.

FollowupID: 605495

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:54

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:54
You mean the cat master

FollowupID: 605500

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:03

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:03
That too, we hadn't forgotten the un-mentionable skill!

FollowupID: 605504

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:40

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:40
Willem
If you were closer I would come over and we could have a rum and coconut water out of your glass jug so we would know exactly how much it takes before we start talking left handed.
It's quite amazng the different reactions to your post.
Cheers!
AnswerID: 337963

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 10:16

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 10:16
I wasn't having a go at anyone but i do apologise if i did stand on someones toes or put somebody's nose out of joint!

AnswerID: 338009

Reply By: Flywest - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 18:02

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 18:02
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 338084